We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad al Faras

Guesthouse | 35 Derb Boutouil, Kennaria, Marrakech Medina Marrakech, Morocco 40000

93.7% Overall Rating

84 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/01/2013)

"Wonderful decor, relaxed atmosphere, close to main square. Roof top terrace was lovely for basking in the sun. Staff were pleasant and booked our taxis from and to the airport."

Read all Riad al Faras reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.41

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

African Queen Marrakech
46.44 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar Ilham
77.04 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Kasbah Dar Ilham
83.52 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Palais Ghiat
38.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
76.40 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Villa Zin
97.11 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad El Nour
45.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Domaine TARIK
104.48 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

84 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad al Faras'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 74 of 80 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast. Very close to Djemaa el Fna.

Disliked: Showerhead could not be attached to the wall, making showering difficult. Room floors could be cleaner. Breakfast area as well.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful decor, relaxed atmosphere, close to main square. Roof top terrace was lovely for basking in the sun. Staff were pleasant and booked our taxis from and to the airport.

Disliked: The rooms were cold and there was no heating - we did ask for more blankets. Food and drinks were not available, apart from breakfast, despite a menu in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

melanie wangford

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 August 2012 melanie would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for the perfect riad i cannot recomend this one enough. the staff are amazinzing and the riad itself was just beautiful. The location was perfect and within a 5 minute walk from the main square it was a delight to return ' home' to the tranquility and coolness of the courtyard, It reached the dizzy heights of 53* c during our visit and returning to the pool and air conditioned room was bliss. very relaxed and adorably approachable staff, We had the best week in Marakesh and even though it was in Ramadam it made no diffference to our holiday. Our room was clean and siply furnished and woke to the sounds of birds in the beautiful flowers tumbling from the roof sun terrace. Look no further as this is the peace of heaven you are looking for. Mel Wilshire uk

Disliked: melanie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

francine jousset

Alone

Family Holiday

29 June 2012 francine would recommend this property

Liked: charmant riad,faisant partie de ceux ou l on revient.cette maison est une vraie maison d hotes ou on peut voir que le proprietaire y habite par des touches personnelles et non ostentatoires.tres bien entretenu, ce qui n est pas toujours le cas,tout est prevu pour passer un sejour agreable ,le bassin est un plus appreciable par les grosses chaleurs et la terrasse un havre de paix.diffficile de trouver mieux ,un rapport qualité prix imbattable.adresse a garder

Disliked: francine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liam Bailey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fantastic stay here. The location is great, not a far walk from the big square. The property itself is lovely and has an intimate and welcoming feel. The courtyard and rooftop are stunning in full bloom and the small pool is a nice touch. Our room was spacious, well kept and immaculately clean. Breakfast was fresh bread/ pancakes, with cheese, jam, etc and freshly squeezed juice. The staff were very helpful. They let us leave some of our luggage behind when we did our trip over the Atlas mountains and we had the same room when we got back. They also prepared us a breakfast pack when we had to leave really early in the morning. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Disliked: It's not that well signed, but not many places are! The menu for lunch, dinner, snacks and drinks is very overpriced. You can get much cheaper options from the restaurants nearby.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, peaceful

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great roof terrace nice place to escape and chill. It had the most comfortable bed and bedding ive ever expericnace when travelling,

Disliked: Atmosphere could be better, but i was here with my girlfriend so it was good that it was nice and quite for us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenifer Steain

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2011 Jenifer would recommend this property

Liked: I have travelled a lot and stayed in many hostels, riads etc - Riad Al Faras was amazing value for money, very clean and quiet, the location was great, and the staff were lovely. They did everything to make my stay enjoyable, even singing Happy Birthday to me! As a single blonde female travelling alone, I felt very safe and secure there.

Disliked: Nothing to mention

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Nattrass

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 October 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the main plaza. Very helpful staff and a huge breakfast to set you up for the day. We arranged a taxi pick-up from the airport and a member of staff met us and showed us the way and walked us to the main plaza pointing out banks, post office etc.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philippa Wood

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 October 2011 Philippa would recommend this property

Liked: This is a true gem! The atmosphere, staff, facilities and location are truly perfect! I would recomend this to anyone! The courtyard area with beautiful flowers and trees is the perfect chill out area with a lovely pluge pool. The rooms are spacious and very clean, ours had a lovely bathroom with a shower/bath fit for a king! The terrace area is also baeutiful and private, perfect for getting a few erays before the pluge pool!

Disliked: NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms, and especially baths, are wonderful; the staff helped us with our future planning and arranged for us - always helpful and friendly.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is great. Beautiful rooms and the pool was great.

Disliked: No wifi. The map and directions to find the place are hopeless - ask someone to take you there or you'll end up wandering the medina for a while.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, premises and atmosphere.....great pool and communal areas including lovely sun terrace. FANTASTIC food on offer during the day. I would only stay there should I return to Marrakesh.

Disliked: Food was not available in the Riad after about 5pm and as it was the best food around - taste and money wise - i would have liked it open longer.....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

callum watson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 callum would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, nice and quiet super helpful staff, nice brekkie. Just perfect an absolute gem.

Disliked: It was pretty difficult to find, but thats true of all the riads in marraketch

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katerina Mercury

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Katerina would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a real gem. Such value for money! The Riad was just gorgeous and our room was very comfortable. The staff were really sweet and helpful. Once you find the place the location is really good. Wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place.

Disliked: It was hard to find at first and they could do more with the roof terrace. I recommend marking this place on a map beofre arriving so you dont have to pay someone to help you find it. Wifi would have been helpful too.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like how clean it was and how close to the main Jamaa Alfna place, even though the hostel can be hard to find at first without help. But once you find it, it is super easy to get to and out of. Also Youssef, the person in charge was very very helpful in answering all the questions and giving us suggestions without any expectations. A good friendly hostel staff overall.

Disliked: Considering wages in Morocco and the cost of living, the place could be cheaper. But Marrakech prices are as expensive as the west in most things, especially when the street sellers know you are a tourist.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikko Ihalainen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Mikko would recommend this property

Liked: It was really cozy and silent riad.

Disliked: Time we were at Al Faras, there was really cold at nights. And it was so off-season, that we didn't see anyone. Also it was impossible to get any tea or food at the evening from riad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Youssef was the perfect host. He embodied the morrocan spirit of hospitality perfectly. Whenever we asked him for advice he responded completely genuinely and with a wide smile. Nothing was ever a problem or chore for him. This was especially important after I became ill with food poisoning and had nowhere to stay on friday before my flight he let us sit in the riad and try and recouperate. This comfort was priceless but he did not make us pay.

Disliked: I'm sure you could get better value for money in marrakech and in winter the rooms would benefit from heating!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, the location was fantastic, room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was good.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Pearce

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the main square but very quiet once you're inside - a welcome oasis away from the hustle and bustle. Friendly welcome and lovely breakfast, nice room and all very clean and comfortable. Great shower in our room. Thankfully Youssef came to pick us up from the square as it'd be very difficult to find otherwise.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beautiful terrace and rooms, very clean and friendly!

Disliked: nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loads of charm, great location and very friendly staff!

Disliked: Would not recommend if you are travelling alone, but otherwise great.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no comment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: exactly what you want as a peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle. Lovely breakfast and small pool to have a dip in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, beautiful quiet place. Very good riad for the 40 euros we paid for the room.

Disliked: Hard to find the first time.