HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar El Yasmine

Hostel | Talla Sghira Derb, Ahl Tadla N°34, Fes, Morocco -

85.4% Overall Rating

83 out of 89 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/06/2014)

Amy Smith thinks…

"Dar El Yasmine has two similar sister properties nearby under the same management, so I ended up at Dar Zohar. It really was quite amazing and I would not exchange a stay at a five-star hotel for the…"

Read all Dar El Yasmine reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.01

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Dar Habram
12.02 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Dar Tahrya
17.01 USD

Guesthouse 91.6% 14 reviews
Pension Hotel Dalila
13.50 USD

Guesthouse 82.6% 32 reviews
Riad Khouloud Fès
23.36 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Palais Shéhérazade & Spa
106.05 USD

Hotel 5 star 96.2% 3 reviews
Riad Dar Farah
28.36 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Dar Ahl Tadla
20.42 USD

Apartment 93.1% 7 reviews
Dar Al Madina Al Kadima
32.89 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

83 out of 89 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar El Yasmine'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 52 of 86 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: Poor sound proofing in the rooms. This is a recurrent problem in Riads throughout Morocco so not specific to this hotel. Decent value for money when you compare it to the offers in Fes but too expensive when you compare it to places like Marrakesh. Fes medina salesman area way too aggressive. Not exactly hotel related but it made for a bad time there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Dar El Yasmine has two similar sister properties nearby under the same management, so I ended up at Dar Zohar. It really was quite amazing and I would not exchange a stay at a five-star hotel for the experience and the location. The staff worked around the clock to make sure that everyone's stay was lovely, and that is such a large task with travelers constantly coming and going. The dar itself is quite magnificent architecturally. It is centrally located, within the Old Medina and close enough to the Blue Gate that you could keep your bearings. They also organized trips, offered food and even henna stenciling - really, they could not have been friendlier or more helpful. I stayed here upon the recommendation of a hosteller I met on my travels and did not regret it for a moment. There is a sweet living area to hang out it. The wi-fi was not strong enough for me to send out IMs, so keeping in touch with family cost me a bit more than I expected and I had to go downstairs to reconnect my iPad, but the couches were comfortable, so it was no big deal and I always met someone with a fascinating story. The staff really kept the place clean as well.

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Saji Xaviar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014 Saji would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in Dar Tahrya instead of Yasmine (belongs to the same group) as some people had overstayed their bookings and it was really nice. Comfortable and clean, it offers a peaceful stay in Fes. The common area is nicely done and good to relax in the evenings.The people here are very hospitable, ever ready to help and lots of Fun!:) They were more like friends and they showed us some real time & some nice places to eat in the city.

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast was amazing! Also, the staff was insanely helpful no matter how many questions we asked. They arranged taxis for us, had henna done, and all for reasonable prices.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Klasey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly! Seriously, if you have any questions or need anything they are there to help you out! It was a beautiful location and there was delicious mint tea waiting to welcome us. There are some really cool services offered such as reasonably priced tours (which I highly suggest because Fes is a very confusing town to navigate on your own!) and henna. They even organized taxis for us to Merzouga and back to the airport. Oh! And the breakfast is amazing! Definitely one of the best hostel breakfasts I've ever had and it was all included in the super reasonable price! If you're looking for hospitality on a budget this is the place to go!

Disliked: The directions to get to the hostel could have been clearer but overall I wouldn't have changed much else!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very beautiful and the staff was great! Good breakfast too.

Disliked: Not very organized. Almost too relaxed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, very friendly staff with a good sense of humour and they speak many languages. Good breakfast and good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Thomas Mooney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014

Liked: Nothing I can recall.

Disliked: Staff attitude and their Arab manners.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andreanne Robert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Andreanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was helpful and very friendly. The location was really near everything and easy to find, the breakfeast was big and reakky good. Will definetly stay there again, but in the cool spot.

Disliked: They have 3 différents riad in the mediana, that one was with older people, so less fun...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nur Sabreena Ahmad Nordin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Nur Sabreena would recommend this property

Liked: The traditional designed hostel with it's intricate designs of stuccos and furniture. It was very spacious and brightly lit which made moving around the room easy. We were provided with a very hearty breakfast every morning before we start our journey. The staff were so accomodating and warm and we felt very at home. The location is also close to the main street. Noureddine helped us throughout our stay here.

Disliked: Nur Sabreena left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hester Bisschoff

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Hester would recommend this property

Liked: Situated very centrally in old Medina.

Disliked: Very noisy, specially at night!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a fabulous time at Dar El Yasmine. The staff is wonderful, and either Mohammed can help you with anything you need. The breakfast is excellent and the property is pretty quiet even though its right off one of the main streets. I would highly recommend staying in this hostel.... it was just perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meh

Disliked: Meh

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hamon Riazy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Hamon would recommend this property

Liked: Best breakfast I ever had in a hostel

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geraldine Fay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Geraldine would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody was so helpful with offering advise about travelling,

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ying Li

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Ying would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and convinient. Kind of easy to find in a medina like Fes. With air conditioning, though it was not so warm. The cooking class is interesting but is a little bit overpriced. There is a strange smell in the romm, but soon I found that it can't be escaped in Morroco.

Disliked: All acceptable

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 旅馆表面上看起来非常漂亮。卫生条件相对较差,但由于是在非洲,所以还算是不错的,价格也很合理,服务人员非常热情。很喜欢早餐,有煎蛋,各种蜂蜜。蜂蜜沾摩洛哥大饼,别有一番风味。

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My stay at this riad was perfect in every way. The buidling is full of history and tradition. Beautiful decor. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Fresh mint tea was served on the terrace. Breakfast was tasty and filling to keep you going for hours. The riad has a washing machine which guests can use. The owner Aziz is so friendly, and knowlegeable about places to see, and things to do. He organised a trip to the desert, which was amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel.”

Disliked: None

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed here for two nights then loved it so much we wanted to extend our stay. They didn't have the space so we were moved over to their sister hostel which was also very beautiful. The service was very good. I appreciate how welcome we felt and that the property was close to main areas of the medina but just tucked away into a peaceful spot :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Olivier Leblanc

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2012 Olivier would recommend this property

Liked: The guy of the hostel was really nice and helpful. We were able to book many things from there, hammam and trip into the desert which was really nice and not very expensive. Cool terrace in the roof.

Disliked: The instruction to get there were deficient. Probably a good thing to call him when you are at the gate otherwise you will be hassled by a bouch of guys to bring them to their hostel.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012

Liked: Beautiful Riad, nice and clean directly in the heart of the medina. Breakfast was ok. The housekeeping lady was very nice and did everything in the house. amazing!

Disliked: The owner wasnt there so Assis led the hostel instead. A very pontificating person about everything. a true "he knows it all"... you will soon realize once you start a "conversation" (aka him teaching you) about anything related to politics or religion. I didn't even try to argue and I won't go into details here. Just do yourself a favour and stay away from these topics. Some other things: He told me NOT to visit Rabat ("it is boring...nothing to see") and doing HIS desert trip instead. WTF?! Rabat was the nicest (most relaxed, non pushy and cleanest) city in marocco where you are actually able to enjoy some cultural sites without being bothered by fake guides and shop keepers leave you alone... great place! speaking of fake guides: Assis recommended us to take a guide - and of course he had one at hand - this particular guide went to 4 shops with us ... pretty nerv-wrecking really, we stopped the "tour" after the 4th shop. To Conclude: the riad, and the cleaning lady were lovely, the host himself not so much. it certainly soured our stay in fes and I can not recommend this hostel.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Fearn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff. Nice rooms and showers

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, very good breakfest, air-conditioning

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was excellent- more than needed. The location is good to explore the medina. The staff are very welcoming and friendly.

Disliked: The plumbing and ensuite was substandard-small, cramped and constantly damp. The room was musty and dark. Mattress was very hard. They advertise having a tour desk but getting information was not forthhcoming so we got our information elsewhere.

The property's response is...


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels