HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Riad Verus

Hostel | 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Douh/Batha, Fes Medina El Bali, Maison D'Hôte - Affordable Lux Fes, Morocco 30200

94.2% Overall Rating

898 out of 940 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"One of the best hostels had stayed at, its clean, fresh and inviting. Friendly atmosphere amongst the guests and easy to get to know people in all the patios and terraces. Breakfast particularly tastey."

Read all Riad Verus reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Customers who cancel between 30 to 15 days will be charged 50% of the booking, and customers who cancel within 14 days will be charged for the full amount of the booking. Please note that on arrival there will be a charge of 45 MAD City Tourist Tax per person per night and if you pay with a debit or credit card there is a 5% charge. Any groups over 5 are subject to a downpayment of 50% in order to honor the reservation

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Baba
15.59 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
23.86 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 60 reviews
Riad Damia
37.70 USD

Guesthouse 91.1% 74 reviews
Dar Hafsa
23.98 USD

Hotel 92.1% 349 reviews
Dar Dalila
26.38 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Algilà fès
158.25 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Dar Dmana
67.32 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Dar Chrifa
43.76 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.2%

Overall Rating

898 out of 940 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Verus'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 865 of 914 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels had stayed at, its clean, fresh and inviting. Friendly atmosphere amongst the guests and easy to get to know people in all the patios and terraces. Breakfast particularly tastey.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really do recommend staying here! Amazing staff! Very friendly and so informative on what we should do and how not to get lost and ripped off! Beautiful Riad in a great location for getting around and getting dropped off in taxi. Would definitely stay here again if I were to return to Fes!

Disliked: Lockers need padlocks so come prepared.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good melting pot of different nationalities and cultures. The patio is such a nice place to rest.

Disliked: Wished it had a swimmingpool, they did however have a contact at a lovely pool a few minutes walk away and we only had to pay 10 Euros entry fee each.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere in abundance was an understatement. Groovy tunes and killer staff made it a wicked stay. Special mention for them dealing with my lost passport and getting it back to me and helping at the police station.

Disliked: Nothing, the whole set up works, what you read is what you get.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place for young travellers looking for fun, the Riad organised a cheap BBQ one night for all of us and we had a great time hanging out on their roof, listening to music and smooking the hookah pipes. The Medina tour was good value too. The neighbourhood was nice and the staff were all friendly.

Disliked: The shared shower between four of us could have been bigger. But queuing was never an issue and hot water was always in abundance no matter when you took a shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best moments were swinging in the hammocks, smoking a sheisha and just enjoying the sunrise. The room was on the small side but it was cheap, clean, included a yum breakfast and had great wifi connection plus it had a powerful fan, this was the room without air con but the fan was effective enough. Showers were hot, not that you needed it as Fes was a hot mess. There was even a little paddling pool on the roof if you got too hot!

Disliked: Fes is full of annoying hasslers, if you do use their services then you do have to pay or they get nasty with you which was intimidating, the directions the hostel provides are good enough and if you have gps even better. i found the hostel correctly listed on google map.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice, all female and lovely showers inside the bathroom which ajoined the room. We had a big tv if we wanted to use it inside the room and the airconiditioning was great. We had a delicious healthy breakfast included in the price, lots of fresh fruits and juices and even an avocado smoothie one morning. My only regret was that we didn't do the tour to the desert with the hostel as we were short on time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad had as one of their activiites a cooking course, we went into the Medina and bought all the ingrediants and cooked up with the chef a couple of delicious tagines and couscous. The price charged was better than other deals we had found.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great coffees at breakfast, nice smiling staff, chance to have the ramadam fast break with locals too if you wanted. The hammam trip and the desert tour were the two highlights we did through the hostel.

Disliked: Rooms on higher levels were better in terms of privacy and noise from other guests.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to enjoy the Ramadan. Clean comfortable rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2014

Liked: Breakfast was pretty good. The hostel was generally clean.

Disliked: Ok the lockers are tiny - it is impossible to fit a computer and/or a tablet and you will be hard pressed to fit a DSLR. So security is an issue. The atmosphere wasn't that nice either, upon arrival the owner acts kindly and offer you a tour (e.g. to the tanneries) and you think they're trying to be nice. I was told it would be "free". You basically visit one shop and the information given about the tanneries is very sparse and you can tell it's just been recycled over and over. Not only are you put in a very uncomfortable position of having to buy something for the shop allowing you to use their roof for the tannery explanation, but you also have to tip the guide who says basically nothing and ignores you by going into shops and speaking with the owners. Even though the owner told me it was free, it wasn't, and I could sense the owner's hostility when I chose to only tip a little. Made for a very uncomfortable stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Of all the great things to say about the Riad, we loved the atmosphere, it was peaceful during the day, lively in the evening and we slept like Queens. Excellent trips can be organised and we found the wifi to be fast.

Disliked: Only a few rooms have bathtubs. Others with showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lenora was a great hostess and we loved getting to know her and her sweet little girl, the other staff were nice aswell and were pleasing. We liked the bathtub, the cold air conditioning and the wifi speed in the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce chilled vibes going on, liked the terraces and the room layouts, people can get to know each other in the many spaces and the property is beautiful. The breakfast deserves a special mention as did the free upgrade. We liked the tour with mohammed of the medina and had we had time we would have been down for the trip to the desert they offered at a reasonable rate.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good and we slept very well. Rooms are thoroughly cleaned, with good ventilation, air conditioning and showers worked well and new. Also possibility to watch the football and have alcoholic drinks.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmospher, very clean and big rooms, and big breakfast. Heaps of cultural activities . Definitely recommend here when you are traveling Fes.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful interior and great views from the terraces. Chill out jazz played in the patio, enjoyed the shisha pipes and the mojitos, we liked how it was English owned and the maids were very sweet and caring. Breakfast was a good range of fruit salads and eggs and fresh yoghurt, not your typical hostel by any means. They even went out of their way to arrange one of the workers to come and find me from the main square at 3am when i got lost.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got great treatment from all the staff and we liked our room, music was never a factor, guess we were staying mid week and the music was just gentle lounge which went off around 11pm, plus we stayed during the games so many people would watch the matches over beers on a projector so there was always an atmosphere. We liked the showers in the bathrooms, there were a couple of communal shower rooms and some of the other guests told me they had showers in their dorm rooms. The dorms even had air conditioning. Lea set us up on a tour around Morocco which had 2 nights in the desert, it was fun and well organised and all went to plan, the price was ok and the camel guides in the desert were awesome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

THIE M F DA SILVA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014 THIE M F DA would recommend this property

Liked: it is safe for women traveling solo, breakfast is very good, bed is comfortable and sheets are clean, the building itself is beautiful.

Disliked: They only care about MONEY. tHIS HOSTEL COULD BE GREAT , BUT music is played until 1 am, it is overpriced food, drinks and stay. Specially overpriced tours. We got the same tour to the desert with a local tourism agency for precisely half the price, plus a girl who needed to extend her stay asked the woman owner to stay an extra ninght in the dorm, she said it wasn´t available and gave her a private room instead. A few minutes later, we went on hostel bookers and there was space.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad is refreshingly cool inside, both in terms of temperature and style. Although in the rooms you are provided with a pashmina comforter if it gets cold at night, despite there being an AC unit we found we were just right without it. The location was great for the festival concerts, really close to the free sufi nights which meant coming back at 1am from the concerts was easy and took just 5 mins. We liked how they could organise for us a tour to the desert from Fes which would finish in Marrakesh and we liked how the hostel was clean and the service was good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014

Liked: they sold some alcohol. good for party ppl. and clean.

Disliked: have to pay extra tax. plus around 5 euros. expensive hostel in morocco. during the night, they play DJ music. until mid night or more. hard to sleep.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When you get there they serve you free tea, you have a nicely made up bed and the maids come in and do house keeping every day, great breakfast, filling and with lots of fruits and fresh breads. well working wifi and incredible views from the terrace. Our room was clean, big and with a nice bathroom. As women we liked the area, felt safe as there was always a man employed by the hostel on standby if you didn;t want to walk around by yourself. All the staff were happy to help if you needed them plus they through a free winetasting evening one night which was a bit of fun for all the guests.

Disliked: Laundry takes 24 hours and there was no place to wash clothes in Fes.

The property's response is...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Mayank Goyal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

11 June 2014

Liked: The lobby looks nice but the nothing else to write in positives.

Disliked: 1. Too Loud most of the time. It calls itself a disc hostel- but I dont know any place which plays loud dico music at 5pm in the main lobby with no one in it. It went on till 1:30 am and the lobby is right next to the dormitories with 4 common windows and a big gate. 2. I stayed in a shared dormitory for 4 person and the toilet/bath was extremely tiny. I could not close the door without stepping on the top of the toilet seat. 3. The hostel owner was the rudest person ever I met in my experience on staying in countless hostels around the world. He was clearly racist to me being non white and I felt like an unwelcomed free guest rather than a paying customer. On reporting the discomfort with the toilet he turned aggressive. He objected when I tried to use my french friends' bathroom who were staying in the same floor but had a bathroom in their shared room. He even used phrases like "If you don't like it here go stay in a five star hotel" "this is how we do it here, Welcome to Morocco" "I can fine you 100Euros because you broke the rule by entering your friends room (shared mix) " 4. This hostel has notices in the room saying that it offers free drink to anyone who leaves a positive review. Which explains high ratings. But its highly influenced. 5. This hostel tried to converts every opportunity to business like when asked for basic information like when I asked for things to see around the answer that the owners wife gave me was like a fast speaking machine and offered to take a guide from the hostel or you will get lost. My french friends did take that guide and were extremely disappointed with the tour and finally argued to get full refund. 6. This hostel has a very high tax of 45 Dhiram per night so its not a value for money one either. Read the fine prints carefully. 7. The location is too far from the Main Medina road and really unsafe for lone travelers especially women. Do not venture out after 11pm alone. Overall a rare disappointing experience in all my travels. (This is my first negative review of any property so I am not really a big critic but even then)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had free yoga on, having come from Tagazoute surfing it was perfect, also they had a great guide to show us around and we liked smoking the sheisha pipe on the terrace at night. The music added to the vibe and we met some cool people on the desert trip Leonore organised for us, she was great at making us feel comfortable firsttimers to the country and we appreciated the free upgrade too and packed breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved how so much to do and the activites, the desert trip with the camels was amazing as was the tour they set up for us to the old city.

Disliked: its popular and gets booked well in advance so be sure to factor that in if you want to stay more nights.

The property's response is...


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels