HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Layla Rouge

Hostel | Rue el Ksour, Derb Rokni, 23, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

96.8% Overall Rating

250 out of 259 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2014)

Victoria Lee thinks…

"Nice breakfast, cool roofdeck, helpful staff, good location (and helpful directions)"

Read all Riad Layla Rouge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Sable Chaud
45.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Soumia
39.89 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar Sara and Srira
43.92 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
RIAD LA CROIX BERBERE
43.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Auberge Les Couleurs de l'orient
17.81 USD

Hostel 86.0% 21 reviews
Riad Villa Harmonie
25.26 USD

Guesthouse 98.1% 3 reviews
Kssour Agafay
797.77 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dia
8.31 USD

Hostel 97.1% 66 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.8%

Overall Rating

250 out of 259 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Layla Rouge'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 223 of 257 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Victoria Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2014

Liked: Nice breakfast, cool roofdeck, helpful staff, good location (and helpful directions)

Disliked: My bed in the dormitory was infested with bed bugs. After I told the manager that I had seen the bugs and been bitten, he said he changed all the sheets in the room and treated the bed with a special powder. In my experience, bed bugs are extremely difficult to get rid of and another hostel that had found an infestation had shut down for a week to deal with it, so I have trouble believing the bugs were killed. I was assigned to a different bed in the same room (I decided to sleep on the roof instead) and another guest was assigned to the infested bed. I don't know if he was bitten as well, but I don't think the problem was dealt with properly and the bites wound up making my trip less enjoyable.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most friendly hostel we have ever stayed in. The staff are so lovely and very attentive, very good location, the hostel and the room is so clean, best view from the terrace, good and delicious breakfast. Easily the best hostel in Marrakech.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very good and Fantastic hospitality! The staff very friendly and make you feel like home especially ABDEL. Breakfast was perfect and delecious, very clean room, good shower with hot water, good location and best view from the terrace. 100 % Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben McIver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Ahmed (the owner) and Mohammed were so so kind, the rooms were spacious and had deposit boxes for valuables. The rooftop terrace was incredible!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Layla rouge is a small, cosy and very authentic hotel. I've stayed there for 3 nights in a private room and we enjoyed the stay! The staff was amazing, very polite, helpful and friendly. It had this home feeling where you just feel relaxed. Big thanks to the manager and the whole staff at the hostel! I would recommend this hostel to everyone!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best riads we've ever stayed at. It's a very welcoming place and both the staff are amazingly friendly and always ready to help and giving tips or directions.Highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Couldn't have been much better! Great and very welcoming hostel! I had a great time and the staff really goes out of their way to make you feel home and comfortable. Great location, big breakfast, very clean with unique environment! thank you :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is better than your expectation. Staffs are so nice. And the environment is just amazing. The picture shown is nothing. Muchhh better!!! Breakfast is served by 1:1 so coooool

Disliked: Property is awsome!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great riad! Clean and safe. Great place to meet people. Arranged trips, very helpful staff. One if the best riads I've stayed at with a best view from the rooftop.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location ( near to the square), delicious breakfast, the room is good and clean!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, right in the middle of everything. And the breakfast was fab every morning- Was a lovely easy going atmosphere and lovely areas for chilling out

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

TRACY YIP

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 TRACY would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful riad located few mins walk to the Djemma el fna. Nice roof, good breakfast, good shower, air-con room. The staff even prepared our breakfast earlier on our leaving day for Desert tour. Welcome staff though without good memory, but once you reminded him, he reverted to you shortly.

Disliked: a bit difficult to find.. but if you watched the video showing you the way from the square, you got it. btw, the café mentioned in the video has been closed... so you better look for the similar building nor the café name. a small dark alley way back to the riad but feeling safe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon Day

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 May 2014 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe and friendly staff!

Disliked: Leaving was sad... Nothing bad to say

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a brilliant stay in this hostel. Extremely close to the main square. Hostel was clean, rooms were incredible especially for the price, decorations went above and beyond. Abdel, hostel manager, was a huge help! Would definately recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: enjoyed my stay here, traditional furnished riad, bright colours and good 'vibe' in the hostel. few mins walk from djema el fnaa. staff very helpful and full of tips and good advice. excellent cookery classs for 15 euros at neighbouring hostel. highly recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff in a good location, rooms clean and well decorated. Very enjoyable stay. Good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arda Kaplan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Arda would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Layla Rouge harika bir atmosfere sahip. Hostelin sahibi Abdel oldukca yardimciydi. Ozenle hazirladiklari kahvaltilarini ozellikle cok begendim. Hostelin terasinda da mutlaka oturmalisiniz, cok guzel.

Disliked: Arda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iain Reid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2014 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Layla Rouge is one of those special hostels that a traveller only comes by every once in a while. Abdel, the manager, greets each and every guest with a smile, mint tea, and an amazing amount of advice and tips about Marrakech. He really makes you feel right at home as soon as you walk in the door. The entire staff is incredibly friendly and accomodating, and I've rarely felt as comfortable as I have while staying at the Rouge. Some highlights: - Excellent location - Beautiful decor - Friendly atmosphere - Delicious breakfast - GORGEOUS rooftop terrace - Comfortable beds and facilities I've heard their cooking classes, activities, and excursions are also superb, although I didn't have time to try em all out. Stay at the Rouge; you won't regret it.

Disliked: Not a single complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Very friendly and helpful staff. A beautiful, clean and very authentic looking hostel with a great breakfast! Thank you so much to Abdel and all the hostel staff :)

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Johnstone

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so lovely; i can't emphasise enough how much we loved this hostel! Place was beautifully decorated, very clean, great sociable relaxed atmosphere and perfectly located in the heart of Marrakesh. We will most definitely stay with Riad Layla Rouge when we return to Morocco!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i really enjoyed my stay at layla rouge. The location is perfect and just 2 min from the main square. The riad is very clean and has a wonderful atmosphere. The staff are really helpful and friendly. abdel made me feel very welcome and was extremely helpful. This was the best place i stayed in Morocco and i would stay here again if i came back. I would definitely recommend to anyone that is staying in Marrakesh

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katya Lightman

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Katya would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean rooms and great atmosphere!

Disliked: Katya left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location just next to the main square. Host and staff are very friendly and happy to help you with any questions you have. Try the tea and cake!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was awesome! very clean and very secured. The vibe was great and everyone there was so friendly and helpful! Good location, the breakfast is amazingly good. I will definitely be back!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best riad in all of Marrakech! Absolutely loved staying at Riad layla rouge, Very friendly staff, helpful and accommodating, make you feel right at home! Free mint tea, delicious homemade breakfast, beautiful decoration and the rooms are very clean, hot shower. I really enjoyed my stay there and i would come back soon. thank you abdel for everything :)

Disliked: -