We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Riad Damia

Guesthouse | 10 rue Sornas, Ziat, Fes, Morocco 30000

91.1% Overall Rating

71 out of 74 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2013)

Ruishi Zhao thinks…

"The decoration of the riad is absolutely fantastic, with traditional Moroccan motifs and features everywhere. The staff is very nice and helpful, came to pick us up and saw us off. The breakfast was…"

Read all Riad Damia reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Television room
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Dar Dalila
24.95 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
24.95 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 60 reviews
Riad Dar Chrifa
41.11 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews
Riad Baba
17.01 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Verus
13.61 USD

Hostel 96.5% 980 reviews
Riad dar guennoun
31.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar Hafsa
22.68 USD

Hotel 93.1% 355 reviews
Algilà fès
149.72 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

71 out of 74 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Damia'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 62 of 66 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruishi Zhao

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Ruishi would recommend this property

Liked: The decoration of the riad is absolutely fantastic, with traditional Moroccan motifs and features everywhere. The staff is very nice and helpful, came to pick us up and saw us off. The breakfast was quite tasteful and always came just at the right time. I especially like the feeling at night, with the tall roof covering this property and it was very nice to read and listen to the music there.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Riad has an incredible interior. We were totally overwhelmed and it was such a treat to stay somewhere so beautiful. We were supposed to be in the twin room but moved to a double. The twin was fine but the beds are in separate places in the room. The double was great. The location is really good if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle. It's really quiet and relaxing but if you wanted to be in it all this wouldn't be for you. Breakfast was really nice and included. Great roof terrace too. Owner was really lovely and helpful.

Disliked: It was quite hard to find the first time. Our taxi driver handed us over to some kids and they sorted us out! Once you've been there once it's fine to get back to though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very beautiful and romantic Riad that's ideally located. The staff was very helpfull and kind! I would definitely recommend this Riad!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful decor

Disliked: I would have liked to meet other travellers: I was almost the only one there: That is not the fault of the hostel but more due to the time of year:

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Brown

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful riad. Very quiet and calm. Helpful and friendly staff. Good and varied breakfast. Electric heater in room was a plus.

Disliked: No automatic hot water for shower. We've learnt since that you have to ask for this.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

tomas dodos

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 November 2010 tomas would recommend this property

Liked: go to Bab Ziat..second left and second right then..its about 5mins from souks..typical morrocan riaddefinitely recommended..poeple in Fez dont ask money if they show you a way to your place..in Marrakech asked for everythingthats mine experience..

Disliked: tomas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

13 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value!!! I found it on Hostelbookers fro 24euros p.p.p.n. whereas on the Riad website it advertised for 90euros.

Disliked: A bit isolated late at night. Not close to any eating places.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ian Cook

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 October 2010

Liked: It was beautiful

Disliked: It had cockroaches.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john drew

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

12 October 2010 john would recommend this property

Liked: the location to the medina. When you walk into the Riad you feel like waling into a small palace

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bridget Davis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2010 Bridget would recommend this property

Liked: A really stunning place - beautifully decorated with high ceilings and a terrace that overlooks the city. The guy who works there is really helpful and nice. Is a little out of the way though, in a quiet area... maybe a confusing fifteen minute walk to the centre of the city. Breakfast was also good, and the rooms are unbelievable for the price. Recommended.

Disliked: Bridget left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great maroccan riad! If you want to go by car remember "bab ziat" - streets are not written in latin. We spent a lot of time on the nice terrace.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Family Holiday
Shopping

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the most beautiful Riad to stay in. There was some confusion with our booking and we were upgraded to a bigger and beatiful room. The manager was most helpful and friendly. He even went out with us very early in the morning to make sure that we get a taxi to take us to the station. Riad Damia is centrally situated - near the souks. My daughter and I travelled alone and just loved it to play cards in the early evening on the beautiful roof top terrace. Our stay was a pleasure.

Disliked: Would have liked a window in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very nice and helpful.This "Riad" is very beautiful(with the traditional Moroccan architectures),calm and clean.The location is okay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roman Iagodka

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome interior, feeling almost like in a ancient oriental palace. I can't recall any other hostel like this I've been before. Thus, probably it not unique in its kind. Very kind and helpful staff.

Disliked: Roman left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicola squire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 nicola would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent riad, beautiful courtyard, a roof with a fabulous view of the city, especially at dusk. Our room was nice and we had a fan which helped! The owner and family were super helpful and the breakfast was great, lovely to have some personal service. Would stay there again.

Disliked: nicola left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Damia is beautiful and the people managing the place are kind and helpful :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fairuz Majid

21 June 2010 Fairuz would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service with breakfast included, located in a quiet area 10 mins walking distance fromthe medina. Rooms and ensuite bathrooms were clean and spacious. Would definitely return and recommend to other guests.

Disliked: Fairuz left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Wilson

31 May 2010 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Damia is a beautiful building with loads of character. We were lucky to be given one of the better rooms - large, grand with very high ceilings. Just beware though (and it may be a cultural thing) that certain things that we believed we had pre-confirmed with the Riad did not transpire in reality e.g. airport pick-up, meal at Riad Damia on arrival, additional breakfast requirements due dietary limitations. The other thing that amused us was that the safe in our room didn't work so instead we were offered the key for the old wardrobe and told that this would be adequately secure! It proved to be so but it was a bit of a leap of faith at the outset. Overall a very positive experience and the location, being right on the inner edge of the medina, meant that taxi access was possible, especially when you have lots of luggage!

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This riad is beautiful! Once you step through the front door you will be amazed. The building must be almost 100 years old and seems to have belonged to a very wealthy family. The rooms were beautiful. Nice and comfortable beds. Breakfast was great: crepes, fresh orange juice, bread, jam, butter, coffee and of course mint tea!It is within the medina, however not in the center of the medina. It takes approximately 10 minutes to walk to the main entrance.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kiyomi Hasegawa

15 May 2010 Kiyomi would recommend this property

Liked: I liked interior but I think it is kinda pricey.

Disliked: Kiyomi left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Timotheus Gregorius Herder

13 May 2010 Timotheus Gregorius would recommend this property

Liked: It is the first Riad I ever spent the night in. Its an exclusive experience. It felt as if we slept in a old palace or a museum.

Disliked: Timotheus Gregorius left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Fechtor

01 May 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Damia was the perfect place for us. It was naturally cool and quiet--a welcome break from the heat and bustle of the medina. Everything in the riad was stunningly ornate and yet comfortable and welcoming. We spent about two hours each day just relaxing on the couches and enjoying the peaceful indoors while we checked our email and chatted about our plans for the next day. We had an excellent dinner there, too. I would heartily recommend this riad to all types of travelers as size, price, and comfort of bedroom can be selected based on personal taste. Our room was the least expensive available option and it was still very nice. We peeked into some other rooms and they're quite large and fancy.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

José Mª González Ordóñez

12 April 2010 José Mª would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice accommodation inside the Medina. The worst thing is the location because the first day is very difficult to find if you dont have a map. If you go, take a Petit Taxi to Bab Ziat. The best way to find it.

Disliked: José Mª left no negative feedback.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels