We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Playa del Carmen, Mexico

97.4%
11 reviews Book Now 
1

Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

4 star Hotel
5th Avenue 314, Between 24th and 26th, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 100% Facilities - 92% Safety - 98%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 98%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 31 January 2013

Good location, on the main street 5th avenue just next to shops and restaurants. Hotel is basic clean and rooms are cleaned every day, but hotel seems to be pretty old. Clean linen and towels! 24h reception. Safety box in the room. A restaurant tip: Try a good local restaurant outside of the tourist area, really good grilled food, big portions and good price. Restaurants name is El Fugon and it's located in a corner of 30th avenue and 8th street, walking distance from hotel.

Ana Waldheber
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Ana would recommend this property 11 October 2012

Everything. This place is absolutely phenomenal! Firstly the best thing about this place is the staff. All the guys that work there are awesome, they literally create the best atmosphere by being friendly, rooms were cleaned everyday which was great with all the sand coming in from the beach. Thank you guys for a great time!

96.7%
46 reviews Book Now 
2

The Yak

Hostel
Calle 10 bis norte,, entre Av. 10-15, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77727

46 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Yak

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 97% Facilities - 95% Safety - 96%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 94%
Rachel Deren
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Rachel would recommend this property 10 March 2015

I stayed in the private 4 person room with a private bathroom for 1 week and it was clean, towels were provided, clean beds and sheets, air conditioning (AND IT ACTUALLY WORKS ... WELL!), bathroom was clean and there were multiple kitchen space to use. The people were all friendly, everyone! from staff to other hostel guests. group activities were organized and there was an amazingly fun and relaxed atmosphere the entire time! It was secure, and completely safe (even for us ladies travelling solo!) I had a great time and would highly recommend the yak! I'm definitely going back.

Virginia Bach
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Virginia would recommend this property 21 February 2015

The Yak is the place to be in Playa del Carmen. The rooms are cleaned twice a day, staff will help you with booking tours and give you special tips where to go. We had a great time at the Yak and I would return every time when I'm in Playa.

94.8%
6 reviews Book Now 
3

Bendito Rancho

Hostel
Calle 22 entre 5 y 1, Playa del Carmen, Mexico -

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bendito Rancho

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 90% Safety - 93%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 93%
Cole Scigliano
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Cole would recommend this property 07 April 2015

This is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at in 10 years of staying in hostels all over the world. The hostel has an incredible atmosphere and Daniel and the rest of the staff make you feel at home from the moment you arrive. They also have amazing coffee from Veracruz that they toast themselves and a variety of hilarious animals (including Claudio the rooster and Mateo the Boxer). Overall wicked experience and great place to meet other travelers.

Joachim Pindt
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Joachim would recommend this property 25 January 2015

Es ist ein sehr schönes Hostel und kann nur weiterempfohlen werden, ich hatte einen tollen Aufenthalt und alle waren äußerst freundlich und hilfsbereit. Toller Garten und genug Möglichkeiten zum sitzen. Die Einkaufsstraße ist direkt um die Ecke und der Strand 2min zu Fuß.

94.7%
13 reviews Book Now 
4

Che Bed & Breakfast

Hostel
Bahia del Espiritu Santo, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

12 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Che Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 96% Facilities - 95% Safety - 95%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 89%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 09 March 2015

It s a very clean and nice place. There s a lot of space and the beach is just one block away. I would highly recommended Che s bed and breakfast.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
65.7%
09 January 2015

Very good location- safe residential area, close to both, beach and downtown. Room was spacious and quiet and had its private little cooking space.

94.3%
35 reviews Book Now 
5

Casa Kan Balam

Apartment
Calle 17 sur entre 70 y 75, 75 Lote 08 - Ejido sur, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77712

35 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Casa Kan Balam

Atmosphere - 99% Staff - 99% Facilities - 95% Safety - 97%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 98%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 20 March 2015

Es war mit Abstand das beste zimmer in mexico, nur leider etwas weit vom Zentrum entfernt! Das Frühstück war auch einfach super!! Würden jederzeit wiederkommen!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 14 June 2014

The owner aneeka was always on hand to help and offer advice and mad et he most amazing breakfasts. The place it self is so pretty and the rooms are really original and comfy.

93.0%
9 reviews Book Now 
6

Hotel Colorado

Hotel
Calle 4 Nte Entre 20 Y 25 Ave, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Colorado

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 97% Facilities - 86% Safety - 93%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 95%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 22 April 2015

Thanks to a good price, we were able to enjoy Playa del Carmen. The room was clean, beds confortable and a functional bathroom.

Carly Freeston
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Carly would recommend this property 08 December 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff, room cleaned every day, fridge in room at no extra cost, good wifi, really quiet, good cable TV. 5 minutes to the beach. Complimentary soap and shampoo. Towels changed every couple of days. Glasses in the room. Fan kept us cool enough.

92.6%
15 reviews Book Now 
7

Barrio Latino

3 star Hotel
Calle 4 entre Avenida 10 y 15, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barrio Latino

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 85% Safety - 97%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 90%
Tom Pereira
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Tom would recommend this property 27 September 2011

Excellent location, very close to the beach and shops of playa. very clean property with excellent facilities for the price, including air conditioning. Great bathroom with hot shower. Staff are friendly and helpful. Love the hammock with each room, very relaxing!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 August 2011

I was very pleased with the look and feel of this hostel. The best part for me was the young man who worked the front desk. I wish I could remember his name but he was so polite and helpful. If the place was not as nice I would still go back because of the service.

92.1%
4 reviews Book Now 
8

Hotel El Punto

4 star Hotel
5th Ave & 8th Street, No. 7, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel El Punto

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 90% Facilities - 90% Safety - 95%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 28 June 2014

Really nice spacious rooms with a huge bed. Working aircon, dehumidifier etc. Roberto at reception was really lovely and helpful, remembered my name after the first meeting which was nice.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 10 February 2012

It is very trendy with a great atmosphere. The rooms are nice and bathrooms are new and very clean. There is also a coffee machine in the room for guests.

90.1%
11 reviews Book Now 
9

la tortuga azul

Hostel
Privada Juárez no. 249, Centro entre avenidas 35 y 40, Playa del Carmen, Mexico -

10 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend la tortuga azul

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 85% Safety - 96%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 92%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 11 March 2015

Very clean place with an awesome kitchen. The staff speaks English very well and are extremely helpful with everything. There are also hammocks and tables outside to chill at and socialize in the evenings. The internet is super fast for Mexico.

Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 20 January 2015

It is a very small hostel, in a quiet part of Playa del Carmen, with very helpful and nice staff members and owner (they got my booking wrong and first night I had a shared bathroom) but they were trying to sort it out immediately, I got a bit of a refund and had my room (which was very nice) ready the next day. Thanks guys! Gracias

89.4%
7 reviews Book Now 
10

Excel Sense

Hostel
paseo Xaman-Ha- Lote 16, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Excel Sense

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 100% Facilities - 91% Safety - 94%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 82%
Tamara Salter
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
82.9%
Tamara would recommend this property 10 March 2015

Great hostel out of the busy centre, but not too far away. Comfy beds, lovely friendly staff, good wifi in communal areas, basic bfast, really nice area in a Playa del carmen - felt very safe, 24hr shop moments away and a few cafe/restaurants , hot showers

Diana Stainton
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
82.9%
Diana would recommend this property 15 January 2014

The place was nicely decorated and was very clean. Cleaners came daily to sweep the rooms, clean the bathroom and make the beds (which were very comfy!) . There was retro style bike to hire which was fun and made exploring a lot easier. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The roof top bar was cool - nice place to hang out. The air con was a treat too

Playa del Carmen

42 Hostels from 9.30 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Playa del Carmen hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Playa del Carmen. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.