HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rainbow Marrakech

Hostel | 13 derb laadam, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

95.2% Overall Rating

394 out of 407 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2014)

"It is very colourful and the staff especially Sayd are very friendly and welcoming. On Wednesday a very good band played whilst the hostel cooked delicious meal. They helped us book a fantastic trip to the sahara desert…"

Read all Rainbow Marrakech reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Les Hibiscus
59.30 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Linda
41.42 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Amira et vacances
21.68 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.8% 18 reviews
Trip and Friends
5.30 USD

Hostel 86.1% 277 reviews
RIAD ANDALLA
36.24 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 9 reviews
Riad Johenna
32.95 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 54 reviews
Riad Al Mamoune
30.31 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 27 reviews
Riad Rahba
10.60 USD

Guesthouse 76.0% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.2%

Overall Rating

394 out of 407 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rainbow Marrakech'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
97.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 294 of 395 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, good for money. Sayd the stuff is nice guy

Disliked: Our room is too dark to pack or everything even in daytime because there is no window and it's also too hot. I took cooking class which they offer but what we did was mostly just cutting vegetables. Price is not including the things you buy at market for cooking, and I felt shopping at market with them was overcharge and tourist price. It was totally disappointing. I do not recommend it. And also 2N3D desert tour was kinda rush, no time in Sahara.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very colourful and the staff especially Sayd are very friendly and welcoming. On Wednesday a very good band played whilst the hostel cooked delicious meal. They helped us book a fantastic trip to the sahara desert as well.

Disliked: it is quite hot but we slept on the lovely roof terrace

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cindy sanchez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 cindy would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in the center of the medina, the staff is so nice, they always smile . They are 24 hrs ok service in case you need something

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tout ce qu'on peut attendre d'une auberge de jeunesse... Spécial big up pour Sayd!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SEOKHYEON CHO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2014 SEOKHYEON would recommend this property

Liked: everything. sayd.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, just 100m from jemaa al ifna but still not to deep in the medina to get reached quickly with the luggage. The breakfast is massive and the staff serves it as soon as you wake up. There are multiple choices for excursions in the nearby aerea and in the desert which come in handy when you aren't plenty of time to arrange trips / tours with a private agency. The staff all is very friendly and nice.

Disliked: There are no air conditioner in the rooms and this could be a problem if you travel Marrakech in the summer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tim farley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 tim would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, great loca, great staff (especially Sayd) and filling breakfast

Disliked: tim left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a very nice stay at Rainbow marrakesh. Sayd very welcoming and helpfull.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

james himbury

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 james would recommend this property

Liked: great location and very helpfull staff

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly, lovely breakfast and upstairs terrace. Sayd was super friendly and helpful showing us how to get around the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaymarie Miranda

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2014 Jaymarie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved it! The people were so welcoming! And from the moment we walked in, we were greeted with the deliciously minty Moroccan tea, that we asked the staff eventually to show us how to prepare it. The hostel is so colorful and has a rooftop terrace that gives you a great vibe to meet new people and feel like home. All the staff were very friendly and happy to chat/advise on what to do in Marrakech, the prices you should pay in the market, how to get a good deal, but also about the various excursions on offer, specially Sayd and Abou. I would personally recommend the 2 day sahara excursion! It was an awesome experience, I love it!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon McCallum

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment I walked in the door to be greeted with the deliciously minty Moroccan tea, I knew I was on to a winner. The insides of the hostel are beautifully decorated and what is more, they have a rooftop terrace which provides a combination of sunshine, but more importantly shade, allowing for times of serenity and peace away from the chaos and hustle of Marrakech. All the staff were very friendly and happy to chat/advise on what to do in Marrakech but also about the various excursions on offer. I would personally recommend the 3 day Sahara trip which despite the many hours of driving was well worth it!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful terrace, great atmosphere. Awesome staff. Sayd in particular a legend, friendly, fun, helpful and enthusiastic.

Disliked: Edward left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Whidborne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: The stay was very good. The staff were amazing really relaxed and helpful. Sayd was personal favourite and very endearing. I would totally recommend it. Best place in Marrakech

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Warren

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Sayd was very friendly and helpful all the time. Made the atmosphere great!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philippa Burn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2014 Philippa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing very welcoming when we arrived they gave us tea and food, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was amazing!!! I would recommend this hostel to anyone wanting to come marrakech because they recommended amazing excursions to the desert and to the Atlas Mountains!! Sayd was superb!!!! And all of the other staff :) thoroughly enjoyed

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had such a great stay! Having never been to Morocco before it was the best place to begin our trip. Sayd was so helpful and he gave us all the information we needed. We arrive Very late on a Tuesday night but the hostel managed to organise a taxi for us and they even came to meet us to walk us to the hostel. We have enjoyed some great food and tea here. Sayd has given us some great tips. the staff have been great and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sayd could not have been more helpful - we had never been to Morocco before and he answered all of our questions and have us insider tips for the city, such as how much we should (or shouldn't) be paying for certain things, which was really useful! The locations is excellent, and the hostel can organise trips to the desert for you or arrange for a taxi to pick you up from the airport. Would definitely come back here!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron McManamon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff, especially Sayd and the perfect location for exiting Marrakech.

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Ference

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! We had such a great time. My friend and I emailed ahead and asked about possible desert trips and the people at rainbow were very helpful. Their three day two night trip was incredible into the Sahara. When we returned we had family style dinner with delicious foods. Breakfast in the morning is always hot and they are acommodating with when you need to wake up. Sayd was the most helpful and friendly person in the hostel and in any other hostel we have stayed in. He helped us set up the excursion and talked to us about Merzouga. He also took time in the day to show us around the city on our last day in Marrakech. He would be a super awesome tour guide for trips going to Merzouga or Marrakech. The staff at the hostel work very long hours to make sure you have a great trip. STAY HERE. but really. Ask for Sayd and you'll be set. There are gorgeous decorations and a beautiful rooftop terrace. THERE IS A TORTOISE ON THE TERRACE. and it's really pretty.

Disliked: We had to leave and fly home and wanted to stay longer!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Katherine Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great terrace (with free roaming tortoises!) and a nice, social common room downstairs. Friendly staff, and very cheap for such a great location in Marrakech.

Disliked: The hostel was sweltering hot on one of the nights we were there, and with no air conditioning, fans or windows in the dorms, it was very uncomfortable trying to get to sleep. Unfortunately, the noise really carries throughout this riad, it was very noisy every night we were there. There really are not enough bathrooms to go around when the place is at capacity. I've never been too bothered by hostel bathrooms, you get what you pay for, but the bathrooms here were pretty minging. Unfortunately, both my friend and I had things stolen from our rooms while we were here, which never leaves a great impression.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rhys Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

17 June 2014 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main square. Many services available by staff. Great value for money.

Disliked: Can be very hot during the night because of no air conditioning. The hosts are mildly disorganized and my bed was given away by mistake.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

brittany clarke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014 brittany would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed how close it was to the souk and the center. I also really appreciated the detailed directions to get to the hostel. Specifically the hostel worker Said was absolutely fantastic! He was so personal, helpful, and detailed with directions or any questions you had for the town. He is always in a great mood and cheers up any bad day, fantastic worker!

Disliked: It is in a very scary alleyway and you will find yourself banging/running to the hostel door to get in at night. The bed sheets are bad I'm not sure if they are cleaned between usage, pillows are rocks, the bed is not a bed it is a box spring no joke. The rooms are boiling no air conditioning and no windows so extremely stuffing, bad plumbing so water stinks in shower. There are no outlets for you electronics on the first floor rooms. The showers are cold. The breakfast is six types of bread and leaves something to be desired. And as for a specific worker named HASSAN he's dismissive, he chooses favorites, he is extra friendly to girls he thinks he can sleep with. When we tried to get two lower bunks he wouldn't allow it but when two young flirtatious girls requested it he allowed it for when they requested. He is cold and unfriendly. You can find him sleeping downstairs on the chairs on many occasions. The hostel could use a more friendly and welcoming host.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JORDAN VINCENT

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 JORDAN would recommend this property

Liked: Central hostel with friendly and helpful staff. Good atmosphere, all nationalities. Excursions, free breakfast, chicha. Perfect!

Disliked: Nothing.