We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Lakhdar

Hostel | 28 Jbel Lakhdar R'mila, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

90.3% Overall Rating

219 out of 227 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2015)

"Our plan was to stay in this Riad for 2 nights but in the end we decided to stay here for another 6 days. Riad is close to the main square and all the other attractions but is very quiet, peaceful and beautiful. The…"

Read all Riad Lakhdar reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Kenzi Farah Hotel
37.79 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Ushuaia Clubbing Hotel
202.64 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Riad Dar Khmissa
25.19 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 24 reviews
Riad Les Jardins De Mouassine
33.44 USD

Hostel 92.1% 17 reviews
Riad Barroko
24.10 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Essaoussan
17.73 USD

Hostel 73.3% 3 reviews
Riad Massin
14.24 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 185 reviews
Riad Aicha Marrakech
24.10 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

219 out of 227 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Lakhdar'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 190 of 214 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anita Platt

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 January 2011 Anita would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhdar has a super location. It relly is a few minutes walk from the Koutoubia Mosque and the narrow alleys of the old Medina, but it's also close to the old walls, on a quiet modern road with easy access for taxis. The owners met us at the airport and provided a lovely traditional tagine on the night of our arrival - enough for twice the number of people!

Disliked: Just a minor concern. - The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated in traditional fashion, but the twin beds were a little hard and narrow for those of us used to a comfy double at home.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time at the Riad Lakhdar. The staff were really friendly and helpful. They helped us organise trips etc. The place was very central, in walking distance of the souks, djeema el fna etc. The riad was beautiful and very comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kelly Neeson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful property in a good location. Breakfast was fresh and what I expected.

Disliked: I was disappointed I didn't get a personal tour of the riad or area like others have. It left me a bit confused.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

helen finnegan

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 December 2010 helen would recommend this property

Liked: This riad was very calm and a nice place to get away from all the hustle and bustle. The lady who prepared the breakfast was fantastic, it was lovely to have our breakfast brought to us on the rooftop terrace. We felt very safe there and had no worries about leaving things in the room.

Disliked: The price of the massage went up when I showed interest in getting one!! This made me lose a little confidence in the honesty of the management.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful and peaceful riad in a superb location within a 4 minute walk of Djemma el Fna

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Roy Delaney

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2010 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: It was located near enough to the madness of Jemma El Fna to visit the square frequently and easily, but just down a nice quiet side road so you could actualy get a bit of kip. It's also close enough to the city's other main sites, and only a short hop to the new town. On top of that, the decor is fabulous, the staff ridiculously helpful and friendly and the rooms were dead cosy. We liked it so much we came back for a second stint!

Disliked: The noisy Americans who decided to call all their friends on speakerphone at an unsociable hour. But that was hardly the fault of the Rian itself!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: BEAUTIFUL RIAD. Breakfast included was a plus and it was great breakfast too. The courtyard is gorgeous. And the owners are helpful without being pushy with regards to excursion bookings and having dinner at the Riad.

Disliked: Bathroom wasn't that clean but not a huge issue.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christian Garcia

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2010 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Riad was fantastic beautiful place with great character, Service was top notch could not have wanted more, I will be coming back to Marrakesh and I will be staying here again :)

Disliked: Price for dinner was a bit more then around the same area, but was fantastic and still worth it for a delicious meal with great service.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Suwit Kujaroensup

With my spouse / partner

24 November 2010 Suwit would recommend this property

Liked: everythings

Disliked: nothings

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Todd Lennox

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

22 November 2010 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: This riad was awesome. It was beautiful, and a great place to relax at after a long day of shopping. The rooms were amazing and very spacious. It's only a 5 minute walk for the square, and it's very easy to navigate. We never had trouble finding our riad getting to the square. Mahjoub and all his brothers were super helpful and always had an answer for the dozens of questions we asked. Breakfast was delicious!

Disliked: Their wireless router is a little outdated so it's range isn't too far, which really isn't a big deal since we only needed to use the internet a couple of times. They usually only had 2-4 beers on hand, but I'm sure if we said something they would have stocked up on more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and his brother were available at all times, very approachable, clued up, and with a good command of English, in the case of the owner.

Disliked: Very little.Our bed was hard but others may not have been.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank van Egmond

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2010 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the authentic athmosphere of the riad and, especially in a crowded and overwhelming city as Marrakech, the peacefulness of the place. It was really an oase!

Disliked: The prices of the restaurant were high, compared to the average price-level in Marrakech.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad was absolutely beautiful, such a calm and tranquil oasis in the middle of such a busy and electric city. The rooms were large and beautifully decorated. The staff were very friendly, and although their English wasn't great they were very helpful and accomodating. The location was perfect, walking distance from most attractions, and less than 5 minutes from the jemaa el fna.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about the property, it was perfect. But they do overcharge for food and drink (especially wine).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Harvey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful and tranquil riad in the heart of Marrakesh. The room we had was spacious and very comfortable. Good value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krista Spurr

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

08 November 2010 Krista would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful property, clean and well-maintained. Friendly, helpful staff, and the owner is a gracious host. You cannot beat the location, especially for the price and amenities. Less than a 10-minute walk from the Koutoubia Mosque and Djemaa el-Fna, off Ave Mohamed V, but away from the noise of Djemaa el-Fna and Ave Mohamed V. There are lots of riads in Marrakech that claim to be close, but Riad Lakhdar actually is close and easy to find (ie: not located off an alley in the medina).

Disliked: Unfortunately for me, I couldn't extend my booking when we decided to extend our stay in Marrakech, they were totally full the next evening. If I ever find my way back to Marrakech, I will definitely stay at Riad Lakhdar again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best place ever. quite and peaceful with awesome terrace to sun yourself or laze in the tent, views over marrakech. very close to the main square and souks - easy walking distance everywhere in the old town. staff friendly and helpful. shower was excellent. breakfast (bread, butter, jam, roti, chocolate croissant, fresh oj, tea/coffee) really good. such a restful haven.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The brothers who own the property were extremely kind and helpful during our stay - greeted with a smile and they did not disappoint throughout the stay. Also, the maid was really good and the worker was always ready to get us anything we needed. The location was great - literally only 5 minutes from "the place" which is really the most exciting part of Marrakech. This was by far the most charming place that I have stayed, and was actually sad to leave the riad. It was definitely a great value!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, services

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mary Tanner

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

05 November 2010 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with respect to the souks, Place Jemaa, and other sites in the medina. About 10 min. by taxi from airport. The courtyard and sitting areas of the riad are lovely, and it's always very quiet and calm. If you're looking for relaxation, this is a great spot. The breakfasts are great (except for one morning out of the 5 we were served a only small portion of bread with tea - don't know why). The staff were all quite helpful and accommodating. There is a private hammam/massage room at the riad, (which I don't think is mentioned on Hostelbookers) which is a nice feature; note that it can only accommodate one person at a time, so if you want to do a couples treatment, you'll have to book elsewhere.

Disliked: Other services offered by the riad - such as à la carte tea, evening meals, and airport transfers seem a bit overpriced. In one of the rooms we stayed, there was a shower that's in need of some modification - either a longer shower curtain or redesign - because it's nearly impossible to prevent lots of water from running out onto the floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely decoration, clean, nice bathroom, excellent breakfast and good location within easy reach of the central square and souks.

Disliked: We thought the dinner was a bit overpriced.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic and helpful staff, Amazing continental breakfast, Perfect location 2 min walk from Jemma el Fna. There are no tvs which adds to the charm of the place, felt like stepping back in time. The bathroom was huge! There was air conditioning and was lovely to wake up to the sound of birds singing in the 2 trees in the middle of the riad. We went with my sister and her partner, our bed was nice and hard which helped with our back problems where as hers was softer which they prefered. So there is a choice if the riad is not fully booked. We will stay here in the future! Highlight was sitting on the roof terrace in the evening drinking mint tea watching the local cats.

Disliked: Price of drinks, 20dirhams for a mint tea when you can get them at all other cafes for 12 dirhams.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this place is very cool. the room was super clean and spacious. the hostel has a hammam (moroccan bath) and the owner/staff can organize tours into the mountains or desert for you. breakfast is included and is delicious. it's very quiet, but within a 5 minute walk to the main square and souq. had an excellent time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good attention and great location, near the centre but quiet. And Beatiful place too!

Disliked: At least in my room they didn't change the sheets of former guests

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad is out of the medina and therefore is very easy to find. It's just 5 min walk from the plaza Jemaa el Fna. In my opinion, it's perfecly positioned. It's clean, very nice and the people are friendly. Definitely recomend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

darran ellam

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

31 October 2010 darran would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good and the riad was airy

Disliked: The bathroom was small. We stayed in other riads in Marrakesh and these represented better value of money wiithout compromising on the standard of accomodation