We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Tulum, Mexico

97.1%
5 reviews Book Now 
1

TuboTulum Hostal

Guesthouse
Avenida Coba Sur, Tulum, Mexico 77760

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend TuboTulum Hostal

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 96% Safety - 96%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 96%
Emma Pugh
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Emma would recommend this property 19 June 2014

The hostel is new, clean and has a cool feel with the tubes. It's in a great location between the town and the beach. Staff were very friendly and gave us plenty of advice and tips when we first arrived. The full kitchen had everything we needed to cook dinner each night and free breakfast was really handy in the morning. We loved our stay at Tubo Tulum

Rafael Hartel
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Rafael would recommend this property 21 March 2014

We spent a night at TT as one of the first guests and had a great time. Apart from the obvious style bonus, it offers everything you need: Decent common area with hammocks, clean kitchen, tables in tubes, calm and well picked music. There was nothing missing although the place was still under construction with only 3 tubes in service. The tube itself was much more comfortable than we expected it to be. Very calm inside and high end air conditioning makes you feel comfortable after seconds. Although there's not too much room within the tubes, they made the best out of it with the big bed and a sideboard and storage under the bed. As all the tubes are in direct contact with garden and common area, you don't start to think of the lack of space anyway. And they have a huge and - especially coming from other central american countries - unexpectedly CHEAP supermarket just around the corner. Last but not least: Great owners! Very helpful and nice couple hanging out in the common area most of the time. Go there!! Definitely one of the top 3 hostels during our 2 months trip.

95.1%
148 reviews Book Now 
2

Mama`s Home

Guesthouse
calle orion sur s/n, entre venus y sol oriente, Tulum, Mexico 77780

133 out of 148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mama`s Home

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 97% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 96%
Paul Andrew
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Paul would recommend this property 21 November 2014

Great staff, super friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and air-con is great. Nice location. Delicious breakfast!

Kate Jodvalkis
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Kate would recommend this property 13 October 2014

This hostel was fantastic. Jose is very friendly and helpful and full of all knowledge and advice and free maps of Tulum. our room was clean and comfortable. There was a free movie night on in the outside common area the night we stayed. Wifi worked

94.7%
31 reviews Book Now 
3

Secret Garden Tulum

Guesthouse
Sagitario Poniente #54, Colonia Centro Tulum, Quiantana Roo, Tulum, Mexico 77780

30 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Secret Garden Tulum

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 100% Facilities - 91% Safety - 96%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 93%
Ronald Faktor
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Ronald would recommend this property 20 June 2014

A very nice and unique hotel within the city!! The jungle is great in the middle! Staff is really nice!

Jordan Heal
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Jordan would recommend this property 19 January 2014

amazing escape in your own bungalow, so relaxing and friendly (even had out own kitchen). Joshua was a fantastic host, laid back and helpful. Great tips for local sites and the best spots on the beautiful beach

82.1%
25 reviews Book Now 
4

Cenote Encantado

Hostel
Cenote Encantado-1320, Tulum, Mexico -

20 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cenote Encantado

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 84% Facilities - 74% Safety - 84%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 78%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 29 May 2014

Absolutely beautiful! Great spot with cenote AND beach access (one minute away). Fantastic friendly staff, great value for money. Loved it.

Oliver Koslik
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Oliver would recommend this property 18 February 2014

Cenote Encantado is 100% NOT a party place. It is a spiritual camp geared towards people looking to relax, chillout, and become one with the sights and sounds of the beach, jungle and nature in general. Situated a easy 100 paces from the beach, Cenote Encantado is very close to the surf, in fact, it can be heard at night, amongst the jungle critters. Best described as (with no malice intended) a "shanti"-town (pun intended). The tents are the only place in 14 days that ~I Did Not Receive A Single Mosquito Bite~ (while sleeping). A simple tent check before bed, and your worry free! +All tents come with power! They even have a fresh water Cenote in their backyard! That allows for great fresh water bathing! Once again, this place is NOT geared towards people looking for a place to crash after a night of getting wasted. I even felt uncomfortable drinking a beer and eating meat, though after asking they assured me that they had no qualms. Though it is an ideal spot, if one is in search of a quiet retreat! Quite unique! +1

82.0%
20 reviews Book Now 
5

Calm Cabins Tulum

Hostel
retorno polar 64, Tulum, Mexico 77780

17 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Calm Cabins Tulum

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 93% Facilities - 73% Safety - 83%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 28 December 2012

I loved Dora and her eagerness and friendliness. Great, quiet location and a lovely place to escape the party atmosphere and relax within a local's home.

Angus Roche
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
85.7%
Angus would recommend this property 26 December 2012

I like this place. It's basically just a house where they've stuffed a whole load of beds in a room. Nice atmosphere and good location one block from the main street, ten minute walk from the bus station. Dora, the lady who runs the place, is lovely. They have a hammock and several lovely cats.

81.7%
25 reviews Book Now 
6

El Punto Hostal/hotel

Hostel
Av coba and mercurio, Tulum, Mexico 77780

21 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend El Punto Hostal/hotel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 76% Facilities - 78% Safety - 87%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 81%
Samantha Javier
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa
57.1%
12 July 2014

The wifi was very good and the free bikes were a plus that helped us get around. The shower was also nice as the water pressure was very good.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 13 May 2014

Free bike rentals! If you were going to rent a bike anyway, this would make your stay worth the money. Staff can be friendly if you take the time to chat with them and get to know them.

81.5%
30 reviews Book Now 
7

Hostal Tulum Naa

Hostel
Av. satellite North lot 1, Tulum, Mexico 77760

28 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Tulum Naa

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 84% Facilities - 72% Safety - 88%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 30 July 2014

Great atmosphere as there arent that many rooms so everyone really hangs out together. We were hit with a rain storm one evening so we all stayed in the courtyard and had some drinks, which was lovely. The staff is friendly and helpful and I'd definitely recommend staying here! Close to the bus station and lots of bike rental places so you can easily cycle to the beaches and ruins circa 20 mins away.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 May 2014

Very basic but definitely value for money. Good location, close to locals shops and restaurants. Not close to beach like most hostels in the area but we hired bikes at Iguana Bikes for 50 pesos and took them to the beach which was worth it. Has kitchen facilities.

79.9%
85 reviews Book Now 
8

The Weary Traveler

Hostel
Avenida Tulum #36, Tulum, Mexico 77780

65 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Weary Traveler

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 76% Facilities - 78% Safety - 81%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 69% Value - 80%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 23 April 2013

Really cool atmosphere. Great place to meet other travelers. Its not a huge party place but there i music and people drinking till midnight each night. there are also some clubs in town to go to afterwards. Definitely stay here if you want to meet other people and have a good time, not if you want to sleep. The resorts on the beach are isolated so it's better to stay in town especially if you're a solo traveler. I am traveling alone and met lots of people to hang out with. Highly recommend this place!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 09 January 2013

The "burn your own BBQ" is great, especially when you can get 2 beers with it for 15 pesos. People seem to appreciate the beach shuttle, but at 2 round trips daily the schedule was never convenient for us. A taxi to anywhere in Tulum is onlt 50 pesos so it's not a big deal.

73.6%
17 reviews Book Now 
9

La Cigana

Hostel
centauro sur 18 esquina sol, oriente, centro down town, Tulum, Mexico 77780

12 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend La Cigana

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 90% Facilities - 64% Safety - 71%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 63% Value - 68%
tara harrison
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
65.7%
tara would recommend this property 17 August 2014

The location is pretty good, an easy bike ride to the beach, tulum ruins and cenotes, walking distance from the Puebla where all the shops cafés supermarkets and street food is located.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 05 January 2014

The Blue Dream two-bed room is super cute and large. Breakfast is basic but they serve fresh fruit salad and good coffee. Plenty of nice backpackers from all over the world. Near the main road but far enough to be calm and quiet. A great experience over all.

72.6%
256 reviews Book Now 
10

Hostal Lobo Inn

Guesthouse
km 269.5 carretera fed chetumal tulum ruinas, Tulum, Mexico .

201 out of 256 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Lobo Inn

Atmosphere - 68% Staff - 80% Facilities - 72% Safety - 77%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 74%
MARIE HOLDEN
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
MARIE would recommend this property 07 November 2014

welcoming owners, free maps and bikes, fantastic breakfasts, close to ruins and the town, very large beds, lockers, spacious rooms

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
54.3%
03 September 2014

The pool was nice, free bicycle rental, friendly staff, nice seating area, free wifi. It's far out of the town (20 min on bike) but very close to the ruins.

Tulum

16 Hostels from 10.13 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Tulum hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Tulum. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.