HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Lakhdar

Hostel | 28 Jbel Lakhdar R'mila, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

91.2% Overall Rating

206 out of 213 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/02/2014)

Carla Torresan thinks…

"The place is amazing! Very beautiful and full of nice details. The location is excellent (airport and square) and the staff is amazing. It is a family business so they treat you very well. The price…"

Read all Riad Lakhdar reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Kenzi Farah Hotel
75.29 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Ushuaia Clubbing Hotel
242.72 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
The Riad Assalam
30.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar Khmissa
37.30 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 24 reviews
Hivernage Premier Hotel & Spa
172.68 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Riad Les Jardins De Mouassine
40.05 USD

Hostel 92.0% 16 reviews
Riad Barroko
34.54 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Essaoussan
21.24 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

206 out of 213 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Lakhdar'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 179 of 200 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank van Egmond

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2010 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the authentic athmosphere of the riad and, especially in a crowded and overwhelming city as Marrakech, the peacefulness of the place. It was really an oase!

Disliked: The prices of the restaurant were high, compared to the average price-level in Marrakech.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad was absolutely beautiful, such a calm and tranquil oasis in the middle of such a busy and electric city. The rooms were large and beautifully decorated. The staff were very friendly, and although their English wasn't great they were very helpful and accomodating. The location was perfect, walking distance from most attractions, and less than 5 minutes from the jemaa el fna.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about the property, it was perfect. But they do overcharge for food and drink (especially wine).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Harvey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful and tranquil riad in the heart of Marrakesh. The room we had was spacious and very comfortable. Good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krista Spurr

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

08 November 2010 Krista would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful property, clean and well-maintained. Friendly, helpful staff, and the owner is a gracious host. You cannot beat the location, especially for the price and amenities. Less than a 10-minute walk from the Koutoubia Mosque and Djemaa el-Fna, off Ave Mohamed V, but away from the noise of Djemaa el-Fna and Ave Mohamed V. There are lots of riads in Marrakech that claim to be close, but Riad Lakhdar actually is close and easy to find (ie: not located off an alley in the medina).

Disliked: Unfortunately for me, I couldn't extend my booking when we decided to extend our stay in Marrakech, they were totally full the next evening. If I ever find my way back to Marrakech, I will definitely stay at Riad Lakhdar again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best place ever. quite and peaceful with awesome terrace to sun yourself or laze in the tent, views over marrakech. very close to the main square and souks - easy walking distance everywhere in the old town. staff friendly and helpful. shower was excellent. breakfast (bread, butter, jam, roti, chocolate croissant, fresh oj, tea/coffee) really good. such a restful haven.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The brothers who own the property were extremely kind and helpful during our stay - greeted with a smile and they did not disappoint throughout the stay. Also, the maid was really good and the worker was always ready to get us anything we needed. The location was great - literally only 5 minutes from "the place" which is really the most exciting part of Marrakech. This was by far the most charming place that I have stayed, and was actually sad to leave the riad. It was definitely a great value!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, services

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mary Tanner

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

05 November 2010 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with respect to the souks, Place Jemaa, and other sites in the medina. About 10 min. by taxi from airport. The courtyard and sitting areas of the riad are lovely, and it's always very quiet and calm. If you're looking for relaxation, this is a great spot. The breakfasts are great (except for one morning out of the 5 we were served a only small portion of bread with tea - don't know why). The staff were all quite helpful and accommodating. There is a private hammam/massage room at the riad, (which I don't think is mentioned on Hostelbookers) which is a nice feature; note that it can only accommodate one person at a time, so if you want to do a couples treatment, you'll have to book elsewhere.

Disliked: Other services offered by the riad - such as à la carte tea, evening meals, and airport transfers seem a bit overpriced. In one of the rooms we stayed, there was a shower that's in need of some modification - either a longer shower curtain or redesign - because it's nearly impossible to prevent lots of water from running out onto the floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely decoration, clean, nice bathroom, excellent breakfast and good location within easy reach of the central square and souks.

Disliked: We thought the dinner was a bit overpriced.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic and helpful staff, Amazing continental breakfast, Perfect location 2 min walk from Jemma el Fna. There are no tvs which adds to the charm of the place, felt like stepping back in time. The bathroom was huge! There was air conditioning and was lovely to wake up to the sound of birds singing in the 2 trees in the middle of the riad. We went with my sister and her partner, our bed was nice and hard which helped with our back problems where as hers was softer which they prefered. So there is a choice if the riad is not fully booked. We will stay here in the future! Highlight was sitting on the roof terrace in the evening drinking mint tea watching the local cats.

Disliked: Price of drinks, 20dirhams for a mint tea when you can get them at all other cafes for 12 dirhams.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this place is very cool. the room was super clean and spacious. the hostel has a hammam (moroccan bath) and the owner/staff can organize tours into the mountains or desert for you. breakfast is included and is delicious. it's very quiet, but within a 5 minute walk to the main square and souq. had an excellent time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good attention and great location, near the centre but quiet. And Beatiful place too!

Disliked: At least in my room they didn't change the sheets of former guests

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad is out of the medina and therefore is very easy to find. It's just 5 min walk from the plaza Jemaa el Fna. In my opinion, it's perfecly positioned. It's clean, very nice and the people are friendly. Definitely recomend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

darran ellam

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

31 October 2010 darran would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and the riad was airy

Disliked: The bathroom was small. We stayed in other riads in Marrakesh and these represented better value of money wiithout compromising on the standard of accomodation

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice riad, located in a rather quiet street, which is great after spending a full day at the souks. Colorfull and well decorated, spacious room and bathroom, also love the various channels available on the TV. A short walking distance to jemma el fna, small restaurants, hammam & money changer are around the corner

Disliked: Would've been perfect if we could access the wifi from out room, instead of having to be around the "concierge" desk area. Staffs are really friendly, but more english would be super.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Jarvis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2010 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhdar , a traditional Moroccan guest house in a superb location. The breakfast would shame a 5 star hotel and the friendly helpfull staff will even carry it up on to the roof terrace. I have travelled quite widely over a 40 year period and I cannot rate this riad highly enough. I commend this property to you.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad was all that we hoped for. It only has 6 rooms (3 on ground floor, 3 on the 1st floor) so it is very peaceful. There is plenty of seating areas on all floors, with an excellent roof-top balcony ( 2nd floor). The owner was helpful and all staff were friendly. In the courtyard, you could chat to other travellers, if you so desire.Excellent Riad.

Disliked: No faults at all, but maybe they could have had eggs for breakfast rather than pancakes every day. For information purposes, if you are travelling to Essaouira on the mid-morning Supratours bus, do book a day in advance, otherwise go to the bus station and catch a bus there - they leave every hour, and it is fairly straight forward to book. Ignore the touts and go to the window in the bus station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MAVIS COLLINS

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2010 MAVIS would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location in Medina, beautiful authentic riad, decorated and equipped to very high standard. Mahjoub, the owner/manager speaks perfect English, and is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best riad I've ever stayed! It was even more beautiful than in pictures. The room was gorgeous, the bathroom big and clean. The location is perfect, in a quiet street very near to place Jemaa el fna. The breakfast is huge and very good. The staff is very kind and honest. Great value for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday

30 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived back in the UK on the 23rd September following a 5 day stay at Raid Lakhdar and it didnt disappoint. The rooms were lovely, the atmosphere was peaceful and the hospitality unmatched. I would definitely recommend this Riad to those looking for a little peace and quiet after a hectic day out! The souks and markets are around the corner and we really miss the Al Koutoubia Mosque now that we are back home - it definitely is the highlight of the Marrakech skyline. Highly recommended to stay here! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleni Kefala

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
City break

29 September 2010 Eleni would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhdar was like an oasis to the madness of Marrakesh. Fantastic room, huge bathroom, nice breakfast and very close to everything. The place was so quiet that we were looking forward to return from every walk into the city or excursion in order to relax. We really enjoyed our stay there!

Disliked: No dislikes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Bang

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

21 September 2010 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and relaxed place. Cozy common space on all three floors. Good breakfeast. Central location.

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anri Mc Hugh

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

14 September 2010 Anri would recommend this property

Liked: This riad has perfect location for exploring Marrakech, situated close to the Mosque, The Central Medina and Souks and within 15mins walk to the new city area of Marrakech. We visited during Ramadan and expected to be woken by the call to prayer everymorning and although right beside the mosque it was really quiet and was also the perfect location for resting after a hectic day in the souks. The Riad is beautifuly furnished and has so much Morrocan character that it felf like stepping into another world. The Riad is quite small, 6 rooms and a lovely sun terrace, the atmosphere was very welcoming and we felt at home from the start. The Riad is perfect for single travellers, couples and would be a great location for a large party to rent exclusively for that extra special holiday - great Riad, central location and offers value for money.

Disliked: we would have two small complaints, the staff who are very friendly and helpful only speak french and have poor english understanding ( however you could argue that our french could be better) this made it quite difficult to communicate sometimes. The owner however has fluent English, but we only saw him twice during our stay, which we put down to it being Ramadan. Our other complaint was that the Riad over charges for day trips to explore other parts of Marocco, which are available from tour operaters located around the city for slightly cheaper rates ( however I am aware that the Riad has to make a profit and that adding on a extra % is standard hotel practice but we did feel it unfair as we were on a budget)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was nice. It took about 5minutes' walk to both Djemaa el Fna and Koutoubia, and I did not feel any dangerous atmosphere on the way to the riad from Fna on foot during night.

Disliked: It seemed that the staff other than the owner could not understand English very well, so I felt the difficulty in communication, however, it was not so serious matter because they were very friendly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Graczyk

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2010 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhdar is more "Marrakech" than Marrakech itself. It was perfect, everything I could hope for.

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.