HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Riad Verus Fez Hostel

1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha, Medina, Fez, Morocco

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 76%

Location 87%

Safety 76%

Staff 66%

Value 67%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 16.37USD

Important Information

Please note that by law, we cannot accept Moroccan or Algerians who want to share bedrooms with non-Muslims out of wedlock unless a valid original marriage certificate is shown as proof.

We run a fun atmosphere so are by no means a monastery - sound can carry in traditional Moroccan Riad houses (bring earplugs if you are noise sensitive), not suitable for people over 40 or small kids, alcohol and sheisha served.

Payment is to be made on arrival in local currency or in Euros.
There is a 5% surcharge if you pay by credit card - the card machine will only be used if Noor is present.

We offer a paid Laundry Service

Payment for the stay is taken on arrival in the local currency.

Please do contact us by email if you plan on arriving after 5pm to ensure your bed/room is held.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Lockout
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fez?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 76%

Location 87%

Safety 76%

Staff 66%

Value 67%

Showing 1-10 of 85 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: An awesome Riad located close to the Blue Gate. So many great things about Riad Versus. The dorm room was spacious, spotless and had a really comfortable bed. Noor and Melanie look after the guests well and are always available with help and advice.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

we are so pleased you had such a great time at the Riad and you were looked after so well by Noor and Melanie and that the room was spotless and the bed so comfortable.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very friendly fun staff and big riad

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

so pleased that you found the staff to be so much fun and that the riad was nice and big and you disliked nothing

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Riad Verus is a Beautiful Hostel set on the edge of the Old Medina in Fez. As soon as I arrived I felt at home. The Riad has a great atmosphere and brilliant staff who are very helpful. As a single female traveller I felt very safe and comfortable. The Riad has an Amazing roof terrace which provides panoramic views of the city. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the breakfast is very good considering the price. All in all I would have to say that this is the Best Hostel I have ever stayed in during my seven years of travel experience.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike about staying here and I have since returned twice as I like it so much and would definately recccommend this hostel as I have done to other travellers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

we are so pleased you felt so at home at the riad and the atmosphere was so great and the staff brilliant, the roof top provided great views of the cuty and the breakfast came included in the good price we offer

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was simply stunning and the facilities so so Clean

Disliked: Zero

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

so pleased to read that you found the riad to be so clean and the location stunning

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: -

Disliked: The staff was very unfriendly and we didn't feel very welcomed. Although the hostel is beautiful, it seemed very unorganised since the person in charge was never available. Breakfast only starts at around 10 am. We got woken up in the middle of the night since the staff were having a big argument and were shouting at each other in the middle of the night which made tthe whole hostel wake up.The price on hostelbookers is not correct, there is a hidden additional price of 45 for each person!!


The property's response is

please rest assured that we have had a big shapeup in the riad, the staff members have been changed and the price on hostelbookers correctly reflects the price charged on arrival

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The property is a cool building, nicely decorated and is not too far from the medina and it has a nice breakfast. Most of the staff are quite friendly but dont speak english very well, which isnt really a problem

Disliked: When i arrived I wasnt really greeted, there qas just a man who seemed to be in charge who didnt really say much but gave me a form to fill out then told me where my room was, didnt get given a key, the tour consisted of: "theres the bathroom and kitchen." My room was just off the common room so didnt feel particularly safe to leave my belongings unlocked, there was only a small box to lock maybe a phone and wallet, so i just padlocked my bags together. The manager i also noticed was very very rude to male hostel guests, he was like an alphamale type who seemed to act as though the male guests were being rude to him, when they would ask him a simple question he would roll his eyes or get very defensive. And the prices are extortionate for any tourist activities, he quoted me 260 euros for a trip to the desert, some of which was on public transport, when another person I met did it for 50 euros. He also overcharged me for my room and I didnt realise this until it was too late. He also does not do the "third night free" and asking about this would probably cause and argument. Last night whilst he was blasting really loud rap music we were all sitting trying to chat in the common area and he told us it was now closed because it was midnight, which was fine, but one guy asked if he could have a smoke on the roof first and his reply was "no, what you can do now is go to your room" quite aggressively. "There is a curfew of 1130pm, if you are outside after 1130pm you are locked out and cant come back til 9am" this is all the while he has been feeding two german girls absolut vodka and planning on taking them to a club (how are they allowed to return?) Then one guy made a smart ass comment and the hostel owner replied aggressively with "that is called a doosh!" And then proceeded to rant on about how this is not a 5 star hotel and there are curfews at every single hostel in the world, (which is completely untrue ) and normally if someone is rude to him he would pack their bags and throw them out. Basically the hostel isnt a bad place, but its not a good place. And certainly not run by a good guy.. If you can sleep there for 4 euros a night i guess its ok.. but if he overcharges you and maybe kicks you out for you accidentally offending him because you're of the male gender then maybe its not really worth it..

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Realy nice terrace with a wonderful medina's view.The hostel is clean and comfortable, and in the first floor there is a cool sittingroom.

Disliked: Without lockers in the bedrooms and no space for backpackers or other personal things.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

So pleased that you thought the hostel is clean and comfortable and that you loved the cool terraces with excellent views and the nice chill out spaces, the room that you booked is one of the smaller ones but we do explain that its small and despite there being no lockers in this room the room is so safe and if you had felt worried at all we could have taken charge of your personal effects in our office safe.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very nicely decorated riad

Disliked: Dont go anywhere they tell you to go for dinner! We asked if they could recommend a place for dinner. Then the reception guy asked the door man to take us. We ended up walking for over 20 minutes in the medina maze to a location, even though we had said that we wanted something very close to the hostel, near the main door of the medina and quick and cheap. He then told us all about this Hamman on the way, it was like a selling tool for the hamman. We were not impressed. When we finally got the place to eat, it was empty and in the very centre of the medina. The food was less than average, with only 5 things to choose and 60 dirhams for not that much food. And when we went to pay, they convieniently did not have enough change for us... On the way back, which we had to find ourselves, was not every safe, and if would have been very unsafe and scary for an alone female at the time of the night. This was very bad behaviour from the hostel!!!!!!!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thanks for the review, you asked us to recommend somewhere, so we took you somewhere local where you could get a good meal, correct there are hundreds of places close by but if you have ever been inside those kitchens or seen how they store the food health and safety would be out in force! I wish you had called us to ask us to send someone to come and pick you up or asked the resturant to bring you back, i dont think its fair to pin that on us, but 5 Euros for a meal is pretty cheap IMHO!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: People were kind. Stuff was very helpful. Breakfast was great.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

so pleased you liked the breakfast and you liked our staff

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The building itself is beautiful

Disliked: The owner/manager is a slippery, untrustworthy man. We were charged a city tax, which doesn't actually exist in Fes. He put the prices low so his prices were the lowest on these sites then charges you more on the spot to make profit. The cost to go into the desert on a safari was €250 and he was arguying that it was the best vakue for money. Though you can find tours from €80-€150 providing the same experience. We paid €150 using a different hiatels services and got to be in a car not a bus so we could stop at all the sites. When we refused to pay his price, the manager got very angry and refused to speak to us for the remainder of the day. Some of the people in our group booked separately and on arrival got told that there room had been given to someone else. So she had to sleep on the couch, when she woke she had bites on her leg. Another in our group had bites from sleeping in her bed on the ground. He was the worst manager i have ever encountered. I strongly recommend staying anywhere else.


The property's response is

Saddened to read your review, taking the opportunity to defend your comments, we do mention that after 5pm without notice your bed will be reallocated and the girl in question arrived past 11pm, she was not charged for this night she had to sleep on a sofa. When you enquired about the desert it was for 2 nights and just 2 of you, if we had known you wanted 1 night and were a big group maybe we too could have lowered our prices. Tourist tax is mentioned on the site as we are a RIAD not a pension.

Check Availability