HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Posada del Abuelito

Hostel | #18 Calle Tapachula, Barrio Del Cerrillo, San Cristobal de Las Casas, Mexico 29220

95.0% Overall Rating

27 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/10/2013)

Wing Shan Tang thinks…

"There is hot water for 24 hours a day, which is a plus especially in a cold place like San Cristobal."

Read all Posada del Abuelito reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 42.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We are open from 8AM to 10PM. For every arrival between 6-8am and 10pm-midnight, and in case of delay, PLEASE join us by phone : 00449671202397, or by email.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Cristobal de Las Casas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Cristobal de Las Casas

Hotel Jovel
16.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Deja Vu International hostel
6.50 USD

Hostel 84.8% 3 reviews
El Hostalito
11.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Posada Colonial
15.28 USD

Hostel 77.9% 4 reviews
B&B Le Gite Del Sol
7.27 USD

Hostel 83.7% 103 reviews
Iguana Hostel
9.17 USD

Hostel 96.5% 72 reviews
Terraza Suites
21.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Yaxkin Hostel-San Cristobal
10.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.0%

Overall Rating

27 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Posada del Abuelito'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wing Shan Tang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 October 2013 Wing Shan would recommend this property

Liked: There is hot water for 24 hours a day, which is a plus especially in a cold place like San Cristobal.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere,like a place in fairytales,small hostel clean and centrally located,super breakfast for free

Disliked: Really small room,the double bed fits one person

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TZU FEN WU

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2013 TZU FEN would recommend this property

Liked: it have almost everything a traveler wish for. good breakfast!! eggs, bread, milk , cafe, tea, drinking water.

Disliked: the room is not really sound proof. and the refigirater is too small. and I dont see microwave .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What didnt I like about this hostel? It was a great place to stay for great value (I was able to take advantage of a promotion to pay two nights and get a third free in the dorms). The beds, even in the dorm, are super comfortable, the place is spotlessly clean, Ive seen the staff at their awesome work. I also unfortunately got sick during my stay and needed to stay an extra four nights, which I was able to do with no problems, and I was also well taken care of. Each day of my sickness I was given a magic Mayan potion (some sort of concoction with yerba, lime, garlic and who knows what else) that pretty much fixed my stomach problem. All of the guests were very warm and helpful also, it seems to be an ethic that permeates the place. Its simple and in a very good location. I cant recommend it highly enough.

Disliked: Nights and mornings can be noisy, not really the hostels fault: neighbors, roosters, random street noise (however I feel street noise is actually minimal since its not on a major street). I feel this is just part of staying in San Cristobal and would be the same elsewhere. But come prepared.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anni Kasari

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 March 2013 Anni would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, quiet setting, impeccably clean!

Disliked: Anni left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maja wesselhoff

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

20 March 2013 Maja would recommend this property

Liked: nice atmosphere, very down to earth

Disliked: Maja left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, hot showers, great tips about Chiapas

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JON UNZUETA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 JON would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and quiet place. Free towel.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ria Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2013 Ria would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere, small hostel so everyone made friends with each other. Clean, loads of fresh flowers.

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

AUDREY MAZURIER

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2013 AUDREY would recommend this property

Liked: The character of the place, the sympathy of the staff, the cleanliness,... THE HOSTAL IS VERY QUIET !! we enjoy our stay at POSADA DEL ABUELITO

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

javier Rodriguez

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2013 javier would recommend this property

Liked: todo

Disliked: nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and friendly place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bram Wauters

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Bram would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, small but nice!

Disliked: Bram left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Cuellar Jr

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2012 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: Four months in Mexico and this was probably our favorite hostel. Not too big, great vibe, decent breakfast and all centered around a lovely little courtyard. Staff were also great, with big shout out to Juliette! As early 30s travelers, we loved it just the same as our 60 year old mother, who also loved it.

Disliked: Nothing, was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHULIANG QIAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 SHULIANG would recommend this property

Liked: I love the style of this hostel, really beautiful and well facilitated. San Cristobal de Las Casas is quite cold during the night so the hot water is essencial and Abuelito offered us a extremely awesome shower. The staff is nice too. We arrived after 10pm and the hostel was closed. That was our bad cuz we didnt inform them before which we should have. The confirmation mentioned so but we didnt read well. Anyway, the staff showed up and helped us settle down.

Disliked: The breakfast was ok, just too simple.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ann-Sophie Déry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 September 2012 Ann-Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: It's a really great place to go! the staff is nice and they propose a lot of tours.

Disliked: nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere, I love tiled old colonial buildings. I liked having internet access with a public good pc. There were videos to watch and books also (I read one, I laid one also). I loved having many blankets for the cold nights. I loved the tour suggestions. I loved so many flowers in bathrooms, kitchen, common areas.

Disliked: the street is dark at night, that's a question of the city, not of the property, anyway I felt safe (but I don't go out after 10 pm, I don't know later how it feels). I missed a microwave but there was an electric oven.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jemma price

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2012 jemma would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really good value for a lovely room with a separate bathroom. There were plenty of showers and toilets which were very clean. The owners are friendly and the place is really relaxing. Perfect for couples or people who want to chill out. They have a computer and a simple but decent breakfast. The coffee is amazing!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The warm welcome at this cute posada made me feel comfortable and "like at home" from the first minute. They provide lots of information on what you can do around San Cristobal and they are helping with/organizing tours. They even thought about providing extra blankets for the cold nights you can have at San Cristobal - these details make the difference and give the posada its charming character!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Conduct

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place with a great manager. Clean, friendly and beautiful. Ebnded up staying here 5 nights!!!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.