HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Dar Hafsa Guesthouse

34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi, Talaa Sghira Medina, Fez, Morocco

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 94%

Location 96%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Currency Exchange
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 175.13USD

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Please note that the city tax of 2 euros/person/night is not included in the room price.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fez?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 94%

Location 96%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

Showing 21-30 of 35 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We have spent the last ten weeks traveling on a modest budget through Africa and the last twelve days in Morocco. We stayed four nights in two different rooms at dar hafsa. Overall we found the accomodation adequate but not exceptional: Pros- good location a few minutes walk from the blue gate- good communication and information from the dar ensuring a smooth arrival. We appreciated being met at the gate and guided to the accomodation by the owner.- the common area has been restored and features beautiful tile, wrought iron and decorative wood trim- the staff is helpful, the cook and cleaning woman took care of our laundry for a charge of our choosing, Mohammed cheerfully hauled our bags to our room and helped us with the locks and keys

Disliked: Cons- the two rooms we stayed in are small, poorly lit and lacking in fresh air. The single beds are uncomfortable. The bathrooms, in particular need work: the plaster is cracked, the mirror in one room is broken, some of the fixtures are not properly secured to the wall and the entire floor floods when you shower.- we like some level of privacy. The well intentioned owner seems to be hovering when we were in the common area. It is difficult to have a private conversation as the voices travel through the Dar.- we felt some pressure to sign on to the owner's suggested itinerary: full day guided tour of the medina, discounted dinner at a specific restaurant near the gate, car and driver to tour surrounding villages. In the end we decided to do a half day tour of the medina. The owner questioned our decision of not taking his advise and doing the full day. The first couple of hours were excellent given the guides exceptional knowledge of the history and culture of Fes. In the second half of our tour the guide suggested he show us how the handicrafts were made. We agreed but made clear we were had absolutely no interest in buying. Next thing we knew, we found ourselves in uncomfortable situations with salesmen trying to pressure us to buy carpets, scarfs and leather goods. We were glad it was over after 3.5 hours. Make no mistake, although nobody will ever admit the fact to the visitor, Fes is about a complex network of back room deals and hidden commissions.- we did not sign up for the car and driver tour. The owner of the dar was not able to help us with the information we needed to take a local bus to Saffrou. Once we escaped the gauntlet of touts at the blue gate, we figured it out on our own ( 7D bus ride from the Nouvelle Ville), we had a fabulous day. The Wednesday market in the neighbouring town of Bhalil was a highlight.We are independently inclined travellers. Dar Hafsa is better suited for visitors who want assistance and don't mind paying tourists prices, during their visit to Fez. After leaving Fez we checked into Hostel Guernica in Chefchaouen ( top choice in lonely planet and trip advisor) it is bright, spotless, airy, laid back and we have a beautiful view of the mountains from our room. It is also about half the price (200D). This is our idea of five star accomodation.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday

Liked: Very clean and extremely kind staff. Lovely decoration. Hot water all the time. Very delicious breakfast with a variety of bread. Easy and short walk from the Blue gate.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Beautiful riad, great location, genuine friendly and helpful ownerDar Hafsa is a fantastic little riad off one of the main streets in Fez medina. We took a petit taxi from the station (we paid 25DH, but 12 - 15DH is about right) to Boujloud, the bright blue main gate of the medina where we were greeted by Abdul, the owner of Dar Hafsa who is very nice and speaks English well.Some of the other reviews seem wary of Abdul, and I can sort of see why - he is incredibly friendly and helpful. After hearing many warnings about scams in Fez (some from Abdul himself in a very nice welcome email) and actually meeting several 'friendly' chaps on the train who quickly offer to set you up with a guide, it's hard not to be a little paranoid. We found that it can be difficult to distinguish between genuine people and scammers.But having stayed for a couple of nights and some good chats with him nothing could be further from the truth. It is very clear that he is just incredibly proud of his home and the city and is keen to ensure that his guests enjoy the best possible stay. At no point did he try to get more money out of us or suggest we head to a particular shop/restaurant etc. He did offer to call the tourist office to arrange one of the official guides but didn't push it when we said we were just going to explore ourselves. He also upgraded our room at no additional cost because a nicer one was available that night. As the riad is family run, Abdul’s children were also very helpful.The riad itself is fantastic. Beautiful decor, good sized rooms, very clean, and the breakfasts... Oh my. Who knew pastries and breads came in so many different forms?! And it was presented very well and by Abdul himself. The terrace gives a great view of Fez, and of course, there's always the customary mint tea on arrival. Finally, and most importantly, wifi is good and fast. Next time we are in Fez we won’t bother looking for somewhere to stay, we will just head straight to Dar Hafsa.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nice (eastern/arabic) atmosphere in the hostel. The beds were good, rooms large enough. De bathroom was a bit different than what most europeans might be used to, but it was nice and clean. Great Berber breakfast, and a very helpfull host who often served Maroccan mint tea. The hostel included a roof terras with a nice overview of the Medina (old city)

Disliked: The only drawback of the hostel is that you should take into account that locals go to bed quite early. After (about) 22:00 visitors have to be pretty silent.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: this is a charming little place in the midst of the medina. Beautifully decorated, great breakfasts and helpful owners. We felt so at home here and would highty recommend this gem to anyone travelling to fez. Our hosts were superb on all fronts from meeting us at the gate to the city to helping us navigate the medina. This would be our first choice should we return to Fez. Many thanks to our lovely hosts. Barbara and Bob

Disliked: nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Dar Hafsa was charming, with beautiful Moroccan architecture and a welcoming host. The location was fantastic, close to the Blue Gate and one of the main thoroughfares through the medina, but off the beaten path enough that it felt like a quiet neighborhood. Our host met us at the gate when we arrived and escorted us through the medina to our temporary home, and he continued to be friendly and helpful (not instrusive) for the rest of our stay. We actually ran into him a few times out and about, and it felt like running into a friend. The room itself seemed authentic Fes, with carved wooden furniture, Fes textiles on the beds and at the windows, and Moroccan rugs on the floor. The dar itself was beautiful, and the breakfast was plentiful and had some variation over the two days we were there. We felt comfortable and welcomed, and I'd definitely stay there again next time I'm lucky enough to visit Fes!

Disliked: There were a few downsides, which may or may not be a problem, depending on the type of accommodations to which you're accustomed. The top room in the place was pretty cold in November (though they compensated by giving us thick blankets), and there were a ton of steep steps to reach it. Also, the shower was within the bathroom, with the drain under the sink; I was fine with that (as was my friend), but if you're used to a full shower stall or bathtub, you might be unpleasantly surprised. But hopefully if you want a 5-star hotel, that's what you're booking. If you want something comfortable, charming, and reasonably priced, this is your place.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly owner and staff, great location, very quiet in amoungst the hectic fez medina. Clean and great breakfast. Good value for money.

Disliked: No dislikes

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We loved staying here. It is a beautiful and very comfortable Riad in the Medina of Fes. The best part was Abdul and his family. They all speak very good English so communication via email and when we were there was easy. This made a big difference. Abdulkarim was incredibly helpful with advice and answering our questions and helping us with where to go etc. He sent a taxi to meet us at the airport and met us at the Medina gate and took us to his Riad through the Medina alley ways. Breakfast is huge and delicious. This was definitely one of the best places we stayed at in our six weeks away.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This property is very very nice and quiet. Very friendly and convenient and the breakfasts are huge.

Disliked: Loved it all

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Beautiful and comfortable place.great location. Very helpful and honest owner. Great location

Disliked: Nothing, all great

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability