We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Lakhdar

Hostel | 28 Jbel Lakhdar R'mila, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

91.5% Overall Rating

214 out of 221 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/05/2014)

"We arrived at the Riad fresh off the overnight train from Tangier, rather fraught and tired after an 11 hour journey. Immediately we were ushered to a beautiful and calm courtyard and given a pot of mint tea. Our…"

Read all Riad Lakhdar reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Kenzi Farah Hotel
57.09 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Ushuaia Clubbing Hotel
225.26 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
The Riad Assalam
27.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar Khmissa
34.64 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 24 reviews
Hivernage Premier Hotel & Spa
160.36 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Riad Les Jardins De Mouassine
37.17 USD

Hostel 92.1% 17 reviews
Riad Barroko
32.07 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Essaoussan
22.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

214 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Lakhdar'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 184 of 208 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rogier Ross

20 May 2010 Rogier would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhadar is a very beautiful, cosy and safe place to stay in Marrakech. The location is perfect! The staff is very friendly, helpful and hospitable. We strongly recommend this Riad! When we will visit Marrakech again we for sure will choose for Riad Lakhadar again.

Disliked: Rogier left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Setsuko Hanazaki

19 May 2010 Setsuko would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhdar é uma pousada muito agradável, os apartamentos são amplos, asseados e confortáveis. Está situada a poucos minutos da praça principal na Medina, em uma rua tranquila. Era uma antiga fábrica de artesanatos que o proprietário restaurou mantendo as caracteristicas marroquiinas do prédio.

Disliked: Setsuko left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was traditional and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Also the Breakfast was brilliant

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located, friendly and helpful staff, original beautiful morrocan design, everything was perfect except from night visitors we had - 2 huge cockroaches.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Taylor

01 May 2010 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous Riad, with beautiful court yard and friendly staff, excellent location with easy access to the souks - we loved it and strongly reccommend the in house Haman!

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

julio enrique guzman sampay

24 April 2010 julio enrique would recommend this property

Liked: Really a nice place, well located and the owner and the stuff are very nice. In that sense remember you will still being in Marrakech, and even though they are nice, they could be very agressive with prices. Don't accept the first price for anything they offer, because you will certainly pay a lot!

Disliked: julio enrique left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Graham White

01 April 2010 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Very good riad, highly recommend it. Quiet, friendly, helpful.

Disliked: Graham left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. It was a brilliant place to stay - a traditional riad with all the character you would want, but clean and safe too. Was really close to the centre (3min walk). Would recommend. Great budget hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Theresa Schemenau

24 March 2010 Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: Delicious breakfast, even a fresh orange juice, "pain au chocolat", mint tea and much more was served. Helpfull stuff and we had a big and nice room. It was definitely worth it for the price!

Disliked: Theresa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location, 5 minutes from the Jma El Fnaa market, within the medina. Such a charming place with a great breakfast, tea and sweet orange juice! The owners were friendly, and helped us with any questions we may have

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas DeBruyne

17 March 2010 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: If you go to morocco you MUST stay at this place! The most fantastic experience at a hotel i have ever had. The place itself was beautiful moroccan architecture and a peaceful oasis from the chaos of Marrakech. The accommodations were immaculate and the staff was incredibly helpful (and multi-lingual). The owner Mahjoub personally took me to the airport at 6 am the morning of my departure in his car and also took us camelback riding in the desert. He offered us mint tea and hookah every day and was always there to give directions or advice. A beautiful stay in a beautiful place. Very highly recommended, could not have been better!

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Jenkins

17 March 2010 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad was in a great location, only a couple of minutes walk from the Koutoubia where the airport bus arrives, close enough to the souks and the Djemma el Fna to be there in a couple of minutes but also in a nice quiet location. The owner and staff were really welcoming, helpful and friendly. The actual Riad was beautiful with a terrace with great views towards the mountains and a lovely courtyard in the centre with a fountain. It even has its own Hamman. The rooms were great and were cleaned everyday and the breakfast was amazing with fresh orange juice, croissants, yoghurt etc. We liked it so much we went back for another night at the end of the week. Definately recommended.

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mahjoub (the owner) and his brother are amazing Miriam and all the staff show the best of Morrocan hospitality. Helpful, friendly, welcoming, hospitable. The riad is in one of the wider streets just off Jeema El Fna so good to navigate your way round, safe and secure close to all the major sights. Good value, they speak good english, the rooms are peaceful, with huge ceilings the breakfast is amazing. The Hammam is great and they have great tea and shisha, didnt try the food but wish i did it smelt gorge! Would defintitely go back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christine mcintyre

07 March 2010 christine would recommend this property

Liked: This Riad was an oasis amongst the hectic and chaos of Marrakech. I would recommend this Riad to everyone! I visited with my boyfriend for 3 nights and our stay was amazing. We also stayed in another Riad in Marrakech for a couple of nights, but Riad Lakhdar was by far the best value for money! Excellent location on a main but quiet street only 5 minutes walk from the centre. Breakfast was excellent - HUGE!!! Beautiful courtyard to relax in with a bottle of wine after a hectic and sweaty day shopping in the souks. Loved it!

Disliked: christine left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

eileen sparling

03 March 2010 eileen would recommend this property

Liked: We got to the point of calling this place home! Its a good location close to the square and the souks and is a little bit of peace in the hustle and bustle of marrakech.. mahjoub and jamal and the rest of the staff are very attentive and theres always a mint tea on standby when you need it!! The rooms are clean and beautiful with traditional designs, the beds are comfortable and it has a lovely roof terrace to eat your fantastic breakfast on..

Disliked: eileen left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

susan king

03 March 2010 susan would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff. good breakfast. Lovely Raid. Good location.

Disliked: susan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Palazon

27 February 2010 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Mahjoub the owner was the perfect host and made us feel extremely welcome. The riad was beautifully furnished in a traditional Moroccan style. The room was very good and there was always plenty of hot water. The breakfast was excellent. We were able to have a drink of beer or wine in the evening and mint tea was offered to us on our return to the riad after a day's sightseeing. The riad was in a very convenient location being within easy walking distance of both the Medina and the Old Town yet on a quiet street. The roof terrace was an added bonus and would be great in the summer. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. The pick up from the airport was also very handy as this was our first time in Morocco. I would strongly recommend this riad to anyone looking for a traditional bed and breakfast place to stay with the option of an evening meal if you wanted.

Disliked: Elizabeth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Grandin

23 February 2010 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Its central location, traditional decor and friendly staff made our stay amazing!

Disliked: Stuart left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

giulia pullano

16 February 2010 giulia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really good!! The owner and his brother are very kind and friendly; the riad is very nice and homey and there's also a private hammam! Also the dinner and breakfast were really good!It's a perfect place to relax and enjoy your trip in Marrakech!

Disliked: giulia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my wife spent 2 wonderful days in Riad Lakhdar.This is only the second review of this Riad in Tripadvisor, but you have plenty of them at hostelbookers. com - and all of them are good :)Location is optimal for the persons who want to find easily their Riad.The riad is located just at the beginning of Medina, 5 minutes walk (without GPS or map) to the Jmla El Fna - the centre of Medina. There are many Riads in the medina, but this one is probably the easiest to locate, since the street is just parallel to Mochamed V, quite wide and clean in comparison to medina streets. The big hammam is next door.The Riad has 6 rooms, 3 on the ground floor and 3 on fist floor. On the second floor they have a nice terrace with place for relaxing and observing the Marrakesh. Each floor has a public area for relaxation.We had a room in the 1st floor. The rooms are big and the bathrooms are huge.There was a plasma TV and SAT TV in our room, the bad was nice; the shower was powerful with always hot water. AirCondition in every room, but we did not use it, since it was February. Free WIFI is also available :)The Riad is styled in typical Moroccan stile and has most of the traditional Moroccan decoration you can see in their palaces.The riad is run by the owner Mahjoub, and his brother.Mahjoub speaks fluently English and French, and helps a lot with the hints about Marrakech.We ordered a pickup from the airport, and Mahjoub brother came to take us with a nice big car.You get a very tasty mint tea as welcome in Riad while you relax after the trip.If I go more to Marrakesh, I would definitely stay again there.Wonderful stay and extreme relax after hot and dusty streets of Medina.I would recommend this Riad as one with the best value for the people wanting to feel Moroccan way of living.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emma Clossick

02 February 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: We found this riad cosy, beautiful and perfectly located. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and this helped make our whole trip a good one. The huge breakfast was particularly good, enjoyed on the roof terrace in the sun- you definitely won't need to buy lunch! Also nicely decorated and with an incredibley calm atmosphere, suitable for those looking for peace and relaxation.

Disliked: Emma left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christer Larsson

08 January 2010 Christer would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderful Riad. As good as it comes !

Disliked: Christer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael Rodríguez Martín

05 January 2010 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. The hammam felt great ;)

Disliked: Rafael left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Kling

04 January 2010 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very tranquil and quiet, which is a nice escape from the craziness of the medina. The rooms are lovely and large and there was a great bath to relax in, in our bathroom.

Disliked: Carly left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accommodation provided a charming and cozy atmosphere. Located in a fairly quiet area; close distance to the main sights. Owner was very friendly and allowed us to have a comfortable stay. Book here, you won't be disappointed!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.