HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Lakhdar

Hostel | 28 Jbel Lakhdar R'mila, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

91.2% Overall Rating

206 out of 213 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/02/2014)

Carla Torresan thinks…

"The place is amazing! Very beautiful and full of nice details. The location is excellent (airport and square) and the staff is amazing. It is a family business so they treat you very well. The price…"

Read all Riad Lakhdar reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Kenzi Farah Hotel
75.29 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Ushuaia Clubbing Hotel
242.72 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
The Riad Assalam
30.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar Khmissa
37.30 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 24 reviews
Hivernage Premier Hotel & Spa
172.68 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Riad Les Jardins De Mouassine
40.05 USD

Hostel 92.0% 16 reviews
Riad Barroko
34.54 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Essaoussan
21.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

206 out of 213 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Lakhdar'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 179 of 200 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carla Torresan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Carla would recommend this property

Liked: The place is amazing! Very beautiful and full of nice details. The location is excellent (airport and square) and the staff is amazing. It is a family business so they treat you very well. The price is excellent and the owner speaks English!

Disliked: Nothing, every single thing was perfect, an amazing experience

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lily Boessenkool

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

22 January 2014 Lily would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very nice, it's quiet and private, prettily arranged and you can really relax here after the hectic Marrakesh street life. The roof terrace in particular is very beautiful, as is the wood fire in the courtyard in the evenings. The Hammam treatment on offer is very nice, and to be recommended!

Disliked: The prices for several extra services appeared to change. In addition, and this is a BIG one, we arranged for an airport transfer on the way back, when we had to catch an early flight. We payed in advance, but the chauffeur did NOT come. After he was half an hour late, and our flight would be leaving in 45 minutes, we had the great fortune to find another taxi, paying double. This made us nearly miss our flight, we had to beg to be let on, as the check in was already closed. This panick ridden experience is not one I would like to repeat, so please, do NOT book anything important with these people. Hence the score on facilities and service.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Lawrence

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 December 2013 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing accommodation, Beautiful Riad very close to the Medina and the Souks. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Delicious mint tea on arrival, nice roof terrace to soak up the sun and drink moroccan beers (can buy them from the accommodation). The rooms are huge, massive bathrooms (our sheets were not clean on arrival but our other friends in another room had clean sheets) complete with heater/aircon (and TV/stereo which we didn't use). Would highly recommend for couples or people not looking for a rowdy hostel type stay!! Very well priced for what is on offer.

Disliked: Dont bother with any transfers or tours. Our transfer was 40 minutes late and only arrived after I called to find out where it was. The tour was a let down to the Atlas mountains, as it wasn't what was advertised. A trek to a Berber village turned out to be drive to a 'berber house' on the side of a main road, where ushered very quickly through with a 'guide', very underwhelming. Then drive to another village where you 'trek' to a waterfall, which we did (walk for 30 mins up a rock track with trinket shops dotted along the entire length of the walk) walk to a waterfall.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of character. Great location. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful riad, very quiet and peaceful

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely maintain tradition Riad within easy walking distance of the medina and Le Place. A very quiet and relaxing place to be after the souks

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere , beautifull and quite place where to relax

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: こちらのリヤドに3日間滞在しました。とても綺麗でイスラム様式のデザインを充分堪能できます。また、スタッフの方も親切です。ダウンタウンからのアクセスも良く、夜も静かです。マラケシュであまりエアコンがある建物は少ないですが、部屋にエアコンがあって助かりました。

Disliked: 冷蔵庫がありません。

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite easy to find, really close to the city center. Some shops nearby, where you can buy extra supplies of water/something to drink. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. I enjoyed it the most out of four hotels we've been to in Marakesh, Essouira, Cassablanca and Fes. For extra 100MAD, we arranged travel to the airport at early morning hours. Superb, I definitely recommend it. Thank you, Riad Lakhdar staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was 5 min walk from Koutubia mosk and 10 min walk from Djemaa el Fna, we really liked the location because it was peaceful and silent but it was still very close to the main square. The hostel is very beautiful inside, with trees in patio and a roof terrace, the rooms are comfortable. The staff is very nice and helpful, the breakfast was included and it was very good. They also offer some excursions and if you want you can order a meal, but they are quite expensive. There was a hammam too where you can have a nice body scrub or you can have a massage in your room with reasonable price.

Disliked: The only negative thing is that although they offered us an transfer for price of 14 euros from the airport, there was some misunderstanding and there was nobody to pick us up. They were sorry about that.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the value for money that this property offers. The rooms are immaculate and the hotel itself is spotless. Every detail is handmade and over all you can't help but feel luxurious and relaxed when you stay here. After staying here I m surprised they didn't ask for twice as much.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike. it was perfect!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George McDonald

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

10 March 2013 George would recommend this property

Liked: Authentic and really great staff who made us so welcome

Disliked: We couldn't stay longer

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malika Bouram

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2013 Malika would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bedroom well equiped with ,tv, dvd player, extra blankets if needed.

Disliked: The bathroom might be renovated.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location as it's near the square and the owner of the riad is very helpful. After he heard that we were overcharged by the guide during a day trip that was arranged by him, he paid us the difference of his own accord without us even asking for it. Very nice and helpful staff. Excellent and large rooms. Really value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful property.and in a good location as it is very close to the center and all the markets.. The owner , who fetched us at the airport , was very friendly and helpful and we were given the most delicious pot of mint tea on arrival. Although there is no private kitchen you can order food and drinks if you want them and the breakfast in the morning was enjoyable and consisting of breads and the traditional pancakes. I really enjoyed my stay here and hope to return. Very clean and spacious.

Disliked: Nothing.....it was good value for money

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris stevens

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Generally, this was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Particularly, the location was really good and the staff were very helpful. The owner was keen to help with anything and we felt save leaving our bags with the owner while we went on sahara trips and waiting for our flight home. Breakfast was also really nice pastries, pancakes, coffee, orange juice and bread with selection of jams. Just what you needed before a day in the markets.

Disliked: Perhaps a little quiet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my second stay at Riad Lakdah. The first time was a weekend with friends and my most recent visit was by myself. Both stays were thoroughly enjoyable. The location is fantastic (about a 3-5 minute walk to the main locations in Marrakech, restaurants, nightlife etc). The staff are all very friendly. Especially as a young female travelling alone- I felt very safe and welcomed. The owner of the riad offered to provide an escort if I needed it (although I didn't need to take him up on this offer as I felt more than comfortable to walk between the Riad and the main square in Marrakech alone at night). The riad itself if beautiful and tranquil and great value for money. The rooms are spacious and clean and you're made to feel very at home. There is a great area on the roof for sun-baking and relaxing. The included breakfast is massive! Freshly squeezed orange juice and a variety of pastries and breads and Moroccan tea (or coffee).

Disliked: Didn't dislike anything. Would definitely recommend this place. It was a great find through hostel bookers and is great value for money.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is a big pro.. only about a 5 minute walk from the medina and main square. The woman that did the cooking and cleaning was extremely sweet as was the young man who worked during the night.

Disliked: The owner of the Riad was not helpful in recommending anything that didn´t pertain to his business or that of his brother´s. When we had questions, the answers were always directly related to profit his Riad only. We had no advice or recommedations for places to eat, drink, etc. And although breakfast was included, it consisted only of 3 types of bread with jam and tea. Marrekech is a touch city and would have been nice to get more information from a local.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Fahlbusch

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad is beautiful and calm and the staff is very freindly. We also liked the breakfast and the "thé à la menthe" which was offered. The Riad is stationed close to the central place and all other sightseeing places so we could walk to every place we wanted. We further booked the trip to Ourika Valley and it was amazing!!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

06 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The riad is beautiful and peaceful, there are some lovely mosaic walls and the tree in the central courtyard plays host to a small bird community. The location is great and the owners Majoub and his family were very friendly and helpful. The riads only have a few rooms each so if they are not fully occupied they can be quite quiet but that meant we had a great sleep. The bed was very comfortable and the water was hot and had good pressure.

Disliked: I would like to see them spruce up the roof terrace with some soft furnishings and candles, it is a little sparce at the moment, and our room had a slightly musty smell. But I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very peaceful, good location, friendly staff and nice breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Queening

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: The RIad was atmospheric and full of character, close to centre and souks. 8 of stayed there and the staff were very helpful, collecting us and taking us back to the airport, and preparing us a Moroccan meal on our last night

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Peterson

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful riad, great location near the Djema el Fna, accessible and easy to find. Wish we had stayed more than one night!

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: charming place to find your feet in Marrakesh, if a touch expensive. Close enough to Place Jemar El Fnarr to be practical, but just outside the medina, so easier to find in that first taxi ride! Hammam on site too (for 20 euros extra), although we didn't try it.

Disliked: Arriving without reservations (or returning) costs 10€ extra...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was just great!! The distance to Djemaa el-fna was a short walk on good roads so we felt really safe but at the same time close enough to all the excitement! This Riad is on a quiet street so we had a good night of sleep in our pretty and spacious room. Compared to several other riads we stayed in, this one is good value for money!

Disliked: Nothing much, it was a bit quiet I guess.