We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Lakhdar

Hostel | 28 Jbel Lakhdar R'mila, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

91.5% Overall Rating

214 out of 221 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/05/2014)

"We arrived at the Riad fresh off the overnight train from Tangier, rather fraught and tired after an 11 hour journey. Immediately we were ushered to a beautiful and calm courtyard and given a pot of mint tea. Our…"

Read all Riad Lakhdar reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Kenzi Farah Hotel
56.29 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Ushuaia Clubbing Hotel
226.84 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Riad Dar Khmissa
34.16 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 24 reviews
Hivernage Premier Hotel & Spa
158.13 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Riad Les Jardins De Mouassine
37.43 USD

Hostel 92.1% 17 reviews
Riad Barroko
31.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Essaoussan
22.68 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Massin
16.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

214 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Lakhdar'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 184 of 208 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very peaceful, good location, friendly staff and nice breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

John Queening

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: The RIad was atmospheric and full of character, close to centre and souks. 8 of stayed there and the staff were very helpful, collecting us and taking us back to the airport, and preparing us a Moroccan meal on our last night

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Peterson

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful riad, great location near the Djema el Fna, accessible and easy to find. Wish we had stayed more than one night!

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: charming place to find your feet in Marrakesh, if a touch expensive. Close enough to Place Jemar El Fnarr to be practical, but just outside the medina, so easier to find in that first taxi ride! Hammam on site too (for 20 euros extra), although we didn't try it.

Disliked: Arriving without reservations (or returning) costs 10€ extra...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was just great!! The distance to Djemaa el-fna was a short walk on good roads so we felt really safe but at the same time close enough to all the excitement! This Riad is on a quiet street so we had a good night of sleep in our pretty and spacious room. Compared to several other riads we stayed in, this one is good value for money!

Disliked: Nothing much, it was a bit quiet I guess.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Ward

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad was beautiful. Lovely and peaceful and decorated very traditionally. The roof terrace is amazing and the staff are really friendly. The location is excellent. The property is extremely clean and the breakfast was huge with juice, pancakes, bread and croissants.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsey Brady

Alone

City break

27 April 2011 Lindsey would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely beautiful rooms and courtyard. Very relaxed atmosphere. It was an absolute haven of tranquility.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike. It was perfect.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Philip Young

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, large rooms, good breakfast.

Disliked: Room cleanliness could have been better, incredibly expensive yet average meals.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast, nice atmosphere, good location, friendly staff

Disliked: beds are a little uncomfortable

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: A bit cold

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenna Gugich

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: gorgeous riad, great roof terrace, perfect location, lovely, friendly and very accomodating hosts

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazing place, where you can enjoy the arabian atmosphera , the kindness of the staff and the fabulous bedrooms! One of the best things is the location, just 5 minutes walking from the plaza jemaa fna!

Disliked: Be careful when you pay with the change from dirhams to euros, we had a problem with the change at hotel , and we paid 12 extra euros!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to chill out. Close to the Medina. The staff was very helpful and polite. Generaly very relaxed atmosfere.

Disliked: The only downside was ... breakfast. Instant coffee, orange jouice (lovely!) baggette, croissante, pancake, butter and jam. That's all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis Pickering

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful riad with loads of character, super comfy beds and best breakfast ever! They were perfectly happy to serve us breakfast at 11:30am. It would be far too late for most places but Riad Lakhdar were charming at all times.

Disliked: There is nothing worth mentioning.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful small Riad in quieter road located between the new town and Djemaa el Fna square within walking distance of both . Lovely continental style breakfast of Fresh orange juice and coffee, local pancakes with jam, pastries and fresh french bread

Disliked: We would have liked to have a key to the front door for easier access and some additional heating in our room at night it being rather cool in February

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A quiet escape from the surrounding hussle and bussle. The location was fabulous and honestly 5 minutes from the main square. It was close enough that we took a mid afternoon break everyday to relax and get a breath of fresh air.

Disliked: The tea and ammenities were a bit expensive. Also the staff could have been a bit more welcoming at times. But after moving from hostel to hostel and for a first time visit to Marrakesh, this riad was ideal.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely Riad in a central location, just 5 minutes walk from the main square. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Big rooms with spacious bathrooms. The Riad has a lovely roof terrace. Breakfast was a selection or fresh orange juice, mint tea, croissants and crepes. I would definitely recommend.

Disliked: The mattresses were quite hard but from my experience this seems to be the same for most beds in Riad's in Marrakech.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very pretty and picturesque. Great location and the price per night is reasonable. Great breakfast Helpful staff Saved luggage on day of checkout

Disliked: Being sent to a "Tourist Trap" restaurant by the owner. No Internet Access/WiFi Expensive tranfers to/from airport

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 January 2011

Liked: authentic riad

Disliked: cold people, not a warm welcome

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anita Platt

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 January 2011 Anita would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Lakhdar has a super location. It relly is a few minutes walk from the Koutoubia Mosque and the narrow alleys of the old Medina, but it's also close to the old walls, on a quiet modern road with easy access for taxis. The owners met us at the airport and provided a lovely traditional tagine on the night of our arrival - enough for twice the number of people!

Disliked: Just a minor concern. - The rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated in traditional fashion, but the twin beds were a little hard and narrow for those of us used to a comfy double at home.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time at the Riad Lakhdar. The staff were really friendly and helpful. They helped us organise trips etc. The place was very central, in walking distance of the souks, djeema el fna etc. The riad was beautiful and very comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kelly Neeson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful property in a good location. Breakfast was fresh and what I expected.

Disliked: I was disappointed I didn't get a personal tour of the riad or area like others have. It left me a bit confused.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

helen finnegan

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 December 2010 helen would recommend this property

Liked: This riad was very calm and a nice place to get away from all the hustle and bustle. The lady who prepared the breakfast was fantastic, it was lovely to have our breakfast brought to us on the rooftop terrace. We felt very safe there and had no worries about leaving things in the room.

Disliked: The price of the massage went up when I showed interest in getting one!! This made me lose a little confidence in the honesty of the management.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful and peaceful riad in a superb location within a 4 minute walk of Djemma el Fna

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Roy Delaney

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2010 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: It was located near enough to the madness of Jemma El Fna to visit the square frequently and easily, but just down a nice quiet side road so you could actualy get a bit of kip. It's also close enough to the city's other main sites, and only a short hop to the new town. On top of that, the decor is fabulous, the staff ridiculously helpful and friendly and the rooms were dead cosy. We liked it so much we came back for a second stint!

Disliked: The noisy Americans who decided to call all their friends on speakerphone at an unsociable hour. But that was hardly the fault of the Rian itself!