HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Riad Jardin Chrifa

Guesthouse | 16 Derb Bennis, Douh, Fes, Morocco 30000

93.6% Overall Rating

58 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

philomena roulland thinks…

"Great location close to the medina and Batha musee. Lovely garden and clean spacious room."

Read all Riad Jardin Chrifa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Newspapers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Baba
15.21 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Verus
14.04 USD

Hostel 96.9% 944 reviews
Riad Damia
37.60 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 74 reviews
Dar Dalila
25.74 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Algilà fès
154.46 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Dar Chrifa
43.64 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews
Dar Hafsa
23.40 USD

Hotel 92.1% 349 reviews
Riad Dar Dmana
67.14 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

58 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Jardin Chrifa'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 58 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

philomena roulland

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

22 June 2014 philomena would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to the medina and Batha musee. Lovely garden and clean spacious room.

Disliked: philomena left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kindness of the owner and the inner garden with three turtles walking around

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ming To Yeung

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Ming To would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet. nicely decorated. Large Bed.

Disliked: The staff barely speak English, no big deal though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff over there are nice n we sent email asked abt the location of their hostel, they replied it shortly. and we arrived early than the official check in time, as there is empty room they allowed us for earlier check in, it's reli good n considerate

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clara McLinden

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

20 June 2013 Clara would recommend this property

Liked: The room size was formidable, there was air conditioning, and had a window that looked out onto a beautiful garden where we had breakfast. The Riad is located within a few minutes walk of Bab Boujloud, which is considered by many to be the main door into the old city of Fez. There is also a beautiful terrace.

Disliked: Clara left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - staff was ABSOLUTELY helpfull with anything. They really care a lot of their guests and want to make their stay as comfortable as possible. - the garden is really nice and and your stay there is accompanied by a lovely smell of jasmin and smooth sound of arabic music and singing little sparrows - the ambiente of our room - located near the blue gate - very clean. Staff even tided up - berakfast

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful riad,close to blue gate,good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El Riad posee una excelente ubicación a tan sólo unos minutos de la de la Puerta Azul. Las instalaciones están bastante limpias y la decoración es cuidada tal y como describen las fotos. Las camas tienen un confort insuperable (tanto las individuales como las de matrimonios). Todos los problemas que se nos plantearon durante la estancia nos las resolvieron. Mohamed es un encanto, servicial y el auténtico espíritu del Riad. Si volvemos por Fez repetiremos.

Disliked: Algunas habitaciones tiene ventanas directamente al pasillo y no tienen cortinas por lo que entraba luz al encender la luz. La comidas, aunque abundantes, un poco cara (20E) para el costo general de Fez

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vedrana magjarevic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 vedrana would recommend this property

Liked: The best accomodation ever! :D If you can, make sure to stay at Riad Jardin Chrifa, you won't regret it! :))

Disliked: vedrana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pung Siong Yee

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Pung would recommend this property

Liked: 1) Location: It's near to Place Batha (pronounced Bat-Ha), so getting to it is not a problem. It's quite easy to find once you get to Batha. If you are unsure, ask some locals to bring you there from Batha and tip them. 2) Atmosphere: Nice and quiet. They have a beautiful backyard where you take your breakfast (included), and can sit around if you come back early from sightseeing. Because we didn't leave till some hours after we checked out, they were kind enough to let us sit in the backyard till it was time for us to catch the bus. Very kind and considerate. 3) Character: It was nicely furnished in typical Moroccan riad style, and when we went, they had set up a Berber tent up on the roof terrace for guests to use. 4) Staff: The manager/owner himself came up to us every day to ask if we were ok, and enjoying ourselves. The staff is entirely Moroccan, so it's as authentic as it can get. They were extra polite and sincere. Special thanks to Merriam, who spoke fluent English and attended to, as well as anticipated, our needs, and went the extra mile to see that we were looked after well.

Disliked: Pung left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This beautiful Riad is decorated with care and authentic Moroccan crafts and the staff can't be beat. They were all so nice and eager to help. The owner welcomed us upon arrival, even though it was late (10:30) and gave us mint tea and cookies as a welcome in the courtyard. He offered to help us find an official guide for exploring the medina the next day and offered to give us a map in case we wanted to explore on our own; he did not pressure us at all to take a guide. Breakfast, consisting of coffee with milk, fresh orange juice, warm rolls, baguettes, butter, jam and olives, is served in the courtyard which has lovely tile work and a fountain with orange trees overhead. Oh, and a baby turtle who roams free! The location is great, only a 4-5 minute walk from Batha museum and a 7-8 minute walk from the excitement of the souq in the medina. I appreciated that it was so close yet was on a quiet road so that we slept soundly. The rooms are large and have private bathrooms. Wifi is free and works very well. Air-conditioning is included in the price. A real treat in a vary pleasant city. There is a Moroccan tax added to your bill (we booked thru Hostelbookers.com) so expect to pay that at the end. It was 23 dirham per person per night. They do accept credit card which is nice-ask the lady to run the card for you, because not all employees know how to use the machine.

Disliked: Nothing. The toilet in our room was a little unstable and the lid scraped the wall as you opened and closed it, so they should see to that. But it was really the only thing I could suggest be repaired or tended to.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming and the property was beautiful and peaceful.

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Christie

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

28 March 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely Riad very close to the medina. Room was spacious and clean, staff in general helpful and good value for money. Tranquil garden and very nice breakfast provided. Could have had a bit more info on local attractions provided but staff spoke good English.

Disliked: We booked a garden view room and the only view of the garden was through a tiny bathroom window. Also the male waiter / host Omar was very unhelpful sending us to extremely expensive restaurants run by his friends (the owner of the hotel has a much more reasonably priced restaurant) and telling young boys in the street to give us directions and ask for money. He was very odd and hung around us all of the time but I understand it was his first week so he may not be a permanent feature. A shame as all other staff were extremely polite and helpful.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

anne mcdonald

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 anne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic they went out of there way to make things work for us and provide us with the best experience possible. We ate ther one night and the food was the best we had in Morroco

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very beautiful house near the main medina entrance. especially the bathroom was very nice with walls made of tadellakt. The hotel also has a very sunny patio.

Disliked: It was a bit hard to find, but once we called the owner someone came to pick us up at place Batha.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, very helpful and kind.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wow! We arrived and had tea with the owner. He was a very nice man. We got a better room then we'd payed for, with a nice view on the garden. Where the lovely breakfast was served every morning. We felt like a king and queen here. Nice bathroom, all clean, new sheets every day, even the towels were nicely folden in the bathroom.

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building and rooms. Great staff, very friendly & helpful. Excellent location.

Disliked: Note that an additional local tax will be added to your final bill

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This riad has loads of character. Miriam and Abdul were great and very eager to help. We were initially dropped off at the wrong location by the taxi driver (to their parent riad) but the staff at that riad were exceptionally helpful as well, and walked us to the right location. Once we arrived we were warmly greeted and were given one of their nicest rooms at no extra cost. This riad was a welcome respite from the rest of Fes.

Disliked: We saw a cockroach in our room, but I really don't think it's from lack of cleanliness but rather from the age of the building.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Anderson

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 May 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: We are a family with 2 teenage children. We enjoyed the luxurious, spacious rooms and lovely calm atmosphere. The roof top terrace is a lovely place to chill out. Our highlight was a private tour through the medina with Hassan who was was an informative and charismatic gentleman.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stefanie Prawdzic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2011 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay! The staff went above and beyond to make us feel at home! I would definitely recommend this Riad to others! The included breakfast was also delicious. Excellent all around!

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike about this property.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff, delicious breakfast

Disliked: a little far from the medina but that was a good thing for sleeping in

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I LOVED staying here! It was beautiful, we lived like royalty the few days we were there! The staff was the best part, very very helpful and friendly. 5 stars!

Disliked: no complaints!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010

Liked: It's clean and comfortable. breakfast is good.

Disliked: We have been in Morocco for 8 weeks now and this was the most expensive riad we've stayed in. Although it was nice, it definitely wasn't the best. Taxes were added on top of the hostel bookers price - this hasn't happened to us anywhere else in Morocco We were charged 17 euros for a (average size) load of washing and one of our jumpers had a bleach stain on it. Wifi didn't work well It was difficult to find

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Harris

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2010 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff whp could not be more helpful. Beautiful rooms and courtyard where you can truly relax and feel like you are in a haven from the chaos of Fes.

Disliked: Nothing, the place was fantastic.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels