We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar El Yasmine

Hostel | Talla Sghira Derb, Ahl Tadla N°34, Fes, Morocco -

92.0% Overall Rating

104 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2015)

Sharon Crosthwaite thinks…

"All the guys working there were very friendly and helpful. The property reminded me of an authentic Moroccan house that you'd expect in the medina. It was easy and very close to get to from the Blue…"

Read all Dar El Yasmine reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.90

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Dar Habram
10.53 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Dar Tahrya
14.90 USD

Guesthouse 90.6% 18 reviews
Pension Hotel Dalila
11.82 USD

Guesthouse 81.4% 35 reviews
Riad Khouloud Fès
20.46 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Palais Shéhérazade & Spa
92.87 USD

Hotel 5 star 96.2% 3 reviews
Riad Dar Farah
24.83 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Dar Ahl Tadla
17.88 USD

Apartment 93.7% 10 reviews
Dar Al Madina Al Kadima
28.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

104 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar El Yasmine'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 109 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sharon Crosthwaite

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2015 Sharon would recommend this property

Liked: All the guys working there were very friendly and helpful. The property reminded me of an authentic Moroccan house that you'd expect in the medina. It was easy and very close to get to from the Blue gate - thank goodness, because the medina is enormous! On our last night we shared a delicious simple meal with Mohammed and Hassan!

Disliked: Sharon left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a young guy that was very friendly and he provided us with very helpul information.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUKIE MIZUNO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 YUKIE would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: there was nobody at reception most of the time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Alzate

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2015 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Muhamed is awesome!!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my stay here, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the interior building is beautiful and immaculatly clean. The breakfast was very big.

Disliked: It's location is in a small side alley that is hard to find but this can be amended with better signage.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the heart of the medina. Perfect location.

Disliked: Only had cold showers. One of the beds in our room was directly under the air con and it was leaking so the bed was like wet from water from the air con.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxing, not too far from the big blue gate of Fez's medina (Bab el bjoud) and helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joshua Nelson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2015 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: - Friendly staff - Nice breakfast - Central location - Easy to find - Beautiful building - Nice terrace view

Disliked: - WIFI did not work for half of my visit - WiFI is only available in the central courtyard, no connection in your room - No secure storage - Rooms do not lock - No key to hostel, you have to knock at the front door and hope a staff member is in the building to let you in (They are not always there)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannen Head

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

03 May 2015 Shannen would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was wonderful! The staff is very friendly and helpful if you need anything. The rooms were lovely. Very close to the shops.

Disliked: Honesty nothing. The showers were cold but if you expected warm showers, find a fancy hotel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Anna smolinska

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2015

Liked: they are making a nice breakfast, Hassan is a nice company and very friendly. Hot water 24/24. Very quiet hostel.

Disliked: That the owner is over charging for the rooms, transport or day trips. I couldn't close the doors in the bathroom. I had to hold the shower head to have a shower what was irritating sometimes. The room was cold but I was offered blankets so all good.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have literally nothing bad to say. The place was easy enough to find (at least in comparison to other medina hostels), good value (a huge breakfast included), the staff was amazing and the place was clean. Would recommend, would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone in the staff is very friendly and they're always willing to help you. Mohammedn is a very sympathic person and you can always talk to him if you have a problem.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people, average shared room,

Disliked: Not sure about cleanliness of bed

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irmina Jab?o?ska

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015 Irmina would recommend this property

Liked: Very good lcation just in the centre of old part of the city. Amazingly friendship staff with wide smiles. Very nice atmosphere. Hot water, warm and cozy rooms, beautiful interior design :)

Disliked: Irmina left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2015

Liked: An average riad in Fez.

Disliked: The beds were unocmfortable - very shakey. I did not stay where i booked and was placed in an alternative, inferior hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: Poor sound proofing in the rooms. This is a recurrent problem in Riads throughout Morocco so not specific to this hotel. Decent value for money when you compare it to the offers in Fes but too expensive when you compare it to places like Marrakesh. Fes medina salesman area way too aggressive. Not exactly hotel related but it made for a bad time there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Dar El Yasmine has two similar sister properties nearby under the same management, so I ended up at Dar Zohar. It really was quite amazing and I would not exchange a stay at a five-star hotel for the experience and the location. The staff worked around the clock to make sure that everyone's stay was lovely, and that is such a large task with travelers constantly coming and going. The dar itself is quite magnificent architecturally. It is centrally located, within the Old Medina and close enough to the Blue Gate that you could keep your bearings. They also organized trips, offered food and even henna stenciling - really, they could not have been friendlier or more helpful. I stayed here upon the recommendation of a hosteller I met on my travels and did not regret it for a moment. There is a sweet living area to hang out it. The wi-fi was not strong enough for me to send out IMs, so keeping in touch with family cost me a bit more than I expected and I had to go downstairs to reconnect my iPad, but the couches were comfortable, so it was no big deal and I always met someone with a fascinating story. The staff really kept the place clean as well.

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Saji Xaviar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014 Saji would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in Dar Tahrya instead of Yasmine (belongs to the same group) as some people had overstayed their bookings and it was really nice. Comfortable and clean, it offers a peaceful stay in Fes. The common area is nicely done and good to relax in the evenings.The people here are very hospitable, ever ready to help and lots of Fun!:) They were more like friends and they showed us some real time & some nice places to eat in the city.

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was amazing! Also, the staff was insanely helpful no matter how many questions we asked. They arranged taxis for us, had henna done, and all for reasonable prices.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Klasey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly! Seriously, if you have any questions or need anything they are there to help you out! It was a beautiful location and there was delicious mint tea waiting to welcome us. There are some really cool services offered such as reasonably priced tours (which I highly suggest because Fes is a very confusing town to navigate on your own!) and henna. They even organized taxis for us to Merzouga and back to the airport. Oh! And the breakfast is amazing! Definitely one of the best hostel breakfasts I've ever had and it was all included in the super reasonable price! If you're looking for hospitality on a budget this is the place to go!

Disliked: The directions to get to the hostel could have been clearer but overall I wouldn't have changed much else!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very beautiful and the staff was great! Good breakfast too.

Disliked: Not very organized. Almost too relaxed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, very friendly staff with a good sense of humour and they speak many languages. Good breakfast and good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Thomas Mooney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014

Liked: Nothing I can recall.

Disliked: Staff attitude and their Arab manners.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andreanne Robert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Andreanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful and very friendly. The location was really near everything and easy to find, the breakfeast was big and reakky good. Will definetly stay there again, but in the cool spot.

Disliked: They have 3 différents riad in the mediana, that one was with older people, so less fun...


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels