We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Riad Verus

Hostel | 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Douh/Batha, Fes Medina El Bali, Maison D'Hôte - Affordable Lux Fes, Morocco 30200

93.7% Overall Rating

940 out of 987 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/12/2014)

Sarah Schmeer thinks…

"The 6-bed dorm is gorgeous. I loved how spacious it was, and how the en suite bathroom had two showers, and that the AC/heater worked really well. The location is also great--at the edge of the…"

Read all Riad Verus reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.01

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Customers who cancel between 30 to 15 days will be charged 50% of the booking, and customers who cancel within 14 days will be charged for the full amount of the booking. Please note that on arrival there will be a charge of 45 MAD City Tourist Tax per person per night and if you pay with a debit or credit card there is a 5% charge. Any groups over 5 are subject to a downpayment of 50% in order to honor the reservation

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Baba
45.37 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
26.09 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 60 reviews
Riad Damia
35.42 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 74 reviews
Dar Hafsa
22.68 USD

Hotel 93.1% 355 reviews
Dar Dalila
24.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Algilà fès
149.72 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Dar Dmana
44.28 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Dar Chrifa
41.11 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

940 out of 987 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Verus'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 911 of 961 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 36 | 37   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Alan Chadwick

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2014

Liked: The hammock in the communal area was cool

Disliked: We had to pay 'neighbourhood tourist tax' We were told by the receptionist girl that the fee we paid with hostelbookers was nothing to do with riad versus and we had to pay the full amount. We were taken to a restaurant by an employee as the receptionist told us everywhere was closed. We were charged 100 dirham for a tagine! On the way out we saw another menu where the food was the same but half the price. We had been conned by the restaurant and by the Riad Versus employee

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Schmeer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The 6-bed dorm is gorgeous. I loved how spacious it was, and how the en suite bathroom had two showers, and that the AC/heater worked really well. The location is also great--at the edge of the medina, peaceful, yet close to the action. Breakfast was quite good for a hostel. The deal they were offering on HostelBookers was great, and the owner was easy to work with [via email] regarding that deal.

Disliked: The guys who work [ridiculously long shifts] day and night are polite, but seem very uncomfortable in their jobs and with their lack of English; made for an awkward welcome. The manager, Noor, was present only rarely, and was a rather pessimistic and demanding guy. He seemed very uninterested in running the hostel. There are no security lockers or room keys, but they watch the front door closely to monitor who comes and goes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were three girls going thru morocco for first time and the riad verus sorted out out with an excellent tour of Fes, then to the desert, we were driven down and saw monkeys lakes waterfalls and villages enroute. the camel men could not have been more accommodating, turns out they knew noor well and he had told them to treat us like Queens, we did a two day trek and nearly got as far as Algeria!. We were very spoilt in Fes and then again in the Sahara. None of this would have been possible without the help and advice Noor gave us from the Riad.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right on the edge of the Medina. Awesome atmosphere for meeting other travelers or just relaxing, when there there were alot of hot Brazilian girls who spent most of there time on tinder. The staff go above and beyond when it comes to helping a traveler in need, thank you Arbi and Noor!! Also the maids who would daily clean my room were very sweet and pretty :) There were plenty of plug sockets, the wifi was a dream. I can definatly recommend the free walking tour if you pay in advance which gave so much great information about Fes and I really enjoyed the desert trip we organised again through the hostel. Would recommend this hostel to anyone.

Disliked: There was an old man staying and he wanted us to turn the music down and it was only 10 pm so that put a bit of a dampener on the vibe that night. It is better for guests who are under 40 and who realize that a hostel is a hostel and guests like to have fun.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Deciding where to Fes was hard but we chose the Riad Verus based on the price and the heating, Fes was cold day and night. The rooms, patio however were nice and snug. Noor was on hand most of the day to help up check in and serve beers or sheishas and there to ask questions and he was charming and helpful, if not a bit stressed when the house was full of us Canadians and when another group broke the hanging Thai bed on the terrace! We wanted to book the desert tour but unfortunately they were full up on the day we wanted to go which was a shame as they offered one of the cheapest action packed trips around.

Disliked: Like I said tours get full early and had we known we would have booked before.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The heaters in the Riad were amazing, it gets dark early in Fes and chilly so coming back to a warm Riad with jazz lounge playing was perfect, the guys on reception really try and do their best to make you have an enjoyable stay. The offers they had such as the free tax option made it one of the cheapest options in town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast was included in the price as well as a free sheisha in the evening. The terrace was stunning and we liked the room layout and the showers in the dorm room. It was lively in the patio and guests get to know each other in informal settings.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Despite it being low season in Fes the Riad was nice and lively, there was lounge music in the evening and you could buy beers to take to the terrace and see the view. I liked the hammock beds. The bedroom we booked was big and well designed and nice decoration in keep with how we imagined Moroccan architecture to be. Breakfast could be eaten downstairs or on the terrace but we chose to mingle with other guests and then take one of the tours of the medina they run daily which was worth signing up for.

Disliked: In the rooms there is plenty of drawers but not any wardrobes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and wifi and the mood was nice in the hostel.

Disliked: No negatives to make.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best Riad we had been too, the decor is stunning and speaks for itself. Well preserved in terms of authenticity and also a touch of modern western standards too. It felt very homely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Verus was the first hostel of many of my way around Africa, I liked it alot and this was in part down to the personnel and the travellers who i met there. No where else was so much information passed down to us to help us adapt culturaly and get best deals. The rooms are in keeping with decent hotels in Europe but the price of about 15 euros a night is bargain. I would not hesitate to try and skimp on a few euros and then regret not having stayed at somewhere comfortable and with standards and cleanliness.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fast working internet. Washing clothes facilities and despite how hot it was in Fes the aircon was a pleasant treat, the rooms were fresh, light and airy and the maids did a super cleaning job. Stayed during free cava evening so we drank as girls for free!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

18 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here were all amazing without exceptions! Beers sold onsite and the atmos is chillaxed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leroy Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 September 2014 Leroy would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful Riad in a beautiful City. There could not have been a better start for our tour through Morocco!

Disliked: Leroy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quality healthy breakfasts served til late, reliable wifi, quiet air conditioning unit and clean showers with properly made up comfortable beds, no bed bugs in site or cockroaches which I kept finding in morocco and peaceful sleep, to my knowledge the hostel was not located near any mosque so I were not woken up by the call to prayer at 4am. In fact I later found out there was a mosque 2 streets away but he prefers to sleep in too!

Disliked: Warning...The locals will try and force you to stay elsewhere and then take a hefty commission or call you name, you are crazy if you think you can find better than this hostel in my opinion. So my dislike goes out to the touts who lurk in corners and by the Blue Gate and Train station terminal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, a good choice at breakfast and wifi was included in the price.

Disliked: Could not fault the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, stunning hostel interior and easy to locate on GPS.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Still able to have a private stay despite it being a hostel as the rooms are big and you can be in your own world. We had the VIP room and we loved it, only comparable to something found in Miami!

Disliked: The house was busy especially over breakfast time, so best to do a late breakfast and then you get the whole terrace to yourself.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Due to an overbooking we got upgraded to a beautiful ensuite even though we had booked a simple dorm room. Inside the room there was a fridge, aircon, lounge and a tele, this is way better than a hostel, in fact was one of the best choices we had on the trip. The French girl at reception also organised me a trip to the desert which was amazing. Every day you can partake in the Spa trip or go on a tour of the Medina with the sweet English speaking guide or just lounge out in the bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, easy to get to know the other room mates in the spacious dorm rooms and we loved the terraces. Food served was pretty decent and not expensive and they had deals to the desert which were better than other we had seen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and its value for money. Staff keen on arrival and throughout stay, lockers in the rooms, fab roof terrace with bamboo beds, amazing views overlooking the city, they have alcohol and its laid back. They also organise trips to the Sahara desert which although we did not have time to go looked interesting and not expensive.

Disliked: Nothing negative.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely receptionist, good breakfast, wifi worked very well and nice music playing in the courtyard at night, the place is full of travellers and the rooms have airconditioning and the showers were nice and clean, the maids obviously have had decent training as the rooms were spotless and the beds made each day to a high standard, even towels and toiletries were provided. Better than your normal hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014

Liked: Friendly girl at reception.

Disliked: Booked a private room for two nights and then was told on the second night I was told that there was a mistake with my booking and that there was no place for me so I was asked to move to another guesthouse. If you like loud Pop music played during most of the day, this is the place for you.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Axelle Branchaud

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

02 September 2014 Axelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice, the riad is beautiful and they offer a lot of services. In addition, the room was wonderful, over my expectation, and there was A/C in the room.

Disliked: The bathroom is too small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very cool for young people or young couples and there is an electric energy in the evenings as people sit around drinking beers and listening to music. We signed up for the medina tour with mohamed which was a good recommendation and we liked the general attention to detail in the hostel.

Disliked: If you want to shut your self in your room and not make friends this would not be your scene. You are encouraged to make friends and with the different activities on offer this is easy.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels