HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Dar Scotlandee

Guesthouse | Terry Gordon, Rif-For-Anyone, PO Box 288 Chefchaouen, Morocco 91000

91.4% Overall Rating

43 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2013)

Hrvoje Bubalo thinks…

"Great place with great atmosphere that makes you feel like in your own home and special thanks for that goes to Terry Susane an Liam:) View from the terrace is stunning. Delicious breakfast and…"

Read all Dar Scotlandee reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chefchaouen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chefchaouen

Chams Hotel
20.29 USD

Guesthouse 76.2% 9 reviews
Dar Onsar
16.12 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Tarek
26.87 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Pension Souika
8.36 USD

Hostel 83.5% 158 reviews
John's Guesthouse
81.16 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Dar el Moualim
20.90 USD

Apartment 72.0% 5 reviews
Riad Baraka
10.75 USD

Hotel 93.5% 186 reviews
casa annasr
23.88 USD

Hotel 94.3% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.4%

Overall Rating

43 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Scotlandee'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice view and quiet. Clean and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hrvoje Bubalo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2013 Hrvoje would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with great atmosphere that makes you feel like in your own home and special thanks for that goes to Terry Susane an Liam:) View from the terrace is stunning. Delicious breakfast and room for chiling and enjoying and meeting other travelers:) Next time in Chaouen we gonna definitely book a room at Casa Scotlandia. Once again thank you everything guys, you really know how to run a hostel:)

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice hostel with friendly owners.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the city center, but it was ok to walk more to discover the city.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very laid back, very spacious. Great common areas. They'll do your laundry for an 80 DH fee per load (totally worth it when you've been travelling for a month... my friend and I split a load), and make you breakfast for a fee. The family is very familiar with the town, and the son of the owners helped us find some good places to go.

Disliked: We got hot shower water pretty infrequently... Also, with our rooms being on the first floor, we could hear people walking right outside our windows, which made me a bit uncomfortable. Also next time around I would probably stay in the medina, so I wouldn't have to worry about walking up and down the hill.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sabrina brackx

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 August 2012 sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: great people owning the place, they have the heart on the right place and try to make your stay as pleasant as possible!! we felt at home immediately!! we will be back!!

Disliked: sabrina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Cox

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Really great guys running it. Never felt so at home in a hostel before. Really nice chatting and learning about the local area . Good music and company but for an even better stay take them some Chocolate!

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Beswick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Terry, Suzanne and Liam, who run the hostel are extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfasts that they provide are excellent and the hostel is great value for money. We had a great time staying there, and would definitely recommend it to anybody else who is visiting Chefchaouen.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners Suzanne, Terry and Liam go out of their way to help you and are very welcoming. Liam will show you around if you wish and breakfast is good (but at an additional cost). They let you sit with them in the evening and will order food and beer in if you want. The views are awesome as you are surrounded by mountains and countryside.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything but it is a fair walk to town so be prepared for this, also a bit cold on days when the sun isn't out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rif-for-anyone was a great place to stay with excellent rooms and very friendly owners who were prepared to give their time to make an excellent stay. A big thanks to Terry, Susanne and Liam..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IOANNIS MANTHOS

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 September 2011 IOANNIS would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in a very nice place up on a hill overlooking the town. it is ideal for relaxing and chilling out especially on the terrace . Terry and Susan are very friendly , very hospitable and they make you feel like a guest in their home. During our stay we got sick and they did their best to help us! Also their son Liam guided us to the akchur gorge which is an amazing walk through the river. Chefchaouen is a lovely place and staying at Rif for Anyone makes the stay in the town unforgetable!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it felt like staying at a friends house. The family was very friendly and welcoming, and the breakfasts were great.

Disliked: it is not in the medina, but it is a short walk. Still recommend this place

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nathan Bennett

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

14 September 2010 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great family run place, ultra friendly and knowledgeable about Chefchaouen and Morocco in general.Chilled out atmosphere, smoking and drinking with the owners Terry and Suzanne and their young son Liam (who also is a great guide for your treks out) and other guests into the night.Tasty omelettes served up for breakfast by Suzanne when you eventually get out of your stupourIt was a great introduction for our first nights in Morocco and we reluctantly left a day later than planned but with smiley faces.

Disliked: The hostel is a bit of a hike up the hill but 15dirhams will get you a taxi back to the door, this does mean it's quiet during the night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hosts, view from terrace

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is run by a super friendly and helpful Scottish couple who will cook you up a nice delicious breakfast in the morning!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and friendly owners.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chami Herath

26 November 2009 Chami would recommend this property

Liked: Great place with awesome views of the town and an army of friendly cats. :) It is about a 10 min walk from the Medina and bus station. Terry will pick you up and drop you if you call him up.

Disliked: Chami left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brynja Baumann

26 November 2009 Brynja would recommend this property

Liked: the best is the gorgeous terrasse; particularly when it's time for omlettes and tea in the morning. And the owners Terry and Susanne, their son Liam and their help Tamar do everything to make your stay enjoyable. Including tipps of what to do and where to go as well as cooking meals. Tamar's couscous was probably the best we had all holiday.

Disliked: Brynja left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Terry and Susan were helpful and friendly. Great terrace to hang out on and view the valley and the stars. However if you have allergies to cats or dogs, best to book another place as there are several cats and a large dog underfoot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Terry and Suzanne were extremely welcoming and helpful. Terry immediately jumped in his car to pick us when we called from the bus station. which was great since we had back packs and their guesthouse is a bit of a walk up hill. They are a very friendly, helpful and laid back couple and we had a lot of laughs chatting with them on their fantastic terrace. What a view!!! Their house keeper Tama was so sweet as well as a great cook. Thank you LIam for your table service. Najib was great as our paid guide at Akchour Gorge.His services included a delicious cooked tagine at the gorge. The gorge is a not to be missed spot!! Thank you Terry and Suzanne, Tama and Najib and Liam. Cheerio!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely place to stay... the town is beautiful and a must see place in morocco...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at this guesthouse with my boyfriend and his cousin for 3 nights and we could not recommend it more. If you are visiting Chefchaouen, this is the place to stay. Terry greeted us incredibly warmly at the door and got us settled in right away. The room was very clean (even for me, and I am pretty critical when it comes to the cleanliness of hostels) and so was the bathroom. Terry offered us tea and coffee right away and even drove us to his favorite sandwhich shop when we mentioned we were hungry for dinner! Suzanne, Terry's wife, is amazing as well. Incredibly friendly and charming, she was always to chat or help us figure out something fun to do!Liam , Terry and Suzanne's son, was incredibly helpful as well. He took us to some amazing places the 2 days that we adventured around Chefchaouen and we had an absolute blast. He is hands down the best tour guide there! If you stay here, ask him to take you to the Gorge - it is hands down one of the most beautiful places you will ever see, and Liam is the perfect person to show you around it!One of our favorite parts was the breakfast (included in the price) and dinner that is served every night if requested (although dinner was not included in the price, it was at a very reasonable price). The breakfast was a perfect way to get the day started and the dinner was AMAZING! Truly authentic Moroccon food that we heard from many people was some of the best in town. Terry, Suzanne and Liam made us feel more welcome than we could have ever hoped for and were extremely helpful. Rif-For-Anyone Guesthouse was the best hostel we found over our 3 month travel through Europe and Morocco. Overall, we couldn't recommend it more!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Rose Holloway

22 April 2009 Hannah Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Terry and his family were very welcoming and even serenaded us with some classic rock tunes!

Disliked: Hannah Rose left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

WAN JUN NG

03 December 2008 WAN JUN would recommend this property

Liked: Terry was extremely helpful & kind by fetching us from bus station during midnight and suggesting ways to see the medina.

Disliked: WAN JUN left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Ross

28 November 2008 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: The owners - Terry and Suzanne - were awesome, and and in-house dinner was offered every night: awesome food at a reasonable price.

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Hayden Owen

06 November 2008 Hayden would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly place. Wonderful owners from Scotland. While location is about 15-20 min from Medina and fairly far from bus station, Terry the owner is more than willing to pick you up when you arrive.

Disliked: Hayden left no negative feedback.