We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Waka Waka

Hostel | Rue El Ksour, Derb Sabai, 13, El Ksour Marrakech, Morocco 40000

88.1% Overall Rating

333 out of 350 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2015)

Lily Woodhouse thinks…

"Everything! Best hostel I have stayed in! Fantastic atmosphere, very easy meet people! The staff are amazing very friendly! Imane and Jawad are really helpful, and lovely! Muhammad fantastic…"

Read all Hostel Waka Waka reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad & Spa Mabrouk
41.21 USD

Hotel 4 star 96.1% 8 reviews
Riad Omar hotel
21.12 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.2% 89 reviews
Ryad Mogador Marrakech
22.53 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Apartment Marrakech Rouge
18.03 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Riad Jddi
8.24 USD

Guesthouse 56.2% 51 reviews
Zen House
33.79 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar Tuscia
16.33 USD

Guesthouse 90.7% 4 reviews
riad du petit prince
30.91 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

333 out of 350 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Waka Waka'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 282 of 342 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Josh Roberts

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: No aircon Not well set out - guys had to bend over to go to the toilet Too many beds in dorms. Not enough room for luggage No lockers Staff were not helpful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pablo Otto Lucero Ascencio

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2015 Pablo Otto would recommend this property

Liked: all is amazing and jawad and mohamed are the best !

Disliked: nothing, all is aswesome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lily Woodhouse

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2015 Lily would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Best hostel I have stayed in! Fantastic atmosphere, very easy meet people! The staff are amazing very friendly! Imane and Jawad are really helpful, and lovely! Muhammad fantastic musician, who performs in the hostel. I will definitely be back!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nalayini Thangarajah

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2015 Nalayini would recommend this property

Liked: Central location with good flexible facilities and excellent staff. Staff were available and consistently willing to go out of their way to help travellers. Fun and friendly atmosphere throughout the stay and definitely value for money. Added bonuses were the breakfast and excellent 'Berber whiskey'.

Disliked: Nalayini left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christophe Lavigne

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2015 Christophe would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: There is only three bathrooms for the whole hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alyssa Gire

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015 Alyssa would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean and had a lot of character. The owners were AMAZING -- I don't remember the main guy's name, but he and Antonio were incredibly entertaining and accommodating. We forgot to let them know that we would be arriving very very late, and when we arrived, they had given our beds to some walk-ins (totally our bad, it was like 3am & we were a group of 11), and they walked us to another property and took great care of us with no extra charge. There were always people hanging out in the lobby (including the owners), and they provided snacks, tea, and hookah for free. Towels are free, bathrooms are clean, & the main market is only about a 5 minute walk away. Antonio also helped us book a last-minute excursion for the next morning that was an absolute blast. We had an amazing stay!

Disliked: It was a little hard to find, but I think that's probably the case with most hostels in Marrakech.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aline Brodzinski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2015 Aline would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: n/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Omar Castillo Santiago

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2015 Omar would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very colorful, staff is incredibly gentle, they helped us for everything, even when we got lost in the city, one from the staff crew went to the city looking for us. The price is also nice for the installation.

Disliked: The location is very near from Marrakech center but the access is in between of many narrow streets where we got lost, also for a women to walk alone by night it might seem kinda dangerous. The facilities are not the best, they could be a little bit cleaner and some need maintenance.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Siglreitmeier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2015 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful & colourful atmosphere, always good mint tea & cookies :)

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jen Schomann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2015 Jen would recommend this property

Liked: Has it's charme. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Jen left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Colorful, tiled building with a colorful staff to go with it. Great location, 10 mins walking from the main square, also close to the new town if you feel like going out to bars, etc.

Disliked: Bathroom situation -- There are only 3 complete bathrooms for the whole property, which can sometimes mean long lines or simply skipping shower. Also, if you are picky recommend you take your own towel and linens (specially towel), it seems to me as if the linens are not washed very often (they were kinda smelly).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway

10 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel.amaizing staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wulfric Blackwell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2014 Wulfric would recommend this property

Liked: Great people, great atmosphere. Really friendly and helpful staff. All round excellent first experience of staying in a hostel and one I hope to go back to sometime.

Disliked: Not a lot, the noise levels could be a little high sometimes but that was the customers not the hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff and great breakfast!

Disliked: Another bathroom would be useful, but I never had to wait too long.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location of hostel is great. Breakfast is awesome, but thing that I liked most is friendly stuff. Especially guy that served breakfast. You can ask them everything and they are sooo polite! If going again to africa, would definetly go to this hostel!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and great place to meet over travelers . So close to the main square and all the action. Stay there you won't regret it.

Disliked: Could do with more showers and toilets but no big deal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Laid back atmosphere, free breakfast was decent, they hosted a free dinner one evening, which was really yummy. I was also able to book a 3 day - 2 night Sahara desert tour through them which was reasonably priced, and leave my backpack with them during that time.

Disliked: I stayed in 2 different rooms and one of them had no ventilation if the door was closed. Bottom bunk was good, but top bunk was too hard to sleep on.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabio Esposito

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 October 2014 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: Dovevamo riamere solo un giorno ma siamo rimasti tutta la vacanza, atmosfera magica... Nel cuore di Marrakesh alle spalle della piazza principale ,ottima colazione ringrazio il propietario e i suoi collaboratori per la disponibilità e la gentilezza ...

Disliked: Fabio left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lars Ulph

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2014 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: I chose Waka Waka due to its proximity to the main square, souks and hammams. I booked it for one night initially and ended up staying a whole week. The first thing you will notice is the amazing colourful decoration with natural light cascading in. You are served tea on arrival and unlimited top ups throughout the day. There is a wonderful rooftop terrace a great place to read, chat and have a tea! The hosts are incredibly genuine and friendly. They will go out of their way to help you out. I had an absolutely magical time, and will miss it greatly and therefore will return again next year to show it off to friends.

Disliked: Lars left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgina Parker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2014 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing. Super friendly and helpful. Great location, less than a two minute walk to the square. Roof terrace is a nice escape to chill out or see the stars.

Disliked: Georgina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lotte Theodoor Johanna Blankenaauw

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2014 Lotte Theodoor Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: We booked the tip for one week and stayed in Waka Waka the first two nights.. but after we left, we kept coming back to the hostel! The stay was just perfect. The beds and bathrooms are clean, the staff is beyond friendly and the atmosphere is great. During youre stay they are trying to make u compfy and they are doing even more than they have to. They even made us diner ! I want to recomend this hostel to everybody that is lookin' for a nice place to stay in the middle of the medina. # A+ !

Disliked: Lotte Theodoor Johanna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sam Watts

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel couldn't be more central. It's great value for your money. The staff couldn't be more friendly. The terrace is great fun to chill in with other travellers when Marakech gets a bit too tiring. Would strongly recommend Waka Waka. Had an amazing time here!

Disliked: The ground floor rooms get boiling at night but you can sleep on the terrace if you want. And you don't come to Morocco expecting it to be cool!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very friendly and welcoming atmosphere, fantastic staff!

Disliked: No air con.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Tierney

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 September 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is centrally located, staff were very accommodating and I would definitely stay again.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

else van Leeuwen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014 else would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in! the owner of the hostel tried everything to make you feel at home. We were offered tea and cookies all the time for free and even got sisha. We returned two more times to this hostel since it was so nice and welcoming. During my last stay I forgot my wallet and the owner of the hostel was so nice to let a driver bring it all the way to Merzouga! Faith in humanity restored and very happy to get back my very important stuff. If I even go back to Marrakech I would stat at this awesome hostel again.

Disliked: The toilet on the first floor did not flush properly.