We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kotor hostels

Reviews of Montenegro Hostel 4 U

Hostel | Dobrota Donji put bb, Kotor, Kotor, Montenegro 85339

92.6% Overall Rating

61 out of 70 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/06/2015)

Lars Heuts thinks…

"Had a great time over there! Very nice location and very friendly staff (especially Boban and Marco)! I really can recommend this hostel to everyone!"

Read all Montenegro Hostel 4 U reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kotor?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kotor

Montenegro Hostel (Rooms & Tours)-Kotor
12.15 USD

Hostel 91.5% 251 reviews
Hostel Centrum
9.94 USD

Hostel 87.5% 16 reviews
Youth Hostel Spasic-Masera Kotor
8.84 USD

Hostel 62.6% 79 reviews
Old Town Hostel East Wing
12.15 USD

Hostel 95.8% 218 reviews
Adriatic Guest House
14.36 USD

Guesthouse 84.3% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

61 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Montenegro Hostel 4 U'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 59 of 67 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lars Heuts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time over there! Very nice location and very friendly staff (especially Boban and Marco)! I really can recommend this hostel to everyone!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikael Johansson

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2015 Mikael would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel in a great location that invites meeting new people. The staff organises different activities for the guests each day which made it very easy to become a part of the group.

Disliked: Mikael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great views to the seaside from the windows, right in front of the beach! A lot of activities organized, and friendly atmosphere to meet other travelers. The manager Boban is a lot of fun, he will help you in everything and show you the nightlife in Kotor for sure!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Noel Mederos Llanos

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2015 Noel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect! Amazing views, really beautifull city. And a perfect thing is that you are next to the see. But the best thing there is the people. Great host.

Disliked: I dislike to don't have more days to spend there

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

montserrat gabaldon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2015 montserrat would recommend this property

Liked: The location is incredible and good view. The staff is very nice make you feel like a family. Very clean place and good rooms. They organize parties every day with the guests, in the hostel and around the city. Would recommend to everybody come here and have great time.

Disliked: Everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keri VanDeventer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 May 2015 Keri would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this Hostel!!!! LOVED IT!!!!!!! Boban and everyone working at the hostel are so friendly and welcoming. They immediately bring you into their hostel family and make you feel right at home!!! They go out of their way to make your experience in Montenegro everything you want it to be! They are located right on the water front. You can see the water right from your bedroom window!! Best hostel!!!! Don't miss out on the fun that you are guaranteed to have here!!! I didn't want to leave this place!

Disliked: Keri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in Montenegro!! It's right on the bay, so you get a beautiful view of the water and the mountains. Boban and everyone are very hospitable and make sure you have the best time in Kotor. You will have a great time if you stay here. The hostel is also very clean and the showers are very hot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kane Mathers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Kane would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Great location. Had a great time partying with Boban "The Unit", Arty, Middi and Marco "The Big Uniiiit". Just all round top blokes. Nat's as cute as a button as well ;) Best place I've stayed. Top Place. Top lads. Hooroo, Kaneo and Robbo.

Disliked: Kane left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I can highly recommend this place. Staff is amazing and bbq evenings are heaps of fun. The place to stay in Kotor. Thanks Boban and Arsen!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you will feel like home in 4u hostel!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2014

Liked: The property is in a nice location down on the beach in Kotor. Its a short hike from the bus station past the old town. The place has potential

Disliked: I booked a 4 bed room, it had another 4 bed room that could only be accessed through my room, so really its an 8 bedroom. The air-con was in the other room, so my room was not air-conditioned at all once the door was shut. It was hot. The bunk beds squeaked endlessly if someone was in the top bunk. There was no key to the room, and people from other parts of the hostel would regularly come into the room when drunk and use the toilet. The shower and room was filthy dirty, and I regularly had to search through cupboards in the hall for toilet paper as I couldn't find any staff and it wasn't restocked each day. Apparently they had fired the cleaner a few days prior... The office is supposed to be opened from 9am-12pm, but there is never anyone in there. The wifi was pretty ordinary too, constantly dropping out. Finally at 3am in the morning, two staff came into the room, drunk, and demanded two girls in the attached room pay for their night of accommodation. This kept me up all night, and is frankly unacceptable on a number of levels.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

iulia iuga

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014

Liked: Good location on the beach, comfortable bed. Nice kitchen/lounge area and courtyard.

Disliked: Probably suitable for a different type of traveler, didn't enjoy the loud music playing till late hours in the night, would have rather had a good night sleep. Probably ideal for travelers who are looking for a party. Not enough bathrooms and the cleaning is not done often enough. Not the most welcoming staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Armstrong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was amazing i was supposed to stay for one night, managed to stay a week and then come back again! Bobban and Arsen were amazing hosts they made everyone get involved and have a great time! The location was perfect if you're hungover you walk out the front and there is the beach. Would recommend 100%!!

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was supposed to spend only one night in this hostel but I finally spent 3 more nights. There is a very friendly and positive atmosphere, thank's to the staff who organize a lot of activities. I would definitely come back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Volpi

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: 10m from the beach and ten minutes from city center. All inside worked decently so all was good. They also organize tours and game(when I was there they played beer pong) but I stayed only one night and I only needed a shower and a bed. Parking available on the street

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Hine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place. Perfect location right in the beach. The staff are very helpful and create a very positive and fun environment. Everything clean and tidy. Great place.

Disliked: You will stay longer than you intened. One more night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Yancey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The brothers that run this place are awesome. The hostel has great facilities and is right on the beach. I would definitely recommend to other travelers. I will b back.

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: - Staff are inexperienced they said they are fully booked when clearly we booked online with booking reference number. - Triple room mountain view there was no mountain view false advertising - Private Bathroom included in the triple private was not another false advertising it's actually shared bathroom. I would not return to this hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter McGee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

15 August 2014

Liked: The hosts are amazing, Boban and Arsen made me feel right at home. They went out of their way to make my stay and everyone's as smooth as possible. So much so that after I left to travel around Montenegro, I came back and was welcomed with open arms. The hostel is right on a beach, and for Montenegro, at this time of year, it's incredibly special. You can rent boats/bikes/kayaks, etc, and there is no hassle. They arrange rafting and other tours as well. The rooms have wifi, aircon, and for the most part private kitchens (at least your own fridge). But there are several common areas and the atmosphere is usually fantastic. Forget Budva, it sucks. The rest of the coast (during summer) is a shit show. Kotor has history, boats, and here you have your own beach. As far as hostels go, it's hard to beat this one.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sandra Hagoort

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very nice! The staff of the hostel organises activities. There is a nice common room and also outside is a nice place to chill out. The place is close to the old town and about 15/20 minutes walk to the main bus station

Disliked: Staff is not really paying attention to who walks in and out of the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Hertzberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel- especially the staff. Boban and Arsen were incredible. On one day, me and another guest were sick, and Boban volunteered to drive us both to see an English speaking doctor. He then took us to the pharmacy, and back to the hostel. A good example of how welcoming the staff are. Really recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Moulds

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Clean comfy rooms. Staff were so helpful. Boban the manager organised drinking games on our first night as the weather wasn't great and a boat tour and a BBQ on the second night. Really fun place to stay. I would definitely recommend it!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great, we were travelling as a couple, and the guys were very accommodating, we booked night by night and they had rooms every night. Boban wanted us to come out with him everynight, but we were just too tired from the day to party the night away. Very friendly and they have lots of activities to try out if you are bored!

Disliked: The towels are hand sized, and not all of the rooms have air-con, so you should specifically ask for one if thats what your after. Washing your clothes is a bit pricey, 6 euro, but I guess if you are a desperate traveller you might need that.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ivan Fairhall

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

28 July 2014

Liked: Location is amazing. The hostel has a lot of potential. There is a swimming beach directly opposite.

Disliked: The bathroom assigned to our room was completely full of washing the entire time. Toilet paper ran out 5 times in the course of a 2 night stay. People made a massive mess at lunch and no one cleaned it up (or asked the perpetrators to do so) until the following morning when the only cleaner arrived. No hot water at times. The bin and the fridge in the kitchen are hopelessly undersized and poorly managed. No one took our money in any sort of check out process, and we had to organise correct cash change to leave behind in good faith. We were so disappointed with this hostel as it has amazing potential, and it's criticisms are so easy to address. Fundamentally, it felt like the hostel wasnt being run by anyone who actually cared about its success.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikyla Horne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Mikyla would recommend this property

Liked: Had a good atmosphere, location was super close to beach and old town.

Disliked: The guys running the place were a bit unorganised.


See all Kotor hostels