HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech

Hostel | Derb Raouia Rmila No. 18, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

80.0% Overall Rating

129 out of 136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

"friendly and helpful staff, great terrasse - ask if u can sleep there, its much nicer than the rooms! close to the medina."

Read all Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Lalla Khiti
36.81 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Riad Koutobia
36.81 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 85.7% 3 reviews
Riad Mille et une nuits
44.92 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Riad Nerja
44.92 USD

Guesthouse 92.6% 5 reviews
Riad Rabahsadia
33.74 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Auberge Les Couleurs de l'orient
18.40 USD

Hostel 85.4% 20 reviews
riad 63
11.04 USD

Hotel 5 star 71.4% 14 reviews
Dar Sara and Srira
61.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

129 out of 136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 112 of 133 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, great terrasse - ask if u can sleep there, its much nicer than the rooms! close to the medina.

Disliked: its hard to find, quite hidden in a little street, without a sign. the bathroom smells pretty badly - it isn't the cleanest hostel and not the best beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Blackwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

30 March 2014 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Mama Marrakech was my go-to hostel in Marrakech...it felt more like a home away from home than a hostel. The staff was all so friendly and welcoming every time I came back, so much that I really consider them friends now. Definitely a party hostel; every night was a new adventure, full of rooftop shenanigans. Also, the free breakfast and tea were great! I also really appreciated how they let me leave my bag there for days at a time. It really helped me travel light and enjoy my trip more.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thomas Mooney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing in particular that I would criticise about the property. Marrakech is somewhere I would waste time with.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014

Liked: Nichts!

Disliked: Sehr dreckige Absteige, man schläft auf Matratzen am Boden (Kopf an Fuß), das ungewaschene Bettzeug vom Vorgänger wurde verwendet, alles ist ziemlich kaputt und abgewohnt.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice living room to meet people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Kandzia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: chill out and relaxing was pretty easy to do there because they have an awesome lounge and roof top terrace. at night we all hang out together and laughed a lot around a fire stove with cheese, bread and the like - good times!

Disliked: the coffee wasn't the best haha

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice and good vibes!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annette Schmidt

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 Annette would recommend this property

Liked: It is a really friendly and comfortable Hostel, very close to the main square of old Medina. The staff is really helpful and friendly. They offer good tours and trips to the desert.

Disliked: Annette left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

sergio jose suarez santos

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2014 sergio jose would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere

Disliked: the small toilet

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karina dennisse guerra cuenca

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2014 karina dennisse would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere and the breakfast was super good. The staff was really nice.

Disliked: karina dennisse left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

HIROKI OHASHI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2014 HIROKI would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, stable hot shower, free wi-fi, friendly staff

Disliked: It was so noisy until midnight with other guests and included staff. near from square by walk 5 min.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Athmosphere with other guests. The terras on the roof is nice. It is nice located at a main street from the medina.

Disliked: Breakfast should be served earlier. Otherwise you lose to mucht time. You should get an paymentfactuur. There is no lock on the door, and there are lockers but hlaf of them have no key??!!.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building. Very relaxed

Disliked: Wifi was not working and didn't appear to have been for the past few months. The manager offered other patrons a discount when they complained, but simply told everyone that there were 'issues' with the connection and it should be back the following day. Hard beds

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

José María Simón

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014

Liked: The place itself is interesting. Location is not bad (it could be better though).

Disliked: It took me a long time to meet someone in charge. There was a big argument and it wasn´t nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Bruin

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 December 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located very well, it's near to the big square and in a quiet neighborhood. Great staff, they are very friendly and always willing to help. I've travelled through Europe before and I've stayed in good hostels there, but they weren't as good as this one. The best hostel I've ever stayed!!! And they have great tours.

Disliked: Nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very chill laid back backpacking vibe.

Disliked: Smoking inside the main room, I don't smoke so that's not cool. The location is a bit out of the way, I had to pay a homeless guy to get me there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff. also they are warm. a quiet place that is easy to sleep. I'd recommend 6 beds room its worth than 12 beds room because of not a bunk bed. but if you are big, might be a small size for you. i've stayed another hostel in marrakech. (trip and friends) was also good stuff. but Mama marrakech has a mush better shower.

Disliked: A bit far from jemaa el funa 15 min away. but no get noise instead. a quiet place. stuff is not flexible sometimes. when i want to have breakfast, staff was still sleeping. many guests were waiting for that around 20 min.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giovanni Bellantuono

Alone

City break

14 October 2013 Giovanni would recommend this property

Liked: Symply good!!!!

Disliked: Any.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yon Samat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Yon would recommend this property

Liked: Karim is such a great guy and a lovely host. He welcomes you with mint tea as you arrive and treat you like a guest at his home. He's the one who opens the door whenever you get home with a smile. He's truely great and so were his staff (even though I couldn't differentiate which one). As me and my friends are Muslim girls, Karim was very understanding and tried his best to provide us an all-female room although it doesn't really exist. I can't thank you enough for that!

Disliked: However Karim, you really need to set up some rules to your guests. On my first night I can't even sleep even after 12am coz the living room is next to my room, and somebody played songs after songs very loudly, and the smokes from people smoking went to the room.. it's like a nightmare, coz I was very exhausted after travelling from Seville that morning. It was really noisy! And the worst thing that happened was, me and my friends got bitten by bedbugs! It must be the mattress we slept on... Itwas sooo itchy and lasts for 7-10 days.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Home away from home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Stone

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: COOL people, cool vibe, good location. What else can I say?

Disliked: They do need a vacuum cleaner.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff! I lend some money from a other backpacker because my card was not working, anyway he was leaving for a desert trip so I had to give the money to the staff because I was leaving as well - long story short the staff gave the money to my helper! :) i would absolutely recommend this hostel! lovely people! :D

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tradicional interior, excelent staff, great atmosphere and cafee and tea for free in any time of day or night

Disliked: /

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steffan Seal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2013 Steffan would recommend this property

Liked: Really chilled and friendly vibe, good facilities and very friendly staff. Would recommend.

Disliked: Steffan left no negative feedback.