HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Rabha Hostel

Hostel | Derb Serraj, Fes, Morocco 30000

82.3% Overall Rating

46 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2014)

Mehdi Slowik thinks…

"Ich finde das die Angestellten sehr hilfsbereit sind und freundlich. Super finde ich auch, dass vom Haus aus Ausfluege angeboten werden und man bei der Planung gut unterstuetzt wird. Zwar ist es…"

Read all Dar Rabha Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Hotel Batha
27.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 185 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
28.21 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Riad Hala
20.24 USD

Guesthouse 96.1% 8 reviews
Riad Hotel Myra
73.60 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Dar Dmana
69.10 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Algilà fès
175.42 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Anass Al Ouali Fes
20.24 USD

Apartment 92.9% 4 reviews
Riad Des Remparts De Fès
92.62 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

46 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Rabha Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
80.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mehdi Slowik

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2014 Mehdi would recommend this property

Liked: Ich finde das die Angestellten sehr hilfsbereit sind und freundlich. Super finde ich auch, dass vom Haus aus Ausfluege angeboten werden und man bei der Planung gut unterstuetzt wird. Zwar ist es etwas teurer als andere Hostels aber ich finde das Preisleistungsverhaeltniss stimmt. Das Fruehstueck ist mehr als ueppig und die kostenlosen Arabischkurse sollte man nicht verpassen.

Disliked: einziger Kritikpunkt ist, dass die Dusch so gebaut ist, dass leider alles nass wird. Die Sachen sollte man also besser ausserhalb des Badezimmers lassen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly friendly and accomodating, with mint tea always ready at hand, delicious prepared breakfast, recommendations for places to go, nicely decorated. We were able to sit down and learn some arabic and then practice with the staff, which was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed my stay, felt comfortable and had a lot of good laughs. I HIGHLY recommend staying here :)

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Gillian Doherty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014

Liked: The interior looks nice and the location is good. The showers are hot however the entire bathroom/toilet has an inch of water after anyone uses it.

Disliked: I've been travelling for a long time now over many countries and this is by far the WORST customer service i have encountered. After my first night when i was just about to go out for the day they told me "by the way you need to change rooms today" and my new bed wasn't ready until very late. After my second night i was either going to stay another night or go to marrakech. I decided to stay and woke up early to ask if i could stay another night and was told that was no problem. When i went to pay another staff member later they said that there was actually no beds available and I'd need to leave (by this time it was too late to catch the train to marrakech). They said the only beds available were private rooms and it would be "illegal" to upgrade me to a private room for the price of a dorm room. They were incredibly rude an unapologetic throughout the whole thing. Eventually one of them took me to another hostel which was very dirty but more expensive. When later looked on hostelbookers it told me that there were in fact beds in a four person dorm.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Indra m

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Indra would recommend this property

Liked: It's beautiful! The breakfast was great and the dorm room had a private bathroom.

Disliked: I got a bed where it's located in a small extension with around 1 meter height (almost like a small box burrow) in a normal dorm room. Well, a bit uncomfortable since I had to crawl to reach the bed.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, nice location, nice staff. oh and nice breakfast. one of the staff, named Aziz if i'm not wrong, he is super friendly guy. i arrived at Fes around 11pm, and i didn't eat anything. he went out and came back to hostel with awesome chicken sandwich for me. he didn't even ask for the money. and he said 'you have to eat something, then you can travel well.'. such an amazing guy. i already recommend this hostel to several people i met on the road. hope that could be helpful to you Aziz.

Disliked: nothing.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013

Liked: close to everything. hot shower

Disliked: breakfast is not good. guy at the reception's only interest was to sell tours and recommend his restaurants. internet did not work all the time

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Juliana Antoniol

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really good, inside the medina but close to the main entrance. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is delicious. I certainly would stay there again.

Disliked: Juliana left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013

Liked: The breakfast was a great spread, tasty and fresh.

Disliked: Worst value for money during our two day stay in Morocco. The shower/bathroom we had in the double room was awful - when you turn the shower on it fills the entire bathroom with water. So if you want to go back into the bathroom after having a shower, to go to the toilet for example, you have to wade through an inch or more of water. We found the staff very difficult to deal with and this was not just due to the language barriers. I would not recommend this hostel - there are better in Fes.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sergio Formoso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Lo mejor es que es fácil de encontrar.

Disliked: Tal vez es un poco cao para lo que se paga por hostels en Marruecos, también es cierto que no hay mucha oferta en Fez

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GERALDINE CROUCHE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 GERALDINE would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all so helpful and accomodating at Dar Rahba! We travelled as three girls to Morroco for the first time and the staf made our stay so comfortable, safe and fun! I would not hesitate to book here again! PLUS helping to cook our tagine dinners each night was so delicious and cultural!

Disliked: The shower isn't what we expected as it was just attached next to the sink but I would not hesitate to visit here again!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Syed Gulzar Ali

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 Syed Gulzar would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were absolutely amazing, really made you at home, and added that extra dimension to the whole trip. Would definitely recommend!!

Disliked: Wi-fi did not reach the room we were in, albeit we were quite high up.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful staff who want you to have the very best experience in Fes. Lovely Riad. Good location.

Disliked: Guests of this and other Riads can be targeted by friendly people offering a free tour of the Medina. In this way they gain your trust and then take you to a carpet or other shop where they use this trust to fool you into paying too much or buying something you may not really want. They are very sophisticated con men. They claim they know people from your country who have bought from there to further gain credibility. They really push you to buy extra things to sell back home and pay for your trip. Do not be taken in!!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2013

Liked: Nice location, in the Medina. Nice building, with roof terrace. Good breakfast included.

Disliked: The staff wasn't that helpfull and nice, although not too bad (but we got no map op the town, no information on wifi or roofterrace or the time changing, and we had to ask twice for a blanket). There are no lockers (one small safe that they use theirselves). There is one bathroom with toilet for every room, also for the dorms, and no extra toilets, so in the morning you have to wait until you can use the bathroom.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is great! The location is easy to find with the directions. The terrace is a good size with good seating. Nice and clean.

Disliked: Our beds where on a ledge in our room so we had to climb on hands and knees to get into bed. There was no lockers or any way of locking up our stuff. There was no key for our dorm room door so no way of locking our room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel near the Bab Bou Jeloud (entrance of medina). And the staffs are kind and helpful.

Disliked: After taking a shower toilet is wet... because the foom is tin・・・ But it is nothing!!

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Valentina Bruno

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

08 August 2013 Valentina would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Umidity

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kolby St Germain

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Kolby would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay here. Everyone is really hospitable. We were welcomed with hot tea even though we arrived in the middle of the night. You're greeted with hot, fresh breakfast when you exit your room each morning. The hostel sets up a tour, which is really affordable if you gather up a few others staying at the hostel. It's in an excellent location, in the heart of the old town and a stone's throw from the major streets. The roof of the hostel has a nice lounge, and there's hookah at night. The hostel itself is beautiful and nicely decorated.

Disliked: Kolby left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La terrace est très chouette! On nous a invité à partager le repas de fin de journée lors du Ramadan, c'était très sympathique de leur part. Très beau séjour!

Disliked: Rien en particulier, c'était bien.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Desrosiers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Rabha has been the BEST hostel I have ever stayed at. It has a real homey feeling, the breakfast is plenty and the people here are absolutely wonderful. Aziz is such a wonderful guy and takes care of all his guests as of you are his family. The rooftop terrace is all Moroccan and a great place to meet wonderful travelers who can definitely tell you more things to do and see than most guidebooks right now. Aziz also knows everyone in the medina and can give some real personal touches to your stay and help get you on your way. This is again the best hostel I've been to and I have traveled to over 10 different countries ...for an authentic, wonderful Moroccan experience come here!!!

Disliked: Anne left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The tent on the terrace was great at night for relaxing with other travelers and shisha. Good breakfast and beautiful riad with comfy beds and in a great location in the medina for exploring but close enough to the outside for an easy departure.

Disliked: The staff was helpful though I had heard some stories from others of strange interactions with some of the staff so perhaps they could work on customer service

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bedroom area was really clean. I thought the staff was excellent, and it was nice that there were English-speakers working there. They were great at recommending restaurants. Breakfast was great.

Disliked: The bathroom situation was very questionable at best. Showering was kind of gross and know that once someone showers the bathroom fills with water and doesn't drain well.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel right in the heart of Fes. Great dorms, great terrace and great breakfast.

Disliked: Unfortunately no information on the hostel or the city was provided on arrival and was sometimes difficult to obtain as several staff members spoke poor English.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are ridiculously helpful! They provided great directions and advice on what to see. We stayed in the private triple at the top (room 7). It was clean and comfortable. The chill out room is perfect for socialising with shisha. The location is great and breakfast was delicious!

Disliked: Not much, really! Perhaps the bathroom could have been slightly bigger, but other than that I can't criticise!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. No comlaints.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

India Townsend

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013 India would recommend this property

Liked: Hospitality!!

Disliked: No towels, double bed on first level room so uncomfortable, bad shower and draining

The property's response is...


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels