HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rainbow Marrakech

Hostel | 13 derb laadam, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

93.7% Overall Rating

342 out of 355 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2014)

"Excellent value for money and good location for exploring the medina. Breakfast was decent by Moroccan standards."

Read all Rainbow Marrakech reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Les Hibiscus
62.20 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Linda
41.91 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Amira et vacances
22.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 91.1% 17 reviews
Trip and Friends
7.33 USD

Hostel 83.8% 268 reviews
RIAD ANDALLA
38.01 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 9 reviews
Riad Johenna
38.70 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 54 reviews
Riad Al Mamoune
31.79 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 26 reviews
Riad Rahba
10.99 USD

Guesthouse 76.0% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

342 out of 355 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rainbow Marrakech'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
97.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 257 of 344 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind staff, beautiful hostel. I`m happy that I stay at your Hostel :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Finn Geoghegan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Finn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really friendly, really good location (once you've found the place!)

Disliked: Hostel is a very open space and rooms all open into the main foyer, so can be pretty loud (especially when you have a group of 30 all come at once)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money and good location for exploring the medina. Breakfast was decent by Moroccan standards.

Disliked: The bed's were quite uncomfortable. Staff was of little help but otherwise friendly and polite.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Very fun atmosphere! Great people!

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicholas battaliou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: This a very convenient and extremely well run hostel 2 minutes from Jamah el Fna. Hassan and team go well out of their way to make people feel welcome, cared for and advised. The roof garden, roof sitting room, tortoises, weekly dinner and daily breakfast, which can include a small omelette, is fantastic value for money. A great place to meet fellow travellers.

Disliked: Possibly slightly crowded in the main space, but great on the roof.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Stempka

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

20 March 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: great location, just off the main square...a bit hard to find and on a slightly sinister street, but part of the medina experience ! the hostel itself is great, the best atmosphere i've encountered in morocco, lively, jovial place and a lot of contact with other hostelers in the courtyard/common room/dining room or on the lovely terrace (no view, but very charming). even got a free meal on arrival, so no complaints there!

Disliked: staff could be a bit pushy with selling extras, but i suppose it's more a cultural difference .... also, we were told we could use the kitchen, but it was always occupied as they were cooking dinner/cleaning/preparing for breakfast , so our food went to waste

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: liked it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2014

Liked: It is 2 blocks from Jemaa el Fna,a video explaining how to get there, and very easy-to-follow instructions. There are three bathrooms, two of which have separate showers and toilets. The toilets flush and are well-stocked with toilet paper. Breakfast is served on time, but be warned that it is just 4 different kinds of bread. The tea is the best I had in my entire stay in Morocco, and it was free all day!

Disliked: It can be a little noisy. The call for prayers starts at 5:30 AM-- free alarm clock I tell you! And the rooms are CRAMPED!! I have never stayed in a hostel with so little room before--there was only about a person's width between two beds. There is only hot shower if you're the first to shower, so make a run for it! From the moment I first stepped in, I had a bad feeling about the staff. They are all male (although when I left there were two lovely African girls who will join the staff for a few months), which made me feel uncomfortable. Some women would come and clean the place but they never interacted with us. The staff reminded me of the arrogant, obnoxious high school boys that plagued my teenage years. They're friendly in that "macho" attention-seeking kind of way, almost creepy, and they have that kind of smile that does not reach their eyes. BE WARNED: They are only eager to help you IF they can benefit (i.e., get money) from you somehow. They get commission from their friends if one of us takes their friend's taxi or eat at a friend's restaurant. I will give you two incidents. First, my friends and I wanted to eat at a restaurant with a rooftop terrace overlooking Jemaa el Fna. I started to explain this to the staff, but I only got as far as saying "Can you recommend a restaurant..." before the guy waved his hand at me nonchalantly saying "yes yes restaurant." Some guy came and he took us to a restaurant a block away from the square, and they gave us a menu for set meals with a ridiculous price tag. Apparently this restaurant is owned by the brother of one of the staff members. Next, I needed to take the 4:55 AM train to Casablanca and needed a petite taxi to get to the train station. Even at that hour, I know it costs only about 20 MAD to get there, because I had already done that when I arrived in Marrakesh at 1 AM. The guys told me that their friend's grand taxi costs 100 MAD, and that I would never find a taxi that would take me for only 20 MAD. They refused to help me get a taxi ride with a small cab because I refused to ride their friend's cab (which seats 6 people!) simply because it would be a hassle to them. AND THEN after this little incident, they had the audacity to ask me to pay for the night, which I had already done when I first arrived to Marrakesh! Maybe I am just too Westernized for this whole friendship-commission arrangement, but I refuse to play into this game where foreigners are seen as idiots. Most people in Morocco who interact with tourists have this mentality (which is a massive shame because I have only met lovely people outside the center!), and the staff are no different. Perhaps you will have a better experience than me--it is a pretty decent hostel after all--but I would never come back here nor recommend it to anyone else. Do not trust these guys. You are been warned!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location,facillities and services,staff..................

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very kind staffs and good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jolanta Jagodzinska

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Jolanta would recommend this property

Liked: AWESOME! Best hostel everrrr! Definitely coming back there!

Disliked: Jolanta left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and the staff was very helpful.

Disliked: There is not hot water in the showers

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katherina Schwember

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Katherina would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located

Disliked: Katherina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabina Pilat

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 February 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, really helpful. It's easy to fnd it. just follow the dirrection, also you can find on the GPS:) a lot of people, good place to hang out, stay at night and talk. Great for backpackers:)

Disliked: Be carefull with the hot water and ask the staff about it, probably they will help you...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, and great location. Excellent value for money. Also the laundry service is great, and free towels are a plus. The breakfast is good.

Disliked: The showers. The temperature would fluctuate a lot, but then again, for morocco it is very good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Geens

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly, helpful people! Good location, nice rooftop.. Liked the turtles :)

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we stay in the next building, good breakfast actually too much breakfast , nice service

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: when I arrived I got free Tea, the staff was really helpfull with planing the trip around marrakech and could always recommend places to go and to see. Theyre also offering tours, dinnerpartys and going to the hammam. I didnt go but other people were telling me they had good fun. You meet a lot of international travellers here and the common room is perfect to set arrangements to go to the medina together.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, within 5 minutes' walking to Marrakesh's main market. Hostel was extremely value for money for five of us, and the staff also offered us tea after our tiring flight into Marrakesh. Hosts are very friendly as well! Stayed here on our first night and were back again on our last night in Morocco.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Soh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful, making sure all our needs were met. Great location as well, breakfast was good!

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is really great, since it is a one minute walk from Jamaa Elf-na. Also, the staff is super nice and very helpful with providing information about things to do in and around Marrakech. Really enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vasilios Anatolitis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Vasilios would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere and very friendly personal!

Disliked: Actually nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great guys working at this place, they make sure everyone has a good time and are always available for advice or conversation. The staff is the highlight of the hostel. Great common room, colorful hostel, and met a lot of nice folks while I was staying there. It's easy to be a bit stressed after navigating to the hostel but from the moment you step your foot in they are making you feel relaxed and secure.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ho-Man Wong

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 February 2014 Ho-Man would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and nice staff. Cozy place and nice interior in the hostel

Disliked: the bed are little worn out. Hard beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel de Jesus Serrano Regalado

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 February 2014 Manuel de Jesus would recommend this property

Liked: Its really good located and the staff is amazing, they are good people and tell to you everything that you need to know about Marrakech

Disliked: NOTHING