HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Riad Verus

Hostel | 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Douh/Batha, Fes Medina El Bali, Maison D'Hôte - Affordable Lux Fes, Morocco 30200

94.7% Overall Rating

917 out of 962 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2014)

"The hostel was very cool for young people or young couples and there is an electric energy in the evenings as people sit around drinking beers and listening to music. We signed up for the medina tour with mohamed which…"

Read all Riad Verus reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Customers who cancel between 30 to 15 days will be charged 50% of the booking, and customers who cancel within 14 days will be charged for the full amount of the booking. Please note that on arrival there will be a charge of 45 MAD City Tourist Tax per person per night and if you pay with a debit or credit card there is a 5% charge. Any groups over 5 are subject to a downpayment of 50% in order to honor the reservation

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Baba
17.67 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
23.56 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 60 reviews
Riad Damia
36.90 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 74 reviews
Dar Hafsa
23.56 USD

Hotel 93.4% 353 reviews
Dar Dalila
25.92 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Algilà fès
155.51 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Dar Dmana
65.89 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Dar Chrifa
42.83 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.7%

Overall Rating

917 out of 962 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Verus'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 887 of 936 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very cool for young people or young couples and there is an electric energy in the evenings as people sit around drinking beers and listening to music. We signed up for the medina tour with mohamed which was a good recommendation and we liked the general attention to detail in the hostel.

Disliked: If you want to shut your self in your room and not make friends this would not be your scene. You are encouraged to make friends and with the different activities on offer this is easy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So nice to have a cold room in the summer, we paid next to nothing and there was always a fun energy at night, when we were there they had a ladies night so free cava all night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In Fes it was hard to find a hostel which was beautiful and ticked all the boxes we wanted..like a hostel which has atmopshere, in a safe area, close for taxis and buses, had a value for money price, included the breakfast which take note was superb with a chef for the eggs! and even avocado smoothie juices, fast wifi all over the hostel not just the rooms, served alcohol and had AC. You will be hard pushed to find better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decor, helpfulness of staff

Disliked: Prices (ie city tax per night, laundry)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money and the BBQ organised was ace. Lost of chance to meet other travellers from all over the world. Fastest wifi we had found in MOrocco.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CINDY SANCHEZ

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

16 August 2014 CINDY would recommend this property

Liked: The people is so nice, we booked two 2 beds for females and 1 for male but when we arrived the owner gave us a room for 3 for the same price, the room was perfect, comfortable,clean and nice, we just stayed one night but we slept so good. I definitely recommend it!!! It was a perfect decision!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and oh so cheerful, nice atmosphere in the hostel, everyone chatting and having fun. During the day it is nice and calm, with lounge music to listen to and at night there were activiites for the guests like night tours of Fes, sheisha water pipes or BBQs organised at the hostel. Our dorm room was thoroughly cleaned each day and it was safe for girls.

Disliked: Only guests admitted, so you couldnt be staying elsewhere and pop by to have a drink at their bar.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Melissa Kostelecky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2014 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, nice location near the medina. I forget the woman's name who owns the place, but she was very helpful and welcoming when I arrived. Breakfast was good as well.

Disliked: Bathroom had a few cockroaches running around and shower drains were clogged. The room itself was clean and comfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big and spacious. Kind maid service and rooms are nice and clean and modern with some bits Moroccan. Roof has best views of Fes. The patio was a good place to escape the cool and although there was air con in the rooms it actually got cold at night so the comforter was a nice touch.

Disliked: NO complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Throughout the whole Riad there was good wifi, essential for travel nowadays, and there are tvs in the bedrooms with international channels, and i mean propert flat screen ones. We liked the juice on arrival or tea and we liked the check in process and orientation information. Brilliant nights sleep, slept like a log in room 5.

Disliked: Not enough tables for all the clients if every has breakfast at the same time, this place is popular.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi, food, staff, good environment for making friends, lots of things to do and help get organised.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honest staff, had left my watch in the bathroom and they sent it back to me free of charge. They organised a taxi pick up which worked well and was normal price and they did fun activities like henna and hammam and desert trips every day. They changed the towels twice a day! Wow.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014

Liked: Riad Verus has the best atmosphere and is the most social hostel I've ever stayed in. It was extremely easy to meet people and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Marion was the friendliest, most helpful and generous staff member I've ever encountered at a hostel. She was so lovely and introduced every new traveller and organised anything we needed for us - airport transfer, dinner, henna etc. Free breakfast and reliable, strong wifi connection in entire building

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Social media good, good email confirmations and clear directions, easy car parking and safe surroundings, fun cooking class and hammam and we liked in general the meals made here.

Disliked: Leaving was sad, we had made good friends with other guests and staff members.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sheisha pipes were available all day long, we liked how the staff were all friendly and cooperative and the breakfast was superb, avocado juice was a first as was all the nice breads, fruits and spreads. Super nice good beds and the wifi was strong. Liked how the receptionist spoke English, French, Spanish and Dutch too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gabriella Monteverde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014

Liked: I really liked the property itself. It was quite beautiful and well kept. My room was very spacious and clean with a fairly strong A/C which was great. The breakfast and the Moroccan staff were also great!

Disliked: The owners of the property gave me the creeps. You could tell the British woman who owned the place only cared about the economics of her hostel and she did very little to nothing to make her guests feel at home. All the activities she had planned were in my opinion overpriced, but even worse in my opinion was the fact that she took out a HUGE percentage of the amount paid for each activity (hammam, excursion, taxi...) Overall, while I really enjoyed Fez... I would not go back to her hostel again.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

jodie taylor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014

Liked: Visually the riad is very pretty.

Disliked: The lady who runs it made me feel very uncomfortable. Upon arrival I was offered BBQ for that evening, I said "sure" not realising I was agreeing to a binding contract. An hour later I had met some other girls and wanted to change my plans (it was my last night in Morocco after all). I politely asked to cancel which was met negatively and the owner made me feel very bad and said she didn't think so but she would see, to which she never actually got back to me on. I then had henna done that evening. The hostel charges an extortionate rate as they keep 50%. I only wanted one hand done as I had already lost money on the BBQ I was still being charged for but couldn't attend. After having one done I left the room and I was told by others the owner came in saying she'd taken me off the BBQ list but was going to charge me double for henna to make up for it. So I ended up having another hand of henna done purely so that I would actually get my moneys worth. I was blackmailed in to having henna! It's just ridiculous. Aside from that the hostel plays loud, gross europop from about 5pm onwards and has some gross disco light they put on. There is no alcohol to be purchased so I have no idea why they think people want to sit and read in a loud room. Other members of the community in the area later told us the hostel and owners have a bad reputation and from time to time backpackers have been known to leave under cover of darkness, which I can totally understand. Do not stay at this hostel, it is one of the worst hostel experiences I've had and I've travelled as a solo girl in over 26 countries worldwide. The only way this hostel has good reviews is because they offer free stuff to people who write a good review (offered on signs in the hostel). Worst place I stayed in Morocco hands down. One of the worst places I have ever stayed, in fact.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the vibe, showers, wifi and breakfast.

Disliked: All fine for me

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of freebies on offer if you write blogs are photographers or are coming from Marrakesh. Enjoyed the donkey ride they set up for the group and the tour of the Ancient City. Fresh breakfast came in the price and most liked how chilled out it was in the cool of the courtyard.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet at night, we slept really well, we got one of the special deals advertised of book 2 get one free so it worked out really budget. The receptionist cum owner is English and she helps out on everything and nothing was a problem, there is a luggage storage when you check out and its free. Wifi was available in all areas and was free of charge.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

25 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There is a carpark just around from the hostel so easy if you are driving in or are coming with a taxi. All the taxis I took had heard of the Riad and knew how to access it. I liked how they had Ramadan events and they even organised for us to join a family breaking the fast which was touching. There is a homely feel and you can relax and not feel pressured.

Disliked: No smoking in the rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely Riad at hostel prices. Comfortable, clean and hospitality were the main positives as well as nice bedding and a free upgrade because we came off a recommendation on a friend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels had stayed at, its clean, fresh and inviting. Friendly atmosphere amongst the guests and easy to get to know people in all the patios and terraces. Breakfast particularly tastey.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really do recommend staying here! Amazing staff! Very friendly and so informative on what we should do and how not to get lost and ripped off! Beautiful Riad in a great location for getting around and getting dropped off in taxi. Would definitely stay here again if I were to return to Fes!

Disliked: Lockers need padlocks so come prepared.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good melting pot of different nationalities and cultures. The patio is such a nice place to rest.

Disliked: Wished it had a swimmingpool, they did however have a contact at a lovely pool a few minutes walk away and we only had to pay 10 Euros entry fee each.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels