HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Playa del Carmen, Mexico

97.4%
11 reviews Book Now 
1

Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

4 star Hotel
5th Avenue 314, Between 24th and 26th, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 100% Facilities - 92% Safety - 98%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 98%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 31 January 2013

Good location, on the main street 5th avenue just next to shops and restaurants. Hotel is basic clean and rooms are cleaned every day, but hotel seems to be pretty old. Clean linen and towels! 24h reception. Safety box in the room. A restaurant tip: Try a good local restaurant outside of the tourist area, really good grilled food, big portions and good price. Restaurants name is El Fugon and it's located in a corner of 30th avenue and 8th street, walking distance from hotel.

Ana Waldheber
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Ana would recommend this property 11 October 2012

Everything. This place is absolutely phenomenal! Firstly the best thing about this place is the staff. All the guys that work there are awesome, they literally create the best atmosphere by being friendly, rooms were cleaned everyday which was great with all the sand coming in from the beach. Thank you guys for a great time!

95.7%
31 reviews Book Now 
2

Casa Kan Balam

Apartment
Calle 17 sur entre 70 y 75, 75 Lote 08 - Ejido sur, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77712

31 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Casa Kan Balam

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 99% Facilities - 97% Safety - 98%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 99%
Amanda Turnbull
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Amanda would recommend this property 18 March 2014

Our host was lovely, recommended great places in town to eat and gave great advice on how to get to our next location. The room was incredibly spacious with impressive lighting and a surround system to go with the flat screen TV, the out door bathroom is fantastic and jaw dropping :) Every morning we were served a different breakfast that was as wonderfully prepared as it was filling.

Bettina van den Bosch
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Bettina would recommend this property 03 August 2013

Casa Kan Balam is a great place to stay. Beautiful rooms, superb breakfast and Yannick is really a great host. It was our first stay in Mexico and we really feeled like we were at home. . For transportation to the beach there are bikes available and it is a nice 20 minutes walk.

95.2%
21 reviews Book Now 
3

The Yak

Hostel
Calle 10 bis norte,, entre Av. 10-15, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77727

21 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Yak

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 95% Facilities - 92% Safety - 98%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 96%
Dirk McLaughlin
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Dirk would recommend this property 24 February 2014

The location is fantastic and the hostel is cleaned daily but the super friendly staff and social atmosphere really make The Yak a treat to stay in. Very easy to meet fellow travellers and the hostel puts on great events to foster these friendships including fun day trips and dinners/events at night. Highly recommend to anyone else lucky enough to visit Playa del Carmen!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 16 February 2014

The only real selling point is the party atmosphere, which is the whole point of Playa del Carmen as well. It´s a bit vapid, much like the rest of the city. Nice staff and the breakfast was good.

94.3%
3 reviews Book Now 
4

Hotel El Punto

4 star Hotel
5th Ave & 8th Street, No. 7, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel El Punto

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 86% Facilities - 93% Safety - 100%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 86%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 10 February 2012

It is very trendy with a great atmosphere. The rooms are nice and bathrooms are new and very clean. There is also a coffee machine in the room for guests.

Customer review
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 02 January 2010

the style of the rooms (furniture, design), the coffee machine in the room and the mini bar, the bar on the roof top, the king size bed

94.3%
3 reviews Book Now 
5

Excel Sense

Hostel
paseo Xaman-Ha- Lote 16, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Excel Sense

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 86%
Diana Stainton
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
82.9%
Diana would recommend this property 15 January 2014

The place was nicely decorated and was very clean. Cleaners came daily to sweep the rooms, clean the bathroom and make the beds (which were very comfy!) . There was retro style bike to hire which was fun and made exploring a lot easier. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The roof top bar was cool - nice place to hang out. The air con was a treat too

Sarah Murray
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Sarah would recommend this property 07 October 2013

Relaxing, chilled, clean and safe. The hostel is about a 20min walk from the centre which was perfect. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The decor is beautiful and there is a lovely atmosphere in the place. Everything is so clean and new and amazing facilities; hot water, soap, towels, aircon, breakfast, beautiful common area etc. would highly recommend.

92.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
6

Hotel Colorado

Hotel
Calle 4 Nte Entre 20 Y 25 Ave, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Colorado

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 94%
Carly Freeston
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Carly would recommend this property 08 December 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff, room cleaned every day, fridge in room at no extra cost, good wifi, really quiet, good cable TV. 5 minutes to the beach. Complimentary soap and shampoo. Towels changed every couple of days. Glasses in the room. Fan kept us cool enough.

David Siegel
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
91.4%
David would recommend this property 26 November 2012

Value is the key here. The staff could not be more friendly, the room safe, and the cost very good!

92.6%
15 reviews Book Now 
7

Barrio Latino

3 star Hotel
Calle 4 entre Avenida 10 y 15, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barrio Latino

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 85% Safety - 97%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 90%
Tom Pereira
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Tom would recommend this property 27 September 2011

Excellent location, very close to the beach and shops of playa. very clean property with excellent facilities for the price, including air conditioning. Great bathroom with hot shower. Staff are friendly and helpful. Love the hammock with each room, very relaxing!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 August 2011

I was very pleased with the look and feel of this hostel. The best part for me was the young man who worked the front desk. I wish I could remember his name but he was so polite and helpful. If the place was not as nice I would still go back because of the service.

89.3%
15 reviews Book Now 
8

Hostel Playa

Hostel
Calle 8 Norte LB 25 Avenida No, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 984

13 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Playa

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 88% Facilities - 89% Safety - 89%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 85%
Maira Carrera
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Maira would recommend this property 06 February 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Hostel Playa! I've stayed at 3 different hostels in Playa del Carmen now, and this one is by far my favorite. It has a great atmosphere, and it's easy to make friends if you are traveling alone. Everyone (including the staff) is super friendly and helpful. It's incredibly clean! & While the breakfast is early, it's an actual breakfast, unlike at many of the other hostels which only offer bread and coffee. In hostel fashion--people do stay out in the common area talking, drinking, playing games, or just hanging out etc. late-ish, but they do a great job of kicking people out of that area and making sure its quiet by midnight (so not even that late), and honestly, the space is so big that it never felt loud from my room--even when people were hanging out. Overall, it was a great hostel and a great place to stay at the end of my trip! :)

Merlin Naisar
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Merlin would recommend this property 11 December 2013

I have never ever been to such a clean hostel over a year travelling around the world. it's awesome. they make your bad every and the stuff, specially Luisa are super friendly. even the owner of the hostels drink with you tequila and play chess. I would highly recommend this hostel to everyone who is planing to go to Playa the carmen.

87.8%
47 reviews Book Now 
9

Hacienda del Sol

Hostel
Calle 2 Norte Mz 228 LT 6 Y 7, Entre Av 120 Y 125, Col Ejido, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77712

43 out of 47 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hacienda del Sol

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 93% Facilities - 89% Safety - 91%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 88%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 14 April 2014

- veeeery very friendly and helpful owner - cosy atmosphere - location not central, but not a problem at all (taxi to centre for 30 pesos) --> therefore quieter

Lance Lilly
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Lance would recommend this property 08 April 2014

Very relaxing. Very secure. Away from the hustle and bustle of downtown. Easy 5-10 peso collectivo ride to beach or bus terminal. Easy jump off point for day trips. The real Mexico is right outside the front door. I decided to stay here after a week of the beach/tourist/disco/overpriced/shenanigans party that is downtown. I shall return.

87.7%
53 reviews Book Now 
10

Hostel 3B

Hostel
Avenida 10 esquina Calle 1 sur, Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

46 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel 3B

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 82% Facilities - 79% Safety - 91%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 90%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 19 July 2013

Great location for staying and having fun in Playa. Kitchen is decent. Beds are solid.

Devan Franz
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Devan would recommend this property 10 March 2013

This has to be one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! It is clean with great atmosphere. I met some really awesome people in my week stay. The location is unreal, super close to the beach. I will be coming back, best hostel in Playa!

Playa del Carmen

41 Hostels from 9.19 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Playa del Carmen hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Playa del Carmen. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.