HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of pension mauritania

Guesthouse | C Kadi Alami Souikka, Chefchaouen, Morocco 91000

76.2% Overall Rating

44 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/05/2014)

"Inside the old city, Mauritania was the perfect station for our stay, we even extended it a night! Beautiful area, which is visible from the roof where there is even a partial tent to sleep under the stars. Shower rooms…"

Read all pension mauritania reviews

Facilities

  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chefchaouen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chefchaouen

résidence hoteliér chez aziz
35.00 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Riad Baraka
10.50 USD

Hotel 92.3% 192 reviews
Casa amina
8.75 USD

Hostel 95.2% 52 reviews
Hotel Madrid
25.67 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Dar Mounir
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 17 reviews
Pension Souika
8.17 USD

Hostel 83.5% 158 reviews
Hotel Tarek
26.25 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Dar Onsar
15.75 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.2%

Overall Rating

44 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'pension mauritania'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
77.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Inside the old city, Mauritania was the perfect station for our stay, we even extended it a night! Beautiful area, which is visible from the roof where there is even a partial tent to sleep under the stars. Shower rooms could be a tad larger, but everything was great...especially for the money!

Disliked: Small bathrooms and the water temperature didn't last long.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Velizara Stoilova

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 April 2014 Velizara would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money and good hostel in general! I was able to get a double room with a friend for the same value as a dorm,which was amazing!

Disliked: Cleaningness in toilets could be better, but nothing major.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Francesca Toglia

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 December 2013 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap pension in the heart of the Medina, a few steps from Place Uta El Hammam. The staff is very nice and juggles with different languages. It was beautiful to watch football matches on TV (from Naples to Casablanca, from Barcelona to Baiern Munchen) together with the other guests and staff, drinking mint tea and smoking in a blue little sitting room in the center of the typical structure of the riad. The best of the Moroccan people is the friendship and the solidarity that unites the people, everyone helps each other. We sleep very well, even in the really tiny room (we barely entered the bedroom and the heater) that has befallen us, awakened only by the crowing of the cock and cradled by the voice of the muezzin. The bathrooms and showers are shared. Better is bringing your own towels.

Disliked: The cleaning is scarce, being entrusted to a single person, who is not always able to do everything carefully. Really tiny room. You must also bring your own soap and hair dryer.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good open space. I enjoyed watching TV with other visitor.

Disliked: My room's WI-FI is weak.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Florina Tiriac

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 August 2013

Liked: I loved the atmosphere and the location, and definitely the price. But if it sounds too good to be true...

Disliked: ...if it sounds to good to be true, it probably is. I was attracted by the price as I was looking for a low cost stay in Chefchaouen. I can't regret my decision more. As we were a group of 3, two foreigners and a Moroccan, they made us get a second room because apparently Moroccans cannot share a room with foreigners. Then at checkout there was no one present, so we left to have lunch, and when we came back, surprise! we had to pay for an extra night, for BOTH rooms. So I'd say it's a bit of a bait and switch. With poor services and a scandal on top of it all. I'll know better than to pick the cheapest one next time, they always end up being more expensive *and* with poorer service.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: individual rooms. good value. helpful staff.

Disliked: floor in room swept but not sure when last mopped.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aminata Kone

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2013

Liked: The room was nicely decorated, colourful, nice atmosphere. And there was free wifi.

Disliked: Tiny bathroom to share with all other guests (I mean REALLY tiny, and not particularly clean). Service wasn't good, the guy working hardly said a word, except when he tried to sell us bus tickets to Fes (our next stop) at a higher price than at the busstation. We knew he was trying to make money off it so politely declined, and he got quite pushy about it. They also didn't have a map of Chefchaouen or any other tips/information to provide us with. We didn't make use of the option to have breakfast as it cost more money than if you went out to a bakery or restaurant and got some nice Moroccan pastries and bread there yourself. Also gets quite noisy outside the hotel at night. We only stayed here for one night and as it was so cheap all this was fine, but if you plan to stay in Chefchaouen a bit longer or want a different sort of service, don't choose this place.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Natalia Maimoni

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013

Liked: Bedrooms are ok. It looks like a small hotel.

Disliked: First of all it's a hostel for people who want to enjoy and smoke what chefchaouen is able to offer you. Whoever is just travelling for the sake of tourism would be desapointed. There's no breakfast, and if you want they offer you some , but only after 9:30 am? Are you for real? And guess what.. need to leave the hostel early in order to get a bus and the guy from the reception was asleep in the couch and wasn't happy at all to get up and open the door so we could leave. Wouldn't stay there again.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Rich Venezia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013

Liked: I wouldn't stay here unless you want some serious bed bug bites (see below). That said, most else about the property was pretty good - it's a shame that we were ravaged by nasty bed bugs. The staff was relatively friendly and helpful (except when they weren't), location was ideal in town, lovely rooftop terrace, you could do your laundry for free, cheap breakfast...

Disliked: However, we had some NASTY bed bug bites that blew up over our time there. When we approached the staff, they acted as if they hardly knew what such things were, and it seemed like the manager avoided us the rest of our time there. Also, the place smells like cleaning solution all the time - nice to know it's clean, but not ideal for the nose. There's quite a few hostels in Chefchaouen, so I'd recommend staying elsewhere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is nice so is the stuff

Disliked: I have nothing to dislike

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is very good and the atmosphere is good as weel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location close to the main square. Helpful staff. Hot showers.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The wifi worked and the shower water was hot

Disliked: The sheets were not clean.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff, friendly, good rooms, offer of making 2h guides tours with a private chauffeur for cheap

Disliked: difficult to find the way to the hostel, no hostel feeling - more hotel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katherine Isaacs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location, nice open rooms. Chef chaouen is a quiet little town covered in beautiful blue splashed walls.

Disliked: unfortunately the rooms we booked were not always available, but the staff were friendly and always did their best to accommodate.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

inmaculada gonzalez blanco

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2012 inmaculada would recommend this property

Liked: Ambiente familiar entre todos los viajeros. Ideal para conocer gente

Disliked: Las duchas y baños podrian estar mejor. las habitaciones un poco frias

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Dennis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: very relaxed.

Disliked: proximity to touts and not enough TP

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARK ISLES

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 November 2012 MARK would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, run by young people and great location!

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marina Perfileva

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: location and price

Disliked: all is poor, but it is ok for this money

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martin Tichota

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: It's right in the heart of the Medina, few steps from the main square. It is a traditional Moroccan riad and altough the room reminded us of a prison cell due to it's simplicity, the beds are suprisingly comfortable. They play B action movies in the common room at night, which is the best way to end up your stoned day.

Disliked: The roof terrace doesn't give you much of a nice view.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In heart of Medina, easy to find, convenient to everything, cool vibe. More for young backpackers but we had ages ranging from 11 to 75 and all enjoyed.

Disliked: Too many late night backpackers. All rooms are open to the inner courtyard witich is a living room. Locals watch soccer on tv all day but quiet. Young backpackers playing cards and laughing and talking so loud (maybe can't help since probably stoned as kif sold eveywhere) hard for some to sleep. On other hand, it's what it is, so fun place for such types.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jennifer Alexander

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a beautiful building.

Disliked: There were guys smoking outside my room that I could smell all night that really bothered me.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, great location

Disliked: Rooms only have one powerpoint so if you want to charge your phone or anything at night time, you cannot have the fan on. And it is super hot without the fan in the small room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun location right by the main town square, beautiful interior, small meals offered, friendly young staff.

Disliked: Steep staircases, 3 showers for 10+ rooms. The city itself is hard to navigate and the hostel next door is promoted by scouts on the streets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: la posizione é ottima e il prezzo pure

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...