We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Lakhdar

Hostel | 28 Jbel Lakhdar R'mila, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

90.3% Overall Rating

218 out of 226 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2015)

Teun van Dijk thinks…

"Great location and very helpful staff. We stayed here another night at the end of our trip, which we already booked. Due to overbooking there were no rooms available when we came back, but this was…"

Read all Riad Lakhdar reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Kenzi Farah Hotel
40.93 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Ushuaia Clubbing Hotel
202.00 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Riad Dar Khmissa
25.11 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 24 reviews
Hivernage Premier Hotel & Spa
65.44 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Riad Les Jardins De Mouassine
33.33 USD

Hostel 92.1% 17 reviews
Riad Barroko
24.01 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Essaoussan
17.68 USD

Hostel 73.3% 3 reviews
Riad Massin
14.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

218 out of 226 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Lakhdar'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 189 of 213 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Jarvis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2010 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhdar , a traditional Moroccan guest house in a superb location. The breakfast would shame a 5 star hotel and the friendly helpfull staff will even carry it up on to the roof terrace. I have travelled quite widely over a 40 year period and I cannot rate this riad highly enough. I commend this property to you.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad was all that we hoped for. It only has 6 rooms (3 on ground floor, 3 on the 1st floor) so it is very peaceful. There is plenty of seating areas on all floors, with an excellent roof-top balcony ( 2nd floor). The owner was helpful and all staff were friendly. In the courtyard, you could chat to other travellers, if you so desire.Excellent Riad.

Disliked: No faults at all, but maybe they could have had eggs for breakfast rather than pancakes every day. For information purposes, if you are travelling to Essaouira on the mid-morning Supratours bus, do book a day in advance, otherwise go to the bus station and catch a bus there - they leave every hour, and it is fairly straight forward to book. Ignore the touts and go to the window in the bus station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MAVIS COLLINS

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2010 MAVIS would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location in Medina, beautiful authentic riad, decorated and equipped to very high standard. Mahjoub, the owner/manager speaks perfect English, and is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best riad I've ever stayed! It was even more beautiful than in pictures. The room was gorgeous, the bathroom big and clean. The location is perfect, in a quiet street very near to place Jemaa el fna. The breakfast is huge and very good. The staff is very kind and honest. Great value for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived back in the UK on the 23rd September following a 5 day stay at Raid Lakhdar and it didnt disappoint. The rooms were lovely, the atmosphere was peaceful and the hospitality unmatched. I would definitely recommend this Riad to those looking for a little peace and quiet after a hectic day out! The souks and markets are around the corner and we really miss the Al Koutoubia Mosque now that we are back home - it definitely is the highlight of the Marrakech skyline. Highly recommended to stay here! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleni Kefala

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
City break

29 September 2010 Eleni would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhdar was like an oasis to the madness of Marrakesh. Fantastic room, huge bathroom, nice breakfast and very close to everything. The place was so quiet that we were looking forward to return from every walk into the city or excursion in order to relax. We really enjoyed our stay there!

Disliked: No dislikes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Bang

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

21 September 2010 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and relaxed place. Cozy common space on all three floors. Good breakfeast. Central location.

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anri Mc Hugh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

14 September 2010 Anri would recommend this property

Liked: This riad has perfect location for exploring Marrakech, situated close to the Mosque, The Central Medina and Souks and within 15mins walk to the new city area of Marrakech. We visited during Ramadan and expected to be woken by the call to prayer everymorning and although right beside the mosque it was really quiet and was also the perfect location for resting after a hectic day in the souks. The Riad is beautifuly furnished and has so much Morrocan character that it felf like stepping into another world. The Riad is quite small, 6 rooms and a lovely sun terrace, the atmosphere was very welcoming and we felt at home from the start. The Riad is perfect for single travellers, couples and would be a great location for a large party to rent exclusively for that extra special holiday - great Riad, central location and offers value for money.

Disliked: we would have two small complaints, the staff who are very friendly and helpful only speak french and have poor english understanding ( however you could argue that our french could be better) this made it quite difficult to communicate sometimes. The owner however has fluent English, but we only saw him twice during our stay, which we put down to it being Ramadan. Our other complaint was that the Riad over charges for day trips to explore other parts of Marocco, which are available from tour operaters located around the city for slightly cheaper rates ( however I am aware that the Riad has to make a profit and that adding on a extra % is standard hotel practice but we did feel it unfair as we were on a budget)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was nice. It took about 5minutes' walk to both Djemaa el Fna and Koutoubia, and I did not feel any dangerous atmosphere on the way to the riad from Fna on foot during night.

Disliked: It seemed that the staff other than the owner could not understand English very well, so I felt the difficulty in communication, however, it was not so serious matter because they were very friendly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Graczyk

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2010 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhdar is more "Marrakech" than Marrakech itself. It was perfect, everything I could hope for.

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Dickens

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2010 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely warm greeting at the airport from Mahjoub- even though he'd been waiting ages for our delayed flight! Lovely mint tea, room, staff, seating areas, breakfast and great location.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a beautiful property, very helpful owners.

Disliked: Very dark rooms... in the bathroom you can barely see!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Mann

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhdar is a quiet, tranquail haven from the chaos that is the main square of marrakech, which is literally 5 minutes walk away. The riad has been beautifully renovated in a traditional morrocan design. Our room was clean, bright and tastefully decorated. The shower was excellent especially given the heat.The staff were extremely helpful, going out of their way to get things for us. Breakfast was served in the courtyard, the food was pleasant with fresh mint tea, coffee and orange juice. Best mint tea we had in marrakech.! When we arrived late at night we were able have a meal at the riad which was delicious and a relief not to have to venture out, again this was no problem at all for our hosts. I would recommend Riad Lakhdar to anyone!

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely quiet and relaxing place, with lovely breakfast and extremely helpful, friendly staff. A nice little piece of solitude away from the crazyness of Marrakech!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As mentioned by previous guests this Riad is perfectly located to explore the square 'Djemaa El-Fna' and The Souks (markets). Having done some research before booking our accomadation I get the impression that most Riads are located in the back streets of Marrakech and can be difficult to find. This Riad is an easy five minute walk from the square and is surpisingly quiet considering its location. The Riad itself is compact, safe, clean and does the perfect job for a short stay in Marrakech. The staff are welcoming and friendly and you can look forward to a hearty breakfast before you venture into the souks for an interesting shopping experience (gentlemen, hold onto the purse strings otherwise the wife / girlfriend will go into buying frenzy like you have never seen before).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Andrea Ferreira Costa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2010 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: It is cute and charming. Good place for relaxing after a long day out. It's a peaceful place. You have plenty of space in the room and the toilet, with good shower. It's ideal for couples. The staffs try to help you, but if you don't speak French, it'll be a little difficult, although funny. Just don't expect get a lot information, that is ok. The manager speaks English and then it's fine. For a few days i'll recommend it.

Disliked: The breakfast is simple, but it is enough, only that is impossible eat the creeps! If you are the first one to have shower it's fine, but it'll be a bit blocked after it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Wilson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

13 July 2010 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: The riad is located just 5 minutes away from the Jemaa el Fna square, but you wouldn't guess this from the quiet ambiance inside, which you'll be thankful for after a hectic day walking, braving the market stalls in the square or navigating the labyrinth-like souks. The decor is in a word "gorgeous!" It is a nice combination of Moroccan style with some very random ornaments thrown in for effect. It is immaculately clean, and the open roof means that you'll be greeted by little birds swooping in to sip from the fountain whilst you enjoy a mint tea during breakfast. The owner Mahjoub and his colleagues are a friendly bunch, and they were very kind to us during our stay. The owner and his brother can understand English, but if you speak French or Moroccan Arabic, that would certainly be an advantage! Breakfast was amazing; a very large tray with pancakes, chocolate croissants and bread with condiments, a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, and your choice of mint tea or coffee and dinner - remember to order this in the morning- is very good at 18 euros (at this time of writing.)All in all, a very pleasant stay and I hope to be able to return some day!

Disliked: There was absolutely nothing to dislike about the property!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irina Arakelyan

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

13 July 2010 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Riad Lakhdar with a friend, and we enjoyed our stay very much. It's a wonderful Riad, full of character. We liked it so much that on our first night there we even chose not to go out for dinner, but had an excellent dinner at the Riad, with no one disturbing us. The owner was very helpful, he helped us book a 3-day guided trip to Sahara on a very short notice, and that was a wonderful experience. The staff were extremely polite and friendly. Overall, a wonderful stay, will definitely stay there again. Irina

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Hall

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2010 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Really beautiful place...quite the most stunning place I've ever stayed, wonderfully quiet and tranquil. The staff are very helpful but also very un obtrusive.....just seem to appear when you need them.

Disliked: absolutely nothing!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Locationa nd quiet

Disliked: Decoration/interior design was very basic for a riad; nothing special, even a bit disappointing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Greet Jans

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010 Greet would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was just very nice: staff was friendly & helpfull; place was charming and location was great.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moreno Elisa

26 June 2010 Moreno would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! it's a great place, very good located, amazingly beatiful, all the personal are really helpful and friendly, great breakfast!! We loved everything and we recomend the place!

Disliked: Moreno left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is an amazing Riad!! The owners are very helpful, the atmosphere is peaceful but the chaos of the market square is just minutes away. A great place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: eine oase der ruhe - traumhafteine echter geheimtip!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The riad was beautiful! It was so quiet, peaceful and relaxing amazing considering you are right in the midst of things (locationwise) it is a short stroll to djeema-el-fna which was great. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.