We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pension Souika

Hostel | Hay Souika Drb Kadi alami, Chefchaouen, Morocco 91000

80.6% Overall Rating

152 out of 169 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2015)

"The hostel itself was very good, but the atmosphere was more of people smoking hash rather than other things. Not my cup of tea"

Read all Pension Souika reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chefchaouen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chefchaouen

Hotel Tarek
22.35 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baraka
11.92 USD

Hotel 89.9% 204 reviews
Dar Onsar
10,925.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar el Moualim
16.89 USD

Apartment 72.0% 5 reviews
John's Guesthouse
65.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
résidence hoteliér chez aziz
29.80 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
casa annasr
16.89 USD

Hotel 94.3% 9 reviews
pension mauritania
6.95 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

152 out of 169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pension Souika'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 164 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaime King

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2010 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: This is in such a neat area and perfect location. The property itself is nicely maintained and the staff very helpful. And, for the price...cannot be beat!

Disliked: Jaime left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, right in the centre of the medina and less than a minute's walk from the main square. The staff are all helpful and friendly - we were greeted like family when we arrived. Rooms and shared facilities are very clean. There's a nice roof terrace where you can sit out with a view over the city. Free internet and wi-fi is also very useful.

Disliked: Could be tricky to find in the maze of the medina, but pretty much anyone will be happy to help you!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Kelly

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2010 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, the atmosphere of Chefchaouen is amazing and it's really captured in this hostel. The colours are fantastic and there's a roof terrace where you can relax and watch the sunset over the roofs of Chefchaouen, while listening to the evening call to prayer. It has a lot of character, I especially liked the tiny shower room you have to bend over to be in :) It's a lovely hostel, and so cheap! great value for money compared to anywhere in europe!

Disliked: The staff had allowed these men to come in and wait for us, who we presumed were other staff, who then tried to give us a tour of the town and ended up pushing drugs on us. It made me question the security of the hostel that they let anyone just wander in.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

See Man Chen

14 June 2010 See Man would recommend this property

Liked: a bit difficult to find, but is a nice place and nice staff=]

Disliked: See Man left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROSS MILLAR

14 June 2010 ROSS would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap and good value for money.

Disliked: ROSS left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathon Heys

12 June 2010 Jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location (once you can actually locate the thing... the directions need to be a little more specific!). Perfect terrace and only a moments walk away from the centre "square".The free internet and cable TV are a nice addition to the super cheap rooms (we got the private for 160dh a night between us) and the staff go out of their way to accommodate travellers.Top place not meet people, but hard to really "party" in Morocco at any time-enjoy the views and hiking!

Disliked: Jonathon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff who were willing to help. Great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The locatin is close to the main square and kasba, it was clean and well presented. The manager and staff were pleasant, cheerful and helpful. Our double room was adequate in size although we had to ask for a towel to be provided. The shower was not the best but sufficed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorraine Jones

13 May 2010 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: The Pension Souika was excellent value for money. Fab location , right in the heart of the medina, with wonderful staff that spoke good English. Facilities are basic, but bedrooms, kitchen and bathrooms are clean and tidy. We never once locked our bedroom door because we felt our belongings were safe at all times. The place has lots of character and also a strong sense of community spirit. Anyone thinking of visiting Chefchaouen on A budget or otherwise for that matter should consider staying here. FAB.

Disliked: Lorraine left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susannah Ward

12 May 2010 Susannah would recommend this property

Liked: there is no hot shower its warm and occasionally cold

Disliked: Susannah left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice cheap place to relax.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Está muy bien situada, en la medina, cerca de la plaza. El personal es amable, acogedor y dan todo tipo de facilidades. La habitación está muy limpia, las camas son cómodas y en este momento, están de reforma, con lo que cuando acaben estará todo nuevo. Ya había gran parte reformada y está muy bien. Recomendaré este alojamiento a todo el que me pida datos para visitar Chaouen. Fátima. Madrid 2010.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I said the staff was friendly and helpful, but the most helpful was a women who doesn't actually work there and was just helping out a lot. But they all were patient and kind, spoke many languages well, and gave good recommendations of places to go and things to do. The only problem I had was with the bathrooms - they were mostly clean, just a bit smelly. I recommend bringing flip flops for the showers.Also, if you book directly with the hostel I'm pretty sure you get charged less, so just send an email to the hostel if you want to book!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Schaan

17 March 2010 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't expecting much for 5 euro a night - but it way exceeded my expectations. We had a room for 2 (one double bed and one single bed) in a good sized room. They don't have heat and we were there in rainy cold February but it was not a problem at all - the room did not feel cold (a little damp due to the rain) and there were a bunch of blankets to sleep with at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It also appears to be a great place to meet other travelers if you are traveling alone.

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathleen Donaldson

11 March 2010 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionally helpful owners/staff. The property is spotlessly clean. Self-catering kitchen is a real plus. The cleaning staff will hand-wash and hang-dry your laundry for a modest fee. Would definitely return to this hostel.k

Disliked: Kathleen left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good and lots of hippy-happy people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in the heart of the medina; in a perfect location. Very pleasent to spend the evening in the terrace with good company and native hash. The staff is very helpful and friendly. really value for money, the town is very cheap for tourists (if you know how to bargain in stores)I'd recommend the hostel and the place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Himmelreich

05 February 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: The only thing I would like this hostel to do; and that is ban smoking; as rooms lead off the gathering areas, at leqst bqn smoking in the rooms make the smokers go to the terrace: But very helpful staff and good locationJennifer HimmelreichShoalhaven HeadsAustralia

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Muñoz

12 January 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Genevieve Fox

08 December 2009 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very nice and the hostel is in a great location (heart of the medina). Wonderful views of the mountains and city from the rooftop terrace. Rooms are clean.

Disliked: Genevieve left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

nicholas hara

05 December 2009 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: no frills service. very cheap. but the staff is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. the big pet peeve was no indoor heating/ac control at all. very cold at night and chilly during the day. we went during the winter making it very cold and i can imagine that during the summer it is sweltering.the toilet facilities were sub-par as well.

Disliked: nicholas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

John Praskey

27 November 2009 John would recommend this property

Liked: Very centrally located in the Old Town. The guy who checked my girlfriend and I in, Wassim, also guided us up the mountain during our stay and found us a Shesha to rent and smoke on the rooftop terrace. The terrace has an amazing view of the town and is beautiful at sunset and dawn (if you stay awake that long). Very friendly family run hostel.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Franco Uriel Álvarez Martínez

14 November 2009 Franco Uriel would recommend this property

Liked: They are very friendly and warm, chefchaouen its beautiful and its people is better...

Disliked: Franco Uriel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Janene Gaffan

22 October 2009 Janene would recommend this property

Liked: The family is really great! Lots of help with anything you ask, they will find a way to get the answer for you and help with finding things. I really appreciated that. The common area was good for meeting other travellers and the whole place was really neat, lots of floors, rooms, and a nice rooftop terrace. Chefchaouen was great!!!

Disliked: Janene left no negative feedback.