We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Playa del Carmen, Mexico

98.9%
5 reviews Book Now 
1

la tortuga azul

Hostel
Privada Juárez no. 249, Centro entre avenidas 35 y 40, Playa del Carmen, Mexico -

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend la tortuga azul

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 100%
Hilary Ledsam
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Hilary would recommend this property 25 July 2014

La Tortuga Azul is a relaxing, clean and overall very nice place to stay. Jose was a wonderful host and helped us with anything we needed. I strongly reccomend that you stay here. Only six blocks from the beach in a local neighborhood with new facilities.

Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 20 June 2014

The owner Jose is very friendly and helps the guest a lot. It was a first time for me to visit Playa del Carmen but everything went so well because of him. The hostel is very intimate atmosphere and easy to become friends with other guests.

97.4%
11 reviews Book Now 
2

Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

4 star Hotel
5th Avenue 314, Between 24th and 26th, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 100% Facilities - 92% Safety - 98%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 98%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 31 January 2013

Good location, on the main street 5th avenue just next to shops and restaurants. Hotel is basic clean and rooms are cleaned every day, but hotel seems to be pretty old. Clean linen and towels! 24h reception. Safety box in the room. A restaurant tip: Try a good local restaurant outside of the tourist area, really good grilled food, big portions and good price. Restaurants name is El Fugon and it's located in a corner of 30th avenue and 8th street, walking distance from hotel.

Ana Waldheber
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Ana would recommend this property 11 October 2012

Everything. This place is absolutely phenomenal! Firstly the best thing about this place is the staff. All the guys that work there are awesome, they literally create the best atmosphere by being friendly, rooms were cleaned everyday which was great with all the sand coming in from the beach. Thank you guys for a great time!

96.2%
32 reviews Book Now 
3

The Yak

Hostel
Calle 10 bis norte,, entre Av. 10-15, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77727

32 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Yak

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 97% Facilities - 92% Safety - 97%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 96%
Lyz Watkinson
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Lyz would recommend this property 19 July 2014

The daily excursions, the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff (and the fact they remember everybody's names), the socialness - perfect for solo Travellers or groups alike. Would have lows to have stayed longer!

Matthew Martin
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Matthew would recommend this property 17 July 2014

This hostel has it all. Great location, awesome staff, cheap drinks, daily activities and the most comfortable beds and pillows I've ever slept on in any hostel I've stayed in. Common area is also great. I was travelling by myself and this is probably where I met the most people for my whole trip and we all ended up hanging out and partying together!!!! I stayed in 12 person dorm, heaps of space, large lockers and big bathroom. Air con comes on at night in the rooms. Laundry service available for a cheap price. Talking to the staff and hearing about some of the plans they have to make the hostel better sound exciting. I cant wait to come back!!!!!

95.3%
32 reviews Book Now 
4

Casa Kan Balam

Apartment
Calle 17 sur entre 70 y 75, 75 Lote 08 - Ejido sur, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77712

32 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Casa Kan Balam

Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 99% Facilities - 96% Safety - 98%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 99% Value - 99%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 14 June 2014

The owner aneeka was always on hand to help and offer advice and mad et he most amazing breakfasts. The place it self is so pretty and the rooms are really original and comfy.

Amanda Turnbull
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Amanda would recommend this property 18 March 2014

Our host was lovely, recommended great places in town to eat and gave great advice on how to get to our next location. The room was incredibly spacious with impressive lighting and a surround system to go with the flat screen TV, the out door bathroom is fantastic and jaw dropping :) Every morning we were served a different breakfast that was as wonderfully prepared as it was filling.

92.7%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Hotel Colorado

Hotel
Calle 4 Nte Entre 20 Y 25 Ave, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Colorado

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 94%
Carly Freeston
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Carly would recommend this property 08 December 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff, room cleaned every day, fridge in room at no extra cost, good wifi, really quiet, good cable TV. 5 minutes to the beach. Complimentary soap and shampoo. Towels changed every couple of days. Glasses in the room. Fan kept us cool enough.

David Siegel
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
91.4%
David would recommend this property 26 November 2012

Value is the key here. The staff could not be more friendly, the room safe, and the cost very good!

92.6%
15 reviews Book Now 
6

Barrio Latino

3 star Hotel
Calle 4 entre Avenida 10 y 15, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barrio Latino

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 85% Safety - 97%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 90%
Tom Pereira
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Tom would recommend this property 27 September 2011

Excellent location, very close to the beach and shops of playa. very clean property with excellent facilities for the price, including air conditioning. Great bathroom with hot shower. Staff are friendly and helpful. Love the hammock with each room, very relaxing!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 August 2011

I was very pleased with the look and feel of this hostel. The best part for me was the young man who worked the front desk. I wish I could remember his name but he was so polite and helpful. If the place was not as nice I would still go back because of the service.

92.1%
4 reviews Book Now 
7

Hotel El Punto

4 star Hotel
5th Ave & 8th Street, No. 7, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel El Punto

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 90% Facilities - 90% Safety - 95%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 28 June 2014

Really nice spacious rooms with a huge bed. Working aircon, dehumidifier etc. Roberto at reception was really lovely and helpful, remembered my name after the first meeting which was nice.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 10 February 2012

It is very trendy with a great atmosphere. The rooms are nice and bathrooms are new and very clean. There is also a coffee machine in the room for guests.

89.7%
5 reviews Book Now 
8

Excel Sense

Hostel
paseo Xaman-Ha- Lote 16, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Excel Sense

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 100% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 84%
Diana Stainton
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
82.9%
Diana would recommend this property 15 January 2014

The place was nicely decorated and was very clean. Cleaners came daily to sweep the rooms, clean the bathroom and make the beds (which were very comfy!) . There was retro style bike to hire which was fun and made exploring a lot easier. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The roof top bar was cool - nice place to hang out. The air con was a treat too

Sarah Murray
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Sarah would recommend this property 07 October 2013

Relaxing, chilled, clean and safe. The hostel is about a 20min walk from the centre which was perfect. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The decor is beautiful and there is a lovely atmosphere in the place. Everything is so clean and new and amazing facilities; hot water, soap, towels, aircon, breakfast, beautiful common area etc. would highly recommend.

88.4%
16 reviews Book Now 
9

Hostel Playa

Hostel
Calle 8 Norte LB 25 Avenida No, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 984

14 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel Playa

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 87% Facilities - 88% Safety - 87%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 82%
Maira Carrera
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Maira would recommend this property 06 February 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Hostel Playa! I've stayed at 3 different hostels in Playa del Carmen now, and this one is by far my favorite. It has a great atmosphere, and it's easy to make friends if you are traveling alone. Everyone (including the staff) is super friendly and helpful. It's incredibly clean! & While the breakfast is early, it's an actual breakfast, unlike at many of the other hostels which only offer bread and coffee. In hostel fashion--people do stay out in the common area talking, drinking, playing games, or just hanging out etc. late-ish, but they do a great job of kicking people out of that area and making sure its quiet by midnight (so not even that late), and honestly, the space is so big that it never felt loud from my room--even when people were hanging out. Overall, it was a great hostel and a great place to stay at the end of my trip! :)

Merlin Naisar
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Merlin would recommend this property 11 December 2013

I have never ever been to such a clean hostel over a year travelling around the world. it's awesome. they make your bad every and the stuff, specially Luisa are super friendly. even the owner of the hostels drink with you tequila and play chess. I would highly recommend this hostel to everyone who is planing to go to Playa the carmen.

88.2%
60 reviews Book Now 
10

Hostel 3B

Hostel
Avenida 10 esquina Calle 1 sur, Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

53 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostel 3B

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 84% Facilities - 81% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 92%
Samantha Javier
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Samantha would recommend this property 12 July 2014

I loved everything about this hostel, from the staff and hostel itself to all the great people we met here. This hostel was one of the best we stayed at in the Yucatan Peninsula. The owners and staff are all great wonderful people who are so welcoming, we even came back for a few extra nights because we made such great friends and had such a great time! The rooftop pool and bar is a great place to chill and always has something fun going on for all the travelers. The rooms were clean and had AC in the evenings, which definitely helps for those hot nights! If we ever come back to Playa we will definitely be staying here :)

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 03 July 2014

Convenient and cheap. It's got the whole party theme going and te definitely making the effort to keep the hostel new and clean. I like the vibe and the owners are doing their part to make thing right or their customers.

Playa del Carmen

44 Hostels from 5.30 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Playa del Carmen hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Playa del Carmen. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.