We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Layla Rouge

Hostel | Rue el Ksour, Derb Rokni, 23, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

92.8% Overall Rating

281 out of 294 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2015)

"It is a very beautiful Riad-nice designs and clean. This is more of a private Riad, less social, more quiet."

Read all Riad Layla Rouge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.61

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Sable Chaud
48.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Soumia
34.35 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar Sara and Srira
46.31 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
RIAD LA CROIX BERBERE
38.56 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Auberge Les Couleurs de l'orient
15.61 USD

Hostel 86.1% 22 reviews
Riad Villa Harmonie
24.04 USD

Guesthouse 98.1% 3 reviews
Riad Jennah Rouge
8.33 USD

Hostel 97.7% 15 reviews
Kssour Agafay
228.99 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

281 out of 294 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Layla Rouge'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 242 of 291 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very beautiful Riad-nice designs and clean. This is more of a private Riad, less social, more quiet.

Disliked: The shower got really, burning hot, and did not drain. Also, one of the newer workers gave me the real price for excursions, but when the other worker showed up, he said it was wrong, and charged an extra $10-15 dollars, which is alot in Marrakech (a day excursion can be only $20). When I went to another Riad, they quoted the original price, and I realized I got ripped off. So make sure you ask other Riads before getting paying for excursions bc you will get ripped off.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked to stay at Layla Rouge, but we were previously staying at Jennah Rouge and ended up there instead. Both places were beautiful! and the staff were extremely helpful and made our stay memorable. We also met many travellers who we went on excursions with. The restaurant where we had breakfast (all included) had so much variety of different breads and sweets, and we had options of Moroccan tea and coffee. The staff again were extremely helpful and accommodating. Really enjoyed the experience!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

riesa van doorn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2015 riesa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful, the hostel has a friendly, cosy and welcomming athmosphere. And the breakfast was awesome.

Disliked: -

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jeff Warta

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2015

Liked: Rooftop, generally very quiet.

Disliked: When I stayed they put me in another of their properties, Riad Jennah Rouge, without informing me. The first night, I tried making my way back to Layla Rouge, only to find myself at the wrong location in the dark. For anyone that's been to the old town of Marrakech, this can be a dangerous situation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely outstanding hostel - the best I have ever stayed in. Simply brilliant. The staff will bend over backwards to make your stay the best it can be, and are extremely knowledgeable about the area. The hostel is spotlessly clean whilst also giving a unique Moroccan experience. Full marks.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2015

Liked: Good location

Disliked: It was so noisy, we could not sleep for three nights. We got no key for our room so it was open all the time. There was no AC as offered and it was so hot and sticky at night. No one gets a key to the riad and so has to Ring a bell. Unfortuntately this is often overheard by the staff - especially in the night. So we wok up all the time. Also the owner charged more as the stated price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefano Larotonda

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2015 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel - mostly due to the amazing staff who couldn't do enough for you. The hostel itself seems to be pretty similar to the style of most other Riads in the area. Not massive but with the upstairs terrace, and downstairs communal rooms, its more than enough space to do. We booked our taxi from the airport to the hostel with Layla Rouge. It cost 150 MAD. You might have been able to get it a bit cheaper by haggling with the taxis outside the airport, but it was 8pm when we arrived, and had heard that the streets around the medina can be a bit of a maze so we thought this would be the most convenient option. It was! The taxi dropped us off just outside the Medina, and Syed from the hostel met us and walked us directly to the hostel. He welcomed us in with amazing personality, made us tea, chatted for a bit, showed us our room and then when we were asking where we could eat - about 9.30pm by this stage - walked us across the square to a fantastic and cheap café where we got fantastic tagines. This amazing hostility continued for the full 3 days we were there from all the staff. They're pretty laid back but to enjoy Marrakech in its full amazing colour - your definitely better to have a laid back attitude and take your time enjoying it. The riad is in a great location. Just a couple of minutes from Jemaa el Fna square which is full of life during the day and night. Its right beside the souks, and its an amazing experience just strolling through them. We organised a trip to the Atlas mountains and a cooking class through the Riad, and both were fantastic!!! We visited the new town one evening for food but it lacks the atmosphere of the old town and we didn't hang round long. we would definitely go back to Marrakech and we would defniitly stay in this hostel especially if the Syed's are both still working there :)

Disliked: We visited in February so it was chilly at night in Marrakech. There are no heaters in the Riad, but they provide extra blankets and the water is hot hot so we never felt uncomfortable and had packed knowing that it would be chilly in the evenings. The weather can vary a lot - but would definitely recommend a fleece for the evenings, and even during the day if its cloudy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Sofia Larsson

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015 Lisa Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cosy and very frendly atmosfeer ! A Little perle ! nice and relaxed,,, oacis in the bussi city

Disliked: Lisa Sofia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Burns

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 February 2015 John would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near to jama al fna and really friendly staff. Rooms are nicely decorated too.

Disliked: None.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Morag Smith

Alone

City break

04 February 2015 Morag would recommend this property

Liked: small but well laid out, with space to mingle with other guests. Helpful staff, never ending supply of hot tea (free) was amazing! Breakfast was great and lots & lots. Roof terrace was fab did not use as much as i would have like as it was very cold but would be great if a bit warmer later in the year.

Disliked: It was very cold, did not have a roof, Im sure this is ideal in the warmer months but not great in the winter if not prepared for cold evenings and nights. Also quite hard to find the first few times but I think this is true of everywhere in the medina in Marrakech- just the way it is.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + super breakfast + very friendly personal + due to desert trip 3 days 2 nights, i extended one more night without any problem. + 10 -12 mins from market square

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rowena webb

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2015 rowena would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, and beautiful riad.

Disliked: Nothing bad to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here are so incredibly lovely and really accommodating. The food available was really lovely and the room was beautiful. Hot showers and internet 24/7, free tea and sweets whenever you asked for them and lots of helpful advice. You can also take part in cookery classes and excursions through the hostel. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

I. C. Turner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2014

Liked: It's beautiful but I think that most riads are very similar in that regard. It has a collection of small roof terraces. The location is good once you can find it. The ceilings and upper bunks high.

Disliked: The directions are extremely poor: the starting point is a cafe which seems to have closed down and which certainly has no name on it: you are then supposed to go into the square 'next' to it but which is in fact not visible from there. If I had been sure that it was the right cafe I would have explored around the back until I found the square, but of course I could not be. The taxi driver then insisted on taking me out of the medina to the back entrance, from which I had no way to find the hostel but to give in and let a hanger on harassing me show me the way and thus have to pay him. It claims to have large numbers of facilities for which I saw no evidence, such as bars, washing machines, a communal kitchen and a television room. The main employee there had that sort of pseudo-ingratiating but condescending air. For example, he asked how many languages I spoke, to which I modestly lied, as a precursor to boasting (inaccurately) about how many he did. He recommended specific food stalls which turned out to be no better than others and presumably just run by his cronies. He overcharged me on the basis of 'conversion' even though I had a price quoted in dirhams and was paying in them: he only saw sense about this a day later. When I was taken to the dorm with some other guests, he annoyingly chose our beds for us, saying that the girls (one of whom had not yet arrived) should have the bottom bunks and forcing me to have an upper one even though I was already there: the metal bunks were extremely squeaky and it would obviously thus have made more sense for the two friends to be in the same one; the narrow metal rungs were also extremely painful and as I have problems with my feet I didn't appreciate being denied the right to choose. Then once when I was in the shower, he said something garbled through the door that I guessed to mean if I knew the time; he then stuck his arm under the door and tapped at his wrist; I assumed that he was telling me off for being in the shower too long and felt really uncomfortable with the whole conversation especially as I was naked and there was only a flimsy curtain against the glass door; it turned out that he was trying to ask if there were a watch in the bathroom, which there wasn't anyway and which I have no idea why he couldn't have waited a few minutes to look for.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elle Marsh

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

27 November 2014 Elle would recommend this property

Liked: Sayd was a wonderful host! We had everything we needed at Layla Rouge and more. When we arrived late on a rainy night we where welcomed by friendly staff and delicious mint tea. Plenty of information about Marrakech provided and good company. It's a very colourful friendly hostel in a great location!

Disliked: Elle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Barbara Reis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2014 Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts were the best ones. They helped me with everything I needed to know about excursions and the city. The breakfast and the moroccan decoration were amazing too! I will definitely go back there one day and stay longer Thank you very much for the hospitality, Said and Simo!

Disliked: Barbara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Kayla Rouge at very accommodating, helping me organise tours and making the most of my trip in Marrakech. The location is right where you want to be, close to the centre but hidden away enough to avoid the crowd and noise. It is a very beautiful place to stay whilst in Marrakech!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marloes Huitema

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2014 Marloes would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very good stay in one of the private rooms of Layla Rouge. It was a very friendly and welcome arrival for the first time in Morocco. The room was wel equipped and clean and the breakfast was amazing. In the end of our trip we returned to Marrakech with a warm welcome in this riad.

Disliked: Marloes left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Victoria Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2014

Liked: Nice breakfast, cool roofdeck, helpful staff, good location (and helpful directions)

Disliked: My bed in the dormitory was infested with bed bugs. After I told the manager that I had seen the bugs and been bitten, he said he changed all the sheets in the room and treated the bed with a special powder. In my experience, bed bugs are extremely difficult to get rid of and another hostel that had found an infestation had shut down for a week to deal with it, so I have trouble believing the bugs were killed. I was assigned to a different bed in the same room (I decided to sleep on the roof instead) and another guest was assigned to the infested bed. I don't know if he was bitten as well, but I don't think the problem was dealt with properly and the bites wound up making my trip less enjoyable.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the most friendly hostel we have ever stayed in. The staff are so lovely and very attentive, very good location, the hostel and the room is so clean, best view from the terrace, good and delicious breakfast. Easily the best hostel in Marrakech.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very good and Fantastic hospitality! The staff very friendly and make you feel like home especially ABDEL. Breakfast was perfect and delecious, very clean room, good shower with hot water, good location and best view from the terrace. 100 % Highly recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben McIver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Ahmed (the owner) and Mohammed were so so kind, the rooms were spacious and had deposit boxes for valuables. The rooftop terrace was incredible!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Layla rouge is a small, cosy and very authentic hotel. I've stayed there for 3 nights in a private room and we enjoyed the stay! The staff was amazing, very polite, helpful and friendly. It had this home feeling where you just feel relaxed. Big thanks to the manager and the whole staff at the hostel! I would recommend this hostel to everyone!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best riads we've ever stayed at. It's a very welcoming place and both the staff are amazingly friendly and always ready to help and giving tips or directions.Highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.