HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Dar Hafsa Guesthouse

34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi, Talaa Sghira Medina, Fez, Morocco

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 94%

Location 96%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Currency Exchange
  • Housekeeping
  • Luggage Storage
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 168.45USD

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Please note that the city tax of 2 euros/person/night is not included in the room price.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fez?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 94%

Location 96%

Safety 97%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

Showing 11-20 of 29 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The people are what makes this guesthouse so special. In addition, the location is perfect. The roof top terrace gives ample viewing across the city. Photographers will love the golden hour of light beaming over the skyline. The style and decor of the building overwhelms those looking for a true Fez vibe. Recommendations from staff should not be ignored and helped us to value the little time we had. I imagine already returning one day in the future. The whole family made us feel at home and has made our first time to Morocco unforgettable, I now understand first hand why there are so many good reviews!Also, very safe area, lots of lighting and friendly people.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Lovely property with amazing rooms and most importantly, wonderful staff! Highly recommended

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Dar Hafsa is in a great location in the medina. We felt very safe, even at night, and really enjoyed staying in this beautiful Dar. We really appreciated Karim meeting us at the blue gates and walking us to the Dar after a long, hot journey from Chefchaouen. The best thing about Dar Hafsa is the people. Karim and his family were so welcoming and friendly that after just one night it felt like home. Karim organised a tour guide for us and suggested we do the full day tour. We were sceptical about the full day tour and originally arranged to do a half day, but the tour was so good - our tour guide, Noureddine, was excellent - and there is so much to see in Fes that we ended up changing to a full day tour. Karim was right! Our stay coincided with Ramadan and the football world cup, and we had one of our best evenings in Morocco sitting at Dar Hafsa, watching the football, drinking mint tea and talking with Karim and his son, and the very helpful, funny and friendly night porter, Mohammed. They were also kind enough to share the evening break-fast with us, which was amazingly tasty and a great experience. Each day we were served a delicious big breakfast and the accommodation was excellent value for money. Basically, if you are going to Fez and looking for comfortable, reasonably priced accommodations we highly recommend Dar Hafsa.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, for the price and service, this place can't be beaten.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very very friendly, excellent staff and outstanding breakfast. The best dar in morroco. This was my second visit to dar hafsa and will be back next year.

Disliked: Nothing. everything is perfect!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: If you go to Fez, I cant recommend enough staying at Dar Hafsa. It's in a great location just off the corner from the main street in the old city, in the middle of everything but in a quieter alley. The riad is traditionally decorated with great taste. It's clean and has all the expected amenities: free wifi, comfortable beds, plenty of places charge phones and laptops, and even a delicious free traditional Moroccan breakfast. One of my favourite things was the rooftop. It has an open-air sitting area, shaded by a white awning supported by a metal structure wrapped in vines. If you get a chance you can sit up there in the evening, sip on a cup of mint tea, and enjoy the beautiful view. The owner, Abdelkarim, is extremely attentive and helped make my stay really comfortable. In addition to making the aforementioned mint tea, he walked me around Fez on the first day and even helped me buy my bus ticket at the station. Also he's a bit of a couscous snob but for good reason- he knows a killer place for couscous, which I'm sure he'll be happy to show you. I had a really good experience at Dar Hafsa, and I will definitely stay here next time i'm in Fez.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Absolutely clean bathroom. beautiful inside. convenient location in the medina. Very good breakfast (strictly started at 9am).

Disliked: the atmosphere was unfriendly. Our desert tout driver dropped us at a wrong meeting place, so the riad owner's father who picking up was super angry when he saw us... but the other day, he's nice. However, the riad owner (the daughter) was too serious, she ORDERED us to sit at the table for breakfast even we prefer another (no other people at that time). and she ordered us to step on the stairs quietly at 8:xx in the morning in a very rude way (we didn't make loud noise indeed), her attitude gave us a very bad feeling... Though, the young working staff who stayed at the riad overnight was very friendly and helpful. Also, you need to request for the air-con control, they keep it but not leaving in your room.


The property's response is

Happy that you found the Riad beautiful,clean,good location & very good breakfast.The owner was angry coz of the driver who agreed to drop you at a place then change it without notifying us till he dropped you there and let the owner waiting 45min under sun where he supposed to meet you.You came down at 8AM talking very loud while other guests still asleep,choosing a table next to a room that was full that's why I asked you POLITELY to move to the other table to avoid any disturb to the guests

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This family-run hotel is on a nice quiet street but very central in the Medina. The owner and his family are amazingly helpful and friendly - their main concern is ensuring you enjoy both your stay and any trips/tours they organise for you! The house is beautiful and the rooms are nicely furnished. The breakfast is brilliant!!

Disliked: The bathrooms are more 'wet rooms' without an actual shower, meaning the toilet etc get wet as you shower if you're not careful. Also, limited storage available in the bathrooms - a few more shelves would be helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The owner was extreamly helpful with a two unusual requests. Also, he made a big effort to help us avoid those folks that would take advantage of tourists. For example, he made an effort to meet us at the medina gate to guide us to our riad rather than us having to pay someone else to do this. The breakfast that was served was excellant.

Disliked: We stayed on the rooftop floor which at first seemed like a great idea. Unfortunately, the rooftop can be quite noisy at no fault to the owner: dogs barking, roosters crowing and the calls to prayer over the loudspeakers.If you are a heavy sleeper than no problems with the top floor.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved everything. The location, the rooms, the staff. Everything was excellent!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The best thing was Idrissi meeting us at the gates of the medina and taking us directly to the Riad. After struggling to find our place in Casablanca this was really appreciated. Idrissi cannot do enough for 'his people'. At the same time he makes it clear that his recommendations are just that, you are free to do as you please. As we only had one full day we took his advice and hired a guide for a tour of the medina.I would recommend Dar Hafsa to anyone and will certainly stay there again if we return to Fes.

Disliked: Olives are served at breakfast. Everything else was delicious, but I don't like olives. Seriously, there wasn't anything to dislike.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability