HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tulum hostels

Reviews of Mama`s Home

Guesthouse | calle orion sur s/n, entre venus y sol oriente, Tulum, Mexico 77780

93.6% Overall Rating

132 out of 147 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/10/2014)

Kate Jodvalkis thinks…

"This hostel was fantastic. Jose is very friendly and helpful and full of all knowledge and advice and free maps of Tulum. our room was clean and comfortable. There was a free movie night on in the…"

Read all Mama`s Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.86

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tulum?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tulum

Secret Garden Tulum
19.30 USD

Guesthouse 94.7% 31 reviews
Casa Del Sol
11.13 USD

Hostel 60.3% 65 reviews
Palms Tulum Luxury Hotel
65.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Chalupa Hostel
12.62 USD

Hostel 72.1% 12 reviews
El Punto Hostal/hotel
10.55 USD

Hostel 81.7% 25 reviews
Amansala Pueblo
45.00 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
TuboTulum Hostal
22.23 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 5 reviews
The Weary Traveler
11.13 USD

Hostel 79.9% 85 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

132 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mama`s Home'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 116 of 140 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Jodvalkis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. Jose is very friendly and helpful and full of all knowledge and advice and free maps of Tulum. our room was clean and comfortable. There was a free movie night on in the outside common area the night we stayed. Wifi worked

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: With Mama's Home is a one huge problem - if you will stay there you will not want to leave! Also it will be a problem in a future to find a place which is even in 50% as wonderful as this one! Everything: Jose, staff, breakfast, pina colada nights, atmosphere there is just incredible :) Thank you man for such a good time!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tuncay Kilic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Tuncay would recommend this property

Liked: Jose and his staff are really friendly and care a lot about their guests. They have the best breakfast ever, every day different and very creative! A lot of activities, good for meeting people.

Disliked: No wifi in the room, not much water in the showers.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lyz Watkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Lyz would recommend this property

Liked: It was relatively clean and spacious

Disliked: Staff were rude and inflexible - to several customers. For a lot cheaper, there a lot better hostels in Mexico which are outstanding

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Sunderland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly, the breakfasts here are amazing! Jose provides a friendly welcome and tells you about all you can do in the area. My air condition dorm room was perfect. Its large, clean and the air con works very well and is a quiet system. This is a very friendly and sociable place. My 2 nights turned into 4. My favourite hostel in Mexico!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Chen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Jose and his staff were superfriendly! It was about 15m walk from the ADO bus station, their breakfast was amazing, and I met several great people. It was definitely a chilled environment and Jose will help you save money with doing tours and rentals! I extending my days in Tulum because I loved this hostel so much!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You will find a really nice place to stay here with an amazing breakfast. I stayed five instead of one night. The personal is super friendly and very helpful. The air conditioned dorm room and shared bathroom were clean and had a good size. I can really recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anoushka Azad

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Anoushka would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at Jose's is like staying with a friend. Literally. The hospitality is warm and the energy at the hostel is wonderful. Which makes it hard to leave! I stayed in a double room which was huge, spotless, had a bed big enough for 3, and of course, air con. Breakfast and the 'motto of the day' were the highlights for me each morning - no two were alike! Ok well the breakfasts win of course, who can beat pancakes and ice cream haha. There's also wi-fi, computers, drinking water etc etc. But most of all, it's José and his crew who make you feel so welcome, with lots of tips, and creating many opportunities for guests to get to know one another - when I was there, he organised a tour to a private cenote (magical!), movie night (with snacks) and yup, mojito night..! Thanks for making my stay so memorable José, hope to see you again soon!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stefanie knuesel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the vibe there. José is a great guy and around all day and night. He is very passionate about it and really is the perfect host. Staff is great too! I've been to a lot of hostels and this really is one of the best I've stayed so far! They do know exactly what a backpacker needs. They offer special prices for rental bikes or excursions plenty of good and helpful advice from José. WiFi for those who need it. Movie night once a week, same as BBQ. Close to Downtown, lots of shops and restaurants there. Huge outdoor communal area where you meet people easily, hammocks in the yard. Rooms have A.C. bed made and bathroom cleaned every day (doubles at least). Amazing breakfast!! Have you ever had pancakes and ice cream for breakfast? you get it there! INCREDIBLE VALUE FOR MONEY! We didn't want to leave!! Back for sure soon! Gracias a todos

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Jose is a wonderful host, always friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great. There is an aircon dorm. Quiet relaxed atmosphere. Thankfully no party animals here. Plenty of bathrooms. Fast WiFi internet connections.

Disliked: Small kitchen and only one refrigerator that was full. Have to rent bike to get to beach.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamela Hopkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Jamela would recommend this property

Liked: Mamas home was an incredible stay. Hands down the best hostel I've stayed and I've stayed in my fair share. A completely higher standard of service, atmosphere and just in general an very pleasant stay. Everyone that stayed while I was here extended their trip. And the staff are extremely hospitable and the breakfast is excellent!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARTIN EVES

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 MARTIN would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, brilliant staff, good value. Close to centre. Had a bbq our first night where we bought the meat and everything else was done for us. It was great, they tend to do something different everynight and we are so happy we have increased our stay here. Oh and the showers are hot :-)

Disliked: MARTIN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kieran Duance

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

31 May 2014 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: Having stayed in a ALOT of hostels, this one I rate as one of the best. Its what a backpacker wants and needs. Decent sleeping, good Wi-Fi, clean, amenities, fun and social environment, and location. There are movie nights, mojito nights, and other fun night activities in a relaxed but not crazy atmosphere. THE FREE BREAKFASTS ARE AWESOME!!!!! But what really makes the place great is the staff and manager "Jose". Warm, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and just plain fun. You come for a couple of days and then you end up staying for weeks. Highly recommended. Keep up the good work. Kieran Australia

Disliked: Kieran left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Therese Nordvold

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Therese would recommend this property

Liked: Jose is really friendly, the location is really good and the breakfast is amazing! U really feel like you're home.

Disliked: The shower was kinda bad, had trouble getting out all the shampoo, haha! No worries, though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jorge fernandez

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Best place to stay in Tulum! Great location, very clean, spectacular breakfasts and The owner's help and dedication is just priceless. Impossible to get more for the price. I will come back for sure

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Péter Paldi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2014 Péter would recommend this property

Liked: The best breakfast ever. And the owner is a such a good man and very friendly.

Disliked: Péter left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice place. Loved the breakfast! Jose was very helpful, thanks!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, helpful staff, good breakfast, decent computer facilities & internet access

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super cosy

Disliked: na

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Piotr Gawron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is nice and it appears that every day you have something different.

Disliked: Sometimes it is not a very clean place. I didn't trust the lockers at all (it look like you could open everything using knife or a screwdriver). In a dorm you weren't able to close the door.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2014

Liked: Helpfulness of staff, central location

Disliked: Air-co old, loud and mouldy! Drain pipe in bathroom was covered with a plate, either to stop... whatever comes out there or to cover the awful smell. The kitchen and the the fridge are a mess! Never seen such a disgusting place. Greasy, rancid, dirty and chaotic. Furniture in our room was completely broken, as well as lights. Pretty loud in the morning. And on the top way too expensive! You find cheaper and better accomodations!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mama is wonderful, cares about all her clients, young and old. Breakfasts were varied and hearty. Room was large.

Disliked: Had to walk through dorm room to get to our private room but otherwise, no worries. No safe or locked lockers but it was safe to leave valuables in locked room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Parker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 December 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great Brekfast and nice staff, great wifi

Disliked: no nice place to read a book

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Harold Simpson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2013 Harold would recommend this property

Liked: Open atmospere. Friendly and relaxed. I will be back.

Disliked: Kitchen needs work!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly, but can't speek English. I liked that breakfast was included. It's a nice place to stay a few nights, not perfect but good and affordable.

Disliked: It's not the cleanest that I've seen and I didn't like the smell in the room, I think one of the others was smoking inside. Also I didn't like that in the 6 bed dorm upstairs there are no lockers. Also you should be able to close the door, but that wasn't posible.


See all Tulum hostels