We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Layla Rouge

Hostel | Rue el Ksour, Derb Rokni, 23, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

92.7% Overall Rating

260 out of 271 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/11/2014)

I. C. Turner thinks…

"It's beautiful but I think that most riads are very similar in that regard. It has a collection of small roof terraces. The location is good once you can find it. The ceilings and upper bunks high."

Read all Riad Layla Rouge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.01

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Sable Chaud
53.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Soumia
37.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar Sara and Srira
44.80 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
RIAD LA CROIX BERBERE
58.19 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Auberge Les Couleurs de l'orient
17.01 USD

Hostel 86.0% 21 reviews
Riad Villa Harmonie
40.48 USD

Guesthouse 98.1% 3 reviews
Riad Jennah Rouge
14.18 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Kssour Agafay
759.01 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.7%

Overall Rating

260 out of 271 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Layla Rouge'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 228 of 268 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2014

Liked: It's beautiful but I think that most riads are very similar in that regard. It has a collection of small roof terraces. The location is good once you can find it. The ceilings and upper bunks high.

Disliked: The directions are extremely poor: the starting point is a cafe which seems to have closed down and which certainly has no name on it: you are then supposed to go into the square 'next' to it but which is in fact not visible from there. If I had been sure that it was the right cafe I would have explored around the back until I found the square, but of course I could not be. The taxi driver then insisted on taking me out of the medina to the back entrance, from which I had no way to find the hostel but to give in and let a hanger on harassing me show me the way and thus have to pay him. It claims to have large numbers of facilities for which I saw no evidence, such as bars, washing machines, a communal kitchen and a television room. The main employee there had that sort of pseudo-ingratiating but condescending air. For example, he asked how many languages I spoke, to which I modestly lied, as a precursor to boasting (inaccurately) about how many he did. He recommended specific food stalls which turned out to be no better than others and presumably just run by his cronies. He overcharged me on the basis of 'conversion' even though I had a price quoted in dirhams and was paying in them: he only saw sense about this a day later. When I was taken to the dorm with some other guests, he annoyingly chose our beds for us, saying that the girls (one of whom had not yet arrived) should have the bottom bunks and forcing me to have an upper one even though I was already there: the metal bunks were extremely squeaky and it would obviously thus have made more sense for the two friends to be in the same one; the narrow metal rungs were also extremely painful and as I have problems with my feet I didn't appreciate being denied the right to choose. Then once when I was in the shower, he said something garbled through the door that I guessed to mean if I knew the time; he then stuck his arm under the door and tapped at his wrist; I assumed that he was telling me off for being in the shower too long and felt really uncomfortable with the whole conversation especially as I was naked and there was only a flimsy curtain against the glass door; it turned out that he was trying to ask if there were a watch in the bathroom, which there wasn't anyway and which I have no idea why he couldn't have waited a few minutes to look for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elle Marsh

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

27 November 2014 Elle would recommend this property

Liked: Sayd was a wonderful host! We had everything we needed at Layla Rouge and more. When we arrived late on a rainy night we where welcomed by friendly staff and delicious mint tea. Plenty of information about Marrakech provided and good company. It's a very colourful friendly hostel in a great location!

Disliked: Elle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Barbara Reis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2014 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts were the best ones. They helped me with everything I needed to know about excursions and the city. The breakfast and the moroccan decoration were amazing too! I will definitely go back there one day and stay longer Thank you very much for the hospitality, Said and Simo!

Disliked: Barbara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Kayla Rouge at very accommodating, helping me organise tours and making the most of my trip in Marrakech. The location is right where you want to be, close to the centre but hidden away enough to avoid the crowd and noise. It is a very beautiful place to stay whilst in Marrakech!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marloes Huitema

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2014 Marloes would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very good stay in one of the private rooms of Layla Rouge. It was a very friendly and welcome arrival for the first time in Morocco. The room was wel equipped and clean and the breakfast was amazing. In the end of our trip we returned to Marrakech with a warm welcome in this riad.

Disliked: Marloes left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Victoria Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2014

Liked: Nice breakfast, cool roofdeck, helpful staff, good location (and helpful directions)

Disliked: My bed in the dormitory was infested with bed bugs. After I told the manager that I had seen the bugs and been bitten, he said he changed all the sheets in the room and treated the bed with a special powder. In my experience, bed bugs are extremely difficult to get rid of and another hostel that had found an infestation had shut down for a week to deal with it, so I have trouble believing the bugs were killed. I was assigned to a different bed in the same room (I decided to sleep on the roof instead) and another guest was assigned to the infested bed. I don't know if he was bitten as well, but I don't think the problem was dealt with properly and the bites wound up making my trip less enjoyable.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most friendly hostel we have ever stayed in. The staff are so lovely and very attentive, very good location, the hostel and the room is so clean, best view from the terrace, good and delicious breakfast. Easily the best hostel in Marrakech.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very good and Fantastic hospitality! The staff very friendly and make you feel like home especially ABDEL. Breakfast was perfect and delecious, very clean room, good shower with hot water, good location and best view from the terrace. 100 % Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben McIver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Ahmed (the owner) and Mohammed were so so kind, the rooms were spacious and had deposit boxes for valuables. The rooftop terrace was incredible!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Layla rouge is a small, cosy and very authentic hotel. I've stayed there for 3 nights in a private room and we enjoyed the stay! The staff was amazing, very polite, helpful and friendly. It had this home feeling where you just feel relaxed. Big thanks to the manager and the whole staff at the hostel! I would recommend this hostel to everyone!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best riads we've ever stayed at. It's a very welcoming place and both the staff are amazingly friendly and always ready to help and giving tips or directions.Highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Couldn't have been much better! Great and very welcoming hostel! I had a great time and the staff really goes out of their way to make you feel home and comfortable. Great location, big breakfast, very clean with unique environment! thank you :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is better than your expectation. Staffs are so nice. And the environment is just amazing. The picture shown is nothing. Muchhh better!!! Breakfast is served by 1:1 so coooool

Disliked: Property is awsome!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great riad! Clean and safe. Great place to meet people. Arranged trips, very helpful staff. One if the best riads I've stayed at with a best view from the rooftop.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location ( near to the square), delicious breakfast, the room is good and clean!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, right in the middle of everything. And the breakfast was fab every morning- Was a lovely easy going atmosphere and lovely areas for chilling out

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

TRACY YIP

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 TRACY would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful riad located few mins walk to the Djemma el fna. Nice roof, good breakfast, good shower, air-con room. The staff even prepared our breakfast earlier on our leaving day for Desert tour. Welcome staff though without good memory, but once you reminded him, he reverted to you shortly.

Disliked: a bit difficult to find.. but if you watched the video showing you the way from the square, you got it. btw, the café mentioned in the video has been closed... so you better look for the similar building nor the café name. a small dark alley way back to the riad but feeling safe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon Day

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 May 2014 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe and friendly staff!

Disliked: Leaving was sad... Nothing bad to say

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a brilliant stay in this hostel. Extremely close to the main square. Hostel was clean, rooms were incredible especially for the price, decorations went above and beyond. Abdel, hostel manager, was a huge help! Would definately recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: enjoyed my stay here, traditional furnished riad, bright colours and good 'vibe' in the hostel. few mins walk from djema el fnaa. staff very helpful and full of tips and good advice. excellent cookery classs for 15 euros at neighbouring hostel. highly recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff in a good location, rooms clean and well decorated. Very enjoyable stay. Good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arda Kaplan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2014 Arda would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Layla Rouge harika bir atmosfere sahip. Hostelin sahibi Abdel oldukca yardimciydi. Ozenle hazirladiklari kahvaltilarini ozellikle cok begendim. Hostelin terasinda da mutlaka oturmalisiniz, cok guzel.

Disliked: Arda left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iain Reid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2014 Iain would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Layla Rouge is one of those special hostels that a traveller only comes by every once in a while. Abdel, the manager, greets each and every guest with a smile, mint tea, and an amazing amount of advice and tips about Marrakech. He really makes you feel right at home as soon as you walk in the door. The entire staff is incredibly friendly and accomodating, and I've rarely felt as comfortable as I have while staying at the Rouge. Some highlights: - Excellent location - Beautiful decor - Friendly atmosphere - Delicious breakfast - GORGEOUS rooftop terrace - Comfortable beds and facilities I've heard their cooking classes, activities, and excursions are also superb, although I didn't have time to try em all out. Stay at the Rouge; you won't regret it.

Disliked: Not a single complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Very friendly and helpful staff. A beautiful, clean and very authentic looking hostel with a great breakfast! Thank you so much to Abdel and all the hostel staff :)

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlotte Johnstone

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so lovely; i can't emphasise enough how much we loved this hostel! Place was beautifully decorated, very clean, great sociable relaxed atmosphere and perfectly located in the heart of Marrakesh. We will most definitely stay with Riad Layla Rouge when we return to Morocco!

Disliked: Nothing!