We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Riad Al Akhawaine

Guesthouse | De 42 à 52 derb Bni Aich Talaa, Talaa Sghira Grande, Bab Boujloud Fes, Morocco 30000

91.7% Overall Rating

20 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/03/2014)

Evrim Yüksel thinks…

"We liked the guest house very much. It was very quiet and clean.location was in the medina of fes. Staff was very helpful to us. And breakfast was quiet good."

Read all Riad Al Akhawaine reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.01

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Hotel Batha
19.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 186 reviews
Riad Hala
20.42 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 10 reviews
Riad Taryana
23.86 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Noujoum Medina
17.01 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Dar Rabha Hostel
12.48 USD

Hostel 79.7% 63 reviews
Riad Hotel Myra
68.05 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Anass Al Ouali Fes
11.34 USD

Apartment 94.3% 6 reviews
Riad Dar Dmana
44.28 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.7%

Overall Rating

20 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Al Akhawaine'

Atmosphere
89.5%
Location
98.1%
Facilities
83.8%
Cleanliness
93.3%
Staff
91.4%
Value
91.4%
Safety
94.3%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evrim Yüksel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2014 Evrim would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the guest house very much. It was very quiet and clean.location was in the medina of fes. Staff was very helpful to us. And breakfast was quiet good.

Disliked: Evrim left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zulfikarali Jiva

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

24 June 2013 Zulfikarali would recommend this property

Liked: It was well located in the medina - with a lot of character. The staff were friendly and helpful and the reception room was a pleasure to spend time in.

Disliked: It lacks the modern touch in the bedroom and bathroom - a little investment would go a long way.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sigita Kundrotaite

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Sigita would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely, beautiful and friendly place to stay.

Disliked: Sigita left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A perefct location in the Medina and relatively easy to find (compared with other riads). The staff were incredibly helpful and the rooms were extremely luxurious! Definitely recommend this Riad!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was our first time here, in Fés. We arrived a bit late in the night but we instantly felt welcomed by Mohamed. After a long journey this place felt like heaven for us. The hostel was pretty easy to find, in the heart of the Medina. The room was cosy, beautiful and very clean. The breakfast was really good and the staff was gentle. We would risk to say, one of the best spots!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anibal vatisse

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping

01 July 2012 anibal would recommend this property

Liked: Verry Nice

Disliked: anibal left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Swiba-Urbanik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: The location in the center of Medina, the staff was very helpful, they organize for us a tour guide - his name was Fued, who is worth to be recommended. We had a nice, full day of discovering Fez with him.

Disliked: the standard of bathroom was a bit poor comparing to other places we stayed in Morroco.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was extremely nice and helpful. This would be an especially good place for first time travelers to Morocco because they offered a lot of valuable advice about how to avoid being swindled. The location is easy to find, unlike other hostels where you may need to find a guide to lead you there. Also there were working showers and private bathrooms, which we appreciated after the last few hostels we were in.

Disliked: The only bad thing was that there was not a lot of privacy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really beautiful riad, our room was huge and cozy. The breakfast was also really delicious! The location near the Blue Gate also makes it easy to navigate to.

Disliked: A bit expensive, but worth it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice (espcially mohammed who works the evening to night shift) and the rooms were really clean and nicely decorated. Included in the rate is a really good Moroccan style breakfast. The staff can also book you a guide to take you around the medina and recommend restaurants (if you can find them!). You're close to the Blue Gate (Bab Bol...) which makes it easy to find ( through the gate bare right, follow the road right as you snake past the restuarants and then head straight until you see a sign up on the right...approx 2 minutes walk) when you get there (but take them up on the offer of picking you up, you get a lot of unwanted attention when you have bags) and the location makes it easy to slip out to the Merenid tombs at sunset for a great view of the medina. Two other things nearby I would recommend are Cafe Clock (from here go left, first right theough the arch, then first left onto main street, look for sign on right) if you want to escape the chaos but still have local food (they have a roof terrace and cooking classes, yoga etc). The other is Riad Fes to grab a drink of their roof top with an incredible view of the medina. Drinks are pretty reasonable so if you can't afford to stay here (our riad was beautiful anyway) you can go for the view and a drink that is hard to find in the medina (right on the main street, on the third left go up and make the first left, follow the road round to the right, it's on your left).

Disliked: Nothing about the hotel was bad in my opinion. A word about guides...get one because you won't go down or even find these streets without them. However they will take you shopping and where they take you the prices will be really high. I would recommend just looking and buying later unless you are looking for very high quality (which you may not get anyway) or something very specific.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful. The location is great, 5 minute walk from the blue gate but down a side street in the medina so it is still surprisingly quiet at night. Our room was beautiful and authentic Moroccan in style. All our belongings were kept safe, even when they looked after our bags for us in their unlocked office after we checked out and before we left for the airport. The riad was very clean. We were given free mint tea when we asked for it and the staff would not accept a tip for doing favours for us. There were no hidden costs. We were generally not bothered by staff unless we asked for advice and were not unduly pressured to buy guides or excursions, etc. Breakfast is massive!

Disliked: If there is a solarium as the advert says, we were not told about it and did not see it. Also a riad should have a garden and we did not see one. A swimming pool would have been ideal and you can get accommodation with swimming pool for a similar amount of money. The male staff speak good English, the female staff do seem to speak some English but generally spoke to us in French, I wish I had revised my French better before we went! However overall we loved this riad, it was great value for money and we felt very welcome.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this place is much more than a hostel. It's like a hotel. u have satellite tv, climatization, towels and very good breakfast for free.. there's a safe box in the room. Also they clean the room each day! It's very close to "blue gate" which is important because it gets dangerous at night inside the medina.

Disliked: i didnt like that when you ask for something they always try to organise something in a way that they'll get their commission.. u cannot even ask for a taxi without they arrange everythng and the price of course.. the guide they brought was very nice and helpful. I think it was worth it.. although he also takes u to some shopping places to get his commission.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Josh Jenkinson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2011 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: Spotless and elegant, friendly and polite staff, amazing value for money.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the hotel is beautiful.

Disliked: As it is a traditional Morrocco house, there is no lift or escalator, but only narroow and steep staircase.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels