We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pension Souika

Hostel | Hay Souika Drb Kadi alami, Chefchaouen, Morocco 91000

82.4% Overall Rating

151 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2015)

"The hostel itself was very good, but the atmosphere was more of people smoking hash rather than other things. Not my cup of tea"

Read all Pension Souika reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chefchaouen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chefchaouen

Hotel Tarek
22.06 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baraka
11.77 USD

Hotel 93.0% 200 reviews
Dar Onsar
10.79 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar el Moualim
16.67 USD

Apartment 72.0% 5 reviews
John's Guesthouse
64.81 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
résidence hoteliér chez aziz
29.41 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
casa annasr
19.61 USD

Hotel 94.3% 9 reviews
pension mauritania
6.86 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

151 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pension Souika'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
86.4%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 132 of 162 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

benjamin lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2011 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: pretty chill vibe, lots of people to meet, staff were very helpful

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is perfect for the price we payed. The best thing about it, it's the location, because it's right in the center of the Medina. Also, the atmosphere was very cool; full of nice young travelers looking forward to having a good relaxing time in the beautiful and peaceful city of Chefchaouen.

Disliked: The rooms are small and the bathrooms/showers are a bit uncomfortable. But still, it's ok for the price we payed. I really didn't mind this, but it's an importan thing to keep in mind for other travelers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff!!

Disliked: We spent another night there and the second room was a bit noisy...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and price.

Disliked: The room that we stay is realy small, and there only 2 bathrooms is very unconvenience.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and extremely affordable

Disliked: There was no heat so it got a bit cold at night. There were also quite a few bugs in our room. And don't forget to bring toilet paper!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people. Staff friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a fantastic location in the most picturesque medina in Morocco. It is unbelievable value for money if you are looking to save a dime as well. If you are in the mood for a sociable hostel than you will find it easy to meet people here.

Disliked: Unfortunately the owners allow smoking anywhere inside the hostel (and smoke themselves indoors). As a result the downstairs rooms (and pretty much everywhere else) which i was unfortunate to have to stay in one night, had the putrid smell of cigarette smoke and if I was not offered another room I would certainly have left. The downstairs rooms also have no ventilation and border the common room, and i would not recommend staying here if you are put in these rooms. Hot water was also non-existent.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Milos Marinkovic

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

29 October 2010 Milos would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near the main square in the Medina. Friendly staff, very welcoming. Comfortable beds, nice roof terrace to relax on. Very affordable. This is great value for your money and I would definitely recommend staying here if you visit Chefchaouen. Internet connection is good (but there is none in the rooms upstairs).

Disliked: Not enough showers, and that's about it. Oh and also, the description on how to get there is very basic and definitely not helpful - could be improved to be of better assistance to travellers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed 2 nights, it is close to square. There has Wifi in the room and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The kitchen is too small.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value for money.

Disliked: As there isn't anything to do in the evenings the hostel should organise some activities...otherwise you're in bed by 9pm

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hermes Lin Yichao

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2010 Hermes would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service, great place to meet people and a fantastic camp to explore chefchaeoun from.

Disliked: The property was rather far away from the CTM bus station and it is an uphill climb to reach the hostel. Me and my spouse had to drag two luggages and a backpack uphill for almost 30mins before we reached the hostel. Definitely not within walking distance with all that load.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonja Benterud

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2010 Sonja would recommend this property

Liked: location was great. The hostel had a sweet upstairs terrace.

Disliked: Sonja left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

09 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: When we checked out and wanted to pay the bill, the owner (?) of the pension wanted to charge us more than what they were supposed to. He claimed that the 10% deposit we made in advance through this website was not considered part of the total amount, since "the website kept the 10% of the bill". We refused this, and showed him the right balance, and then he agreed to charge us the right amount (but he still had the nerve to round up the number, and wouldn't give us the exact change -he later did-). We are not picky in general with hostels, but this is to bare in mind. Shows a bad attitude towards guests (no trust)... Also had to pay for toilet paper! Apart from this, it is well located and it's clean. Cheap place for budget travellers!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

sonja brentley

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2010 sonja would recommend this property

Liked: location,free internet,helpful staff,they booked our bus tickets to fes for us

Disliked: the toilets didnt appear to get cleaned all the time we were there and they never had toilet paper

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Allira Moniz

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2010 Allira would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace was nice to hang out and enjoy the sunset, free internet was a big positive, location in the medina was very nice and the staff very friendly and helpful. It was also handy that you could buy cold water and soda down in reception.

Disliked: The bathrooms could be better stocked with toilet paper and also the bathrooms floors could be mopped a bit more regularly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Bathrooms could be cleaned a bit during the busy ti,es.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

alessia vellucci

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2010 alessia would recommend this property

Liked: La location è in una posizione ottima, le camere sono abbastanza pulite, ma estremamente spartane. Se si vuole incontrare gente è perfetto, il via vai è continuo.

Disliked: Le camere sono tutte rigorosamente senza bagno, ci sono 2 o3 servizi su 3 piani ai quali devono accedere tutte le stanze, nonchè tutti coloro che dormono sulla terrazza!!e non sono pochi. Le stanze sono economiche, ma non abbastanza per quello che offrono. Poi uscire dalla stanza appena sveglio e trovare dietro la porta gente che fuma a tutte le ore, non è il massimo. Il responsabile dell'albergo è gentile ma permaloso....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Hale

Alone

23 August 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The fellow travels and being in the medina.

Disliked: Bathrooms lacked amenities and properly functioning sinks.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price.

Disliked: No smoke free areas at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly people, good atmosphere. Booked for two nights and stayed four.

Disliked: Some rooms have no outside windows. Terrace could be better shaded during the day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Porter Illi

With friends / other travellers

22 August 2010 Porter would recommend this property

Liked: It's a wonderful location and a very lively and vibrant atmosphere. The rooms are quaint and clean and the beds are super soft. A very decorative hostel. The staff is very hospitable and all services are free -- internet, towels, showers, etc.

Disliked: They don't sell Hawai...only Fanta and Coca-Cola.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremy Poyser

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2010 Jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Friendly staff. Loads of cool people to meet there. Generally a very laid back cool place that I would definitely return to.

Disliked: I put some laundry in and it came back without missing a pair of socks. My advice is to confirm the number of items with the person you leave it with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is great, nice people, great place to meet variety of people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaime King

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2010 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: This is in such a neat area and perfect location. The property itself is nicely maintained and the staff very helpful. And, for the price...cannot be beat!

Disliked: Jaime left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing