We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Riad Verus

Hostel | 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Douh/Batha, Fes Medina El Bali, Maison D'Hôte - Affordable Lux Fes, Morocco 30200

94.4% Overall Rating

984 out of 1039 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2015)

"Great hostel on many aspects, namely that they served breakfast even during Ramadan and secondly that the rooms had airconditioning. No way could you ever find a double ensuite in europe for 30 euros a night. We stayed…"

Read all Riad Verus reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Customers who cancel between 30 to 15 days will be charged 50% of the booking, and customers who cancel within 14 days will be charged for the full amount of the booking. Please note that on arrival there will be a charge of 45 MAD City Tourist Tax per person per night and if you pay with a debit or credit card there is a 5% charge. Any groups over 5 are subject to a downpayment of 50% in order to honor the reservation

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Baba
40.76 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
23.44 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 61 reviews
Riad Damia
30.98 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 74 reviews
Dar Hafsa
20.38 USD

Hotel 95.7% 366 reviews
Dar Dalila
23.82 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Algilà fès
56.05 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Dar Dmana
38.72 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Dar Chrifa
27.66 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

984 out of 1039 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Verus'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 956 of 1011 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 38 | 39   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel on many aspects, namely that they served breakfast even during Ramadan and secondly that the rooms had airconditioning. No way could you ever find a double ensuite in europe for 30 euros a night. We stayed in granada at 41 degrees in an internal room in a pension with shared bathroom and no fan and paid through the nose a 50 euro without breakfast. Here you get the real deal and it was even hotter. Couldn't complain. What a lucky find.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: UNforgettable time enjoyed in this 5 star hostel. Despite it being Ramadan and everyone was hot and bothered in Fes the Riad Verus staff made us feel rested, cool inside air conditioned facilities and never want for anything. Dorm rooms were well priced beyond belief and breakfast even came included.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, you cannot fault a place when you pay peanuts!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The amenities, cleanliness and aesthetically pleasing decor of Riad Verus meant that I stayed longer than anticipated! Very easy to find due to street signs on route to the hostel. Located in an ideal location. Breakfast being included was much appreciated during Ramadan. I found the staff to be very accommodating and a joy to speak to. Free soap and shampoo was provided. Most memorable for me was how stunning the lobby is! Quality.

Disliked: N/A.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in all honesty an exceptional find. The breakfast came included in an already very good price. I would like to stay again when I come back to Fes. It was comfortable and friendly. Popular, clean, polite staff. Felt safe and we liked the location in the Medina.

Disliked: The night watchman had limited English, but the rest of the reception staff were either expats or had excellent English.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Romero

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 July 2015 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Could pay in euros. The staff were so friendly and offered a nice home fr home experience. Breakfast was a melange of yummy fresh fruits and pancakes. Wish we had booked more nights. Bonus is the free tea all day long.

Disliked: Once you get yr bearings you will discover the location is amazing but if you get a taxi that drops you close by the medina is a maze! Later I found out the riad offers a taxi service.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved being able to eat on their terrace and sunbathe up there hassle free even during Ramadan. Also one day we were invited to break the fast with a local family organised by hostel. We came from kabul hostel in barcelona which was good but the Verus had edge.

Disliked: Need a games room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Verus is up there as being one of the most customer geered hostels ever. We never felt overwhelmed but the staff were genuinely interested to make sure we were enjoying Fes. Highly recommend going on the walking tour, ok so it's not very factual but the stories our guide came out with were priceless, and we got to buy things well under tourist price. If you are there long enough make the most of the terraces which were respites from the heat. The hostel caters mainly to the international crowd.

Disliked: It was hard to make booking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Special promotional rate. Best hostel by far outside of Marrakech. All staff were complete charmers. Upbeat and incredible value.

Disliked: Saying goodbye! To new friends!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to find. We liked how taxis could drop you almost by door. We liked how the area was safe at night. We liked the big dorm rooms. Tidy clean big spaces. English native manageress. Simple checkin. Emphasis on relax. No pressures. Felt well looked after and that I could trust them.

Disliked: Terraces closes at midnight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi. Breakfast. Shower. People.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

09 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sweet staff made for a sweet stay. Got a free upgraded room and was served sweet fresh mint tea whilst we chevked in. Delightful music was played in the lounge in the evening to bring guests together. Travelled over ramadan but the moroccan staff were still upbeat if not jaded in the sweltering heat. Thsnk godness for the ac controlled rooms. Other cheap places failed to even have fans. Big like.

Disliked: Nothing in fes opens before 1pm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible building, out of this world craftsmanship and good taste. Even on a tight budget we got to stay in a spacious cool room which was recently restored, freshly painted, new linen that week and comfortable matresses. The social aspect was one of the best too we found in this quaint city mainly down to Noor who was the social organiser and knew how to get the guests together and planned different activities to max everyones time in Fez and neighbouring villages. Tea served on arrival and they serve a filling breakfast with real orange juice, not out of the cartoon. The stay exceeded our expectations of a hostel.

Disliked: ..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our taxi dropped us off at the wrong location and when we called the Riad they sent someone straight away to find us and bring us to the door, this was only a small example of how kind and helpful the staff were, it was low season so it was quieter than i can imagine the place gets but it made for a peaceful holiday, plus the roof terrace was a real sun trap so if like me you want to sunbathe the loungers on the terrace were very welcome, also they gave us a discount ticket to an exclusive swimming pool a few doors down.

Disliked: it was a fantastic find but my one reccomendation would be to have more coat hangers in the dorm room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

26 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic stay in a friendly tidy place with perfect location. Linen on the bed was fresh and clean and the showers worked well. It was amazing to find somewhere where the air conditioning worked and where the workers werent all grumpy being Ramadan. Well worth making a booking at this little piece of paradise. Thank you, S

Disliked: No faulting this place!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2015

Liked: Nice, clean hostel with a beautiful riad interior and serving a very good breakfast.

Disliked: Shady/dodgy staff. Hostel also charges a tourist tax which other hostels in the medina do not charge.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

reka somlai

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2015 reka would recommend this property

Liked: Hey guys, thank you for everything, you really made our stay unforgetable. Loved the atmosphare and the location. The building itself is beautiful, rooms are nicely decorated. Breakfast is delicious and the medina tour was great. Keep up the good job, hope to see you guys soon! :)

Disliked: reka left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Towels were included as was free mint tea during our whole stay. Our room had air conditioning and we got a free tour of the medina as there was a special promotion at the hostel. Far nicer than any other hostel I had ever stayed in and a great breakfast to start the day. Owner Nor was a friendly chap who made sure we had fun all the time and the rest of the staff were always smiling and polite. Location could nt be beat nor could the wifi.

Disliked: ,

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find. Quick and easy checkin. Free upgrade. Working AC and ability to get beers.

Disliked: Dont believe the scaremongers by the gates in Beujelewd, this place is awesome. They just want to take you some other place to get their cut. We had real trouble in general with the yung false guides in Fes especially.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nevena Pencheva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2015 Nevena would recommend this property

Liked: I had a wonderful stay in the riad. The people are amazingly nice and helpful, and I had a great time. The location is great, close to the old Medina. The riad is beautifully decorated inside, it looks much fancier than what you pay for. I was very happy with my choice to stay there. I went to Chefchaouen for a day and when I came back to Fes, I stayed for 2 more nights in Verus. Indeed a lovely place!

Disliked: Nevena left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Bab Beujeloud gate in the Old Medina, Riad Verus was an excellent combination of low cost and high standards. Always had hot water although in 38 degree heats it was the air con that was most appreciated. The communal courtyard was a popular melting pot and we liked how the atmosphere was chillaxed and informal. Its also very stunning, well maintained, clean and smells good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful reception from the hospitable staff who went beyond the call of duty to make sure we were treated much better than just paying guests. Rooms impeccable with good sense of decoration and style. It was boutique like without being formal and it was a place to have a chilled stay amongst good company. Especially liked the breakfast, the tours available to the desert and inside Fes, most importantly excellent WIFI.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great Riad style hostel with plenty of things to get up to, real sense of security in the Riad, all our valuable were safe, the guys dont let other guests enter your rooms so you have no weirdos walking in, they have separate girls and boys dorms and mixed dorms too. Plenty of light, space, vibes and chillax sessions. Also it has a no non guest policy so the faux guides cannot come in, unlike other hostels we stayed in Fes which was creepy to say the least, in one hostel there were the bums sleeping in the corridor outside our room, Girls safe here and Noor will take you under his wing and make Fes a place you would love to come back to.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great, staff super friendly, room was nice, they waited up for me when I was arriving late and they let me leave my luggage free of charge the next day in storage. No complaints.

Disliked: NO complaints

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Tristan Quinault

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2015

Liked: Liked - One of the members of staff was helpful. Bedding was clean. Location.

Disliked: Disliked - when we arrived at the hostel we discovered that we had been allocated a different room to the one we had booked. The room we had was bizarrely decorated with padded walls and a mirrored ceiling and instead of our advertised ensuite bathroom we had a barely functional shower with doors that did not close. You also have to pay an additional charge of 45dh per person per night in 'tourist tax'. The communal area was nice but continuously occupied with guests that played incessant blaring music at all hours of the day, seemingly without complaint from the management. We apparently had breakfast included in the price of our room but we were never given information on it. The television and the speaker system in our room did not work. To top it all off, when we went downstairs to leave the hostel on our last day we were told that we were too late to check out as it was after 12 (we had not been told about this and they made no effort to come and notify us) so we had to pay for another entire night. The owner then extorted another 400 Dirahms out of us. In conclusion, I would not recommend this hostel as it is not as it is advertised online at all and our experience in Fez was sullied by the hostel's owner.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic welcome from the lovely staff and the owner who was around during our stay, Nouredin. We got to smoke apple sheishas alot, enjoyed swingin in the the hammocks on the terraces, sunbathing, swimming close by and shopping in the markets. We also went on the camel trek organised through the hostel which was awesome. Well organised and nice clean rooms with comfortable beds and long mattresses too.

Disliked: Nothing, its a hostel, you pay less than 20 Euros a night and get so much, how can one possibly complain about anything.

The property's response is...


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels