HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kotor hostels

Reviews of Montenegro Hostel 4 U

Hostel | Dobrota Donji put bb, Kotor, Kotor, Montenegro 85339

88.9% Overall Rating

38 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

"This hostel was great, we were travelling as a couple, and the guys were very accommodating, we booked night by night and they had rooms every night. Boban wanted us to come out with him everynight, but we were just too…"

Read all Montenegro Hostel 4 U reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kotor?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kotor

Montenegro Hostel (Rooms & Tours)-Kotor
14.77 USD

Hostel 93.3% 243 reviews
Hostel Centrum
16.11 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Youth Hostel Spasic-Masera Kotor
10.74 USD

Hostel 61.3% 73 reviews
Old Town Hostel East Wing
14.77 USD

Hostel 93.7% 194 reviews
Adriatic Guest House
17.45 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

38 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Montenegro Hostel 4 U'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ivan Fairhall

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

28 July 2014

Liked: Location is amazing. The hostel has a lot of potential. There is a swimming beach directly opposite.

Disliked: The bathroom assigned to our room was completely full of washing the entire time. Toilet paper ran out 5 times in the course of a 2 night stay. People made a massive mess at lunch and no one cleaned it up (or asked the perpetrators to do so) until the following morning when the only cleaner arrived. No hot water at times. The bin and the fridge in the kitchen are hopelessly undersized and poorly managed. No one took our money in any sort of check out process, and we had to organise correct cash change to leave behind in good faith. We were so disappointed with this hostel as it has amazing potential, and it's criticisms are so easy to address. Fundamentally, it felt like the hostel wasnt being run by anyone who actually cared about its success.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikyla Horne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Mikyla would recommend this property

Liked: Had a good atmosphere, location was super close to beach and old town.

Disliked: The guys running the place were a bit unorganised.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's not far from the old city and has a nice small beach near it. Staff is very nice. It can be a bit far if you're walking with heavy stuff from the bus station, but they can get you there if you ask them.

Disliked: I was unlucky to arrive when a group of teenagers arrived. It's a bit of a party hostel sometimes I guess. But it's good anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernardo Cavassin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Bernardo would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean, confortable, had a lot of facilitties, close to the center, had free parking just beside the hostel, had kitchen, and the staff was great!! And was also really cheap!!! What I most liked was the staff, they were really helpfull with everything, and they went with us to a city PubCraw, they told us a lot of stuff about the culture and history of the country, i really had a great time with them! And at the end of our stay, they told us a lot of things to do in other places near the city!

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne white

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location right on the waters edge. Clean and spacious rooms, having your own kitchen and bathroom in a dorm is quality. Great friendly and helpful staff who go above and beyond to make guests welcome. Had some amazing nights out in town with them and other guests. Will definitely stay again.

Disliked: Suzanne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcal Oliveras

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Marcal would recommend this property

Liked: I did the reservation for 1 day, but I finally stayed there for 3 nights! Staying in Montenegro Hostel 4U is like staying at your friends house. The views of the fjord are amazing and you just have to cross the street to get into the water.

Disliked: Marcal left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Marchese

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2014 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: I had an awesome time at Montenegro Hostel 4 U. It's a great location, with the Old Town within easy walking distanc

Disliked: I had an awesome time staying with Montenegro Hostel 4 U. The location was sweet, there are groceries close, and it's right across from the water. The best part was the service. Boban, the manager, was always there to ask for help or if I had an questions. He set up Pub Crawls and a boat ride to the islands. He also helped me rent a car. We cooked at the place and enjoyed some drinks. Great atmosphere and a lot of fun. Thanks. Boban, you're the man!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott talan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Just as advertised the location was amazing. Can see fjord right out window and in less than a minute on beach and water. Old town is a lovely short walk from hostel. If you away from old town direction so nice an area with restaurants (with more locals than tourists) right along the water . Very relaxed and chill. Staff made life easy. The main staff person Boban picked me up at airport so I wouldnt get ripped off by taxis. He offered several excursion and day trip ideas. Boban had World Cup on commom room TV and even cooked me soup and a meal ! Glad i stayed and would come back.

Disliked: scott left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Martinez Fernandez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was perfectly located, you will enjoy of amazing views. But the most important thing is the good vibes that you can find in this hostel. the manager boban was incredible with us, he recommended to us good places to visit, and also he prepared some surprises during our staying. to sum up, it is a place where you will feel like home.

Disliked: nothing! it was the best hostel in our trip.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Curtis Mills

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 June 2014 Curtis would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, well kept, across the road from the beach and close to restaurants. Lovely surrounds!

Disliked: Curtis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina González Calderón

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best Hotel I've ever been. The location is more than perfect, really close to the sea. Nice views of mountains and of all Bay of Kotor. His Manager, Boban, is the biggest person in all Montenegro. He was very nice to us, and he made feel us like we are at home. He took us to pub crawl and parties on the beach. So i would recommend this Hostel to anyone because you will have a great time and unforgotable experience.

Disliked: All was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james matley

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

05 June 2014 james would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff bending over backwards to make my stay as excellent as possible. I can't wate to stay here agian.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Lidiak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, friendly staff and all round quality place to stay.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heidi Oliver

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2014 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: It was right near the Old Town Kotor and it was very nice.

Disliked: Heidi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joeri Smit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2014 Joeri would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The location is very good in my opinion; it's just outside the busy old town (5min walk). If it's good weather you can enjoy the beach that's just right in front of the hostel! There is a spacious common room with a huge tv and 2 computers for use for the guests. And you get this all for the best price; there is no cheaper one in town! If you want to go out and drinking then the staff can bring you to the pub crawl where you can have loads of fun!

Disliked: Nothing I disliked.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's literally a few steps from the beach! Also close to the center (ok, it's a small town, anyway).

Disliked: can't remember anything bad

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay! I would recommend it :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: L'auberge est à 15 minutes à pieds de la gare, 10 minutes du centre ville et juste en face de la plage. Malgré un souci dans notre réservation, le personnel a tenté de nous trouvé un lit et nous n'avons pas payé notre séjour. La salle commune est grande, les lieux sont propres.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air con in the room!

Disliked: Little dirty in places, not enough toilets or bathrooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fine just to sleep in for a night, there were lockers there which are big enough for a backpack. The location is nice, a short walk from the entrance to the old town and a few metres from the beach.

Disliked: I don't think the "10 min walk from the bus station" is quite accurate. It would be very helpful if they had maps for distribution there, I've never been to a hostel that didn't have maps. The main thing though was that the dorm was very small with no light or ventilation and it was very very hot in the room. There is also a single bathroom between everyone, so leave plenty of time before you need to leave for waiting in line.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location- straight across from a swimming beach and minutes walk into town.

Disliked: Bathroom was falling apart in first room I stayed in, but the second bathroom was better.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcin Gorzelnik

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: it is a great hostel i think one of thee best or not the best i ever been its located in a great old house from mediaeval times the hosts are great and very helpfull and hostel itself looks great inside not like a hostel but like apartment everytthing is new smart and clean it is one of two best hostels i ever stayed

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce hostel with a really good location. The staff was quite friendly. Good atmosphere of students.

Disliked: We stayed in a room with things of other people who were not there at that moment. Small bathroom for 9 people.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michelle Kinch

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Walk outside, and you're at the "beach." It's quieter than being in the Old Town, and food is more reasonably priced.

Disliked: It's a bit of a walk from the bus station, but it's not bad.


See all Kotor hostels