HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Auberge Les Couleurs de l'orient

Hostel | 22, Derb Lakhdar, Médina, Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

86.0% Overall Rating

18 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/06/2014)

"Great location and the garden/living area was fantastic. Staff friendly and offer great excursions out to the Sahara and other places"

Read all Auberge Les Couleurs de l'orient reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Royale taxe : 15 dhs per personne per day.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Dar Sara and Srira
43.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Villa Harmonie
25.04 USD

Guesthouse 98.1% 3 reviews
Riad Chamali
36.90 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Riad Nerja
42.83 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 6 reviews
Riad Sable Chaud
45.36 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Layla Rouge
17.67 USD

Hostel 95.7% 261 reviews
Hotel Riad Koutobia
11.19 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 85.7% 3 reviews
Hostel Riad Mama Marrakech
4.48 USD

Hostel 69.6% 145 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.0%

Overall Rating

18 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Auberge Les Couleurs de l'orient'

Atmosphere
85.7%
Location
98.1%
Facilities
83.8%
Cleanliness
77.1%
Staff
87.6%
Value
83.8%
Safety
85.7%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and the garden/living area was fantastic. Staff friendly and offer great excursions out to the Sahara and other places

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Das Hotel/Riad ist sauber und sehr zentral gelegen - nah beim Hauptplatz Jeema el-Fna - und doch ruhig. Das Frühstück war ausgezeichnet und zum Empfang gab es ein Glas Tee. Die Dachterasse mit Blick über die Dächer der Stadt und einladenden Tischchen und Sofas ist toll.

Disliked: Die Zimmer sind alle zum schönen Innenhof hin und deshalb ziemlich lärmexponiert, d.h. wenn am Abend noch Leute im Innenhof sind und schwatzen hört man das gut. Also: Entweder mitplaudern oder Ohrstöpsel rein!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: That we did not get to stay there, as we were taken to another riad down the road. Even though we had booked we were told the actual Riad was full. The one we were taken to looked very different and had lower prices. They still wanted us to pay the original fee but agreed a discount when we pointed out how different the rooms were.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ARZU TAVUKCUOGLU

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 ARZU would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect. Very close to main square Djama El Fna. Very friendly staff Mohamed and Abdul, clean, free tea all the time, 24hour hot water, nicest garden to sit as a living room for many hours. Hammam was great.

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful riad with friendly owners. Very close to main square.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect. I stayed in the private room with my partner and two of our friends stayed in the dorm room. Everyone had a great time. i would strongly recomend this establishment.

Disliked: nothing comes to mind

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kevin clark

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 October 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The location, in the center of Marrakech

Disliked: The furniture looks old and the bathroom wasn't up to the standard of the rest of the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and great location. The staff was really friendly. The rooms were really nice and clean.

Disliked: Everything was as expected.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011

Liked: the old fashioned riad style was lovely and there was hot water in the shower. good location for the square

Disliked: The recepionist tried to short change me on arrival and the room i stayed in was dirty. I actually got scabies from staying at this place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ryan Skeele

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The people were really nice and made us feel very welcome, the terrace was great and the entire hostel had a great ambiance.

Disliked: Didn´t like that we couldn´t get in or out at night without waking someone up to let us out, I felt bad about doing that although it did make me feel like the place was very secure.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Su Hui Tan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

15 April 2011 Su Hui would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad was lovely, and shady in the heat. A hammam was also on offer, and was quite a nice experience, although there are others with better rates. There are friendly cats in the hostel.

Disliked: The bed on which I slept had beg bugs in it, but because the reception was not open for 24 hours I had to wait till the morning to get my bed changed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and the breakfast is sooo good. If you have 2 hours time, DO THE FULL HAMMAM-SEASON, it's fabulous and worth every single dirham. The Riad is just around the corner from Jemaa el Fna and very easy to find. They have a big terrace from where you can see the whole city. The rooms are so beautiful like in the fairytailes from 1001 nights :) Just go there and enjoy. 5 stars *****

Disliked: Sometimes the girls talked very loud in the lounge, but for us it was okay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Itaiara Sá Marques

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Itaiara would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere and breakfast

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2011

Liked: The Riad is located in a wonderful location very close to the main Djemaa Fna square.

Disliked: The owners tried to cheat us just inmediately after arrival. They gave us an invoice with a different price from our reservation in hostelbookers saying that the moroccian currency (dirhams) rates were different from the day of our reservation. Also he added 50€ for a kind of weird Marrakech security tax and also forced us to pay again the 10% that we already paid through hostelbookers.com. After 15 minutes arguing with the owner he finally removed all those extra fees. We noticed later on that other travellers that didn't complain were cheated by the owner and paid the extra fees. Also we didn't like the hammam. It was said to be "au feux de bois" but it was not true because it was so old that they don't use it anymore. Finally we decided to go a different hammam, because Marrakech is full of them and there are definitely much better and beautiful hammams than the one from le couleurs d'lorient. Bathrooms were also very bad, showers broken during the week we stayed in the riad :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and helpful! The riad by itself is very beautiful, well located and very quiet eventhough it is at few minutes from the main square Jemaa El Fna. It's also a great place to relax and for hammam and massages. There is also a roof terrace where you can lie down, read and/or have a tea. The staff also propose some trips with a company from 1 to 4 days in the mountains, in the desert...we did the 4 days trip and it was fantastic!The stay was overall very good!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Despite of been two steps of square Djemaa el-fna it's a very quiet place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bridget Davis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2010 Bridget would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place! A gorgeous internal courtyard, where they serve the breakfast of crepes, coffee, tea, bread... Staff are really sweet and the place is very centrally located - only about five-ten mins to Jamaa El Fna. It's down a little laneway so can be a bit creepy and hard to find at night, but definitely great value for money.

Disliked: Bridget left no negative feedback.