We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Riad Verus

Hostel | 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Douh/Batha, Fes Medina El Bali, Maison D'Hôte - Affordable Lux Fes, Morocco 30200

88.5% Overall Rating

962 out of 1014 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2015)

"Fantastic welcome from the lovely staff and the owner who was around during our stay, Nouredin. We got to smoke apple sheishas alot, enjoyed swingin in the the hammocks on the terraces, sunbathing, swimming close by and…"

Read all Riad Verus reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Customers who cancel between 30 to 15 days will be charged 50% of the booking, and customers who cancel within 14 days will be charged for the full amount of the booking. Please note that on arrival there will be a charge of 45 MAD City Tourist Tax per person per night and if you pay with a debit or credit card there is a 5% charge. Any groups over 5 are subject to a downpayment of 50% in order to honor the reservation

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Baba
40.17 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
22.10 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 61 reviews
Riad Damia
30.35 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 74 reviews
Dar Hafsa
20.09 USD

Hotel 93.7% 360 reviews
Dar Dalila
23.48 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Algilà fès
55.24 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Dar Dmana
37.93 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Dar Chrifa
27.09 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

962 out of 1014 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Verus'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 932 of 987 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 37 | 38   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic welcome from the lovely staff and the owner who was around during our stay, Nouredin. We got to smoke apple sheishas alot, enjoyed swingin in the the hammocks on the terraces, sunbathing, swimming close by and shopping in the markets. We also went on the camel trek organised through the hostel which was awesome. Well organised and nice clean rooms with comfortable beds and long mattresses too.

Disliked: Nothing, its a hostel, you pay less than 20 Euros a night and get so much, how can one possibly complain about anything.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

lauren housego

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2015

Liked: the breakfast was good, and some of the rooms are nice. the communal area is nice and it's easy to meet other travellers. the guy changed our rooms and gave us the same rate because the room we booked had a leaking bathroom

Disliked: so many things. more importantly than anything, during my stay there was NO staff around throughout the entire day (8am until 9pm) that spoke any english. there was no one to offer information, talk to about tours, about staying in the hostel for more nights. it made our stay really difficult and as a result we did not manage to organise a desert tour during our time in morocco because there was no one around to talk to about tours. i found it ridiculous that there was no staff who spoke english, and the only person that did didnt show up until 9/10 at night. furthermore, the main member of staff who was around in the day was horrible. the communal area has awful techno music or moroccan pop BLARING through the day, and all the rooms face the communal area, so there is no escape. we came back at 5pm from walking around fez all day for a nap, and the staff member is blaring music, so we ask him to turn it down. he just looks at us and looks at his watch, as if we were being unreasonable. the hostel isnt that cheap and we weren't paying 440 dirham a night to be subjected to the staff member's awful taste in music. eventually i had to tell him 'i didnt care what time of day it was' and asked him to phone the owner so i could complain. after this, due to the owner's absence, this member of staff could not or would not help us book bus or train tickets to our next destination, pretending he could not understand us when i think he knew more english than he was letting on. overall this one guy ruined our stay there with his awful attitude and inability to communicate. when we took our clothes washing to him, he opened the bags in a public place and just took out the dirty items to count them. i cannot emphasise enough how horrible this guy was. apart from that, in the first room we booked the bathroom was leaking from the ceiling and broken wall and stank of damp. we asked to be moved and they sent us upstairs to what was apparently a more expensive room on the roof of the riad, which seemed to me like a greenhouse that they have padded the walls of, with a dirty and disgusting shower outside the room that didnt close, and the decoration of the padded greenhouse was horrific. the next day the padding and glass made the room extremely hot. apart from being able to meet other travellers here, i would not recommend staying here to anyone. look for another hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was amazing. The location was perfect, it was safe to walk around at night by the riad and close to the bank atm and convenience shops. The staff went above and beyond and nour the owner even invited us to one of the gigs he was DJing at. The breakfast was great so much choice and I would stay here again.

Disliked: Some of the guests were picking holes at everything to try and get a discount which was upsetting as the staff were doing great job and are really hardworking afterall it wasnt their fault that a pipe burst and they did the best in a difficult situation. My heart went out to you Nour as you could not have been more charming.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very picture perfect, better than the photos make out. It was how you imagine a moroccan riad should look like. Easy to meet the other guests and its geared for this as there are many common areas and guests are encouraged to socialise.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015

Liked: I stayed here last year and had a good time, so when I knew I was coming back to Fes it was the obvious choice. The location is good and it's a very beautiful building. But I wouldn't come back again.

Disliked: When I checked in there was no information given about breakfast, WiFi, map etc. I was given a form to fill out which asked for my credit card details including the identification code. I don't understand why they would ask for this written down as they should have it from hostelbookers; having it written down is obviously very insecure. There are no sheets, only blankets that are not washed. After a good sleep in the 6 bed dorm and a long day exploring Meknes and Fes I can back to find...all my stuff gone. I asked and they had moved all my things without asking to a single room because a 6 person group had turned up, even though I had booked weeks in advance. The single room I know they charge more for, but it is not nice. There is water coming through the ceiling of the bathroom all the time (literally 24/7) and the damp smell was so strong at night I found it hard to sleep. The only staff member around didn't speak enough english to understand when I complained. I won't stay here again

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Maybe the best hostel I've ever been. Location is great its only 5 minutes to the main streets. Its easy to find too and signposted. Staff is great, available for everything at every hour. It is an 5 star hostel. I most enjoyed my stay because I found it so easy to meet people around the breakfast table, in the dorms or on the sunset terrace,

Disliked: nothing bad comes to mind,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing atmosphere and some of the loveliest staff we meet in hostels in Morocco. The wifi was excellent and the breakfast of a high quality for a hostel, it comes included in the price, dont worry about missing it as its served till 11ish too. Room security was safe plus they have a night watchman who can let you in or out at any hours. There is a communal laptop too if you need to check your facebook and when its not busy they let you use the kitchen too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

29 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bright light communal areas with plenty of organised activities to take part in for reasonable rates, the tour of the old city was particularly interesting with Mohamed, as was the old city wall tour with Ali who drove around all the walls taking us to the tombs and the tannery on the south side of town. We got to know things we would have never seen alone. One of the best weekends of my life! If you are staying in Fes you have to stay at the Riad Verus if you want to have a good time and I owe my excellent experiences to the staff and owner who I spent a great deal of time conversing with one evening about restoration projects in the Medina and for some random reason the camel auction process - he lived alot of his life in Merzouga and knew lots of survival techniques it put Bear Grylls to shame! If you are travelling alone I would suggest it an excellent option as there is always someone to hook up with you if you want.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a clean safe area. The rooms are all around a nice central patio which is clean and a good spot to interact with the kind staff or your fellow travellers. The hospitality was some of the best we had received in Morocco and Nour runs a good operation helping out with all the questions he is asked and giving suggestions and tips on how best to not be ripped off or how to avoid the scamartists in the streets or offering the best priced desert trip around. All in all we had a lovely experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice heated rooms with air conditioning aswell, the receptionist and general manager cum everything Noredinne was a delight to chat to, he was genuinely interested in our group and wanted to help us in Fes, when he suggested the tour of the Old City we were wary at first but he assured us it would be fun and not loads of shops, we agreed to go the next day and it was one of the best decisions we could have made. Not only did we see the Tanneries in record time, but it was a solid opportunity to feel unharassed and ask questions about Fes to Mohamed who has guided most of his life. We also enjoyed the cooking class which Nadia took and we liked how they had other services on offer like the Berber Massage or the Argan Oil rubdown and the Visit to the Oldest Hammam in Fes. Many of the activities can be done daily and it seems like they have honed into what we visitors want to do and see in a limited time in Fes.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic funloving Ryad ran by the generous Noradine and his hunky crew. Made to feel pretty special at all times and we loved the free mint tea and yummy breakfasts. Ryad was full most of the time with other guests so its easy to meet other travelers. Plus side is that there was always tours of the Medina, People to join the desert trips with or Group up on the regular Hammam visit. Also liked how we could use the communal kitchen if we washed up.

Disliked: At peak times the kitchen can get busy, so pick your timing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner/ host Noor was extremely helpful in providing us with all the ins and outs, dos and donts about Fez. Great Breakfast and great hospitality.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Angelo Totanes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Robert Angelo would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Verus is the best hostel I've stayed at in Morocco! Laura and the staff were very nice and helpful, made sure I felt welcome even though I only stayed for a night. The atmosphere of the common area was great, and the interiors are awesome, you kind of get the sense that this could be your ideal Moroccan home. And to top it off, they also serve a hearty and generous breakfast! Would have loved to stay longer - I would have planned to stay longer in Fes if I knew beforehand how good this place was. If you are staying in Fes for any amount of time, don't waste your time looking for another place, this is the hostel to book!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. The video on the website made the hostel much easier to find. They take time to welcome you with mint tea which is nice. Beautifully decorated.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, spacious and served a good breakfast and had a nice vibe with the other travelers. Cosy with the heaters and there was always enough hot water in the power showers, plus they provide you with clean good quality blankets Euro standard and the rooms have reversible air conditioning heaters so for me who hates the cold this was never an issue.

Disliked: Nothing to comment about

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - The building and the decoration is marvellous - Good location - Good internet connection available in all rooms - decent breakfast - Nice and friendly environment - Nice walking tour with guide

Disliked: - They offer you to take for dinner to places where they basically rip you off with expensive food. you can get the same quality just 5 minutes walk from the hostel for less than half the price, avoid this offer !! - Only one bathroom with shower as shared for those rooms that doesnt have bathroom. - Breakfast is never ontime - Beers, Shisha were very expensive the price you can get around other places - if you have an overnight train you are supose to leave otherwise they charge you a night just for staying in the common area ( I heard that from some german girls staying there). -

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 January 2015

Liked: Good breakfast, nice staff (except for the owner)

Disliked: They put us in the party-room where people usually drink and smoke shisha (see the pictures on the website). The room has a really strange atmosphere, it doesn't have a window the ceiling is all covered with mirrows. Since my girlfriend couldn't breathe in there and they didn't give us another room, we slept one night on the terrace and left one night earlier. Hence we quickly found out why they made us pay the full amount right upon arrival - and of course they refused to refund us any money (exept for the tourist tax you have to pay to them additionally to the price on the internet). The staff is really nice, the owner however was sleeping all day long instead of getting the broken water heater fixed or reparing the overflowing toilet flush. He seems to be interested in your money only and can't be bothered with his guests well-being (although he lives in the very same place). There are also nice rooms in this hostel, but make sure that they don't put you in room number 9 :) And don't pay anything before you have seen where you gonna sleep! For us, it was by far the poorest value for money (we payed about 60 € per night) during our whole Morocco-trip. Although we arrived late at night, it would have been best to check the rooms first and then look for another hostel right away. Honestly speaking we feel like taken for a ride.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere and met very nice people. Felt very safe! Had fun during the christmas party!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, treatment and services on offer. Room ready on arrival and gotten served fresh mint tea which was a welcome after a long travel before we had to sign in. The manageress Laura was from the US and put us at ease and it was nice having a female around and she was easy to talk us through what to do in Fes over a weekend, having said that the staff under Noors watch were helpful, polite and even with little English were sweet to talk to and respectful to the girls in our group. We had a late night with the team so having breakfast served til 11 was a godsend.

Disliked: If I had to be fussy I would say that my complaint was that we hadnt been in the summer to have enjoyed the terraces more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, lots of other travelers and close to the batha fountain which is where the bus from the airport can drop you. The staff could not have been friendlier to us all.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel has a good position in the medina and easy enough to find by yourself, without the help from the husslers who lurk on every corner of the old city. The guys who run the riad were very nice to us and there was always a sheisha to be had of a cold beer, alcohol in general in arab countries are hard to come by or expensive, you have been warned. Washing was easy enough to get done and the dorms had lockers and were safe and warm. Specially liked how it was lively at night, noor made a real effort to make everyone feel at ease and it was upbeat like the tunes, a highly recommended hostel if you want to have a good time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Alan Chadwick

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2014

Liked: The hammock in the communal area was cool

Disliked: We had to pay 'neighbourhood tourist tax' We were told by the receptionist girl that the fee we paid with hostelbookers was nothing to do with riad versus and we had to pay the full amount. We were taken to a restaurant by an employee as the receptionist told us everywhere was closed. We were charged 100 dirham for a tagine! On the way out we saw another menu where the food was the same but half the price. We had been conned by the restaurant and by the Riad Versus employee

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Schmeer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The 6-bed dorm is gorgeous. I loved how spacious it was, and how the en suite bathroom had two showers, and that the AC/heater worked really well. The location is also great--at the edge of the medina, peaceful, yet close to the action. Breakfast was quite good for a hostel. The deal they were offering on HostelBookers was great, and the owner was easy to work with [via email] regarding that deal.

Disliked: The guys who work [ridiculously long shifts] day and night are polite, but seem very uncomfortable in their jobs and with their lack of English; made for an awkward welcome. The manager, Noor, was present only rarely, and was a rather pessimistic and demanding guy. He seemed very uninterested in running the hostel. There are no security lockers or room keys, but they watch the front door closely to monitor who comes and goes.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were three girls going thru morocco for first time and the riad verus sorted out out with an excellent tour of Fes, then to the desert, we were driven down and saw monkeys lakes waterfalls and villages enroute. the camel men could not have been more accommodating, turns out they knew noor well and he had told them to treat us like Queens, we did a two day trek and nearly got as far as Algeria!. We were very spoilt in Fes and then again in the Sahara. None of this would have been possible without the help and advice Noor gave us from the Riad.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right on the edge of the Medina. Awesome atmosphere for meeting other travelers or just relaxing, when there there were alot of hot Brazilian girls who spent most of there time on tinder. The staff go above and beyond when it comes to helping a traveler in need, thank you Arbi and Noor!! Also the maids who would daily clean my room were very sweet and pretty :) There were plenty of plug sockets, the wifi was a dream. I can definatly recommend the free walking tour if you pay in advance which gave so much great information about Fes and I really enjoyed the desert trip we organised again through the hostel. Would recommend this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: There was an old man staying and he wanted us to turn the music down and it was only 10 pm so that put a bit of a dampener on the vibe that night. It is better for guests who are under 40 and who realize that a hostel is a hostel and guests like to have fun.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels