We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Jakoura

Guesthouse | Rue El Gza Derb Zemouri N130, Bab doukalla, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

85.9% Overall Rating

132 out of 137 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Polly Clements thinks…

"The roof terrace, general atmosphere and the friendly owner. Breakfast in the open central atrium."

Read all Riad Jakoura reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad des Ours
221.38 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar Aicha
36.29 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Adika
118.53 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Kif-Kif Marrakech
6.81 USD

Hostel 95.1% 263 reviews
Dar Elma - La Maison de l'eau
63.25 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 16 reviews
riad de vinci
31.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar Rmila
11.12 USD

Apartment 76.6% 5 reviews
Dar Baraka Karam
53.31 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

132 out of 137 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Jakoura'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 133 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

26 September 2014

Liked: Good breakfast which is included :)

Disliked: Unfriendly staff and the additional tax that they want you to pay is just a trick to get more money

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Polly Clements

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Polly would recommend this property

Liked: The roof terrace, general atmosphere and the friendly owner. Breakfast in the open central atrium.

Disliked: Polly left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful. We arrived late in the evening and he told us where to go to find food and approximately how much we should pay so we didn't get ripped off. The hostel was pretty quaint, nice moorish architecture, and a lovely terrace. The room was very clean. We stayed here in late June so the A/C was a life saver. The hostel is about a 15 minute walk from the main square and about 10 minutes from the airport bus stop. The property can be located on google maps so print off a walking map for yourself before you arrive. It's not as difficult to find as other reviews mention.

Disliked: If you are looking for a hostel with many other travelers hanging around then this might not be the right hostel for you (That or we traveled in the off season). It was very quiet, which we found to be very nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I stayed in a twin room at the Riad for 5 nights and couldn't imagine a better place. The location is nearly perfect, next to a big bus stop where also the airport bus stops, not too far from the main square (about 15 minutes) and the souks (starting only 5 minutes away from the Riad) and yet in a really quiet street. The owner is very friendly and helpful as is the staff. Our room was definitely a good size for 2 people (1 queen size bed and 1 single bed) and would even be suitable for a couple with a small child. The breakfast is basic but it is tasty and filling and the Moroccan pancakes (I think they are called Msemen) are irresistible. All in all the Riad is great value for money and I wouldn't resist to recommend it to my friends or go back myself if I return to Marrakech.

Disliked: It wasn't easy to find the first time but nothing inside of the Medina really is. I would recommend booking the airport pick up service or get the help of a local to find your way from the bus stop.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tihana Tanaskovic

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2013 Tihana would recommend this property

Liked: In all the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, Riad Jakoura was a little peace of heaven. Situated 3 minutes from the entrance to the souks, and 15-20 minutes from Jemaa el Fna by easy walk. The owner is VERY kind and helpful. Riad is beautifully decorated and very clean. At the top is cute terrace, in which we would chill in the evening after exhausting shopping day. Breakfast was delicious; crepes, bread, two sorts of jam, butter, coffee, milk and of course mint tea. If you need anything, taxi, tour, or just an advice, the owner will take care of everything. We felt more than welcomed, thank you Riad Jakoura!

Disliked: Tihana left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - clear conversation with the owner - atmosphere / style - great rooms - nearby a parking place and a bap / gate

Disliked: - owner was a very friendly maroccan which seemed sometimes a little holding back - entered the room unknowingly every day and exchanged the towles (not necessary with focus on environment)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The good location in the Medina, the beautiful patio, the calm of the staff, the good recommandations, the excellent ratio price/services.

Disliked: Peanuts, but for a long stay, it is better to have some variety in the jam.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabie Rainton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2012 Sabie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for you. This was a massive help in such a city which can be a nightmare to navigate without the right help! Breakfast was lovely, the coffee especially delicious! The room was clean, comfortable and pleasantly furnished. The riad is located perfectly, being equidistant from the new town, the square and Le Jardins Majorelle.

Disliked: Sabie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

YUCHEN TSENG

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 April 2012 YUCHEN would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there are very nice and can speak both English and Spanish. They also offer nice tea for when you go back to hostel. The breakfast there is nice as well. We had great time there. :)

Disliked: YUCHEN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Kinsella

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyed my stay very much. Easy 10 min walk to main square on a safe and busy road. Great hosts. Reconmend

Disliked: Sean left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Madeleine Johansson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2012 Madeleine would recommend this property

Liked: Then staff was ultra helpful and kind. You could not ask for more hospitable hosts.

Disliked: Madeleine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rashid was extremely friendly and helpful. Constant supply of tea was good too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lin more

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2012 lin would recommend this property

Liked: the people and the breakfast

Disliked: lin left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Butler

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly hosts and felt safe when there. The riad is a typical Moroccan house. You get a proper feel of being in old Marrkech here and its walking distance to Jamaa Elf Na Square. There are a few small shops and street stalls nearby. Room was ok if a bit small. Air-con and hot water all worked.

Disliked: Very difficult to find. The area is ok but beware of con men and unofficial guides if you are on your own who will say they know the quick route when it is really a scam to extract money from you, sometimes extortionately. This happened to me on my first day. Best to arrange a pick-up on arrival. Make sure you know the way back to town centre after you first arrive and say no to any would-be guides. After this you will be fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My stay in riad Jakoura was a magical night. The riad team is really friendly and helpfull. The riad is wonderful and it's a good value for money. I suggest it for everybody wish stay in a beautiful place with a good service and without give a lot of money.Thank you for riad Jakoura.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Brannon

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 December 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff- Rashid and others were extremely helpful and welcoming. Cooked a delightful tagine and had plenty of Moroccan Tea. Booked an extra night at the end of our trip as enjoyed it so much.

Disliked: Nothing really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic service. Our room was absolutely beautiful. A Moroccan 'palace' style and a host who was very friendly and treated us to a feel at home atmosphere . We were treated very well and given great advice about Marrakech, which is hard to get (for free) on the street. Perfect place to stay in Marrakech.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Maughan

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2011 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely everything about this place is fantastic, inside the Medina so you get the feel of Morocco but towards the edge so its not too much of a tourist haven, you can really get a feel without being surrounded at all times by tourists. Friendly and helpful is the understatement of the year for the staff here, they really made my stay in Marakesh! The place itself is great, clean, comfortable, homely. I could not have asked for more and to top it off the price was great. If you are going to Marakesh this is the place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing to say here

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was great! The breakfast was good and the staff were really friendly helping with questions we had and always offering tea! We even returned to this Riad after our desert tour.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jason bell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: hard beds

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick McNeive

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: The staff & the cats were great!

Disliked: Can't think of anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bastian Bischoff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2011 Bastian would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice Riad! We just stayed there for one night but after 1 minute in the Riad, we felt like home. Nice people...very friendly. Chillin with shisha and tea on the rooftop was great. Very good conversations with the stuff and they kept our breakfast warm - at least we oversleeped 3 hours :) Grettings to the stuff and the cute white cat!

Disliked: i guess nothing...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were happy to show us how to cook a basic tagine which was a really nice bonus. Also staff will organise shisha smoking of an evening on request. Generally quite helpful and friendly - of course more-so if you take them up on their additional extras (airport pick up and day-trips) which are not as cheap as if you organised it yourself, but I guess quite convenient.

Disliked: Toilet was broken for most of the time. Hostel was a 15-20min walk away from the main square which was OK but a bit of a pain when you're tired and have to walk home. Staff could be a little more up-front about what their day trips do and do not include and why the costs are set at their prices (which are a little more expensive than competitors in the squares).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan McKibbin

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 October 2011 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people, could not be more helpful. Was very well looked after by all.

Disliked: Did not dislike one thing, all very good, will go back here on my next trip to Morocco.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

George Eade

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 George would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. And oasis of tranquility in an otherwise pretty squalorous area.

Disliked: Location - on first arrival felt far from safe walking the streets, but soon became accustomed. Room - bathroom pretty minimal, beds not that comfortable, but otherwise did the job.