We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tulum hostels

Reviews of Mama`s Home

Guesthouse | calle orion sur s/n, entre venus y sol oriente, Tulum, Mexico 77780

94.3% Overall Rating

154 out of 170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2015)

Sarah Cavaiuolo thinks…

"Amazing hostel. Everyone went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, feed us delicious food and answer our never-ending questions. Thank you for the wonderful, relaxing experience."

Read all Mama`s Home reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.48

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tulum?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tulum

Secret Garden Tulum
17.20 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 38 reviews
Casa Del Sol
8.90 USD

Hostel 67.7% 73 reviews
Palms Tulum Luxury Hotel
23.89 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Chalupa Hostel
11.86 USD

Hostel 72.5% 16 reviews
El Punto Hostal/hotel
9.50 USD

Hostel 81.0% 27 reviews
Amansala Pueblo
45.00 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
TuboTulum Hostal
10.38 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 5 reviews
Hostal Lobo Inn
10.68 USD

Guesthouse 78.7% 269 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

154 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mama`s Home'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 133 of 163 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Austin Franke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2015 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and excellent breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Cavaiuolo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2015 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel. Everyone went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, feed us delicious food and answer our never-ending questions. Thank you for the wonderful, relaxing experience.

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Thieme

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

03 July 2015 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel! Super friendly staff, nice common area, tasty breakfast

Disliked: Common areas shut by 11pm. Perhaps good for those who wake up early for diving but for my liking a bit early.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms. Great ambience and events in hostel - movie nights, cocktail nights.

Disliked: Located in town..Not close to beach

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about Mama's house was perfect. Great people, great atmosphere, perfect staff, clean rooms. We extended our stay over and over again because we couldn't bare to leave. We love Mama's!

Disliked: Nada!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was amazing!! Staff, social vibe, events, room, service, breakfast, location... top notch!

Disliked: Nada :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon jeffs

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2015 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, location , big and clean room . Al was a lovely helpful host.

Disliked: simon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephany Linares Quispe

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2015 Stephany would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is great and the staff is really helpfull! The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was one of the best i have ever had during teavelling!

Disliked: Stephany left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Priscilla PETIT

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 March 2015 Priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: Like the breakfast, it was great. good atmosphere.

Disliked: The air con in the private room was not well maintained so I got sick coughing really bad after this. If you avoid air con it's all good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Kemp

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2015 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel, extremely welcoming and friendly and genuinely care about their guests. The balance between social aspect and relaxation is just right and while its really good fun the policy is quiet from 11pm so no worries about being kept up all night by noise. Theres a great courtyard with hammocks to chill out and really friendly vibe. Hot showers and clean and tidy. The breakfasts are awesome and sum up the care and attention that goes into everything here...

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefka Poessel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2015 Stefka would recommend this property

Liked: Mama's home is one of the best places I've been to. Alan and Antonio do a great job. Breakfast is amazing! They have social events almost every day, e.g. movie bight, margherita night or paella night. And the location is very good as well, a few meters away from the main road with heaps of opportunities to eat out. A bus station to go to the beach is right next to the hostel. you really feel at home here.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to hang out with other travelers and the great staff

Disliked: more toilets for all eho loves beer

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Melanie McGeever

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2015

Liked: Great hostel, Jose was very friendly and helpful throughout. Nice vibe but after 11pm everyone is expected to be quiet in the comunal areas which is a refreshing change for a hostel! The BEST breakfast I have ever eaten in a hostel. Different every day, freshly cooked: pancakes, tortillas, breakfast burritos, french toast...all delicious

Disliked: Dorm room states private bathroom on hostelbookers but it's used by everyone in the communal areas so is difficult to get in. No shower curtains so bathroom floors are often pretty gross.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We received a warm welcome from the staff members and the overall decor was warm and inviting.

Disliked: The privacy of the private room could be improved with some better quality curtains.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliette Lovett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 January 2015 Juliette would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything! Especially Jose. Amazing hospitality and fantastic breakfast included every morning. The place felt very homely with a real communal vibe. Comfy beds. Friendly staff. Good location to the town.

Disliked: The shared bathroom was always busy. Have to cab to the beach.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel we have ever stayed in!! we hardly ever review but had to with Mamas. Jose is an amazing host, he goes over and above what is expected for a hostel. Breakfast was unbelievable. I hope we can come back asap!

Disliked: Nothing!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Andrew

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 November 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, super friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacious and air-con is great. Nice location. Delicious breakfast!

Disliked: Maybe more accessible toilets...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Jodvalkis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic. Jose is very friendly and helpful and full of all knowledge and advice and free maps of Tulum. our room was clean and comfortable. There was a free movie night on in the outside common area the night we stayed. Wifi worked

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: With Mama's Home is a one huge problem - if you will stay there you will not want to leave! Also it will be a problem in a future to find a place which is even in 50% as wonderful as this one! Everything: Jose, staff, breakfast, pina colada nights, atmosphere there is just incredible :) Thank you man for such a good time!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tuncay Kilic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Tuncay would recommend this property

Liked: Jose and his staff are really friendly and care a lot about their guests. They have the best breakfast ever, every day different and very creative! A lot of activities, good for meeting people.

Disliked: No wifi in the room, not much water in the showers.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lyz Watkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Lyz would recommend this property

Liked: It was relatively clean and spacious

Disliked: Staff were rude and inflexible - to several customers. For a lot cheaper, there a lot better hostels in Mexico which are outstanding

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Sunderland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly, the breakfasts here are amazing! Jose provides a friendly welcome and tells you about all you can do in the area. My air condition dorm room was perfect. Its large, clean and the air con works very well and is a quiet system. This is a very friendly and sociable place. My 2 nights turned into 4. My favourite hostel in Mexico!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Chen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Jose and his staff were superfriendly! It was about 15m walk from the ADO bus station, their breakfast was amazing, and I met several great people. It was definitely a chilled environment and Jose will help you save money with doing tours and rentals! I extending my days in Tulum because I loved this hostel so much!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You will find a really nice place to stay here with an amazing breakfast. I stayed five instead of one night. The personal is super friendly and very helpful. The air conditioned dorm room and shared bathroom were clean and had a good size. I can really recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anoushka Azad

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Anoushka would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at Jose's is like staying with a friend. Literally. The hospitality is warm and the energy at the hostel is wonderful. Which makes it hard to leave! I stayed in a double room which was huge, spotless, had a bed big enough for 3, and of course, air con. Breakfast and the 'motto of the day' were the highlights for me each morning - no two were alike! Ok well the breakfasts win of course, who can beat pancakes and ice cream haha. There's also wi-fi, computers, drinking water etc etc. But most of all, it's José and his crew who make you feel so welcome, with lots of tips, and creating many opportunities for guests to get to know one another - when I was there, he organised a tour to a private cenote (magical!), movie night (with snacks) and yup, mojito night..! Thanks for making my stay so memorable José, hope to see you again soon!

Disliked: Nothing!


See all Tulum hostels