HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dar Zelda

Guesthouse | 7 derb Laakar Khat-Ben-Ahid, 'Le Mokef', Marrakech, Morocco 48000

93.2% Overall Rating

21 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2014)

Charlotte Oates thinks…

"Very approachable staff. Flexible with regard to mealtimes. Lovely room (cleaned twice in a 8 night stay)"

Read all Dar Zelda reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Dar Tarik
79.74 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Dar Foundouk
61.34 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Misria
41.47 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad dar Nael
16.59 USD

Guesthouse 86.8% 11 reviews
Riad ABHAR
29.44 USD

Guesthouse 94.1% 27 reviews
Riad Bibtia
52.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Al Mamoune
31.79 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 26 reviews
Riad Habib
36.81 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.2%

Overall Rating

21 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Zelda'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
86.7%
Facilities
88.6%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.1%
Value
96.2%
Safety
92.4%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlotte Oates

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 March 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Very approachable staff. Flexible with regard to mealtimes. Lovely room (cleaned twice in a 8 night stay)

Disliked: Building works were not mentioned at the time of booking, nor the fact they work till 4 am! Occasional linguistic difficulties. Discuss the bill at the end - a lot of added extras/price rises in the bill, to be expected in Morocco I suppose but not the nicest thing to have to deal with at the end of a holiday.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff Great atmosphere Very peaceful

Disliked: Location is rather difficult to find Could do with a touch up here and there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room in the Riad was lovely, and well air conditioned, which is much needed in the summer heat. The plunge pool in the court yard was a nice way to relax and the roof-top garden is spectacular. Its amazing how tranquil Dar Zelda is when just outside its walls is the hustle and bustle of the Medina. The staff were lovely and Aladdin was particularly great. We inquired about the best way to see the Cascades (a waterfall 3 hours away) and instead of just seeing the Cascades, we saw the Cascades, the Arch, experienced a Hammam, saw Aladdins home town, and met and celebrated the end of Ramadan with Aladdin’s’ family. This definitely made the trip!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A relaxing retreat from the world outside. The staff are friendly and very helpful

Disliked: Rather hard to find. A simple map for guests would go a long way

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Federico Reginelli

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 May 2013 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Zelda is a wonderful Riad, located in Medina center close to good moroccan shops but outside the chaos. It is very very clean, safe and the atmosphere is traditional. Michel is a delicious person who make you feel like at home. I hope to will be back soon in Marrakesh..definitely in Dar Zelda

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria cecilia rubio

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2013 maria cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: peaceful, relaxing, excellent people taking care of us lovely rooms and bathrooms, and good location....after you get used to the Medina

Disliked: I would suggest a more powerful wifi to be able to connect at the terrace easily. It did work, sometimes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Felix Radeck

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2013 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: This place is really well designed with spacious rooms, authentic but luxury flair, helpful staff. It is a very good and calm place to relax from the busyness of Marrakech. You might not want to leave the room anymore ;-)

Disliked: Felix left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were given a free upgrade to a lovely room.. Location was excellent, close enough to the main square to easily walk and also very quiet. Breakfast was nice and served at a time of your choice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Menzie

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: It was like walking into an oasis. On entering there was a massive palm tree and a very small heated pool. The calmness and tranquility of our room was heavenly. The staff who looked after us - Aladdin and Miriam were welcoming , friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very relaxing and the pancakes made by Miriam were yummy. Aladdin's guitar was much appreciated and well played. We greatly recommend this property.

Disliked: The winding lanes leading up to the property. If you were out until late it felt a bit unsafe coming home as the workshops were all closed and only the odd person walking about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathie Akins

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012 Kathie would recommend this property

Liked: What a lovely stay in this little world away from the bustling Souks, and with so much charm and traditional style. The roof top is a little haven, especially in the Sunshine where you can laze in the day listening to the call to prayer, or in the evening with a glass of Moroccan wine- which the staff can provide for you. We ordered food in the Hostel one evening and ate cous cous in our own private courtyard. We loved our stay so much that we went back the next week, and the kind owner upgraded our room for the Night into the most beautiful moroccan tiled room- one of the highlights of our trip!

Disliked: Kathie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were the only people staying there so they upgraded us to the suite for the same price, it was huge. It was the best place we stayed in in Morocco by far, the plunge pool was great after a hot say walking around. Aladdin the host was very friendly, we felt like guests in a private home.

Disliked: Poor wifi signal. It is very difficult to find the house upon arrival, the directions given are useless. Watch out for the local kids offering directions, they will try and get ridiculous tips from you, doesn't make for the most pleasant welcome, not that this is the fault of Dar Zelda.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect Riad for a Morrocan getaway; me and my partner cannot recommend this place enough! After a personal pick up from the airport, Brendon and Michel, the owners, and all the staff made us feel at home straight away, with a few glasses of mint tea and some advice on where to set off, how to get there, and what to avoid. The riad is located just 5 minutes from the Souks, and only a 20 minute walk from the main square - close enough to be convenient, but far enough away to be quiet in the evenings. The rooftop balcony is perfect for a bit of sun lounging or for relaxing as the sun goes down, with loungers, an outdoor shower and beautiful views. The dip pool is perfect after a long day in the heat, and the downstair of the riad is cool enough to relax when the midday sun gets too much. On a practical note, the riad was clean, and felt safe even coming back late at night. There is a porter around 24/7, and any problems we had where sorted out straight away. We took a trip to Essaouira in the middle of our stay, and the guys even helped us plan it, giving friendly advice, maps, and even an offer of a lift if we got stuck! But the best thing about Dar Zelda were the staff! Can't wait to see you all again soon :) Chris & Annie

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super nice riad in the middle of the souqs. Great staff!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff

Disliked: Nothing