HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Lakhdar

Hostel | 28 Jbel Lakhdar R'mila, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

91.2% Overall Rating

206 out of 213 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/02/2014)

Carla Torresan thinks…

"The place is amazing! Very beautiful and full of nice details. The location is excellent (airport and square) and the staff is amazing. It is a family business so they treat you very well. The price…"

Read all Riad Lakhdar reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Kenzi Farah Hotel
75.29 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Ushuaia Clubbing Hotel
242.72 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
The Riad Assalam
30.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar Khmissa
37.30 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 24 reviews
Hivernage Premier Hotel & Spa
172.68 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Riad Les Jardins De Mouassine
40.05 USD

Hostel 92.0% 16 reviews
Riad Barroko
34.54 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Essaoussan
21.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

206 out of 213 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Lakhdar'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 179 of 200 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Dickens

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2010 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely warm greeting at the airport from Mahjoub- even though he'd been waiting ages for our delayed flight! Lovely mint tea, room, staff, seating areas, breakfast and great location.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a beautiful property, very helpful owners.

Disliked: Very dark rooms... in the bathroom you can barely see!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Mann

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhdar is a quiet, tranquail haven from the chaos that is the main square of marrakech, which is literally 5 minutes walk away. The riad has been beautifully renovated in a traditional morrocan design. Our room was clean, bright and tastefully decorated. The shower was excellent especially given the heat.The staff were extremely helpful, going out of their way to get things for us. Breakfast was served in the courtyard, the food was pleasant with fresh mint tea, coffee and orange juice. Best mint tea we had in marrakech.! When we arrived late at night we were able have a meal at the riad which was delicious and a relief not to have to venture out, again this was no problem at all for our hosts. I would recommend Riad Lakhdar to anyone!

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely quiet and relaxing place, with lovely breakfast and extremely helpful, friendly staff. A nice little piece of solitude away from the crazyness of Marrakech!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As mentioned by previous guests this Riad is perfectly located to explore the square 'Djemaa El-Fna' and The Souks (markets). Having done some research before booking our accomadation I get the impression that most Riads are located in the back streets of Marrakech and can be difficult to find. This Riad is an easy five minute walk from the square and is surpisingly quiet considering its location. The Riad itself is compact, safe, clean and does the perfect job for a short stay in Marrakech. The staff are welcoming and friendly and you can look forward to a hearty breakfast before you venture into the souks for an interesting shopping experience (gentlemen, hold onto the purse strings otherwise the wife / girlfriend will go into buying frenzy like you have never seen before).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Andrea Ferreira Costa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2010 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: It is cute and charming. Good place for relaxing after a long day out. It's a peaceful place. You have plenty of space in the room and the toilet, with good shower. It's ideal for couples. The staffs try to help you, but if you don't speak French, it'll be a little difficult, although funny. Just don't expect get a lot information, that is ok. The manager speaks English and then it's fine. For a few days i'll recommend it.

Disliked: The breakfast is simple, but it is enough, only that is impossible eat the creeps! If you are the first one to have shower it's fine, but it'll be a bit blocked after it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus Wilson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

13 July 2010 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: The riad is located just 5 minutes away from the Jemaa el Fna square, but you wouldn't guess this from the quiet ambiance inside, which you'll be thankful for after a hectic day walking, braving the market stalls in the square or navigating the labyrinth-like souks. The decor is in a word "gorgeous!" It is a nice combination of Moroccan style with some very random ornaments thrown in for effect. It is immaculately clean, and the open roof means that you'll be greeted by little birds swooping in to sip from the fountain whilst you enjoy a mint tea during breakfast. The owner Mahjoub and his colleagues are a friendly bunch, and they were very kind to us during our stay. The owner and his brother can understand English, but if you speak French or Moroccan Arabic, that would certainly be an advantage! Breakfast was amazing; a very large tray with pancakes, chocolate croissants and bread with condiments, a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice, and your choice of mint tea or coffee and dinner - remember to order this in the morning- is very good at 18 euros (at this time of writing.)All in all, a very pleasant stay and I hope to be able to return some day!

Disliked: There was absolutely nothing to dislike about the property!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irina Arakelyan

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

13 July 2010 Irina would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Riad Lakhdar with a friend, and we enjoyed our stay very much. It's a wonderful Riad, full of character. We liked it so much that on our first night there we even chose not to go out for dinner, but had an excellent dinner at the Riad, with no one disturbing us. The owner was very helpful, he helped us book a 3-day guided trip to Sahara on a very short notice, and that was a wonderful experience. The staff were extremely polite and friendly. Overall, a wonderful stay, will definitely stay there again. Irina

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Hall

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2010 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Really beautiful place...quite the most stunning place I've ever stayed, wonderfully quiet and tranquil. The staff are very helpful but also very un obtrusive.....just seem to appear when you need them.

Disliked: absolutely nothing!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Locationa nd quiet

Disliked: Decoration/interior design was very basic for a riad; nothing special, even a bit disappointing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Greet Jans

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2010 Greet would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was just very nice: staff was friendly & helpfull; place was charming and location was great.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Moreno Elisa

26 June 2010 Moreno would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! it's a great place, very good located, amazingly beatiful, all the personal are really helpful and friendly, great breakfast!! We loved everything and we recomend the place!

Disliked: Moreno left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is an amazing Riad!! The owners are very helpful, the atmosphere is peaceful but the chaos of the market square is just minutes away. A great place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: eine oase der ruhe - traumhafteine echter geheimtip!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The riad was beautiful! It was so quiet, peaceful and relaxing amazing considering you are right in the midst of things (locationwise) it is a short stroll to djeema-el-fna which was great. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here with my girlfriend at the end of May and was largely impressed with the Riad. The location is absolutely perfect, being only a 5 minute walk from the main square, and on one of the quietest and least traffic congested streets in the Medina (a huge plus point if you've ever witnessed the level of traffic in Marrakech - it's something to be reckoned with!). Being slightly out of the way of the main square also gives some respite from the hustle and bustle of the central Medina, as it can at times be a draining experience.In terms of the Riad itself, it does exactly what it says on the tin. The rooms were clean and nice, and it was certainly a welcoming place to come back to after a hot day in the city. Breakfast was included, and was delicious, though quite continental - pastries, bread, jam with orange juice and a hot drink. A warning about the drinks though, as I came to discover about Marrakech, the locals have 101 ways to try and bleed money from you, and we had a slight shock as we were about to leave the Riad. Since there are no price lists or anything around the Riad, we believed the ubiquitous mint tea to be complementary, though it seems that we were being carefully monitored throughout our stay. As such, we were charged for every drop of tea we consumed, even the tea we were 'kindly' offered on arrival. Just a slight quibble however, and it didn't detract from the quality of our stay too much!The staff were generally friendly, and willing to help,though apparently not the most knowledgeable about trips and excursions outside of Morocco (we actually called into another hotel in the area and had them arrange us a trip to the coast, since the staff at Riad Lakhdar didn't really offer many reasonable suggestions to do so.).I would highly recommend this Riad though, in terms of location and cleanliness and value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Munday

03 June 2010 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: It was a wonderful place to stay for a few days, very clean and well kept, the perfectly peaceful spot to return to from the madding crowds! The staff were lovely and helpful and I would return to this authentic family Riad and recommend it as a very nice experience :)

Disliked: Clare left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marianne Regen

02 June 2010 Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay - very tranquil inside with a little fountain bubbling away downstairs in the courtyard where you can sit and read or eat breakfast in the morning. There're also two other places to relax- the middle floor and also the terrace, both with really comfy seating/lying areas. The breakfast is amazing- bread, butter, jam, pain au chocolat, pancakes and either coffee or mint tea. The location is fantastic - you're only an easy 10 minute stroll to the main square. Bathroom great, always hot water. The only thing I would say is take earplugs- sound is amplified around the riad due to the acoustics.

Disliked: Marianne left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad was good value for money, we enjoyed our stay for one night. The things that could have improved the stay were that we weren't given any information on Marrakesh and because the staff spoke very little English we couldn't really even ask any questions. (Admittedly, we don't speak any French either!) Also, we had the room downstairs which was quite noisy at night and in the mornings. The other niggly thing was money, the Riad itself is good value but we paid for a transfer, the price you'd have paid for a private transfer but had to wait for other guests at the airport for nearly an hour and we were all taken together. We also were quoted prices for drinks in Euros, but then they tried to charge a higher amount in Dirhams. Only small issues but they all just made us feel a little uncomfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This riad was very nice, breakfast was served downstairs or on the roof terrace, which we thought was very nice! It is very close to the old medina center. However we didn't meet the owner. We only met his French speeking brother, so that made communication sometimes not easy. We also made a reservation for an airport pick-up, but after one hour nobody had arrived yet to pick us up, we called again, and then after half an hour the brother of the owner picked us up. So, we recommend that even when you order an aiport pick-up is to make sure you have a confirmation of that! Furthermore, we were given a room on the first floor in which you can hear and smell (smoke!) other guest very well...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rogier Ross

20 May 2010 Rogier would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhadar is a very beautiful, cosy and safe place to stay in Marrakech. The location is perfect! The staff is very friendly, helpful and hospitable. We strongly recommend this Riad! When we will visit Marrakech again we for sure will choose for Riad Lakhadar again.

Disliked: Rogier left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Setsuko Hanazaki

19 May 2010 Setsuko would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhdar é uma pousada muito agradável, os apartamentos são amplos, asseados e confortáveis. Está situada a poucos minutos da praça principal na Medina, em uma rua tranquila. Era uma antiga fábrica de artesanatos que o proprietário restaurou mantendo as caracteristicas marroquiinas do prédio.

Disliked: Setsuko left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was traditional and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. Also the Breakfast was brilliant

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located, friendly and helpful staff, original beautiful morrocan design, everything was perfect except from night visitors we had - 2 huge cockroaches.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Taylor

01 May 2010 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous Riad, with beautiful court yard and friendly staff, excellent location with easy access to the souks - we loved it and strongly reccommend the in house Haman!

Disliked: Jenny left no negative feedback.