HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Posada del Abuelito San Cristobal de las Casas Hostel

Calle Tapachula #18, Barrio del Cerrillo, San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 95%

Location 87%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 96%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 34.06USD

Important Information

We are open from 8AM to 10PM.
For every arrival between 6-8am and 10pm-midnight, and in case of delay, PLEASE join us by phone : 00449671202397, or by email.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 07:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Cristobal de las Casas?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 95%

Location 87%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 96%

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Beautiful hostel, good value. You also had to cook your own free breakfast - no complaints from me but might not suit everyone.

Disliked: It's a long walk into town,

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. I love especially the owners' taste for art, for creating a relaxing and friendly ambiance. There is a beautiful patio here with a well in the middle, lots of flowers, with hammocks and tables where you can sit to read a book or contemplate the beauty of this place. The breakfast is very copious with lots of bread, eggs, home made jam, butter, cereal, coffee, tea, fruits. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is even a fire place in the common area.The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for accommodation in San Cristobal de las Casas.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean and comfy bed. Very relaxing here, I like this hostel!!!!Very clean toilets with hot shower !Nice and helpful staffs!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Atmosphere, friendliness,

Disliked: Noisy neighbours

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Everything! The property itself is very well maintained, beautiful, and very tranquil, and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. It is a very welcoming and comfortable place to land in the city - it is close enough to the tourist district to be convenient but just removed enough not to feel like you're sleeping in the plaza. I actually stayed here several times over the course of my trip and never entertained the idea of looking for another place. The beds, linens, and towels are clean and comfortable, and the mixed dorm has locking cabinets for your pack. And the BREAKFAST. Homemade jam, really good bread, eggs, fruit, coffee. Seriously delicious. You also have use of the full kitchen should you choose to make your own meals instead of eating out all the time. I love this place, and I'm definitely staying there when I next pass through San Cristobal!

Disliked: Nothin.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast is amazing.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked, but wish they had more posted information about what to do in and around Baños.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: There is hot water for 24 hours a day, which is a plus especially in a cold place like San Cristobal.

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly atmosphere,like a place in fairytales,small hostel clean and centrally located,super breakfast for free

Disliked: Really small room,the double bed fits one person

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it have almost everything a traveler wish for. good breakfast!! eggs, bread, milk , cafe, tea, drinking water.

Disliked: the room is not really sound proof. and the refigirater is too small. and I dont see microwave .

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: What didnt I like about this hostel? It was a great place to stay for great value (I was able to take advantage of a promotion to pay two nights and get a third free in the dorms). The beds, even in the dorm, are super comfortable, the place is spotlessly clean, Ive seen the staff at their awesome work. I also unfortunately got sick during my stay and needed to stay an extra four nights, which I was able to do with no problems, and I was also well taken care of. Each day of my sickness I was given a magic Mayan potion (some sort of concoction with yerba, lime, garlic and who knows what else) that pretty much fixed my stomach problem. All of the guests were very warm and helpful also, it seems to be an ethic that permeates the place. Its simple and in a very good location. I cant recommend it highly enough.

Disliked: Nights and mornings can be noisy, not really the hostels fault: neighbors, roosters, random street noise (however I feel street noise is actually minimal since its not on a major street). I feel this is just part of staying in San Cristobal and would be the same elsewhere. But come prepared.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability