We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Meknes hostels

Reviews of Riad Zahraa GuestHouse

Guesthouse | 5 Derb Sidi Abdellah el Kassri, Touta Meknes Medina, Meknes, Morocco 50000

87.3% Overall Rating

98 out of 105 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

Alberto Mogío Pérez thinks…

"The staff is friendly and helpful, everything is very clean and the atmosphere is very nice. The riad is in the heart of the medina and most of the attactions are close."

Read all Riad Zahraa GuestHouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 45.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Meknes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Meknes

Riad Idrissi
17.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Yacout
43.01 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 3 reviews
Hotel Belle Vue
60.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Riad Benchekroun
20.59 USD

Hostel 98.9% 5 reviews
Riad Felloussia Meknes
34.03 USD

Hotel 96.6% 27 reviews
Maison d'Hote Marabou
28.36 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

98 out of 105 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Zahraa GuestHouse'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 103 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carolyn Kinsman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2011 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: Privacy and meals

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

david boyer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: Jonas was great, location was great, terrace view was lovely and proximity to roman ruins was a plus. food was delicious

Disliked: they didn't tell us the price of the meal, instead, we "pre-ordered" the meal as the smell was great, but then they served us too much food that we didn't order (we only, for 2 people, asked for a small sample of the eggplant/veg tangine and salad and they brought much more and wanted to charge us--most other restaurants in town served the same meal for half the price, so it was a surprise, but in the end, they refunded our money because they knew we were not pleased about having overserved us , without our request for all that food) plus, if you can get a room NOT on the bottom floor, that is best, because a lot of commotion during meal time is a distraction if you are tired and want to sleep. overall, nice place

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patrizia Springorum

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Patrizia would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was always friendly and helpfull, the place was clean and nice decorated.

Disliked: the riad was in the medina and therefor difficult to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Hutchcraft

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very beautiful and in a great location. The staff was great from the moment they greeted us with tea to accommodating us an extra night unexpectedly !

Disliked: due to location being very near a mosque, was not fond of hearing the 5 am call to prayer

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dimitar Zlatanov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2011 Dimitar would recommend this property

Liked: very good guest house

Disliked: everything was fine

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erik Ooms

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2011 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location in the middle of the medina of meknes. The place is beautifully decorated and the rooms are of normal size.

Disliked: What we didn't like about this property was that we asked 2 times for a mint tea and expected it to be free, like at other places. However, the owner let us pay a hugh amount of money for the mint tea after checking out (more than 7 euro's!). You can have a dinner for two with that amount of money in Morocco! So don't drink mint tea at the riad :) Anther comment is that the riad is not very cheap and not interesting to meet other people. If you are a backpacker like us it is better to look into you LP for a much cheaper alternative.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Giulio Di Blasi

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Giulio would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and extremely good price compared to other Riads.

Disliked: The dinner is not as good as in other moroccan restaurants, I would suggest you go out dining.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Brown

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful owner. We got mint tea on arrival and a short history lesson on the terrace. He also arranged a half day trip to Volubilis and Moulay Idri which was reasonable price and well worth it.

Disliked: No hot water unless you ask for it. In fact I had to go down to ask for the shower water to be turned on.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable, staff were lovely and accommodating

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlyn Grant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2010 Caitlyn would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything. It was easy to find, after asking a waiter in the main square for general directions. The staff here are beyond lovely, they're so friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful and had our own shower, which had lots of really hot water in it. We had read in other reviews that the dinner was a little overpriced, but after having dinner one night we had to have it again, it was great, and worth every dirham. Breakfast was standard, bread and cake, but somehow more delicious than usual, and served with real coffee or moroccan tea. Really can't rate this place high enough, definitely worth staying here!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice marrocan style hostel, in fact more a 4**** hotel than a hostel, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

13 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homely. We were well looked after. In the heart of the medina. Instructions to find the Riad were excellent.

Disliked: There was nothing I didn't like.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is clean, spacy and nice rooms and nicy terrace on the roof. well, the breakfasta bit scarce. but it is the first hostel in Morocco (and I stayed in 5 different cities) which has enough street signs with the direction to the hostel so that you can find it on your own walking through the medina.

Disliked: Payment with credit card is not possible, but you can pay with euros.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ian Cook

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 October 2010 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly beautiful.

Disliked: Staff were a little dishonest. They said we could stay an extra night but then when a big group came wanting a week they kicked us out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikolaos Tsiskakis

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2010 Nikolaos would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, safe, in good place. Stuff very friendly.

Disliked: Nikolaos left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the typically Moroccon interior, the friendly staff and the yummy breakfast!

Disliked: A key to the front door would be nice so that one could avoid waking up the staff if you decide to stay out a little longer.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Felix Suwandy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2010 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are decorated in authentic Moroccan style, good breakfast and nice roof terrace. Good Price!

Disliked: Right in the middle of the Medina, thus quiet unsafe at night and during the day unfit for the faint hearted. Hard beds!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kirsten Van Eyck

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2010 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: Sooooo friendly staff! Great! And a wonderfull breakfast!

Disliked: Kirsten left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, beautiful Riad, the staff is very helpfull, and the great atmosphere inside.

Disliked: Nothing. All was perfect.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

sonja brentley

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 September 2010 sonja would recommend this property

Liked: location,very clean

Disliked: our room was very noisy at night;both from the street below and the house.the noise continued until after 4am.its very inconsiderate to make such a noise when people are trying to sleep.and the street noise was often from kids.i dont know what time they go to bed.dont they go to school?the guy who served us breakfast was very surly and told us off for going down 15mins early.also the water was only lukewarm in the evening

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The riad has an authentic atmosphere because of a wonderful antique furniture collection and a warm and friendly treatment of guests. IGood music and nice corners in the patio invite guests to hang out and to rest. The staff is helping out with everything and the owner gives the riad a communicative atmosphere. A great place!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Judith Cuenca Revuelta

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

16 August 2010 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice riad with friendly people. Veru good service and food excellent.

Disliked: Judith left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Youness was very helpful. It helped us to park the car in a secure area and helped us carry our luggage. It was very friendly, always assisting us with everything we need. We felt like home! Definitively worthy of the award of best top 3places in Africa. We highly recommend it!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sooooooooooooo Moroccan

Disliked: No taxi access to front door////narrow walking streets only///not safe to walk after dark especially ladies

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mona Bracher

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

12 July 2010 Mona would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay at Riad Zahraa. The service and friendliness of the staff was outstanding. They made every effort to make us feel at home. The meals were delicious and some of the best food we ate in Morocco.

Disliked: Mona left no negative feedback.


See all Meknes hostels