HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of LG Hostel

Hostel | Khoroo 3, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia 976

82.3% Overall Rating

14 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/03/2014)

Greg Hughes thinks…

"Only stayed for one night as a stopover on the Trans Siberian but it was a welcome respite from the train. Huge room with really comfy bed. Massive balcony with great view, shame it was so cold!…"

Read all LG Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ulaanbaatar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ulaanbaatar

Idre Guest house
7.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.3% 84 reviews
Danista nomads tour and hostel
10.00 USD

Hostel 81.3% 11 reviews
Gana's Guesthouse
5.00 USD

Guesthouse 73.8% 17 reviews
MS Central
9.04 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Mongolian Steppe Guest House
5.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.2% 76 reviews
Golden Gobi Guesthouse
7.51 USD

Guesthouse 81.8% 32 reviews
Zaya Guest House
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.8% 71 reviews
Temuujin Guest House and Hostel
42.37 USD

Hostel 71.4% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

14 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'LG Hostel'

Atmosphere
66.7%
Location
81.3%
Facilities
82.7%
Cleanliness
86.7%
Staff
81.3%
Value
86.7%
Safety
90.7%
Refine your results Showing 13 of 14 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2014 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed for one night as a stopover on the Trans Siberian but it was a welcome respite from the train. Huge room with really comfy bed. Massive balcony with great view, shame it was so cold! Restaurant was quite good too, although deserted as I think we were the only ones staying there. Great value for money

Disliked: Train station pickup was forgotten about but it's so close it's not really an issue. Had to ring the bell on the back door for ages to get in (it was 5am) but just think there was a communication problem about our arrival time. Staff were friendly once inside.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vasiliki Vouzi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2013 Vasiliki would recommend this property

Liked: It is really close to the train station and that's why we booked it. It is very clean and the beds are comfy.

Disliked: Vasiliki left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Oscar Cervera Singer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Oscar would recommend this property

Liked: Room 4-3

Disliked: No control of payments

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andy Parker

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Andy would recommend this property

Liked: Great prices, great staff and really good value for money

Disliked: The location near the train station is a little way out and if you go out really late, the gate entrance may be locked, meaning you have to climb over a fence to get back into the property

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lae Phongsavanh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013 Lae would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the location across from the State Department Store. Great location! There was a nice girl that took care of the place though she was only working for the summer.

Disliked: A little hard to find though there is a sign in the window of the building that has the name.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We actually stayed at both of the hostel's locations. I would recommend booking with the location in the center of town, as it is closer to places of interest and the girl working there is very nice and speaks better English than the people at the other hostel. They offer free pickup from the railway station, which is nice because otherwise it would be difficult to find the hostel. We took an excellent tour with the hostel that was fairly priced and a wonderful experience.

Disliked: When we arrived we were shown all of the places to see in Ulaanbaatar on a map. It would be really helpful if the hostel could either provide maps to guests or sell them so that we could take it around the city with us and not get lost. Staff at the hostel by the train station did not speak English very well, but were very nice.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is run in an honest way. The owner picked us up from the station free of charge and let us check in at 0630 in the morning. Pretty awesome IMHO. Rooms are clean and the bathroom was nice. Also had a balcony to look out onto (although it was a tad grubby). Also very easy to book trips with this hostel.

Disliked: not everyone spoke english and the reception as left unmanned more often then not. The hostel is also in a very dodgy area of UB, however so are almost all the other hostels so that cant be helped.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My Partner and I recently stayed at LG Guesthouse. They have 2 locations in Ulaan Baatar, 1 a short walk to the station and the other in the Centre of town. We stayed by the station. We found the location fantastic, close to markets and shops, close to temples and only a 10 - 15 minute walk into the Centre of town. Topped off with amazing views of the mountains from the balcony. We stayed at another hostel in town which was a little cheaper but not nearly as nice. LG was clean, safe and comfortable. It had hot showers, a TV and a fridge, what more can a traveller ask for! During our stay we booked 2 tours which were tweaked slightly to suit our budget and needs. The friendly and helpful staff were fantastic and not only helped us out but gave us a great impression of Mongolia. LG guesthouse is well recommended for all. Perfect for budget and more flexible travellers alike. Very handy location for trans Siberia passengers too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good and price was reasonable. Also there was always a girl to help out with things and she was really nice.

Disliked: Not so much interesting people to meet didn't stay here during my stay.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shawna Hess

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 October 2012 Shawna would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good; 5-20 walk from either train station or Peace street (shops, restaurants, transport). There was another hostel, Danista Nomads which was cheaper and looked perfect so we booked to stay there first. We paid the booking fee (never-refunded) and then had to find other accomodations since they were "closed". LG Hostel may not be the cheapest or best looking, but it is a real place with actual rooms! The owner picked us up at the train station (free with your reservation) and was helpful throughout our stay. For a small fee you can get a load of laundry done. Plenty of hot water in sinks and shower.

Disliked: While my sister and I chose a private room with twin beds, we were given the "Garden View" room with queen size bed. The owner gave us a different room when available, the following day. "Garden view" BTW, is of a cement patio on the second floor. While flowers were still blooming in town, the advertised garden had not so much as a potted plant. WiFi didn't always work on the fourth floor (where private rooms are located), but a computer on the 2nd floor was available for guest use. Check-out time is 10am. Waiting until mid afternoon to depart will cost you the price of a full nights stay. Stay doesn't include hand towels, soap, or a bathroom mat, but hey, it is a hostel and value for money is still good.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2012

Liked: center city

Disliked: noted above

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet

Disliked: Not much atmosphere. We stayed in the city centre hostel and it was a bit so so. Staying at the Green Steppe backpackers now which isn't in the LP but is really bright, cheerful, friendly and fun.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

niklas brändström

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 niklas would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to sleep on when you were up early the next morning when it was close to the train station. The rooms were fresh and we had own bathroom and shower ...

Disliked: Something that might not LG's can be blamed for was that the power went and we had no electricity on the whole our stay. However, we could not open our doors at night and the staff had to break up the door at night, so we had to sleep with the doors open and no electricity ... A small minus, but we were probably just unlucky.