HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Khabia

Guesthouse | Houmate Berrima, Derb Chtoka n°6, 40 000 Marrakech, Morocco 40 000

97.0% Overall Rating

158 out of 161 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/05/2014)

"Reasonable room size and spacious bathroom with good shower. Julien generally helpful and particularly in storing luggage while we had a one night trip in the Atlas mountains. A piece of fruit at breakfast was…"

Read all Riad Khabia reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

The riad the Oranges trees of Alilia
44.28 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Riad Dubai
20.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Le Marocain
12.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar Alfarah
26.57 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Riad Badi
44.28 USD

Guesthouse 99.5% 6 reviews
La Maison Rouge
46.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Al Assala Medina
74.64 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar Sohane
18.15 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.0%

Overall Rating

158 out of 161 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Khabia'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
99.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 153 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Reasonable room size and spacious bathroom with good shower. Julien generally helpful and particularly in storing luggage while we had a one night trip in the Atlas mountains. A piece of fruit at breakfast was appreciated but of variable quality. The location through a rather scruffy courtyard is not very attractive, but is handy for all the sights south of the main Jmaa El Fna Place.

Disliked: We were concerned before arriving at this Riad as despite having sent several emails regarding our arrival, including one sent via Hostelbookers, and trying to phone, we had no response from the owners. Moreover the website links are not live. We did finally hear, on the day of our arrival! The description of the Riad is a little overblown and the tiny pool did not look very usable. There was little natural ventilation in the room so air conditioning was needed. However, this blows uncomfortably on one bed, especially with just one sheet for cover, so we had to switch this on and off during the night. We found the fact that items were moved and rearanged when we left the room a little intrusive. Breakfast was very poor in comparison with other riads where we had stayed, with, for example, orange from concentrate and just one piece of basic local bread or toasted bread. The worst aspect though was the high price charged for a lift from the station to the Riad. We had to pay 15 Euros, for an equivalent 10 minute return trip by taxi which cost us about 3 euros. I know this is the price quoted for transport to or from the airport, but the station is much nearer. Incidentally, travel to the airport by bus (number 19) is very easy and costs the equivalent of 5 euros. We were not informed in advance of the cost of this transfer and felt a little annoyed about this. This Riad could so easily do better.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Julien is very accommodating and will do his utmost to help. Breakfast are basic but filling and can be taken on the roof top terrace, he does like to know the night before what time what would like breakfast (it is ready on the dot). Rooms are compact but the extra lounge area is invaluable. Julien will store any drinks you buy in the fridge for you which is great to come back to after a hot day out. A small roof terrace with beds that you can sunbathe on, just ask and Julien will put the cushions out and even supplies towels for the beds. Your room is cleaned daily, with things put away if left out! Sometimes this is annoying when you can't find things!

Disliked: Danni, (Julien's mum) tends to interact more with French guests than us Brits.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decorated beautifully, it's a lovely space to be in. So relaxing. Very friendly owners who will go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and have all the information you require for taking on Marrakesh, and Morocco in general - good knowledge (I would recommend taking Julien's recommendation on the kebab place nearby) The balconies in the rooms overlooking the central riad courtyard is a nice touch and nice place to sit and relax from the hustle of Marrakesh. Slightly away from the main square (10min walk - which is along an interesting street of stalls and sellers of all sorts of stuff) so nice and quiet at night. Extremely secure as door is always locked and doorbell has to be rung and opened by owners from the inside, so had no issue leaving valuables in the rooms. Also, delicious mint tea is complimentary.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. Initially was disappointed to learn that evening meals not available, but actually this turned out to be just fine as many good places to eat nearby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is amazing! I have stayed in some beautiful riads in Morroco but this is the best accomodation ever. It is far above its price range - friendly staff, amazing interior design, heating (even in the bathroom!) and warm water (which is not regularly available in Marooco in accomodation of this price range).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonie Frerking

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Leonie would recommend this property

Liked: Den Besitzer,Julien,der uns viele hilfreiche Informationen und Tipps gegeben hat,jede Frage beantwortet hat,tolle Touren empfohlen hat und den Aufenthalt sehr,sehr angenehm gestaltet hat! Auch die Lage ist praktisch: das Riad liegt am Rande der Medina in einer ruhigen Seitenstraße , der Platz der Gehenkten (Djemaa El Fna) ist in 5-10 min zu Fuß erreichbar. Das Frühstück mit dem frisch gepressten O-Saft auf der sonnigen Dachterasse ist ein herrlicher Start in den Tag. Die Zimmer sind nicht riesig-aber typisch marokkanisch und sehr gemütlich eingerichtet-mit Heizung. Einen so tollen Roomservice hatten wir gar nicht erwartet-jeden Tag wird gründlich aufgeräumt :)

Disliked: Es gibt nichts zu bemängeln.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Becky Ely

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 Becky would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful peaceful Riad with lovely helpful hosts, nice breakfast on rooftop terrace, cool room with balcony. We had a fantastic November holiday and would definitely go back. Hosts went out of their way to offer advice and tips about places to see.

Disliked: It was all great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joann measures

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2014 joann would recommend this property

Liked: we liked the tranquil atmosphere and space. very interesting and beautiful. our room had lots of space and was warm when we arrived. very welcoming.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joshua Hughes

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: We booked this property because of the previous positive reviews it had received on this site and tripadvisor. I have to say that it was a very wise decision. Marrakech was a times overwhemling and the Riad Khabia proved a very welcome restbite for those moments when you just want to lie out in the sun and read a book. The property itself is very tastefully decorated, the room was cosy and clean. My favourite aspect however was the Riad's roof balcony, which was taller than most of the surrounding buildings and therefore afforded a view across Marrakech and towards the Atlas Mountains. Absolutely fantastic in the temperate January climate. Above all though, Julien and his mother (the proprietors) are absolutely fantastic hosts, who impart all their knowledge of what to expect as a tourist in Marrakech at the very beginning, and then do they can to help make your stay an excellent one. Free mint tea on offer was also a nice little touch.

Disliked: It's not so much a dislike, but more a note for those who have never visited Marrakech. The hostel is located in the southern part of the Medina, which is a wonderful location because it's a bit further away from the usual tourist fanfare, but to get to it you do have to go along a very busy road with relentless moped drivers who drive almost fully into you. To be honest though, this state could describe Marrakech in detail.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zsuzsa Szilagyi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014 Zsuzsa would recommend this property

Liked: I can highly recommend this riad to everyone who plans a trip to Marrakesh. I am very grateful for choosing Riad Khabia out of the multiple hostels/riads options in the area, as this guest house is a peaceful "home" to come back after a visit to the buzzing, bustling main square, Jemma el Fna which is only 10 minutes walk away. The owners Julian and Dani are amazingly helpful, they offer 24 hours reception and always ready to accommodate their guests' needs. Despite our short notice, they arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport, also upon arrival we received a map, and detailed information from Julian about what to watch out in the area and where to find the better hammams/ cafes/ restaurants. Having European mentality, they easily emphasise with their guests. Our room was very cosy, tidied up every day, with a unique style bathroom and a lounge to chill. A refreshing brekkie is included in the price, which gives you a good start to the day. Also, there is a well-stocked grocery shop, very close to the building which can come handy preparing for a day-long bus trip. Riad Khabia is the place for a relaxed chill.

Disliked: Nothing negative to say.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We've had the most wonderful time at Riad Khabia. The place is beutfully docrated, the rooms are wonderful. Riad Khabia is located only a short walk from the jemma el fna but in a quiet and very safe area.The french owner and his mother speak very good English and are extremely helpful. They always have the right recommendations for places to eat or what to see and where to go. We planned to stay there for three nights, but ended up staying six nights. I could not imagine a better place to stay in Marrekech. Would absolutely recommend this place!

Disliked: absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gintautas Miliauskas

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Gintautas would recommend this property

Liked: Out of the three riads we stayed in, this one was easily the favorite. Service was absolutely outstanding, possibly the best hotel service I've received in my life, and the reason why I am leaving this review. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly (without being annoying) and went as far as to call to make sure that we were being picked up the next morning for a trip to the desert on time. The apartment was also easily the nicest. Our bathroom was top-notch, and the bed was fresh and comfy. I also loved the decoration; this riad is less colorful than others but more authentic (Moroccan decoration tends to excel in fine ornamentation rather than color). I absolutely recommend this place if you want a peaceful and comfortable stay (which you will want after a day in noisy bustling Marrakech).

Disliked: The other riads I've been to were a bit more colorful, playful (but also noisy), thus perhaps better for socializing if you're looking for someone to smoke/drink with. That's not what I was after though, so this place worked very well for me.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Понравился отель и отношение персонала. Если и останавливаться в Марракеше , то только в этом отеле. Спасибо!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, highly recommended. Julian was extremely helpful and welcoming and the Riad was beautiful.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jocelino Jorge

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Jocelino would recommend this property

Liked: Julien and Dany have been the best host during our recent stay at the Riad. They give 110% commitment to the guest and their hospitality is second to none. They are truly outstanding host. The room was very nice and spacious, very clean and has all the right amenities for an African getaway. I would recommend this to anyone going to Marrakech. We intended on staying for 2 nights but extended our stay for another 2.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Huxen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: The entire stay was perfect. The room was tidy and well mantained, the rest of the build decorated wonderfully and Julien was always helpful and polite. We were given loads of tips and ideas where to go to eat, drink and visit and also which company to organise our day trips with. Would recommend to anyone!

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, good location, nice breakfast and good tips and information from the owners

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Traian George Vila

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 Traian George would recommend this property

Liked: This place is excellent. Friendly and very helpful staff who gave us very useful visiting tips. Confortable, clean, quiet and it also has a small beautiful pool. It definitelly worth the money even if at a first look may look a bit expensive.

Disliked: Traian George left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Julian and dani were lovely hosts, could not do enough to help. Great location, lovely room, nice and quiet, refreshing pool, close to all the sights. Would recommend to anyone visiting Marrakech.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Julien is the greatest host ever. Really made us fell like at home and gave us great touristic advices. The Riad has a very relaxed atmosphere and I think it has the best value in Marrakech.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VICTORIA FISHER

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 VICTORIA would recommend this property

Liked: Stunning riad! The decor is amazing and typically moroccan, the whole place is spotless and perfect for backpackers and couples alike. The owners are very helpful and friendly and provide you with some essential top tips about the city. The location is ideal as its near to the souqs and other attractions but also a good distance away from the hustle and bustle when you want to relax. I would strongly recommend this to anyone wanting a safe, clean, beautiful place to stay.

Disliked: VICTORIA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Ignacio Navarro Martinez

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012 Jose Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: The property staff treated us (and my partner) extremely well and they made us feel as If we were at home. They took care of all our needs, including explanations about Marrakesh, places to eat, brief visit to the city and good tips to move around. The property is beautiful, stylish, clean and safe as it is close to one of the King palaces. Marrakesh is quite safe too. Very good value for money. tip: It is worthy to chat with the property´s friendly and knowledgeable staff

Disliked: Nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danijela Blazevic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012 Danijela would recommend this property

Liked: Its an amazing place. Quite & clean. I liked the way it is decorated (authentic). Julien and his mum were very helpful. Julien explained well how to navigate Marrakech and he even gave us petite tour to the main square. Thank you for everthing, it was a great experience. Dani

Disliked: Danijela left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lena Gayraud

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Lena would recommend this property

Liked: incredibly welcoming, friendly and accomodating hosts, very clean and well kept rooms, air conditioning, proximity to town!

Disliked: Lena left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Nelson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at Riad Khabia was fantastic. To start, we had an airport transfer arranged for us which was waiting on our arrival. The Riad was extremely clean and comfortable, including having a plunge pool and air conditioning. The décor was very fresh and has clearly been recently updated. Julien and his mother, the owners, were simply outstanding. Julien took plenty of time to explain Marrakech to us, giving us a detailed map and his recommendations on where we should visit, including restaurants. He even walked us into the city so that we were able to get our bearings and not get lost. His advice on how to cross a road (slowly!) and how to use the local taxis and not overpay was indispensible. He organised our onwards travel too, making the seat reservations for us. The breakfast was local and homemade. I cannot fault the Riad nor the owners as they made our quick stay in Marrakech simply perfect.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike about Riad Khabia.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gail Cherrington

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Gail would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad, owned and run by Mother and son, was superb! It was tastefully decorated , thoughtfully equipped, full of character, very comfortable and extremely clean. The owners spoke good English. were attentive ,friendly ,and went out of their way to be helpful The location was quiet and had a relaxed friendly atmosphere and the pool was a welcomed refreshing treat at the end of a the day! The Riad was a calm, cool, peaceful contrast to the of centre of Marrakech.

Disliked: There wasnt any thing to dislike!