We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of dar lalla kenza

Guesthouse | 5 derb Sidi Hssayne Klaklieyen, Rcif, Fes, Morocco 30200

81.8% Overall Rating

33 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2014)

"The staff was super friendly and helpful! I even messed up while booking and double-booked myself, and they didn't make me pay twice, they just let it slide. The guy who owns the place also shared some of his harira…"

Read all dar lalla kenza reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Supervised child care / activities
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Dar Sondos
28.36 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Funky Fes Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 88.0% 147 reviews
Riad dar guennoun
31.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
riad doha
11.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Dar Chrifa
41.11 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews
Riad La Source Bleue
15.88 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar chraibi
12.48 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar Dalila
24.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

33 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'dar lalla kenza'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly and helpful! I even messed up while booking and double-booked myself, and they didn't make me pay twice, they just let it slide. The guy who owns the place also shared some of his harira with me when he broke fast (I was there during Ramadan). This place is awesome, Chaouen is awesome. Come here and you'll have a great time

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014

Liked: Very affordable, very chilled atmosphere, good breakfasts for free!

Disliked: The owner was a bit condescending and unhelpful in giving us tips on what to do whilst we were in Fez when we asked for his opinion. The checking in and checking out process was also a bit weird and unprofessional.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inga Thomessen

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Inga would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful and helpful and central. Good airport pickup. Worth it. i was travelling alone and felt like a queen.

Disliked: Nothing negative. It was cold at night in December...thats not thier fault.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013

Liked: only the location.

Disliked: well the staff is kind of push to do the tour. he was even waiting for us to get some 'answers'. the first day we arrived, we didn't eat anything so we asked him about the cheap local restaurant. he said you can't find it at all cuz it's all closed and so dangerous to you girls. (at 8pm) and he brought us to fancy and expensive restaurant (tagine was 110 DH....and we saw he got a commission.) and we found out there were bunch of local restaurants still open after having a dinner. and some smell in the room, cannot close the bathroom door, and was too cold.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: interior decors and chill out lay back atmosphere, nice panoramic terrace friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DENIS PEER

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 DENIS would recommend this property

Liked: Really great staff, were extremely friendly and helpful! The location is great if you want to be close to the old medina the place is clean, the breakfast was tasty (good coffee ) ..... Easy to get a taxi or bus nearby. Great value of money !!!

Disliked: everything is perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TAKAMITSU SAKIMOTO

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 TAKAMITSU would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was nice and easy to find the location perfect near to the main rcif square .the staff were very friendly and helpful .very nice place to stay in fez ( thank you ) for all dar lalla Kenza

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly atmosphere and good value.

Disliked: The dorms were a bit stuffy at night.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Alexander Theberge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013

Liked: The building interior is quite beautiful.

Disliked: The dorm room which has been added-on to the Riad on the roof is stiffling hot in the summer and owner does not let you use air-conditioning. You must beg him to turn it on, only allowed at night, and even then he will turn it on for two hours and come back later in the evening and turn it off again. Too much power-struggling with the manager over air-conditioning as he is in control of the remote control and decides whether you can use it or not. Also, the bathroom in the dorm is separated by a curtain from the dorm so you can hear everyone urinating, etc. in the bathroom quite clearly. No privacy so a little embarassing to go to the bathroom when 7 people in the dorm can hear everything you are doing clearly as only separated by a thin curtain sheet (i.e. no door).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiago Melo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

03 July 2013 Tiago would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staf are the best. The let us stay one night almout for free because they were all booked for the second time we stayed there, and sleeped on the couch. Best place ever

Disliked: Tiago left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and staff. Awesome views from the terrace. Perfect place to meet other people

Disliked: Everything was fantastic

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oscar Verdone

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2013 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is one of my favorite hostel ever ; it is very close to medina ;with friendly staff and very helpful, the food is very good and the room clean and comfortable . (Go there) !!!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near medina,safe with marocian style

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Beautiful place.

Disliked: No real bathroom door. If you book on this site, the free breakfast isn't included. Hard to find. Ben, the owner, can be a bit hard to deal with.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joao Maciel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet new people, the atmosphere is great and Ben (the owner) is just awesome! I'd recommend it to anyone going to Fez.

Disliked: Joao left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Doucet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great time at the Dar Lalla Kenza! The place and rooms are beautiful, with a rooftop terrace overlooking all of Fes. The property is family-owned, so we were given the friendliness and hospitality of staying in someone's home. The hostel was easy to find as it was clearly marked with signs in the medina. Great location, within walking distance of several restaurants and shops. Breakfast is included with butter from the family's farm and Morocco's famous berber mint tea whenever you desire. We would defiantly return to the Dar Lalla Kenza, and highly recommend.

Disliked: Sophie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pawel Ryczek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 Pawel would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is an old beautiful riad, with rooftop, terrace with nice view. Dorm room was good, with hot water at any time. It is located few minutes from Medina ( Old Center) . Staff is really friendly and helpfull. I felt great out there. Breakfast was served when i ask about it, so that I ate when I wanted for this. It was very comfortable. Overal it is a nice place to spend time in historical site of Fes.

Disliked: Nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2013

Liked: The served breakfast, they have an open roof to hang out on, but no chairs or cushins to sit on.

Disliked: I'm not sure they actually put clean sheets/blankets on each bed. I think they just reuse bedcovers without cleaning between people. They never put toilet paper in the bathrooms unless you asked. No map or pamphlets provided about Fes and things to do. If you asked any question about what to do, where to eat, or things to see, they just suggest you pay their guide to take you around the city. If you didn't want to do a "tour" then you were out of luck. The staff was not very helpful and didn't seem to care that much. There was no where to lock your stuff and I had some money stolen from my wallet.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

raitano maude

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 raitano would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful house, very cheap for night+ breakfast, nice family, mom is cooking very well :)

Disliked: The owner is nice, but a little bit intrusive and asked really private things. If i asked him somewhere cheap, it was not so cheap and when we go out, we had to pay everything, his taxi too. A little bit arrogant when i ask to have breakfast at 8.45, not too early but i had to take a bus, so he even lied about the hour of the bus and the time to get there (he said 5min walk, reality: 15 min taxi), just to have reason. So nice staff if you are in groupe, d'ont go if you are travelling alone :) and don't forget to ask to put the heating, otherwise you don't have :)

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The setting is very cosy, in an old riad, beautifully decorated, and the rooftop terrace is lovely. Dorm room is alright, with lockers, clean bathrooms, hot water working all the time. The private room is nice but located right next to the main room and the sound isolation is absolutely non-existent, so don't go here for your honeymoon...

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeny Hallauer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2013 Jeny would recommend this property

Liked: The Family was really nice, the room was comfortable as well as very clean. Overall it is a very nice hotel and you can tell it has just been refurbished. Location is excellent, a few minutes walk from the old City . Free Wi-Fi!! The breakfast was great The staff is really friendly and helpful. Will use this hotel again.

Disliked: Jeny left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful family home. Just opened as a hostel a few months ago. Friendly owner and staff. Very clean, cheap, and easy to find (which is a rarety in fes).

Disliked: since they are so new i think they have some kinks to workout with the whole business of running a hostel. but nothing major. overall a great place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Traditional MOROCCAN style.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rebecca Dennis

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2012

Liked: very very beautiful house. VERY!

Disliked: The host is kinda overbearing and tries too hard to plan all your activities which can be annoying and expensive. He feels that he doesn't need to travel as the 'world is coming to him', but he isn't aware of differences with other cultures as someone who travels may be more aware of. money was a continuing issue at the hostel also.

The property's response is...


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels