We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Pension Souika

Hostel | Hay Souika Drb Kadi alami, Chefchaouen, Morocco 91000

82.5% Overall Rating

144 out of 159 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

Thomas Lindsay thinks…

"Lovely pension right next to the main square. Staff are helpful with any requests / question. The terrace upstairs offers a great place to relax and look over the town."

Read all Pension Souika reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chefchaouen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chefchaouen

Hotel Tarek
25.52 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baraka
9.07 USD

Hotel 92.3% 193 reviews
Dar Onsar
10.21 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar el Moualim
19.85 USD

Apartment 72.0% 5 reviews
John's Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
résidence hoteliér chez aziz
34.03 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
casa annasr
22.68 USD

Hotel 94.6% 8 reviews
pension mauritania
7.94 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 54 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

144 out of 159 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pension Souika'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
84.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 126 of 154 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Louise McStravick

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and accommodating, we booked in the wrong dates- the hotel was fully booked so they arranged for us to sleep on the roof which was lovely- they then got us a room the next day. We intended to stay for 2 nights and ended up staying for four. Met a lot of really nice people from all over the world.... The roof terrace also has an amazing view, when it was too hot to go anywhere we could just chill up there and take in the scenery.... The food was also nice- i recommend the kefta baguette!! All in all very enjoyable.

Disliked: The only complaint was that we did not have a fan in our room, we stayed in August so it was hooooot.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

david polak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

25 September 2012

Liked: Cheap and easy access

Disliked: The room was not cleaned behore our arrival although we had reserved the room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La habitación privada está muy bien calidad-precio

Disliked: La habitación privada no tenía cortinas y entraba un sol desde las seis de la mañana que.... El cuarto de baño deja un poco que desear, demasiados clientes, pocos baños, sólo un servicio y una ducha por planta.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012

Liked: It's an alright value, but I reccomend staying next door. The food offered on the menu was decent. The people I met here were lovely, but that says nothing about the hostel.

Disliked: No toilet paper EVER. They told me I should just take a roll and keep it on me because they refuse to stock the bathrooms. The atmosphere is like hanging out in someones family living room, but they are nice enough to offer advice about the city. However, that means they aren't attentive, talk loudly/\argue with each other when people are downstairs trying to enjoy their meals. They need more than one working shower for all the people the house. Super hard to find and directions are terrible. Not secure at all, Where are your supposed free lockers? You get what you pay for I guess. Cheap is cheap.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2012

Liked: great location

Disliked: Noisy and not very clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A place to meet other travelers and is cheap.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012

Liked: Near the main square of the Medina, also a lot of backpackers stayed there and there were dorm rooms so it was easy to meet people. Also it was pretty cheap for a twin room. Free towels. Nice terrace but it had no lighting at night.

Disliked: Really hard to find - the directions provided were terrible. Staff were unhelpful and not very nice. Never had toilet paper in the toilets, everyone constantly had to ask for it. No breakfast. Rooms didn't get cleaned or made up. Street below was very noisy at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really well located. Amazing roof terrace. Nice moroccan stuff. Flat screen in the main living room. We could watch CL! Relatively good food, not too expensive.

Disliked: A lot of the stuffs friends and family were around. Didnt really feel like in a hostel. BUt all people really nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, nice staff, a very pleasant stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ellen Hermann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: Loved Chefchouen, and this was pretty much the main backpacker spot.

Disliked: Some of the bathrooms/showers were oddly shaped.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Doering

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2012 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel in the medina. Nice view from the terrace and helpful staff!

Disliked: Showers were cold and a liitle bit messy...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and beds in private rooms were very nice. Staff was helpful about places to go and things to do. Also, there's no curfew!

Disliked: Not much to dislike, although I would have liked to have toilet paper changed more regularly in bathrooms. Definitely plan to bring your own!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value, good location.

Disliked: a litle noisy and lots of people smoking hash, which is not too much of a surprise given the location.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tze Wei Sim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012

Liked: cheap

Disliked: one of the staff was a bit rude and unfriendly. the kitchen is closed at night. i just needed some hot water to make a cup of Milo in the cold night but my request was turned down in a rude way. the guy at the reception said "don't you see the kitchen is closed?"

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Eric Whitlock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012

Liked: Cool hang out areas Good people Tapas near-by Staff

Disliked: The noise was horrendous. I usually dont compain about a bit of noise in a hostel, but this was outrageous. Its not that there were jerk offs staying there as much as it was a terrible design for dorms in a hostel. All the cramped dorms, which have "half walls" seperating them, are along a hallway near stairs and the only bathroom. You can visualize the noise at night and especially in the morning. This is only amplified by the fact that everyone who goes to granada at some point gets up super early to get in line for the alhambra. I went for a trip european trip for 4 months and this was by far the noisiest hostel and i was sleep deprived after 3 nights here. If u stay here, stay in the private rooms. I thought Alhambra was overrated. Staff was awesome! Went on some hostel tours with a free beer and tapas are great near-by.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Campos Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2012 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: Ótima localizacao. Me surpreendeu, esperava menos pelo preco que paguei. Melhor opcao para quem quer gastar pouco.

Disliked: Falta pia em um dos banheiros.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

estivaliz gutierrez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 estivaliz would recommend this property

Liked: everything was fine in there, the workers, rooms, terrace...

Disliked: when we were in there have not a variety for breakfast but, even with this, they try to help us.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Irit Pollak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2011

Liked: There was no toilet paper or soap in the bathrooms and cigarette holes in the bed sheets. I guess you get what you pay for.

Disliked: Cleanliness

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Megan Gilkes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: We got a 4 bed room for price of 3 (inc. double bed!)

Disliked: Very un sociable

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, they were very helpful and accommodating. The location is great and the roof terrace is really nice.

Disliked: I wish the breakfast was more than just bread with jam, but it was good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bojan Graovac

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 October 2011 Bojan would recommend this property

Liked: stuff, terrace

Disliked: bathroom

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Robert Schrader

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011

Liked: Very few things.

Disliked: .Most of staff unfriendly, most guests dirty hippies.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lina Verseckaite

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 September 2011 Lina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely amazing.

Disliked: People quite noisy in the lounge later in the evening.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere and a great crowd of people. Just the sort of thing we were looking for and very good value. Intended to stay one night but left after five! Would reccomend for anyone looking for a social and relaxing atmosphere with great views and short walking distance to everything.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Hale

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: This was my 4th time, and it's always a pleasure to stay there.

Disliked: Need better table lamps in the rooms.