We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Tulum, Mexico

97.1%
5 reviews Book Now 
1

TuboTulum Hostal

Guesthouse
Avenida Coba Sur, Tulum, Mexico 77760

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend TuboTulum Hostal

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 96% Safety - 96%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 96%
Emma Pugh
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Emma would recommend this property 19 June 2014

The hostel is new, clean and has a cool feel with the tubes. It's in a great location between the town and the beach. Staff were very friendly and gave us plenty of advice and tips when we first arrived. The full kitchen had everything we needed to cook dinner each night and free breakfast was really handy in the morning. We loved our stay at Tubo Tulum

Rafael Hartel
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Rafael would recommend this property 21 March 2014

We spent a night at TT as one of the first guests and had a great time. Apart from the obvious style bonus, it offers everything you need: Decent common area with hammocks, clean kitchen, tables in tubes, calm and well picked music. There was nothing missing although the place was still under construction with only 3 tubes in service. The tube itself was much more comfortable than we expected it to be. Very calm inside and high end air conditioning makes you feel comfortable after seconds. Although there's not too much room within the tubes, they made the best out of it with the big bed and a sideboard and storage under the bed. As all the tubes are in direct contact with garden and common area, you don't start to think of the lack of space anyway. And they have a huge and - especially coming from other central american countries - unexpectedly CHEAP supermarket just around the corner. Last but not least: Great owners! Very helpful and nice couple hanging out in the common area most of the time. Go there!! Definitely one of the top 3 hostels during our 2 months trip.

93.3%
36 reviews Book Now 
2

Secret Garden Tulum

Guesthouse
Sagitario Poniente #54, Colonia Centro Tulum, Quiantana Roo, Tulum, Mexico 77780

34 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Secret Garden Tulum

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 99% Facilities - 89% Safety - 95%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 91%
Lorraine Gerrard
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Lorraine would recommend this property 01 February 2015

The lovely outside seating area was really tranquil and the room was comfortable and nicely decorated.

Simone Fiorito
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Simone would recommend this property 31 January 2015

The style of the room was amazing and very clean. Very good design and superb chilling garden...

93.0%
161 reviews Book Now 
3

Mama`s Home

Guesthouse
calle orion sur s/n, entre venus y sol oriente, Tulum, Mexico 77780

145 out of 161 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Mama`s Home

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 96% Facilities - 87% Safety - 93%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 95%
Anna Kemp
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Anna would recommend this property 28 February 2015

This is a great hostel, extremely welcoming and friendly and genuinely care about their guests. The balance between social aspect and relaxation is just right and while its really good fun the policy is quiet from 11pm so no worries about being kept up all night by noise. Theres a great courtyard with hammocks to chill out and really friendly vibe. Hot showers and clean and tidy. The breakfasts are awesome and sum up the care and attention that goes into everything here...

Stefka Poessel
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Stefka would recommend this property 07 February 2015

Mama's home is one of the best places I've been to. Alan and Antonio do a great job. Breakfast is amazing! They have social events almost every day, e.g. movie bight, margherita night or paella night. And the location is very good as well, a few meters away from the main road with heaps of opportunities to eat out. A bus station to go to the beach is right next to the hostel. you really feel at home here.

82.1%
36 reviews Book Now 
4

Hostal Tulum Naa

Hostel
Av. satellite North lot 1, Tulum, Mexico 77760

34 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Tulum Naa

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 81% Facilities - 71% Safety - 90%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 86%
Emilie O'neill
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
74.3%
Emilie would recommend this property 09 February 2015

We liked the location which was very close to shops (despite we thought it would be on the beach it actually worked out well), the rooms were cleaned daily an sheets changed every day it was very clean. The hostel was also very secure and safe and had great kitchenette facilities. The rooms were large and the bottom bunk is a double bed which is great.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 03 February 2015

Great location near the main street, kitchen facilities and outside space with WiFi. Discount on local bicycle hire. Nice and cool at night even without a/c.

81.4%
21 reviews Book Now 
5

Calm Cabins Tulum

Hostel
retorno polar 64, Tulum, Mexico 77780

18 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Calm Cabins Tulum

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 92% Facilities - 72% Safety - 82%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 81%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 28 December 2012

I loved Dora and her eagerness and friendliness. Great, quiet location and a lovely place to escape the party atmosphere and relax within a local's home.

Angus Roche
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
85.7%
Angus would recommend this property 26 December 2012

I like this place. It's basically just a house where they've stuffed a whole load of beds in a room. Nice atmosphere and good location one block from the main street, ten minute walk from the bus station. Dora, the lady who runs the place, is lovely. They have a hammock and several lovely cats.

81.0%
27 reviews Book Now 
6

El Punto Hostal/hotel

Hostel
Av coba and mercurio, Tulum, Mexico 77780

23 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend El Punto Hostal/hotel

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 76% Facilities - 77% Safety - 87%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 80%
Customer review
As a family with children
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 March 2015

We really like this place. It's between the town and the beach so it's not in the middle of the action but it's quiet. With the free bikes, you can go to many places easily. The room was really nice and the AC was working well even though my girlfriend didn't let me use it much. ;-) Staff was friendly and spoke good English and even some French.

Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 02 January 2015

It offers plenty of free bikes which means you can bike to the beach and Maya Ruins. It is also located across the supermarket and within walking distance to downtown. There are lockers for you to put your things although some lockers are outside the room. There is a dog that guides the house and barks if there is any stranger at night - so, it's a safe place.

80.9%
27 reviews Book Now 
7

Cenote Encantado

Hostel
Cenote Encantado-1320, Tulum, Mexico -

22 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cenote Encantado

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 84% Facilities - 72% Safety - 83%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 79% Value - 79%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 29 May 2014

Absolutely beautiful! Great spot with cenote AND beach access (one minute away). Fantastic friendly staff, great value for money. Loved it.

Oliver Koslik
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Oliver would recommend this property 18 February 2014

Cenote Encantado is 100% NOT a party place. It is a spiritual camp geared towards people looking to relax, chillout, and become one with the sights and sounds of the beach, jungle and nature in general. Situated a easy 100 paces from the beach, Cenote Encantado is very close to the surf, in fact, it can be heard at night, amongst the jungle critters. Best described as (with no malice intended) a "shanti"-town (pun intended). The tents are the only place in 14 days that ~I Did Not Receive A Single Mosquito Bite~ (while sleeping). A simple tent check before bed, and your worry free! +All tents come with power! They even have a fresh water Cenote in their backyard! That allows for great fresh water bathing! Once again, this place is NOT geared towards people looking for a place to crash after a night of getting wasted. I even felt uncomfortable drinking a beer and eating meat, though after asking they assured me that they had no qualms. Though it is an ideal spot, if one is in search of a quiet retreat! Quite unique! +1

76.5%
265 reviews Book Now 
8

Hostal Lobo Inn

Guesthouse
km 230.5, carretera federal chetumal, Tulum ruinas, Tulum, Mexico .

208 out of 265 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal Lobo Inn

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 87% Facilities - 74% Safety - 80%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 64% Value - 79%
Sebastian Johansson
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
31.4%
22 January 2015

The breakfast was good, pancakes with banana. Free bikes (even though you can get better cheap bikes in town). Close to the ruins (but honestly, you will only visit the ruins once).

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 10 January 2015

This is a well established family run hostel really well located near the ruins & the Ado bus stop. The family are very friendly & helpful. They have a relaxed aire & are always around to keep order & give advice. There are well maintained bikes and a substantial home cooked breakfast included in the price making it excellent value for money. I liked that there are of plenty of power points at the tables in the social area.

73.4%
13 reviews Book Now 
9

Chalupa Hostel

Hostel
Av. Tulum con crucero Cobá,#2, Tulum, Mexico 77780

9 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Chalupa Hostel

Atmosphere - 73% Staff - 75% Facilities - 70% Safety - 78%
Location - 78% Cleanliness - 67% Value - 69%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing
42.9%
20 February 2013

the only thing i like is after all those facilities and bad location. the reception guy is really helpful

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 19 November 2012

Clean kitchen. The beds are big and you can share them with two persons for an extra 50 pesos.

72.8%
19 reviews Book Now 
10

La Cigana

Hostel
centauro sur 18 esquina sol, oriente, centro down town, Tulum, Mexico 77780

13 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend La Cigana

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 88% Facilities - 63% Safety - 72%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 63% Value - 66%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
48.6%
03 February 2015

This hostel was kind of clean and had some kind of atmosphere, but I would say there are better places to stay in Tulum. It was in a good location, close to resturants and bars and getting the colectivo to the ruins, but then, most places in the city are.

tara harrison
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
65.7%
tara would recommend this property 17 August 2014

The location is pretty good, an easy bike ride to the beach, tulum ruins and cenotes, walking distance from the Puebla where all the shops cafés supermarkets and street food is located.

Tulum

15 Hostels from 9.90 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Tulum hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Tulum. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.