HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar El Yasmine

Hostel | Talla Sghira Derb, Ahl Tadla N°34, Fes, Morocco -

85.6% Overall Rating

73 out of 79 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

"Beautiful building, very friendly staff with a good sense of humour and they speak many languages. Good breakfast and good value for money"

Read all Dar El Yasmine reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.40

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Dar Habram
13.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Dar Tahrya
18.40 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 8 reviews
Pension Hotel Dalila
14.60 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 27 reviews
Riad Khouloud Fès
25.27 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riyad Sheherazade Hotel
208.54 USD

Hotel 5 star 96.2% 3 reviews
Riad Dar Farah
30.67 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Dar Ahl Tadla
22.08 USD

Apartment 93.7% 5 reviews
Dar Al Madina Al Kadima
36.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

73 out of 79 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar El Yasmine'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 77 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very beautiful and the staff was great! Good breakfast too.

Disliked: Not very organized. Almost too relaxed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, very friendly staff with a good sense of humour and they speak many languages. Good breakfast and good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Thomas Mooney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014

Liked: Nothing I can recall.

Disliked: Staff attitude and their Arab manners.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andreanne Robert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Andreanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful and very friendly. The location was really near everything and easy to find, the breakfeast was big and reakky good. Will definetly stay there again, but in the cool spot.

Disliked: They have 3 différents riad in the mediana, that one was with older people, so less fun...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nur Sabreena Ahmad Nordin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Nur Sabreena would recommend this property

Liked: The traditional designed hostel with it's intricate designs of stuccos and furniture. It was very spacious and brightly lit which made moving around the room easy. We were provided with a very hearty breakfast every morning before we start our journey. The staff were so accomodating and warm and we felt very at home. The location is also close to the main street. Noureddine helped us throughout our stay here.

Disliked: Nur Sabreena left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hester Bisschoff

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Hester would recommend this property

Liked: Situated very centrally in old Medina.

Disliked: Very noisy, specially at night!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fabulous time at Dar El Yasmine. The staff is wonderful, and either Mohammed can help you with anything you need. The breakfast is excellent and the property is pretty quiet even though its right off one of the main streets. I would highly recommend staying in this hostel.... it was just perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meh

Disliked: Meh

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hamon Riazy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Hamon would recommend this property

Liked: Best breakfast I ever had in a hostel

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geraldine Fay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Geraldine would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody was so helpful with offering advise about travelling,

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ying Li

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Ying would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and convinient. Kind of easy to find in a medina like Fes. With air conditioning, though it was not so warm. The cooking class is interesting but is a little bit overpriced. There is a strange smell in the romm, but soon I found that it can't be escaped in Morroco.

Disliked: All acceptable

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 旅馆表面上看起来非常漂亮。卫生条件相对较差,但由于是在非洲,所以还算是不错的,价格也很合理,服务人员非常热情。很喜欢早餐,有煎蛋,各种蜂蜜。蜂蜜沾摩洛哥大饼,别有一番风味。

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My stay at this riad was perfect in every way. The buidling is full of history and tradition. Beautiful decor. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Fresh mint tea was served on the terrace. Breakfast was tasty and filling to keep you going for hours. The riad has a washing machine which guests can use. The owner Aziz is so friendly, and knowlegeable about places to see, and things to do. He organised a trip to the desert, which was amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel.”

Disliked: None

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for two nights then loved it so much we wanted to extend our stay. They didn't have the space so we were moved over to their sister hostel which was also very beautiful. The service was very good. I appreciate how welcome we felt and that the property was close to main areas of the medina but just tucked away into a peaceful spot :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Olivier Leblanc

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Olivier would recommend this property

Liked: The guy of the hostel was really nice and helpful. We were able to book many things from there, hammam and trip into the desert which was really nice and not very expensive. Cool terrace in the roof.

Disliked: The instruction to get there were deficient. Probably a good thing to call him when you are at the gate otherwise you will be hassled by a bouch of guys to bring them to their hostel.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012

Liked: Beautiful Riad, nice and clean directly in the heart of the medina. Breakfast was ok. The housekeeping lady was very nice and did everything in the house. amazing!

Disliked: The owner wasnt there so Assis led the hostel instead. A very pontificating person about everything. a true "he knows it all"... you will soon realize once you start a "conversation" (aka him teaching you) about anything related to politics or religion. I didn't even try to argue and I won't go into details here. Just do yourself a favour and stay away from these topics. Some other things: He told me NOT to visit Rabat ("it is boring...nothing to see") and doing HIS desert trip instead. WTF?! Rabat was the nicest (most relaxed, non pushy and cleanest) city in marocco where you are actually able to enjoy some cultural sites without being bothered by fake guides and shop keepers leave you alone... great place! speaking of fake guides: Assis recommended us to take a guide - and of course he had one at hand - this particular guide went to 4 shops with us ... pretty nerv-wrecking really, we stopped the "tour" after the 4th shop. To Conclude: the riad, and the cleaning lady were lovely, the host himself not so much. it certainly soured our stay in fes and I can not recommend this hostel.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Fearn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff. Nice rooms and showers

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, very good breakfest, air-conditioning

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was excellent- more than needed. The location is good to explore the medina. The staff are very welcoming and friendly.

Disliked: The plumbing and ensuite was substandard-small, cramped and constantly damp. The room was musty and dark. Mattress was very hard. They advertise having a tour desk but getting information was not forthhcoming so we got our information elsewhere.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Zárate Bracamontes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente trato del personal, muy buen ambiente, buenos consejos, muy limpio, el desayuno de reyes, la ubicación maravillosa, nos fuimos muy contentos de este lugar.

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anneleen Lintermans

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2012 Anneleen would recommend this property

Liked: Mohammed was very friendly and hospitable. We were askes several times for tea/coffee and got some dades and freshly squeezed orange juice. He also helped us to find a guide in Fez and a taxi to the airport. The riad was very beautiful and well located in the old city. Highle recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

16 September 2012

Liked: That we only had to stay for one night

Disliked: Cockroaches; the host appeared to be on drugs

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr nette Leute! good breakfast

Disliked: the toilette was directly in our room

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere very welcoming helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sergio La Forgia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2012 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: The best place we have stayed in 3 months! It's AWESOME. The staff are amazing, to say they are friendly or helpful is an understatement. Noting is to hard and everything is possible. We ate with them every night and it felt like we had become one of the family. Honestly did not want to leave. I will never forget them and hope to see them again.

Disliked: Sergio left no negative feedback.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels