We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Bounaga

Guesthouse | 15 Derb Bounaga, Ben Saleh, Marrakech, Morocco -

89.1% Overall Rating

29 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

Thomas Lindsay thinks…

"Really nice riad and close to the main square. The staff are very kind and helpful for anything you need: we were interested in cooking a tanjia while we were there and they were very helpful in what…"

Read all Riad Bounaga reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Hostel Riad Fantasia
32.89 USD

Hostel 90.4% 193 reviews
Villa des Trois Golfs
170.13 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
HOTEL ALKABIR
20.79 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Red Apartments
37.95 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
White Apartment
37.95 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Terrasse et Soleil Apartments
37.95 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel Nassim
43.10 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Le Caspien Hotel
23.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

29 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Bounaga'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Lindsay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice riad and close to the main square. The staff are very kind and helpful for anything you need: we were interested in cooking a tanjia while we were there and they were very helpful in what to do. Nice terrace on the roof.

Disliked: The locals outside are very persistent in trying to 'guide you there' for money. The directions provided are very good so just ignore the people and make your own way

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather tait

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location with a beautiful roof terrace. A refuge from the hustle of the surrounding area. Helpful people running the place.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Ellis-Jones

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic service in a great location, this riad gives you an authentic experience of Marrakech and the Medinah. The rooms and bathrooms had all you might expect but the real gem of this property is the large roof terrace. Higher than most around it it gives a fantastic view of the city day and night. Abdul looked after us and always went beyond what we asked of him, helping us getting out and about, and he also makes great mint tea! Thoroughly recommend this hostel and definitely intend to return!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad is absolutely amazing! The staff is very friendly, the rooms are so nice and of course, the terrace. the breakfast was the best in whole morocco, and also the cheapest. Very good value for the money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Mclean

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2014 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay at Riad Bounaga, and would definitely stay again! The building was full of character, really comfortable and quiet. It was a calm and quiet oasis within the hustle and bustle that is Marrakesh. The breakfasts were delicious, filling and something to look forward to. We recommend the home made jams and amlou! The Riad was easy to find by following the directions given to us and after finding it once, was easy to get back to. The Souks are nearby and most the sights of Marrakesh are within walking distance. But what made this place so special was our hosts who were fantastic, warm and friendly and always there to give advice or to simply enjoy a gin and tonic with on the sunny terrace and chat away!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bret Holdcroft

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2013 Bret would recommend this property

Liked: A charming riad, full of character and only a short walk from the main square, Jamaa el Fna. We booked for a day and stayed for a full week, thanks largely to the very helpful and friendly Abdulmola, who was an absolute star. If you're looking for a quiet, welcoming and reasonably priced gettaway that's right in the thick of the Medina, then you've found the right place. Can't wait to visit again!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice terrace

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast, medina location

Disliked: very hidden, hard to find

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zach Beard

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2013 Zach would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Bounaga is a beautiful sanctuary in lively Marrakech with friendly staff, clean quiet and comfortable rooms, perfect location, and a gorgeous terrace. Having rooftop breakfasts at this riad (which included fruit, yoghurt, pancakes, bread, homemade jams and freshly squeezed orange juice) was one of the many highlights of our week in Morocco. Make sure you talk to the staff about local prices for things before shopping in the souks, they can give you a good starting point for all the haggling you will be doing. Perfect stay, thank you Riad Bounaga.

Disliked: Everything was great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thibaut Corvilain

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Thibaut would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hidden riad located near the souqs. The roof terrace was a big plus. Friendly and helpful staff. Abundant local breakfast. Sanitary was alright. The riad was a more than rewarding pit stop when coming from the busy and sometimes exacting streets of Marrakech.

Disliked: Nothing. It was everything we hoped for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Bounaga is in the old part of Marrakech so has loads of character but has seen better days. This added to its charm in my opinion and is refelected in the value of the price to stay here. Very close to the souks but without help would have been nigh on impossible to find!! Our host Abdulmullah was helpful, friendly and nothing was too much for him. Our arrival was a little hairy - if only we'd read the blurb about the taxi not getting us close enough! We arrived late and the streets near to the Riad were, indeed, heaving with people and carts where we got stuck and were then told to walk the rest of the way - having no idea how near or far to it we were. A little stressful to say the least - but this could have been avoided IF ONLY WE HAD READ THE NOTES!!!!! We were the only poeple staying there for 2 of the three nights so it was like we had our own private guest house, just far enough away from the madding crowd to feel at peace. Perfect. We arranged our taxi from the airport via the riad and this cost us 150 dirham (we were travelling as a group of 4). The "small" brown taxi's cost 70 dirham per TAXI from airport to centre but are only allowed to carry 3 people. The cost and carriage is now LAW so you shouldn't get ripped off. If you get a people carrier taxi (also called 4x4's??! then the cost is MUCH higher - expect 50 dirhams per person). A plentiful reakfast included the local fare of: a variety of breads and pancakes, (incl delicious red onion ones); soft cheese, jams, orange juice, mint tea, fresh coffee and yoghurt. We had eggs (upon request) on the last day which we asked Abdulmullah to go out and buy for us. Our host was so helpful at telling us what sort of prices we should reasonably expect to for things like a tagine pot etc which made bartering much less of a problem. I would not hesitate to recommend this hostel or Abdulmullah our host and can't wait to return. A wonderful 1st experience of Morocco.

Disliked: Very dark side street so would not feel safe as a woman if had not been travelling with guys.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfasts on the roof terrace, 5-10 minutes walk from the main square, friendly staff, everything is easy

Disliked: no dislikes

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money and the owner was so helpful and friendly. If there is something you want you just have to ask and they will help. Instant hot water boiler so instant hot water all day! Excellent breakfast for fruit, yoghurt and breads on the sunny roof terrace. Lounge space in the court yard on the ground floor also. Very clean and tidy.

Disliked: It is value for money so it was basic accomodation in some ways and the double room we had did not have an ensuite so it was a bit cold waling to the bathroom (accross the courtyard). Also the bathroom floor remained wet a lot of the time, so please don't expect 5 star for this price! (take slippers or thongs/flip-flops/jandles)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff and delicious & plentiful breakfast!

Disliked: Room was cold in the evenings and we had to wait for the breakfast in the mornings because Hicham usually woke up later than us.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our host, Hicham, was extremely helpful and welcoming, and provided an excellent breakfast each day, nothing seemed too much trouble for him.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Susi Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Susi would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet considering its great location to the chaos that is Marrakech. Very safe and secure. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. A great escape from the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

Disliked: Hard to find, could do with more signs and a more welcoming entrance lane.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked this property. Our room was very nice, with a small space heater that I was SO happy was there! The breakfast was also really delicious, and we always had way more than enough to eat in the morning, which was very nice.

Disliked: I wish that the Riad offered some kind of pickup from the airport, or at least from the main square, so that people who don't know how to find the place could avoid getting ripped off. It's impossible to find alone the first time. In addition, this Riad is a bit farther from the main square than the description would have you believe. It is not too far, but not at all "in the square". About 15 - 20 minute walk (if you don't get lost). Also, wifi would have been greatly appreciated. Also, I was really excited to meet Hicham (based off of other HostelBookers reviews), but when we arrived he said that he wasn't expecting us, and when we left he told me that we owed 1800 dirham, when we really only owed 1200. I know that it is kinda how people are in Morocco, but after a few days it gets to grate on your nerves having so many people try to get extra money from you, and I was really sad that this happened at our Riad, where we would like to go to take a break from the high-pressure shopkeepers, taxi drivers, restaurant owners, and even kids.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful traditional riad fairly close to the square with great breakfast and charming staff

Disliked: located in a small side street and tricky to find the first time - take a taxi!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

CLIVE LOUW

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 CLIVE would recommend this property

Liked: Central in medina

Disliked: Hard to find the entrance

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amelia de Souza

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: A great little riad to stay at. About 6 mins walk to Djema el Fna through the souks - a perfect place to stay. Really easy to find from their instructions too. Hitcham who works there was so friendly and kindly stored our bags while we were away from Marrakech, and even booked some bus tickets for us. He was so enthusiastic, and his breakfast is great. Lovely roof terrace and nice rooms.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of character and clean, Very welcoming staff, having breakfast on the roof overlooking Marrakech.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near the main square, amazing breakfast on the sundeck. Hicham (the caretaker) is awesome - very helpful, accommodating and fun to hang out with. Perfect place to relax after a busy day!

Disliked: A little hard to find the first time, but the local kids will show you the way for a few euros. (But be prepared - they will ask for more!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shao mei yin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 shao mei would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It's easy to get lost in the old town, but from getting to and from the main square to the riad is very straightforward. It's a pretty peaceful area, and a good view from the rooftop as it's one storey higher than the surrounding homes. Breakfast was great and very filling. Staff was great, extremely helpful and friendly. After a long day going about Marrakech, it was very relaxing and warming to return to a place that felt like home.

Disliked: Nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Traditional looking Riad and good value for money

Disliked: No breakfast included and quite difficult to locate property.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Noon

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Traditional looking, clean, comfortable bed, helpful and friendly staff, great breakfast.

Disliked: nothing