HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Houdou

Guesthouse | 42 Teriana Sghira, Talaa Sghira, Fes, Morocco 30202

97.9% Overall Rating

89 out of 90 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/05/2014)

Jesper Ege Rasmussen thinks…

"Very friendly and helpfull staff. The rooftop apartment was amazing and the breakfeast was outstanding!"

Read all Dar Houdou reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.01

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad El Ghalia Hotel
46.81 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Fez Yamanda
50.60 USD

Guesthouse 83.8% 3 reviews
COMPLEXE TOURISTIQUE DIAMANT VERT
28.36 USD

Hostel 83.7% 10 reviews
Riad La Perle De La Médina
55.58 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Riad Zamane Fès
56.71 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.6% 4 reviews
Hotel Tombouktou
8.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.6% 31 reviews
Riad Arabesque
75.90 USD

Hotel 5 star 93.3% 3 reviews
Dar Labchara
24.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.9%

Overall Rating

89 out of 90 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Houdou'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 89 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesper Ege Rasmussen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Jesper Ege would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull staff. The rooftop apartment was amazing and the breakfeast was outstanding!

Disliked: Cash only, but not really an issue, since an ATM is close to the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location in the old city, great breakfast (the bread!), friendly and relaxed atmosphere. With two roof terraces the place is an oasis of calm in what can be quite intense city. Steve and his team were very helpful and can arrange virtually everything - tours, restaurant bookings, transfers, super early breakfast - nothing is a problem. I can only recommend this dar and in fact have done so to friends already. If I was going to Fez again, I would be first making sure Dar Houdou is available!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magdalena Krzysztofik

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, little raid in an excellent location in Fes. The staff is extremly helpful and friendly and Steve - the owner - is the ultimate host. He gave us the map, showed us around, recommended some places to eat and much more. The breakfasts are excellent. We highly recommend and if we ever return to Fes we would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Magdalena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chi Hang CHOI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2013 Chi Hang would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Steve, was a very nice guy that everyone had a great time with him. Listen to every advice from him, as his knowledge of Fes is extensive and he was one of a few people I met in touristy Morocco that I felt I could totally trust.

Disliked: Chi Hang left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eman Azzopardi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2013 Eman would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best place we stayed throughout the time we spent in Morocco. Owner was very friendly and helpful. We were thankful that he provided transport from bus station to this place. Breakfasts and general relaxed atmosphere were marvellous. It's the place to be if you are visiting Fes. I wish all places we stayed in where the same as this.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

graham ivey

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 graham would recommend this property

Liked: beautifully restored home rather than hotel and you were made to feel very welcome by the friendly and helpful staff. the breakfasts were superb and you could make drinks anytime of the day if you wanted to. there were also heaters and electric blankets in the rooms, a definite bonus during the winter months in morocco!! we will definitely recommend it to friends and we also hope to return!

Disliked: graham left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ian Gough

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful old house in a great location in the medina. Steve and his staff are great hosts, and serve a wonderful breakfast, and keep the place very clean.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Neill

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

05 November 2012 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: This is a beautifully restored home which exceeds every expectation you have ever had of accommodation away from home. Steve takes great care of you and the included breakfasts are the best I have had traveling in 4 continents! This place is even made extra special as Steve welcomes you at the door and brings you a cup of tea or coffee when you arrive. He even took us out for a wee tour to get our bearings of the medina too. All in all if I were heading back to Fes, I would never need to stay anywhere else.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Shea

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Steven and Mohammed were extremely welcoming and friendly hosts. The Riad had an excellent location and beautiful terrace. Breakfast was huge and the best I had whilst in Morocco. Overall an excellent place to stay and one I would highly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Shubbuck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: We can't say enough good things about our stay. The property is beautiful; located in a great spot in the medina; breakfast was delicious and filling; and the room, bathroom, kitchen and communal areas were very clean. Being able to have our laundry done was also very helpful since we are traveling long-term. Mohammed was extremely helpful right from the start, showing us on a map where to go around Fes and offering to book a tour guide for us. The guide was great and took us around the city for 6 hours, told us a lot of history and answered all our questions. Mohammed definitely took care of us, and we would stay here again in a heartbeat. Dar Houdou is the best kept secret in Fes. A note to those traveling in Morocco for the first time: The caretakers offered a taxi service pickup for us from the train station, which included the taxi and the driver to walk us to Dar Houdou. If you've never walked through a medina before, especially at night, you might want to take this option or you will be hassled by touts and kids trying to lead you astray or guide you for money. Just something to be aware of.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, in a quiet street but only a couple of minutes walk away from the best part of the medina. Extremely friendly host who is happy to show you good places to eat, organise taxis and give good recommendations. Riad is beautifully decorated with a lovely roof terrace and breakfast in the morning is delicious, amazingly good value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Steve came and met us personally. He was very helpful and gave us great recommendations for Fes and the surrounding area. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of the main 2 streets. The house has many guide books to help plan your trip, the breakfast was the best we had in Morocco, lovely fresh fruit salad. We only booked for one night but stayed for 2 which was not a problem. There is filtered water for you, always, which is fantastic!

Disliked: Not much airflow, the room was quite stuffy as it only has an internal window, however there was a fan.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Langlois

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: i really liked the cider wood smell there

Disliked: really small hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alexandros Karachalios

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Alexandros would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located, huge breakfast, Mohhamed (the guy working there) is really kind and helpful and makes you feel like being at home. Very nice place, I would stay there again!

Disliked: The 60 dirhams for picking us up and showing how to get there is way too much. A normal taxi costs 10-12 dirhams from the train station to the medina.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryanna Thiel

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

19 July 2012 Bryanna would recommend this property

Liked: We liked that breakfast was included, its location right between the main two medina road near one of the main entrances, the restoration work was beautiful, and the peace we could find at the end of the day away from the hectic nature of the markets. The staff were extremely accomodating and helpful with all of our needs or requests, so much so that we decided to stay an extra day and take advantage of their expertise!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gavin Cunningham

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: Steve was a great host with lots of helpful advice. He also arranged an airport pickup which made getting to the accomodation stress free. The house and our room were very nice and the breakfast was excellent, the best we had during two weeks in Morrocco.

Disliked: Gavin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is situated in the heart of Fes Medina, and quite new. Throughout 2 weeks of our trip in Morocco, we can say that we had the best breakfast ever at Dar Houdou. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. I would definately recommend you to stay.

Disliked: Just like most of riads in Medina, the streets are quite narrow, and sometimes it can be quite dark at some points. I would plan my trip so that I do not walk home in dark.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Houdou was a wonderful place to stay and Steven was a great host. He answered all of our questions with enthusiasm and took very good care of us. The room we had was very charming and clean, the bathroom was clean. Each morning a rich breakfast was prepared for us, with fresh, warm bread, fresh fruit and orange juice, cheese, coffee and tea- the perfect start for a day in a busy and dusty labyrinth of Fes. The location of the riad is also superb, central (right between the two main market streets of Fes) and quiet at the same time. We agreed, that staying here was one of the highlights of our whole trip. Thank you again Steve and hopefully see you again someday! x Katarina and Jaroslav

Disliked: There was absolutely nothing to dislike.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully restored old dar, quiet but great location by bab bou jealoud. Best room on first floor with beautiful high wooden ceiling. Breakfast lovely, fresh squeezed juice and fruit and local breads. Very accommodating with us leaving our bags on the last day whilst we shopped in the medina!

Disliked: Can feel a little lonely - we were the only guests and staff aren't based on site, though You can be met from the airport and get keys whenever you arrive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Booher

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Fes - a well-located oasis within this chaotic and fascinating city. The room was nice and well decorated, the breakfasts were huge and Mohomed was one of the most helpful people I encountered in Morocco. When I arrived on a late flight, they helped me arrange airport transfer and then Mohamed walked me to a market to buy a few snacks (and even fronted the money as I did not have local currency yet). Great service!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monique Drinkwater

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 April 2012 Monique would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Houdou is a calm, serene space that has been well thought out. I enjoyed the understated renovations and choices of objects and artisan pieces dotted around the walls and rooms of the riad. The comfortable beds with spotless while linen and bowls of rose buds made going to bed a simple pleasure. It really is totally charming. Small and quiet, in a peaceufl and safe part of the ancient medina....Steve the owner and Mohamed and Sadia his employees were all very knowledgable, welcoming and kind and the breakfast they provide is just to good to believe. Go for it, you will not be dissapointed.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a beautifully restored house in a great location within the Medina. The rooms are lovely and clean, and the bed and bedding are heavenly. The breakfasts are amazing and the owner and staff kind and helpful. It only has three rooms, so it has a really nice intimate atmosphere. It was our favourite place in Morocco. If you are looking for a beautiful bag from Morocco, ask Steven about his - good quality and price. I really recommend Dar Houdou.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tastefully restored dar near budget cafes. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed so much our stay there. The staff was very friendly and professional, and made us feel at home. The location was good, very close to the old medina. Very recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels