We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Central Youth Hostel

Hostel | I.Pruncul st-la 6 apartment 1, Chisinau, Moldova 277005

69.7% Overall Rating

47 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2012)

Philip Mullen thinks…

"Good value place to stay in Chisinau, as there aren't many budget options available. Very safe and secure."

Read all Central Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Chisinau?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Chisinau

Leogrand Hotel
112.59 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Zodiac Hotel
58.19 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Chisinau Chill Hostel
7.59 USD

Hostel 97.1% 3 reviews
Manhattan Hotel & Restaurant
61.35 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
TapOK
10.12 USD

Hostel 90.5% 16 reviews
Trotter's Den Hostel
5.76 USD

Hostel 91.7% 22 reviews
Favorita Aprt
44.28 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hotel VisPas
60.72 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

47 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Central Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Rebecca Reardon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012

Liked: Good location and cheapest.

Disliked: Only 1 bathroom, tiny, no facilities.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukas Chlouba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and close to the centre. For one night it was OK.

Disliked: Direction on Google maps. Even there is right address Pruncul 6. The Google maps shows different location. So I got lost from the begining.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TONI PEACH

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2012 TONI would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: The owner wanted money immediately, the kitchen was not always available..In fact people were sleeping in the kitchen at 8pm. This was a bit disconcerting.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Karl-Heinz Pepper

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012

Liked: Only the location and the price.

Disliked: The owner forgot my airport-pick up. Take a taxi, only 90 Lei (6,-Euro).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Philip Mullen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012

Liked: Good value place to stay in Chisinau, as there aren't many budget options available. Very safe and secure.

Disliked: While nothing in the description about this place is an outright lie, it was not as good as it sounds: No Lockout - if you pay 50MLD key deposit. Free coffe and tea - never shown where this was kept, and the kitchen was the owner's cooking area, so quite often busy. Free map of city - stuck to the wall, and there are no copies to hand out. Free orientation tour - never offered this, but I was initally let in by an older woman who spoke no English. The 'cozy bathroom' - the only bathroom in the property is located at the rear of the house, after you pass through the owners sleeping & kitchen quarters. So obviously to use this at late night/early morning feels like a massive imposition, as you are entering their bedroom. And there is no sign outside the place, but yes, it really is No. 6 Strada Ion Pruncul. I was lucky to catch the owner leaving the street when I arrived - my rucksack must have been a clue that I was a guest!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012

Liked: Not too much. Perhaps the locations once we found the place.

Disliked: The directions were wrong and when we got there, there wasn't even a sign indicating that there was a hostel - very frustrating. The bathroom was dirty, there were constantly cigarette butts in the toilet and on the bathroom counter top. The kitchen was messy, and was shared with a bedroom. The owner was very nice, but it was not run well.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Owner lives in same building and has to go through owner's room to go to wash room. Room is bi noisy since it faces a street.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the city center. The owner was a nice woman, who is learning English but does understand quite a bit. She will help you with finding the information you need around the city and transport, etc. One of the only hostel in the city, and for a good price.

Disliked: It was an apartment that you share with the owner. The one room is cramped with 6 beds squeezed into it. There is a small loft with 2 beds, and then another location in bed right by the owner herself. The appliances are old and bathroom. It is relatively clean. The kitchen can be used but is really inconvenient.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in a residetial area close to the centre. It was small and homely and the owner was very helpful in supporting guests to plan the next part of their trip. The owner lives here with her son, who is very well behaved, so this may not be suitable for partying or excessive vodka drinking, which is fine by me!

Disliked: It is a very cramped flat. Also, although clean, there is a faint smell of pee in the bathroom.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damien Birraux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: No lockers in the hostel. No kitchen, it is only possible to make tea or coffee for the breakfast.

Disliked: Cheap hostel not so far from the city center.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gerard simonette

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2010 gerard would recommend this property

Liked: Hostess very helpful with local information.Good location.

Disliked: gerard left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpful staff.

Disliked: not much space, but it doesn't really matter if you stay for one night.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010

Liked: very diffcult find this place by my self

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Amy MacLeod

18 March 2010 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: This was a tiny and very cute hostel run by a cute old guy and his daughter. The guy was ace, he spoke only Russian, but if you have a problem or want some advice then he'll call up the daughter and she speaks good English and is very helpful. The location is good and there is a tiny little kitchen, and if you are lucky the old guy might make you a little coffee :0). Don't go there expecting a typical hostel because it isn't one, but this is Moldova after all, and it is a good place to stay in Chisinau where the other options are not great!

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its ok

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 September 2009

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefan Goeppner

14 September 2009 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel in a private house, small but effective in many ways.

Disliked: Stefan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I am erally suprised. I didn't expect such a helpful staff. THe owner helped me to get to the hostel, even It was a late hour. THere was a clean bathroom, kitchen, beds, and in addition I met some nice people. I reccommend this place in 100%.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very small, only 6 beds! and cheap at 7 euros a night; if 6 of you wanted a private room then you couldn't do better, but not a great place to meet people. the staff was sort of helpful, but spoke no english.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a great place to stay! Small but very well-centered, in downtown and in a very charming old house. The staff is very friendly, always eager to help you with any kind of information. Services are great. I highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin Barry

21 June 2009 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Basically a room in an apartment with 6 bunk beds. Walk through the lounge and kitchen to use the bathroom. Older owners are very nice, helpful and speak some English. One computer for intenet use. I used wifi in well known fast food joint. Good location minutes from town. Suitable for those on a tight budget who want a cheap place to sleep. Also 6 minutes walk to great classy bar ' The Jazz Cafe ' ABOVE Muz Kareoke Cafe nr petrol station. Live music, free entry and only 1 Euro a draught pint ! Taxis are dirt cheap in Chisanau.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its a two bedroom apartment you share with the owners.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edward McCarthy

26 September 2008 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: It's basically run by an older couple who speak limited English, but are really nice and really helpful. The man comes off as kind of gruff, but he taught me some Russian, laughed when I told him that the Transnistrian border guards wanted a $5 bribe, then offered to make me tea, haha. He's 77, and was born in Sibera.... I really wish I knew enough Russian to talk to him more. Overall though, a fine place - it's Moldova, so I mean, I feel like it's about as good as one could expect.

Disliked: Edward left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOcation, cleanliness, staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.