We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pension Souika

Hostel | Hay Souika Drb Kadi alami, Chefchaouen, Morocco 91000

80.6% Overall Rating

152 out of 169 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2015)

"The hostel itself was very good, but the atmosphere was more of people smoking hash rather than other things. Not my cup of tea"

Read all Pension Souika reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chefchaouen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chefchaouen

Hotel Tarek
22.35 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baraka
11.92 USD

Hotel 89.9% 204 reviews
Dar Onsar
10,925.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar el Moualim
16.89 USD

Apartment 72.0% 5 reviews
John's Guesthouse
65.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
résidence hoteliér chez aziz
29.80 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
casa annasr
16.89 USD

Hotel 94.3% 9 reviews
pension mauritania
6.95 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

152 out of 169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pension Souika'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
80.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 164 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The wifi and the roof top both spectacular

Disliked: The night time worker isn't very helpful, and pretty mean. All other staff is super accommodating and lovely

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well located, good atmosphere, possibility to watch football matches

Disliked: a bit noisy in night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean. At this price it is a great place. would stay here again

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matteo menapace

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 matteo would recommend this property

Liked: A very good Hostel located very well with a very beautiful terrasse

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Inna Kuk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Inna would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for a few nights and the guys who work here are so helpful and so nice! In the evenings there they were making some music and it was really chilled out and a nice place to meet other travellers. Plus hot showers!!

Disliked: Inna left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location, nice view from the terrace, breakfast was decent

Disliked: A little bit difficult to find, cold, bathrooms could be improved, lockers were difficult to figure out and we didn't end up using ours. One girl had to switch beds because the ceiling above hers was peeling and bits had dropped all over her original.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012

Liked: It was cheap and in the heart of the Medina.

Disliked: Bathrooms: The toilet seats were constantly wet (they claim it was "clean water") and the showers didn't have hot water. Toilet paper was nowhere to be found. Rooms: Blankets were smelly. Staff: Unfriendly, they claimed to offer maps and advice, but offered none. I asked them to change my blankets, but they didn't do it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012

Liked: Price

Disliked: The hostel owner offered us to book bus tickets for us, which he did, but unfortunately for the wrong time. The guy from the bus company later told us that he said to him several times that the time we wished wasn't available anymore. He ignored it and told us he booked the time for us anyway- very disappointing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Louise McStravick

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and accommodating, we booked in the wrong dates- the hotel was fully booked so they arranged for us to sleep on the roof which was lovely- they then got us a room the next day. We intended to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying for four. Met a lot of really nice people from all over the world.... The roof terrace also has an amazing view, when it was too hot to go anywhere we could just chill up there and take in the scenery.... The food was also nice- i recommend the kefta baguette!! All in all very enjoyable.

Disliked: The only complaint was that we did not have a fan in our room, we stayed in August so it was hooooot.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

david polak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

25 September 2012

Liked: Cheap and easy access

Disliked: The room was not cleaned behore our arrival although we had reserved the room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La habitación privada está muy bien calidad-precio

Disliked: La habitación privada no tenía cortinas y entraba un sol desde las seis de la mañana que.... El cuarto de baño deja un poco que desear, demasiados clientes, pocos baños, sólo un servicio y una ducha por planta.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012

Liked: It's an alright value, but I reccomend staying next door. The food offered on the menu was decent. The people I met here were lovely, but that says nothing about the hostel.

Disliked: No toilet paper EVER. They told me I should just take a roll and keep it on me because they refuse to stock the bathrooms. The atmosphere is like hanging out in someones family living room, but they are nice enough to offer advice about the city. However, that means they aren't attentive, talk loudly/\argue with each other when people are downstairs trying to enjoy their meals. They need more than one working shower for all the people the house. Super hard to find and directions are terrible. Not secure at all, Where are your supposed free lockers? You get what you pay for I guess. Cheap is cheap.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012

Liked: great location

Disliked: Noisy and not very clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A place to meet other travelers and is cheap.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012

Liked: Near the main square of the Medina, also a lot of backpackers stayed there and there were dorm rooms so it was easy to meet people. Also it was pretty cheap for a twin room. Free towels. Nice terrace but it had no lighting at night.

Disliked: Really hard to find - the directions provided were terrible. Staff were unhelpful and not very nice. Never had toilet paper in the toilets, everyone constantly had to ask for it. No breakfast. Rooms didn't get cleaned or made up. Street below was very noisy at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really well located. Amazing roof terrace. Nice moroccan stuff. Flat screen in the main living room. We could watch CL! Relatively good food, not too expensive.

Disliked: A lot of the stuffs friends and family were around. Didnt really feel like in a hostel. BUt all people really nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, nice staff, a very pleasant stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ellen Hermann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: Loved Chefchouen, and this was pretty much the main backpacker spot.

Disliked: Some of the bathrooms/showers were oddly shaped.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Doering

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2012 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel in the medina. Nice view from the terrace and helpful staff!

Disliked: Showers were cold and a liitle bit messy...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and beds in private rooms were very nice. Staff was helpful about places to go and things to do. Also, there's no curfew!

Disliked: Not much to dislike, although I would have liked to have toilet paper changed more regularly in bathrooms. Definitely plan to bring your own!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, good location.

Disliked: a litle noisy and lots of people smoking hash, which is not too much of a surprise given the location.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tze Wei Sim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012

Liked: cheap

Disliked: one of the staff was a bit rude and unfriendly. the kitchen is closed at night. i just needed some hot water to make a cup of Milo in the cold night but my request was turned down in a rude way. the guy at the reception said "don't you see the kitchen is closed?"

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Eric Whitlock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012

Liked: Cool hang out areas Good people Tapas near-by Staff

Disliked: The noise was horrendous. I usually dont compain about a bit of noise in a hostel, but this was outrageous. Its not that there were jerk offs staying there as much as it was a terrible design for dorms in a hostel. All the cramped dorms, which have "half walls" seperating them, are along a hallway near stairs and the only bathroom. You can visualize the noise at night and especially in the morning. This is only amplified by the fact that everyone who goes to granada at some point gets up super early to get in line for the alhambra. I went for a trip european trip for 4 months and this was by far the noisiest hostel and i was sleep deprived after 3 nights here. If u stay here, stay in the private rooms. I thought Alhambra was overrated. Staff was awesome! Went on some hostel tours with a free beer and tapas are great near-by.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Campos Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: Ótima localizacao. Me surpreendeu, esperava menos pelo preco que paguei. Melhor opcao para quem quer gastar pouco.

Disliked: Falta pia em um dos banheiros.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

estivaliz gutierrez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 estivaliz would recommend this property

Liked: everything was fine in there, the workers, rooms, terrace...

Disliked: when we were in there have not a variety for breakfast but, even with this, they try to help us.