We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Riad Verus

Hostel | 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Douh/Batha, Fes Medina El Bali, Maison D'Hôte - Affordable Lux Fes, Morocco 30200

89.5% Overall Rating

990 out of 1048 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2015)

"To start the hostel is stunning and super clean. Nice beds in airconditioned rooms. Restful night sleep. Easy to get to and fab price. We were organise da good Sahara trip which was just what we wanted and the price was…"

Read all Riad Verus reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Customers who cancel between 30 to 15 days will be charged 50% of the booking, and customers who cancel within 14 days will be charged for the full amount of the booking. Please note that on arrival there will be a charge of 45 MAD City Tourist Tax per person per night and if you pay with a debit or credit card there is a 5% charge. Any groups over 5 are subject to a downpayment of 50% in order to honor the reservation

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Baba
40.01 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
19.00 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 61 reviews
Riad Damia
31.31 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 74 reviews
Dar Hafsa
20.00 USD

Hotel 96.0% 368 reviews
Dar Dalila
23.38 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Algilà fès
55.01 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Dar Dmana
39.13 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Dar Chrifa
27.95 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

990 out of 1048 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Verus'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 965 of 1020 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 38 | 39   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: To start the hostel is stunning and super clean. Nice beds in airconditioned rooms. Restful night sleep. Easy to get to and fab price. We were organise da good Sahara trip which was just what we wanted and the price was comparable to other sites.

Disliked: Pettiness from my dormmates

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2015

Liked: The building itself is beautiful

Disliked: The owner/manager is a slippery, untrustworthy man. We were charged a city tax, which doesn't actually exist in Fes. He put the prices low so his prices were the lowest on these sites then charges you more on the spot to make profit. The cost to go into the desert on a safari was €250 and he was arguying that it was the best vakue for money. Though you can find tours from €80-€150 providing the same experience. We paid €150 using a different hiatels services and got to be in a car not a bus so we could stop at all the sites. When we refused to pay his price, the manager got very angry and refused to speak to us for the remainder of the day. Some of the people in our group booked separately and on arrival got told that there room had been given to someone else. So she had to sleep on the couch, when she woke she had bites on her leg. Another in our group had bites from sleeping in her bed on the ground. He was the worst manager i have ever encountered. I strongly recommend staying anywhere else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

23 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Star find. Excellent facilities and good airconditioning. Everything you can hope for in a superior hostel. You will not find a better deal in Fes. It's linked with many other international hostels so ask at reception if you are going to other cities on yr travel.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small family run HOSTEL which was open seemingly 24 hours of the day. Run by charming personnel. The crowd was a mix of nationalities mainly Australians or Canadians and at night there was always a pub crawl organized to the local dives in fes. Noor and Megan were always on hand around the clock to take questions, give desert trip advice, book taxis or send a workèr to buy bus tickets. Especially helpful was noor when I forgot my camera in a taxi and he helped me fill out the police declaration and a few days later it was recovered. Top rated hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very good value for money. So good it worked out cheaper canceling the other hostel booked and opting for the Verus. It was high season and we only just got a bedroom. Nice lighting. Comfortable bed. Clean sheets. Good housekeeping. Delicious breakfast of healthy things. All in all we had a very lovely stay and will repeat soon.

Disliked: Understaffed at night would be the only flaw. Poor noor was doing 5 things at once.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rated so highly because we had a brilliant week. Breakfast was filling served til late alliwing a nice lie in. Tours to desert well orgsnised and easy checkin and checkout. Both receptionist were cool. Its a solid choice for young people wanting a fun time.

Disliked: Nothing. Zilch.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2015

Liked: Riad Verus is a very strange hostel. The location is ideal and the building wonderfully decorated and the dorms clean. Aside from the owner, the staff (especially Hisham) are wonderfully accommodating, hard working and friendly, really making us feel welcome despite the circumstances.

Disliked: Within an hour of arriving it became apparent that the owner was somewhat unhinged, engaging in an aggressive argument with a number of locals on the street out front. He repeatedly made us feel uncomfortable with strange comments and policies- despite claiming that the hostel has a safe, this was in fact a shelf under his desk where he left our valuables unattended. As our stay continued, it became clear that the staff were very poorly treated and stressed. The owners possessive manner and inability to delegate meant it took us over two hours to check in as he was sleeping (4pm) and no-one else could access our booking. He was also very evasive in returning change and we left the hostel still owed money but given our experiences were too intimidated to press the matter. Finally on our last night the owner attempted to bribe us with 'whatever we wanted' in exchange for a positive review. There is also a drainage problem Travellers be wary.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

05 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were impressed with the great price and beauty of the hostel. The location of the property was easy to find and the staff all work tirelessly. It was by far the most popular hostel we stayed in bar marrakesh and noor who is owner/ man of all sorts is eager to please his guests and the general vibe and energy was upbeat. We did a 2 night camel trek with 2 other girls we met and it was well managed and price comparative to others we found. All inclusive at a camp with pool and wifi!

Disliked: For not much more We should have gone for a twin. But the dorm had ac nonetheless

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2015

Liked: Nicely decorated rooms :)

Disliked: There was way too loud to sleep at night, music was very loud till 1am :/ after that there was some hasis drama between guests, who had bought hash from the owner... Kinda strange situation to wake up to that at 5 am... Some of the other guest was worried for his secure... Also the hostel wasnt as cheap as it said in the hostel booker page, i didnt receive the e mail before booking in to the hostel, that actually the price is double to the price at the hostel bookers page :/

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel on many aspects, namely that they served breakfast even during Ramadan and secondly that the rooms had airconditioning. No way could you ever find a double ensuite in europe for 30 euros a night. We stayed in granada at 41 degrees in an internal room in a pension with shared bathroom and no fan and paid through the nose a 50 euro without breakfast. Here you get the real deal and it was even hotter. Couldn't complain. What a lucky find.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: UNforgettable time enjoyed in this 5 star hostel. Despite it being Ramadan and everyone was hot and bothered in Fes the Riad Verus staff made us feel rested, cool inside air conditioned facilities and never want for anything. Dorm rooms were well priced beyond belief and breakfast even came included.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, you cannot fault a place when you pay peanuts!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The amenities, cleanliness and aesthetically pleasing decor of Riad Verus meant that I stayed longer than anticipated! Very easy to find due to street signs on route to the hostel. Located in an ideal location. Breakfast being included was much appreciated during Ramadan. I found the staff to be very accommodating and a joy to speak to. Free soap and shampoo was provided. Most memorable for me was how stunning the lobby is! Quality.

Disliked: N/A.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in all honesty an exceptional find. The breakfast came included in an already very good price. I would like to stay again when I come back to Fes. It was comfortable and friendly. Popular, clean, polite staff. Felt safe and we liked the location in the Medina.

Disliked: The night watchman had limited English, but the rest of the reception staff were either expats or had excellent English.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Romero

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 July 2015 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Could pay in euros. The staff were so friendly and offered a nice home fr home experience. Breakfast was a melange of yummy fresh fruits and pancakes. Wish we had booked more nights. Bonus is the free tea all day long.

Disliked: Once you get yr bearings you will discover the location is amazing but if you get a taxi that drops you close by the medina is a maze! Later I found out the riad offers a taxi service.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved being able to eat on their terrace and sunbathe up there hassle free even during Ramadan. Also one day we were invited to break the fast with a local family organised by hostel. We came from kabul hostel in barcelona which was good but the Verus had edge.

Disliked: Need a games room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Verus is up there as being one of the most customer geered hostels ever. We never felt overwhelmed but the staff were genuinely interested to make sure we were enjoying Fes. Highly recommend going on the walking tour, ok so it's not very factual but the stories our guide came out with were priceless, and we got to buy things well under tourist price. If you are there long enough make the most of the terraces which were respites from the heat. The hostel caters mainly to the international crowd.

Disliked: It was hard to make booking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Special promotional rate. Best hostel by far outside of Marrakech. All staff were complete charmers. Upbeat and incredible value.

Disliked: Saying goodbye! To new friends!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find. We liked how taxis could drop you almost by door. We liked how the area was safe at night. We liked the big dorm rooms. Tidy clean big spaces. English native manageress. Simple checkin. Emphasis on relax. No pressures. Felt well looked after and that I could trust them.

Disliked: Terraces closes at midnight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi. Breakfast. Shower. People.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

09 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sweet staff made for a sweet stay. Got a free upgraded room and was served sweet fresh mint tea whilst we chevked in. Delightful music was played in the lounge in the evening to bring guests together. Travelled over ramadan but the moroccan staff were still upbeat if not jaded in the sweltering heat. Thsnk godness for the ac controlled rooms. Other cheap places failed to even have fans. Big like.

Disliked: Nothing in fes opens before 1pm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible building, out of this world craftsmanship and good taste. Even on a tight budget we got to stay in a spacious cool room which was recently restored, freshly painted, new linen that week and comfortable matresses. The social aspect was one of the best too we found in this quaint city mainly down to Noor who was the social organiser and knew how to get the guests together and planned different activities to max everyones time in Fez and neighbouring villages. Tea served on arrival and they serve a filling breakfast with real orange juice, not out of the cartoon. The stay exceeded our expectations of a hostel.

Disliked: ..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our taxi dropped us off at the wrong location and when we called the Riad they sent someone straight away to find us and bring us to the door, this was only a small example of how kind and helpful the staff were, it was low season so it was quieter than i can imagine the place gets but it made for a peaceful holiday, plus the roof terrace was a real sun trap so if like me you want to sunbathe the loungers on the terrace were very welcome, also they gave us a discount ticket to an exclusive swimming pool a few doors down.

Disliked: it was a fantastic find but my one reccomendation would be to have more coat hangers in the dorm room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

26 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic stay in a friendly tidy place with perfect location. Linen on the bed was fresh and clean and the showers worked well. It was amazing to find somewhere where the air conditioning worked and where the workers werent all grumpy being Ramadan. Well worth making a booking at this little piece of paradise. Thank you, S

Disliked: No faulting this place!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2015

Liked: Nice, clean hostel with a beautiful riad interior and serving a very good breakfast.

Disliked: Shady/dodgy staff. Hostel also charges a tourist tax which other hostels in the medina do not charge.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

reka somlai

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2015 reka would recommend this property

Liked: Hey guys, thank you for everything, you really made our stay unforgetable. Loved the atmosphare and the location. The building itself is beautiful, rooms are nicely decorated. Breakfast is delicious and the medina tour was great. Keep up the good job, hope to see you guys soon! :)

Disliked: reka left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels