HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kotor hostels

Reviews of Montenegro Hostel 4 U

Hostel | Dobrota Donji put bb, Kotor, Kotor, Montenegro 85339

92.5% Overall Rating

49 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

"I was supposed to spend only one night in this hostel but I finally spent 3 more nights. There is a very friendly and positive atmosphere, thank's to the staff who organize a lot of activities. I would definitely come…"

Read all Montenegro Hostel 4 U reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kotor?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kotor

Montenegro Hostel (Rooms & Tours)-Kotor
14.51 USD

Hostel 93.3% 247 reviews
Hostel Centrum
11.87 USD

Hostel 85.3% 7 reviews
Youth Hostel Spasic-Masera Kotor
10.55 USD

Hostel 62.3% 75 reviews
Old Town Hostel East Wing
14.51 USD

Hostel 92.3% 200 reviews
Adriatic Guest House
17.15 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.5%

Overall Rating

49 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Montenegro Hostel 4 U'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 54 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was supposed to spend only one night in this hostel but I finally spent 3 more nights. There is a very friendly and positive atmosphere, thank's to the staff who organize a lot of activities. I would definitely come back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Volpi

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2014 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: 10m from the beach and ten minutes from city center. All inside worked decently so all was good. They also organize tours and game(when I was there they played beer pong) but I stayed only one night and I only needed a shower and a bed. Parking available on the street

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Hine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place. Perfect location right in the beach. The staff are very helpful and create a very positive and fun environment. Everything clean and tidy. Great place.

Disliked: You will stay longer than you intened. One more night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Yancey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2014 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: The brothers that run this place are awesome. The hostel has great facilities and is right on the beach. I would definitely recommend to other travelers. I will b back.

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: - Staff are inexperienced they said they are fully booked when clearly we booked online with booking reference number. - Triple room mountain view there was no mountain view false advertising - Private Bathroom included in the triple private was not another false advertising it's actually shared bathroom. I would not return to this hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter McGee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference

15 August 2014

Liked: The hosts are amazing, Boban and Arsen made me feel right at home. They went out of their way to make my stay and everyone's as smooth as possible. So much so that after I left to travel around Montenegro, I came back and was welcomed with open arms. The hostel is right on a beach, and for Montenegro, at this time of year, it's incredibly special. You can rent boats/bikes/kayaks, etc, and there is no hassle. They arrange rafting and other tours as well. The rooms have wifi, aircon, and for the most part private kitchens (at least your own fridge). But there are several common areas and the atmosphere is usually fantastic. Forget Budva, it sucks. The rest of the coast (during summer) is a shit show. Kotor has history, boats, and here you have your own beach. As far as hostels go, it's hard to beat this one.

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sandra Hagoort

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is very nice! The staff of the hostel organises activities. There is a nice common room and also outside is a nice place to chill out. The place is close to the old town and about 15/20 minutes walk to the main bus station

Disliked: Staff is not really paying attention to who walks in and out of the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Hertzberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel- especially the staff. Boban and Arsen were incredible. On one day, me and another guest were sick, and Boban volunteered to drive us both to see an English speaking doctor. He then took us to the pharmacy, and back to the hostel. A good example of how welcoming the staff are. Really recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Moulds

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Clean comfy rooms. Staff were so helpful. Boban the manager organised drinking games on our first night as the weather wasn't great and a boat tour and a BBQ on the second night. Really fun place to stay. I would definitely recommend it!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great, we were travelling as a couple, and the guys were very accommodating, we booked night by night and they had rooms every night. Boban wanted us to come out with him everynight, but we were just too tired from the day to party the night away. Very friendly and they have lots of activities to try out if you are bored!

Disliked: The towels are hand sized, and not all of the rooms have air-con, so you should specifically ask for one if thats what your after. Washing your clothes is a bit pricey, 6 euro, but I guess if you are a desperate traveller you might need that.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ivan Fairhall

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

28 July 2014

Liked: Location is amazing. The hostel has a lot of potential. There is a swimming beach directly opposite.

Disliked: The bathroom assigned to our room was completely full of washing the entire time. Toilet paper ran out 5 times in the course of a 2 night stay. People made a massive mess at lunch and no one cleaned it up (or asked the perpetrators to do so) until the following morning when the only cleaner arrived. No hot water at times. The bin and the fridge in the kitchen are hopelessly undersized and poorly managed. No one took our money in any sort of check out process, and we had to organise correct cash change to leave behind in good faith. We were so disappointed with this hostel as it has amazing potential, and it's criticisms are so easy to address. Fundamentally, it felt like the hostel wasnt being run by anyone who actually cared about its success.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mikyla Horne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2014 Mikyla would recommend this property

Liked: Had a good atmosphere, location was super close to beach and old town.

Disliked: The guys running the place were a bit unorganised.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's not far from the old city and has a nice small beach near it. Staff is very nice. It can be a bit far if you're walking with heavy stuff from the bus station, but they can get you there if you ask them.

Disliked: I was unlucky to arrive when a group of teenagers arrived. It's a bit of a party hostel sometimes I guess. But it's good anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernardo Cavassin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Bernardo would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean, confortable, had a lot of facilitties, close to the center, had free parking just beside the hostel, had kitchen, and the staff was great!! And was also really cheap!!! What I most liked was the staff, they were really helpfull with everything, and they went with us to a city PubCraw, they told us a lot of stuff about the culture and history of the country, i really had a great time with them! And at the end of our stay, they told us a lot of things to do in other places near the city!

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzanne white

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location right on the waters edge. Clean and spacious rooms, having your own kitchen and bathroom in a dorm is quality. Great friendly and helpful staff who go above and beyond to make guests welcome. Had some amazing nights out in town with them and other guests. Will definitely stay again.

Disliked: Suzanne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcal Oliveras

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Marcal would recommend this property

Liked: I did the reservation for 1 day, but I finally stayed there for 3 nights! Staying in Montenegro Hostel 4U is like staying at your friends house. The views of the fjord are amazing and you just have to cross the street to get into the water.

Disliked: Marcal left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Marchese

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2014 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: I had an awesome time at Montenegro Hostel 4 U. It's a great location, with the Old Town within easy walking distanc

Disliked: I had an awesome time staying with Montenegro Hostel 4 U. The location was sweet, there are groceries close, and it's right across from the water. The best part was the service. Boban, the manager, was always there to ask for help or if I had an questions. He set up Pub Crawls and a boat ride to the islands. He also helped me rent a car. We cooked at the place and enjoyed some drinks. Great atmosphere and a lot of fun. Thanks. Boban, you're the man!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott talan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2014 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Just as advertised the location was amazing. Can see fjord right out window and in less than a minute on beach and water. Old town is a lovely short walk from hostel. If you away from old town direction so nice an area with restaurants (with more locals than tourists) right along the water . Very relaxed and chill. Staff made life easy. The main staff person Boban picked me up at airport so I wouldnt get ripped off by taxis. He offered several excursion and day trip ideas. Boban had World Cup on commom room TV and even cooked me soup and a meal ! Glad i stayed and would come back.

Disliked: scott left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Martinez Fernandez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was perfectly located, you will enjoy of amazing views. But the most important thing is the good vibes that you can find in this hostel. the manager boban was incredible with us, he recommended to us good places to visit, and also he prepared some surprises during our staying. to sum up, it is a place where you will feel like home.

Disliked: nothing! it was the best hostel in our trip.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Curtis Mills

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 June 2014 Curtis would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, well kept, across the road from the beach and close to restaurants. Lovely surrounds!

Disliked: Curtis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina González Calderón

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best Hotel I've ever been. The location is more than perfect, really close to the sea. Nice views of mountains and of all Bay of Kotor. His Manager, Boban, is the biggest person in all Montenegro. He was very nice to us, and he made feel us like we are at home. He took us to pub crawl and parties on the beach. So i would recommend this Hostel to anyone because you will have a great time and unforgotable experience.

Disliked: All was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james matley

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

05 June 2014 james would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff bending over backwards to make my stay as excellent as possible. I can't wate to stay here agian.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Lidiak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, friendly staff and all round quality place to stay.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heidi Oliver

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2014 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: It was right near the Old Town Kotor and it was very nice.

Disliked: Heidi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joeri Smit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2014 Joeri would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The location is very good in my opinion; it's just outside the busy old town (5min walk). If it's good weather you can enjoy the beach that's just right in front of the hostel! There is a spacious common room with a huge tv and 2 computers for use for the guests. And you get this all for the best price; there is no cheaper one in town! If you want to go out and drinking then the staff can bring you to the pub crawl where you can have loads of fun!

Disliked: Nothing I disliked.


See all Kotor hostels