We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Dar Khmissa

Guesthouse | 166, Derb Jamaa, Arset Moussa Lakbira, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

93.8% Overall Rating

23 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2013)

"Fantastic breakfast and extremely helpful and accommodating staff. We could get mint tea whenever we liked. Also, we needed breakfast early at 615am before leaving on our desert tour and they were happy to make it for…"

Read all Riad Dar Khmissa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Late check-out
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

All customers will have to get in touch with the property immediately after booking in order to finalize the booking process or the booking will not be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Ushuaia Clubbing Hotel
226.83 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Kenzi Farah Hotel
50.11 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Riad Barroko
31.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Lakhdar
24.10 USD

Hostel 91.5% 221 reviews
Dar Al Hamra
22.68 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 58 reviews
Riad Massin
16.49 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 185 reviews
The Riad Assalam
2.44 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Rabahsadia
31.19 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

23 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Dar Khmissa'

Atmosphere
93.3%
Location
94.2%
Facilities
94.2%
Cleanliness
95.8%
Staff
93.3%
Value
90.0%
Safety
95.8%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 24 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast and extremely helpful and accommodating staff. We could get mint tea whenever we liked. Also, we needed breakfast early at 615am before leaving on our desert tour and they were happy to make it for us even though it was so early in the morning!

Disliked: Found a dead cockroach in the shower, but it was cleaned quickly and we didn't see any other bugs.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really lovely place which is beautifully decorated and very peaceful. I was the only person there which made it even nicer in a sense. The garden area has a beautiful terrace with sofas and sunbeds so I spent a couple of the days just relaxing up there in a bikini with no worry of anyone else being around! Easy to get to the city square and the rooms were wonderful, also very clean.

Disliked: Sometimes the language barrier was a slight problem seeing as no one could speak very good English and when I wanted some advice regarding the city sights it was pretty much impossible asking. I also booked someone to collect me at the airport via email, but when I arrived no one came. I called the riad from the airport but due to the language barrier they didn't understand what I was saying on the phone and I had no choice but to arrange transport myself. Another thing, I recommend not staying for the breakfast. Maybe try it once but that's enough! The first morning I devoured the best bit of it -the honey- but wasn't offered it the following two days. I soon realised they they had reused everything inc the milk. I recommend walking round the corner to the nearest patisserie and getting some fresh food/coffee there. Another small thing; one day I set off early to Essaurio (can't spell) and locked the room up etc not bothered that they wouldn't remake the bed for one day however when I returned I noticed they had unlocked it and remade the bed/cleaned the room anyway. I found this a little irritating seeing as surely you lock the room up for the purpose of keeping your belongings safe and even though I trusted the staff, I found it a little odd they issue locks when they had other keys to get in themselves.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La decoración y la tranquilidad

Disliked: Falta aire acondicionado en el interior de las habitaciones.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sergio lledo rando

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 sergio would recommend this property

Liked: El patio es muy acogedor y puedes relajarte en él mientras tomas uno de esos buenos tés verdes que prepara Hamsa. La decoración es muy bonita y algunos cuartos son preciosos, aunque no tienen demasiada intimidad. El desayuno, aunque básico, te llena de energía hasta bien entrada la tarde, algo que se agradece cuando tienes que andar por ahí negociando precios en cada restaurante. Un sitio recomendable

Disliked: Hay aire acondicionado en las salas comunes, pero no en las habitaciones. Alguna puerta no cierra bien, lo cual resta intimidad. Los precios del servicio de restaurante son abusivos: ¡ojo con solicitar comida! Además del precio, no te preguntan qué quieres comer, si tienes alergias o eres vegetariano. Comienzan a cocinar sin confirmar el pedido y pueden producirse malentendidos desagradables.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica godyn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2012 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: this is an absolutly amazing place to stay on your holiday. the staff are so helpful and gave us tips on where to party, eat and shop. the breakfast is devine and the rooms are beautiful. You really feel welcome here and it is so close to the main square and the souks!!! The owner gave us a great tip on a fantastic hammam too

Disliked: absolutly nothing to dislike

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Margaret Gonsalves

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012

Liked: Location within the Medina is great. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Quaint and nicely decorated living room space

Disliked: Our passports were taken by Michel, the owner, on the first day and not returned until the last day. We are originally from India, now living in the US, and I assume this had something to do with our skin color. We checked with another caucasian couple staying there...they were not even asked to show their passports. The toilets are very small and inadequate. The owners and staff do not speak English, and chattered away to their French speaking clients, making the rest of us feel left out. We could not get proper information about what to do and where to go because of the language barrier.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, and wonderful roof terrace.

Disliked: Very little English spoken, you really need French to communicate well at this riad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place. After 1st night in room with no aircon, we asked and were moved into one with it at the same price. Nice breakfast on terrace and good location. Staff very friendly and helpful, despite the lack of communication in English (only the owner speaks a bit of English).

Disliked: The bathroom didn't have any windows NOR exhaust fan so no ventilation at all. Be aware that only few rooms (if not only one!) have aircon!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Absence of A/C in rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meiling wang

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Meiling would recommend this property

Liked: I truely highly recommend this hostel. It is the best hostel I have ever stayed and I have travelled quite a bit. I am so glad this was my first experience in Morocco. The staff, Michel, Vincent, bayija, etc, made me feel so at home that I had a really relaxing stay in Marrakech. They are all kind and gentle and attentive that makes everyone feel safe and secure. The location is excellent, walking distance to every major attraction in the center but is in a quiet alley. I slept till noon almost every day and Michel told the staff to be very quiet around my room and not to wake me up. I felt a bit guilty to have my really late breakfast at noon but the staff told me that it,s ok and waited until I finish. Talking about breakfast, everything is home made. Michel and staff made the jam and jelly and bread and crepes all fresh. I also bad many wonderful conversations with fellow travellers at the breakfast table. This is a five-star service. Michel was very honest and helpful about his suggestions. He even helped me buy the bus tickets for me and other guests. The room and ambiance is full of beauty and art. It is definitely worth your money.You can tell they have invested their heart and mind in this place. The place has good air conditioning so after several hours, walk under the sun (44 degrees Celcius' in summer but I like that heat. The dry heat is a way of cleansing for me). It feels so good to return to Hostel Kharmisa. Even staying in the hostel and lulling around the roof-top terrace is fun because you could play with the 3 turtles or just listen to the birds singing. I have travelled a bit all over the world but this hostel has given me the most attentive service. Some say that you should come to Marrakech only certain months of the year but for me, the heat is ok and it really gets cooler after 4 or 5 pm. I was so glad hostel Kharmisa was my first stop in Morocco. They also offer the airport pickup service and it is worth it. I recommend Hostel kharmisa without reservation. Mei-L.

Disliked: none. Pas du tout.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful and relaxed house in close proximity to the vivid Jemaa el Fna square.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It felt very homey and the terrace was a perfect place to relax. Great breakfast.

Disliked: NOthing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Caroline Marshall

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly helpful staff. Good location.

Disliked: Not all staff spoke English - could make some things difficult

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simeon Yulzari

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 Simeon would recommend this property

Liked: the place itself is really nice, the owners and tha staff are friendly and helpfull. After all night journey with a bus from Fes they were so kind and welcomed us with lovely breakfast. The atmosphere inside is so stylish and moroccan at the same time....!

Disliked: no remarks at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners and the staff

Disliked: The bathroom is not completely 'walled'. It's only three quarters high. So if you're staying with a friend and not comfortable with bodily noises, then it's a bit awkward because you can hear everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grietje Van Dievoet

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Grietje would recommend this property

Liked: We spend a very,very nice time at the Riad Dar Khmissa. Vincent did everything to make our stay as nice as possible. The service is excellent, the atmosphere is friendly and warm. Vincent helps the clients wherever he can. The food? The breakfast is very nice and varied. The dinners they offer at night are "succulant", best food I ever had in Morocco. To resume: Wonderful place, very quiet in the middle of medina of Marrakech. Toon and Grietje Derycke Belgium

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Maroccan staff is super friendly and they make a super nice breakfast. The Riad is very nice and has a comfortable outside roof terrace.

Disliked: Communicating can be somewhat difficult, because the French owners barely speak English. Also, although the dinner is super nice, it is overpriced. Mind the fact that the swimming pool is not actually in the Riad but outside of Marrakesh!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Gassor

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

23 October 2010 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: This property is very clean and theres lots of attention to detail. Ita a pretty riad with a lovely roof terrace. Arelaxing escape from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Would happily stay again if I came back to Marrakech. Stayed in lots of hotels and riads in Morocco and this was one of the best.

Disliked: Philip left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly staff! (:

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yuliya Dospatska

02 March 2010 Yuliya would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, kind and very calm Riad. Big gratitude to your gentleness during our stay in it !!! Best regards.

Disliked: Yuliya left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ALVARO FERNANDEZ FERNANDEZ

19 November 2009 ALVARO would recommend this property

Liked: Una estancia magnífica. Nos atendieron a la perfección, no nos dejaron sólos ni un minuto y no nos faltó de nada.Gracias,

Disliked: ALVARO left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle Wykes

14 October 2009 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful little Riad with comfotable, clean rooms and lovely staff.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barbel Schumacher

26 September 2009 Barbel would recommend this property

Liked: Totaly relaxing atmosphere. Yasine the young servant was outstanding always with a smile totally spoiling us. We fellt very special and welcomed.

Disliked: Barbel left no negative feedback.