HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Riad Fantasia

Hostel | 105 bis Derb Moulay Abdelkader, DABACHI, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

90.4% Overall Rating

186 out of 193 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/02/2014)

Owain Davies thinks…

"The staff were really friendly and helpful, we had a lovely trip up into the mountains arranged for us by Samir, and when we got back we were treated to the sight of a film crew filming in the street…"

Read all Hostel Riad Fantasia reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Bounaga
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 31 reviews
Villa des Trois Golfs
175.02 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
HOTEL ALKABIR
21.39 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Red Apartments
39.39 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
White Apartment
39.39 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Terrasse et Soleil Apartments
39.39 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Nassim
37.34 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Le Caspien Hotel
28.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

186 out of 193 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Riad Fantasia'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 155 of 190 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was cool in the sun with great roof top views

Disliked: right in the middle of old town, which is rip off central. the taxi drivers ripped us off and it is very hard to find, also do not go out byyourself at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Owain Davies

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Owain would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful, we had a lovely trip up into the mountains arranged for us by Samir, and when we got back we were treated to the sight of a film crew filming in the street outside, with Damian Lewis and Nicole Kidman, as well as the German director Werner Herzog, which was very exciting. we'll definitely be back at some point!

Disliked: nothing, it was all good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ronica Barard

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

08 January 2014 ronica would recommend this property

Liked: Not sure where to start but Samir, Lotvi and Amima would possibly be a good place. Absolutely amazing people. Always willing to help and nothing was too much trouble. Best customer service I have ever received and I can't imagine I will ever stay anywhere where I was made to feel like family. I don't think any words will truly express how wonderful it was to meet such lovely people. I think I should state that we stayed in the riad that was not a hostel though I understand that they do also have a hostel at another address. We stayed in a lovely little room that was perfect for my partner and I. It was cleaned daily and was always spotless. I would recommend this to anyone who wants something a bit different from the norm. Staying in hotels can get a bit boring so this is perfect if you want something personal and a bit different. Thanks to all the staff helpful make our stay so perfect.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Fabio Catao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really atencious and very helpful

Disliked: It is impossible to find the hostel with the direction on the website. They should give more details how to get there, otherwise you will have to ask for help on the street and any help in Marrakech may cost between 5 and 30 euros.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the welcoming atmosphere from the very beginning,from the first phone call before the travel, to the arrival, to departure. Every single wish was taken care of no matter how off the way it was, no matter what hassle it meant. I enjoyed especially the insider tipps of the hosts and the heart they put in to make your stay beautiful. Thank you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is quite friendly and helpful. The rooms are quite new and well entertained in a quiet and lovely atmosphere.

Disliked: The location of the hostel isn't at all the one pointed in the map from "Maps & Locations" (the map points near Jardin Majorelle and the description leads you to the ancient Medina near the El Fna square). I had quite a big moment of confusion when I arrived to the address from the description (105bis derb Moulay Abdelkader) to find only a few double rooms in the building and then the staff taking me into the old market for over 10 minutes into a tiny/lonely alley, to look at another hostel (where the dorms from the hostel are located).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Collins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: Great Riad, really nice inside, very clean. Mohammed works there and can help with anything, real friendly too.

Disliked: Tyler left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brigitte Peters

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Brigitte would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed with my daughter for 4 nights and the owner and his staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We felt very safe, they helped us with "things to do" and a great place to meet people

Disliked: Brigitte left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere but also the quietness of the place though it is located in the middle of the Medina.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When I arrived in Marrakech, I was unable to find the hostel due to the wrong address given in the email confirmation. Firstly, I found Hotel Fantasia, which was not the hostel. Then, I went to the address given, and a French man (presumably the previous landlord) told me that the hostel's lease ended in early May. Following that, I managed to find the hostel on Derb Abdul Kader. It transpired that the hostel had changed location but has failed to update it's address on hostelbookers. Apart from that, the hostel is as it looks in the pictures, clean spacious and value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A friendly and relaxed hostel to charge-up after a off traveling or walking around in Marrakech. The staff is very helpful and will do anything for you, arranging a taxi or even wake you up if your phone is broken in the middle of the night to make sure you catch your flight!

Disliked: There is a laid back atmosphere which is really nice, if your plan is to party hard in the hostel, then check out the other hostel from the same owner in Marrakech.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helping staff, amazing riad, food délicious, we pass a great time here! They organize for you unforgettable excurtions in the desert! Recommanded!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Juan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, friendly staffs, cosy inside and clean,thanks

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

I khan Lkan

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

27 April 2013 I khan would recommend this property

Liked: The entire stay was perfect. The room was tidy and well mantained, the rest of the build decorated wonderfully and The staff were always helpful and polite. We were given loads of tips and ideas where to go to eat, drink and visit and also which company to organise our day trips with. Would recommend to anyone!

Disliked: I khan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel! So much atmosphere, super clean, fantastic friendly staff, bringing you tea and will organise anything you want to do.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Parker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly thé welcoming people They made us feel completely at ease and nothing was too much trouble. The atmosphere in the hostel was always fun and entertaining; the decor traditional and stylish and everything very relaxed. the staff were always on hand to help, advise and make us laugh.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tora Carlbom

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 April 2013 Tora would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and the atmosphere lovely! I was happily surprised over the friendliness, not to mention the terrace-to-die-for! It sooned became like a second home.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel owners are super friendly and helpful, and the mint tea is always flowing! Really cool place, good vibe. Wifi is fast and all over the hostel, showers are always hot, and breakfast is good.and they offer a desert excursion

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fred hoffman

Alone

Romantic getaway

16 April 2013 fred would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were lovely and very helpful including going to buy bus tickets for our onward journey and collecting us at the entrance to the medina. it was very clean and the room was lovely

Disliked: fred left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, the beds were very comfortable, and the included breakfast was great. the place has a cool vibe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sergio varela

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

06 April 2013 sergio would recommend this property

Liked: excellent place ,friendlly staff ,the rooms are clean and well decorated

Disliked: sergio left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Petersen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Evrything was very clan and staff was very frendly. wifi was good.

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Maria Veselova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013

Liked: it looks really authentic

Disliked: It's hard to find it if you follow instructions given, guy who works there doesn't speak english well enough , so if you don't speak french the only useful thing for you would be free map. Also stuff was not aware of free walking tour that was promised in hostels discription.It was noicy at night, you can perfectly hear sounds from outside even if window is closed.Breackfast included was only words, it was small cup of coffee and a small pancake (that stuff touched before giving to you).And about stuff, berber guy didn't seem really sencere person, and the most disgasting thing was that when we were speaking, he started touching my hands in doubtful way, so i just stopt this conversation and went to my room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, comfortable rooms, great terrasse, it is a place to feel happy and to go back to

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, great ambiance.

Disliked: WC flush not working properly.

The property's response is...