HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Waka Waka

Hostel | Rue El Ksour, Derb Sabai, 13, El Ksour Marrakech, Morocco 40000

92.8% Overall Rating

282 out of 296 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/04/2014)

mara slipper thinks…

"We loved the staff who welcomed us with free tea and smiles. We left a kindle behind which they returned to us. The rooftop terrace is brilliant."

Read all Hostel Waka Waka reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad & Spa Mabrouk
48.91 USD

Hotel 4 star 100.0% 5 reviews
Riad Omar hotel
25.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.3% 88 reviews
Ryad Mogador Marrakech
27.61 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Riad Al Boraq
51.08 USD

Guesthouse 98.1% 3 reviews
Apartment Marrakech Rouge
21.40 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Zen House
37.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Al Jazira
57.47 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Dar Tuscia
20.02 USD

Guesthouse 89.5% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

282 out of 296 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Waka Waka'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
96.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 236 of 287 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

mara slipper

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2014 mara would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the staff who welcomed us with free tea and smiles. We left a kindle behind which they returned to us. The rooftop terrace is brilliant.

Disliked: They could get some softer pillows!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly. Due to the central "hang out area" it is very easy to get to know other travelers.

Disliked: To use the bathroom, you often have to stand in line. But I guess it is fine considering the low price you pay for a stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, lots of colors, breakfast and free tea.

Disliked: The toilets was not in top condition.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshita Puri

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2014 Joshita would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved our experience at WakaWaka! Great staff, lovely rooms and fabulous atmosphere. The service went above and beyond and our stay included many wonderful extras including occasional free dinners with traditional Moroccan food and music/entertainment. Everything was well organised and it was easy to organise day/overnight trips around Morocco keeping WakaWaka as our base. Definitely would visit again and recommend to fellow travellers!

Disliked: Joshita left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zdenek Lipovsky

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Zdenek would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Zdenek left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location, wifi.

Disliked: Music and discolights until midnight on a Monday may not be everyone's cup of tea..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kalle Vihavainen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2014 Kalle would recommend this property

Liked: Everything went really well. Good location and the roof teras is awesome.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yen Chung Chau

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 February 2014 Yen Chung would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, free tea, very friendly and a cozy place. Breakfast, don't miss it:)

Disliked: Not

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dale Hambridge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2014 Dale would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay at Waka Waka, Hussein and the other staff made us feel very welcome! The hostel is very well located for the souk and main square of Marrakech, and also very close to the new town if you need to go there.. It is a good size place and the shower is always warm. Also it is secure. Thanks Waka Waka!

Disliked: The place is great as it is but I would do a little bit of work on the bathrooms, if I had time!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 February 2014

Liked: good location, friendly and helpfull stall

Disliked: only 3 bathrooms, that weren`t clean enough. Cold in winter,

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nimrod Gabriel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 Nimrod would recommend this property

Liked: The Waka Waka hostel is the best place to stay in Marrakech. The staff were very friendly! like friends... They cooked a really good dinner (for free) for all the guests. And the best place is the awesome chillout area on the roof. I am sure that i will come back to the waka waka one day...!

Disliked: Nimrod left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Scolamieri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014 Luiz would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very friendly and helpful, and the location is nice as well,

Disliked: Luiz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In and out of Waka Waka for months, every time was extremely welcoming and improving. The staff is friendly and make great tea all day for guests. Breakfast is homemade, three bathrooms with warm showers, comfy beds with clean sheets. Personal items are very secure-I left my wallet all over on accident, phones and cameras charging, luggage on the rack. The wifi stopped working one day and was fixed right away. As a solo female traveler, I felt very safe and welcome here, met fellow travelers, took amazing excursions, and want to visit again and again!!

Disliked: It can be loud, but that just depends on the guests.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Gillard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2014 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: The place was beautifully set up, and the staff were super friendly and accommodating and had lots of recommendations for places to eat and visit. The place had a really good, relaxed atmosphere and we happened to arrive the day that they threw a dinner party, so we got a free meal and met the other travellers that were staying there. The guys who work there focus on making it fun, and actually look like they are havig fun themselves, which made a huge difference to how much we enjoyed our stay. They also offered various organised trips out of the city and reasonable prices, and we had space to leave our bags while we were on these trips. They also served us mint tea and homemade biscuits at every opportunity, the place was clean and tidy and in a good location, and we felt very welcome right from the start.

Disliked: Holly left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jules Chester

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 Jules would recommend this property

Liked: Hossein is an AMAZING host at this hostel and made the stay really enjoyable. Excellent location. Breakfast was fabulous, wifi was good as well. Rooftop is awesome. I liked the music they played throughout the day. Some nights they served a complimentary dinner which was off the chain good. I loved this place, thanks for a great stay!

Disliked: Airport taxi that was confirmed was a no-show, no lockers (although the front desk will lock up your things downstairs), rooms are a little dark so bring a small reading light if you plan to read before bed. Make sure you bring some hand soap or hand sanitizer for the bathroom... There are no locks on the room doors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, very welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vinicius Polla

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 January 2014 Vinicius would recommend this property

Liked: the friendliness of the staff, very, very nice and helpful

Disliked: Vinicius left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathy Cheng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Kathy would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed the atmosphere! The staff are extremely friendly and kind. There's really nothing bad about this hostel - it's a lot like home :) I attended the cooking class and it was one of the highlights of my trip. We went around the market hunting for various ingredients and after the class, we feasted! Hahaa this hostel has one of the best roof terraces! It provides you a space to chill and get to know people.!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing - I truly enjoyed my stay!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Ahern

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2014 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic decor and great atmosphere when you first walk in! Sit down for a cup of Berber "whiskey" and look up at the open balcony above you opening to the sky. Excellent location only a few minutes from Jeema El-Fna and the souks, and the staff are really accommodating and happy to tell you the best places to visit.

Disliked: Everything was great apart from the bathrooms - but not much can be done as they are under the stairs and it would be very difficult to fix. Otherwise excellent

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joseph Wiggans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2014

Liked: It was a good location, and it had a roof terrace.

Disliked: No hot water. Toilet seats falling off. Dangerous wiring. One of the staff insisted on sitting at a computer playing a questionable assortment of music, singing along, and starting a new track every 60 seconds. When guests put music on, he would change it to his own choice. Pretty irritating. This hostel offered me free nights stay and airport transfer in order to leave a positive review. Other guests were offered the same. They also quoted a taxi price 3 times what it should have been. They are clearly not working in their customers interests. One of the staff spoke no English, and the others had little local knowledge. A girl I was travelling with was also groped by one of the staff.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere and really nice staff

Disliked: Very loud

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fahad alamri

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

05 January 2014 fahad would recommend this property

Liked: I love this place so mush very nice hostel everything it's good lovely place.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Kirk

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 January 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a great place to stay in a really centralised location in the medina. The owners, Houssin and Yassine, made us feel right at home here with their friendly presence. Very chilled and ideal for relaxing after a day in the medina. The breakfast is delicious. Value for money and very highly recommended.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Pena

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Grewt atmosphear and staff.

Disliked: Needs more organization

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUAN CHANG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2014 YUAN would recommend this property

Liked: If you wanna experience REAL Moroccro ,the atmosphere of waka waka is the best choices.Food,music,living room(like an old palace ),party,local food .Have a real local life here.We had great time here.Even more,when we back from the desert ,we got niticed that we will have Free dinner party!! I cant believe that The "free" dinner was the best morocco food we ever had!!!Better than all the restaurant .I love here.And Hou Ssin is the coolest guy:)

Disliked: YUAN left no negative feedback.