HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tulum hostels

Reviews of Mama`s Home

Guesthouse | calle orion sur s/n, entre venus y sol oriente, Tulum, Mexico 77780

82.3% Overall Rating

113 out of 128 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2014)

"Good atmosphere, helpful staff, good breakfast, decent computer facilities & internet access"

Read all Mama`s Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tulum?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tulum

Hostel Sheck
15.44 USD

Hostel 81.4% 4 reviews
Secret Garden Tulum
25.22 USD

Guesthouse 95.5% 28 reviews
Casa Del Sol
11.46 USD

Hostel 60.6% 63 reviews
Chalupa Hostel
15.28 USD

Hostel 72.1% 12 reviews
El Punto Hostal/hotel
10.32 USD

Hostel 86.3% 21 reviews
TuboTulum Hostal
22.92 USD

Guesthouse 100.0% 3 reviews
The Weary Traveler
13.37 USD

Hostel 79.9% 85 reviews
Zama Village 103
91.70 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

113 out of 128 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mama`s Home'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
85.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 120 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, helpful staff, good breakfast, decent computer facilities & internet access

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super cosy

Disliked: na

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Piotr Gawron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is nice and it appears that every day you have something different.

Disliked: Sometimes it is not a very clean place. I didn't trust the lockers at all (it look like you could open everything using knife or a screwdriver). In a dorm you weren't able to close the door.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2014

Liked: Helpfulness of staff, central location

Disliked: Air-co old, loud and mouldy! Drain pipe in bathroom was covered with a plate, either to stop... whatever comes out there or to cover the awful smell. The kitchen and the the fridge are a mess! Never seen such a disgusting place. Greasy, rancid, dirty and chaotic. Furniture in our room was completely broken, as well as lights. Pretty loud in the morning. And on the top way too expensive! You find cheaper and better accomodations!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mama is wonderful, cares about all her clients, young and old. Breakfasts were varied and hearty. Room was large.

Disliked: Had to walk through dorm room to get to our private room but otherwise, no worries. No safe or locked lockers but it was safe to leave valuables in locked room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Parker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 December 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great Brekfast and nice staff, great wifi

Disliked: no nice place to read a book

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Harold Simpson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2013 Harold would recommend this property

Liked: Open atmospere. Friendly and relaxed. I will be back.

Disliked: Kitchen needs work!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly, but can't speek English. I liked that breakfast was included. It's a nice place to stay a few nights, not perfect but good and affordable.

Disliked: It's not the cleanest that I've seen and I didn't like the smell in the room, I think one of the others was smoking inside. Also I didn't like that in the 6 bed dorm upstairs there are no lockers. Also you should be able to close the door, but that wasn't posible.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Leslie Townsend

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2013 Leslie would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very unique and cozy place. great breakfast and a great location.

Disliked: Leslie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bryony Taylor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Bryony would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is amazing! The best I had during my trip. It changed each day - omelettes with potatoes and fruit or banana and chocolate pancakes. Always tasty. The staff and mama are lovely - altho it would be helpful if more of them spoke better English. And the great air con was a win!

Disliked: Wifi not always great in the room. I was in the mixed dorm.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robert Leibbrand

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 10 mins with collectivo or taxi to the ruins. Nice breakfast Friendly staff and good atmosphere

Disliked: Smell from drains in bathroom No Wi-Fi reception in or room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olivia Bruce

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2013 Olivia would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place and each day you had different breakfast that the owner cooked for you. It wasn't as social as what I would've wanted but it was clean and good enough.

Disliked: The guy on reception wasn't the most friendly person at first but then was ok later.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmoshphere! Lots of benches and tables to sit down in the common area. The common area is great as well. The breakfast is the best breakfast that I have ever had at a hostel. It was very very good, they really do a spectacular job with the breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrade richer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

25 July 2013 andrade would recommend this property

Liked: free breakfast, nice owner, great location in city center

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brodie Bain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 June 2013 Brodie would recommend this property

Liked: This was such a great hostel. Big rooms with air con. Great atmosphere . A quick walk from the ado bus station . The staff were so great . The breakfast was so delicious I have never had anything like it. Different every morning . Wish we could have stayed longer. And also one of the cleanest hostels I've ever been too. Don't stay anywhere else. You must stay here!

Disliked: Brodie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was slightly more expensive than our usual accommodation, but we decided to stay here because the cheaper options in tulum did not look too great, and turned out to be not much cheaper anyway (tulum was expensive in general though!). It was totally worth it though, with a fantastic breakfast included (different daily), wifi, computers and free water refills. The place is lovely, very charming and in a great location. Lovely room with v comfortable bed. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was the highlight of Mamas... We were served up omelettes stuffed with vegetables, with beans, some delicious bread and muffin with coffee... Absolutely delicious for a hostel breakfast! Apparently the menu changes every day as well...

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't the cleanest bathrooms, but they were passable.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel has a great garden, nice and comfy rooms and an awesome breakfast.

Disliked: It's not very clean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ramiro Gigena

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2013 Ramiro would recommend this property

Liked: Las habitaciones son cómodas, los espacios en común son lindos. Buen desayuno

Disliked: Que el desayuno a pesar de que es bueno es muy poco, y que a los empleados del lugar les falta relacionarse con los clientes, son poco sociables

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Agnieszka Godlewska

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Agnieszka would recommend this property

Liked: Location is ok, it's quiet an night and the breakfasts are a treat:)

Disliked: Some of the staff are not very nice.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Has a nice seating area, the staff are helpful, the breakfast was nice and the wifi was solid.

Disliked: It rained really heavily and sewer water came into the room, I had just had a shower so I wasn't happy. Talk about s**t timing! The atmosphere isn't great, everyone is on iPhones and laptops. Makes talking to people differcult. However, I'm not sure that is Mama's fault. Just the state if travelling today. Also, no directions so makes finding the place challenging. Walking round with a heavy backpack was not fun in the sun.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2013

Liked: It had AC

Disliked: The manager was incredibly unprofessional. He was not fully clothed when he checked us in (no shirt), with his wallet in his butt crack, and was rude the entire time. Then, when we asked for another towel the following morning because we had used one to soak up shower water that had sprayed everywhere due to it's poor construction, he refused to give us a towel.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013

Liked: The property was centrally located and easy to get to. The room was a fair size with good AC.

Disliked: Our room smelled of damp. The staff were quite abrupt when we arrived (though were friendlier later on). In the mornings there was noise in the property and from neighbouring properties, so we couldn't sleep too long.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013

Liked: The Internet was reasonably fast. The location was good, except for the nightclub across the road.

Disliked: There was no hot water. The room was very dirty and smelt bad. The fan had so much dust on it we didn't turn it on. There was also a nightclub over the road with a live band that played until 3am!!! We only stayed one night and went to find another place.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

28 February 2013

Liked: Place was nice and clean. Good food and convenient location.

Disliked: Staff seemed bored and I didn't feel welcome.


See all Tulum hostels