HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Riad Lakhdar Guesthouse

28 Jbel Lakhdar, R'mila, Marrakech, Marrakech, Morocco

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 97%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Cable TV
  • Café
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 07:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 97%

Safety 95%

Staff 95%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is a well appointed Riad with spacious rooms, a very helpful staff and it is in a central location making it easy to walk into the Medina or to the new city.

Disliked: Guests are not given a key to the front door which means often having to wait a while to be let in after pressing the bell.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Our plan was to stay in this Riad for 2 nights but in the end we decided to stay here for another 6 days. Riad is close to the main square and all the other attractions but is very quiet, peaceful and beautiful. The staff is adorable and all are friendly and at your service. Beautiful and well established garden with two trees, all decorated in Moroccan style, and I fell in love at first sight ...

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The friendliness of the owner and the girls service . Location and beauty.

Disliked: Not have any locked room to leave backpacks after check out.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The friendliness of the owner and the girls service . Location and beauty.

Disliked: Not have any locked room to leave backpacks after check out.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The friendliness of the owner and the girls service . Location and beauty.

Disliked: Not have any locked room to leave backpacks after check out.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Pleasant enough courtyard. The women cook and cleaner were very sweet. The men lazy and fast talking with their excuses

Disliked: They did not tell the truth. We would have booked a different place had we known but it was too late once we got there. We hardly slept.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and very helpful staff. We stayed here another night at the end of our trip, which we already booked. Due to overbooking there were no rooms available when we came back, but this was quickly solved by the very helpful owner/manager by arranging a (more expensive) room in the riad next door (lakhiti).

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: A big breakfast to start the day in a very peaceful location.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We arrived at the Riad fresh off the overnight train from Tangier, rather fraught and tired after an 11 hour journey. Immediately we were ushered to a beautiful and calm courtyard and given a pot of mint tea. Our welcome couldn't have been kinder. Morocco seems to run on mint tea, and there was certainly no shortage of it at the riad, on offer every time we got home from our adventures out in the city. which we discovered, at the end of our stay to be complementary.Tourists in Marrakesh can often be in danger of being ripped off, especially by taxi drivers, and we were no exception! On discovering that we'd been badly treated on one journey in perricular, the owner of the riad offered the services of his brother as a ride the next day. It was certainly cheaper, less frought, and safer than the taxis. The car was also less than 30 years old too, which was a relief.Our room was off the courtyard and was plenty large enough. The mattresses were very firm, but afforded a good night's sleep. The bathroom was huge. Both rooms, as well as the courtyard were beautifully and traditionally decorated and very comfortable and relaxing. There was a large plasma screen tv in our room,but we never used it.Since the windows of our room, as is usual in Morocco, opened into the courtyard, the room could have been rather airless, were it not for the efficient, and thankfully quiet, air conditioning.The staff were attentive and thoughtful but unobtrusive, which is a wonderful respite from the hustle of the medina. Some of them had very little or no English, but with a little creative mime and schoolroom French, one could get by very well.The Riad has a small Hammam, and an attendant/masseur to look after you, if you wish. A little pricier than your average public baths, perhaps, but far far cheaper than those offered in most tourist spas and hotels. A hammam can be a little daunting, if you are unused to being undressed in the company of strangers (though it is de rigeur to keep one's underwear/bikini on. Our intendant was female, but a male was available if required. The experience was delightful and soothing, not uncomfortable at all. One's skin certainly appreciates the care and attention, and is silky smooth at the end.We had dinner in the Riad once, and although, after 3 days in Morocco, we felt tagined out, it was by far the best food we had during our time in Morocco. Beautifully home cooked, fresh, plentiful, carefully seasoned and presented.Breakfasts, though the same each morning, were delicious, freshly prepared and fillingThe rooms were beautifully and thoroughly cleaned every day.All in all, the stay at Riad Lakhdar was one of the highlights of our stay in the country; mor like staying with friends than in a hotel. The staff were delightful, the building calming, attractive andvery close to Djeba el Fna and all of the attractions of the City.

Disliked: feel I must say a little about staying in any Riad. All the rooms have their doors and windows facing INTO the courtyard, which is also the main thoroughfare of the building. This, of course, shelters you from street noise (which is a blessing in a loud and bustling city like Marrakesh), but you will inevitably hear the other guests coming and going. Also, smoking is as ubiquitous in Morocco as tagine and mint tea.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This is my second stay at this riad. I came 4 years ago with my husband, this time with two friends. Hard as it may seem, it's even better this time. The staff were just so lovely, and made our stay so pleasant. The owner is lovely, the staff are incredible. Love love love this place.It's such a peaceful, restful oasis after the intense, excitement, and full on experience of the medina and the square.

Disliked: Nothing at all. I would come again and again if I could.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability