HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Funky Fes Hostel

Hostel | 60, Arset Lamdelssi, Fes Medina, Bab Jdid, Fes, Morocco 30110

86.7% Overall Rating

137 out of 144 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Ilona Wendt thinks…

"I especially liked the terace on top and the friendlineness of the staff. There were always willing to give further information and to help whereever they could."

Read all Funky Fes Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 276.09
  • Towel USD 15.18

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad dar guennoun
34.51 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar Sondos
30.57 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
riad doha
12.23 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Dar Chrifa
44.86 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews
dar lalla kenza
12.23 USD

Guesthouse 83.1% 38 reviews
Riad Rcif
79.48 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar Dalila
26.90 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Damia
38.65 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 74 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

137 out of 144 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Funky Fes Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 139 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ilona Wendt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Ilona would recommend this property

Liked: I especially liked the terace on top and the friendlineness of the staff. There were always willing to give further information and to help whereever they could.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Brey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Location, roof top, people

Disliked: good Breakfast, Dinner was nothing special

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself has lots of character; the food served here for supper is pretty good, breakfast is decent and free. Location is good, right near one of the gates to the Medina... Beds are comfortable, great rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Service and friendliness of staff needs to improve. We paid 50 MAD to have our laundry (wash and dry) done, gave them our clothes early in the morning. They said they would dry them in the dryer if it was cool outside, or hang them out to dry if it was hot. When we returned at 11pm that night, we found our clothes sopping wet in a basket in the kitchen. When I took the basket to my room to lay out my clothes, the guy got upset. I very politely reminded him that we had paid for this service and that our clothes should have been dried long before; we were leaving the next morning, so dry clothes was a must... I wasn't always impressed with the poor service here; the sour-faced night guy could have been more helpful.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicola gemmo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2013 nicola would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location, a stone's throw of the medina and souks.Easy to find by your own-I came by public bus from the train station (n. 19) and followed the directions given by the hostel Dinner is excellent for just 40 mad

Disliked: Comparing to the previous hostel in Marrakech the welcoming was a bit less warm (no tea at the arrival and receptionist is a bit too serious for an hostel).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Groom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, lots of services on offer includin a very well priced tour of the city

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Ognjenovic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2013 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: friendly stuff, a lot of other backpackers, cool atmosphere, nice roof top to relax...

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great lunch/dinner offered at the hostel, prices reasonable. Great place to meet fellow travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Florence Wedmore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Florence would recommend this property

Liked: cool atmosphere

Disliked: Expensive tours

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Nouk Yang

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013

Liked: I liked that the front desk people seemed friendly enough and tried to be responsive to anything that I needed.

Disliked: I did not like the services offered by this hostel at all. They were very despective. Especially the "city tour" that was offered by this hostel. The tour consisted of a local taking me and my group of 4 other people around the city to different stores where the owners could make sale pitches at us. I felt like I was being treated like a cash cow and even though our tour guide told us there was no obligation to buy, the store owners became very sullen and in one case outright rude when we didn't buy something. I did not enjoy this tour at all. Also, the neighorhood is not in a safe area at all. As soon as I arrived, several locals were waiting outside the hostel to "show" me the city of course for a price which they would then ask for after they showed you whatever they wanted to. I was completely taken aback by how these locals would become very demanding that you pay them even when there was not established agreement of exchange of services. Also I was mugged twice within the vicinity of this hostel, the second time at knife point, it was a very traumatizing experience and I could not wait to leave the area. If you plan to stay at this hostel, please please please consider traveling with at least one other person. It can be very dangerous for single travelers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

mark weiner

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 mark would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money

Disliked: mark left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

abdullah aljeffery

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2013 abdullah would recommend this property

Liked: I spent ten nights at the hostel. The best thing about this property is its amazing staff. Special thanks goes to Abdou and Yahya, they were very warm and friendly, they were a great source of honest advice and went out of their way to offer help. I hope I have gained them as friends for life. They really give a positive image of what genuine Moroccans are like. As To the hostel it self: its a great hostel set in an authentic part of the old medina away from the touristy areas.

Disliked: Nonthing really. The only bad thing are some of the tourists themselves, who see morocco as a den of hedonism, they do not respect local culture and values, moreover, they don't seem to want to learn anything about what real Moroccans are about. I was disgusted by how disrespectful they were to staff and how they thought they could get away things they could never dream of doing in the west. Morocco and Moroccans are not about hashish, hasish is largely frowned upon and is only used by a minority that the tourist industry is feeding in country where unemployment can reach 70% in some cities.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Breanna Reynolds

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

16 June 2013 Breanna would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is incredibly beautiful and has an awesome terrace, the beds are the most comfortable ones we had in morocco, the bathrooms were very clean and nice. the walking tour was great and so was the company.

Disliked: the employees were not very helpful but were very nice, so it was okay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner at Funky Fes is very helpful and friendly! A little Arabic knowledge will help the conversation going and fun!! :) This hostel was pretty clean and had awesome people!!

Disliked: We had to wait for awhile for warm shower to come out!! The person there said that each bath can only hold 500 liters, so we have to wait about 10 min after the previous person to have finished showering.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decor of the hostel was beautiful and staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: The breakfast that was included could have included a few more choices.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast included, nice staff

Disliked: is not allowed drinking alcohol inside

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere

Disliked: Can be a bit cold and noisy at times.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robin Moore

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful... Food was tasty... Location was convenient...

Disliked: Nothing really...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly stuff

Disliked: let's say not so clean.. but when you get to Morroco, you notice that the cleanliness is not fashion there...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Ivezic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2013 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness, casual atmosphere

Disliked: Coffee could be better & stronger

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tomáš Cahlík

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Tomáš would recommend this property

Liked: Funky Fes is ok for sleep over.

Disliked: Its really near to old Medina so be carefull about your cars.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good vibes, funky days BOOM thanks guys

Disliked: leaving

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Barlow

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good food

Disliked: Little bit hard to find

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Maimoni

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel. Staff was amazing. We got the night bus from Marrakesh to Fez and got to Fez at 5 in the morning. We waited for 1 hr and a half at the bus station but it was freezing cold there. Decided to take a taxi and go to the hostel, although it was very early. Abdul was great at receiving us. He gave us a place to sleep, blankets and even told was to have breakfast. We couldnt be any more delighted. Thanks :)

Disliked: Natalia left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Eubanks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the rooftop terrace. The food was also nice. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: no garbage can in the kitchen.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Adams

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, comfortable beds, friendly staff

Disliked: na


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels