HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Dar Maia

Guesthouse | 31 Derb Zouina, Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

90.9% Overall Rating

68 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/05/2014)

Bianca Wooldridge thinks…

"It's a beautiful, Riad tucked away from the craziness of the Medina. When we stayed there was only one other couple- and it felt like we had the entire place to oourselves! The rooftop terrace is a…"

Read all Riad Dar Maia reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If you are booking more thatn 3 nights please be aware that this proeprty will ask you for a further deposit to garanthy your room.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge
13.82 USD

Hostel 96.0% 790 reviews
Riad Le Clos Des Arts
71.45 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 9 reviews
Riad Chennaoui
12.02 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.5% 112 reviews
Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge 2
10.82 USD

Hostel 96.2% 90 reviews
Riad Bayti Marrakech
26.44 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 7 reviews
Riad Marelia
39.14 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
riad zagouda
35.45 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Chez Lea (ex- Hostel Nari-Nari Marrakech)
26.44 USD

Hostel 92.7% 253 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

68 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Dar Maia'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 60 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bianca Wooldridge

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Bianca would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautiful, Riad tucked away from the craziness of the Medina. When we stayed there was only one other couple- and it felt like we had the entire place to oourselves! The rooftop terrace is a lovely sunny spot to eat breakfast, and the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: The wifi didn't work very well, but that's OK when you are on holiday anyway! The room was beautiful, simple and quite small- but perfect for 2 friends sharing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very quiet property. Very friendly owners/staff. A great place to relax.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good hosts - nice people

Disliked: facilities could be better scam artists before you come to the riad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredible, from the people running the place to the owners and the cleaners, all were lovely as they went out of their way to help in any way they could with information and guidance.

Disliked: 0

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karolyn Allen Sanguinetti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Karolyn would recommend this property

Liked: During my stay me and my friends really felt like in home. The staff was great, and the hotel very nice. Worth for the money paid.

Disliked: Could be nice if it has a pool, especially for summer, but it's not so bad without one.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esther de Bergh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: We felt really welcome at this riad. When we arrived the staff took the time to sit down with us with tea and explained us all about the city. It was nice to sit on the terrace and meet other guests or have a chat with the staff. It is really a peacefull place to return to after the buzz of Marrakech.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Allen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very well located - less than 10 mins walk to the square and 10-15 mins walk from most major parts of the old city. Stay included free excellent breakfasts. We had a clean and tidy room with ensuite facilities and the staff are very friendly and helpful and will book tours/airport transfers etc. The daytrip to the Mountains they recommended was also very good. The Riad even has a really nice roof terrace that overlooks the city, free mint tea! Would highly recommend and would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing bad to say

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved Maria, she was very helpful to us and ensured that we were able to find the riad even though we were arriving at 6.30am in the morning. She kindly made sure that breakfast was available to us on our arrival knowing that we had been on a bus for 14 hours. The breakfasts were great. Overall, the riad, was a nice comfort to have amidst the craziness of the riad.

Disliked: As with most riads, all the rooms face the central courtyard, so it is very easy to over hear other guests and be heard... We were on the bottom floor though, so had it the worst.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

janine connor

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
City break

07 November 2010 janine would recommend this property

Liked: A very peaceful, clean, safe and welcoming place to stay in the heart of the very busy Medina. Staff were incredibly helpful and breakfast on the roof terrace was fantastic

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Sycamore

12 April 2010 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Bit of a problem booking a room through this website (the room we had booked through Hostelbookers was apparantly already taken in another booking and we had to chaneg to a different room) but apart from that all good. Good location, Tami sits you down with a map on your arrival and goes through the location of various sights with you. Easy to walk to most of the main sights. Rooms were nice, as was the breakfast on the rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Glenn Miller

01 April 2010 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: It is poorly signed and we walked by it without realizing it was our riad. Iziz, the night manager, was a charming young man (26 yrs), friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Glenn left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexandra Gheblikian

10 March 2010 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Dar Maia has a great location, and is easy to go back and forth from once you know where it is. It's a homey place..The staff was wonderful and helped with any questions.We enjoyed many mint teas and good conversation! The decor was cute and appropriate, and the breakfast was yummy.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Filip Storms

26 July 2009 Filip would recommend this property

Liked: Maria, Aziz and Tami are really helpfull people which allows you to get the most of the city. Great location as well. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Filip left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandra Miloszewska

18 June 2009 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and character, great tarace, lovely staff, fact that you could chat with them, especially Tammi, very knowledgable, kind and outgoing Spanish girl. Prewarned us about all "atractions" that turists can meet in Marrakech.

Disliked: Aleksandra left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabby Lawson

28 January 2009 Gabby would recommend this property

Liked: lovely friendly staff. nice simple rooms, quiet and secure. great location not far from Palace Bahia and a short walk to Djemaa el-fna.

Disliked: Gabby left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

therese fitzgerald

20 January 2009 therese would recommend this property

Liked: Maria, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, the hotel was extremely clean and her staff are always willing to go the extra mile! It is much more than a backpackers hotel.

Disliked: therese left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The roof-top terrace has a wonderful ambience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trisha Davey

23 September 2008 Trisha would recommend this property

Liked: maria!!

Disliked: Trisha left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very convenient. Decor was pretty. Great terrace with views to enjoy breakfast. Friendly staff. Airport transfer service so we didnt have to worry about taxis. Affordable price included breakfast.Would have been nice if we could have paid with credit card at the property.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, beautiful design, frienly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ron Wilson

21 March 2008 Ron would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely, place was peaceful and relaxing

Disliked: Ron left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Symmers

16 March 2008 David would recommend this property

Liked: location; tranquil atmosphere; cleanliness

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Thompson

03 March 2008 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: all staff so welcoming made us feel really at home, we will definitely stay here again, all rooms were lovely and the courtyard really nice and peaceful

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent decoration, like stopping in an authentic morrocan Riad

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.