We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Playa del Carmen, Mexico

97.4%
11 reviews Book Now 
1

Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

4 star Hotel
5th Avenue 314, Between 24th and 26th, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

11 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Posada Mariposa Boutique Hotel

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 100% Facilities - 92% Safety - 98%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 98%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 31 January 2013

Good location, on the main street 5th avenue just next to shops and restaurants. Hotel is basic clean and rooms are cleaned every day, but hotel seems to be pretty old. Clean linen and towels! 24h reception. Safety box in the room. A restaurant tip: Try a good local restaurant outside of the tourist area, really good grilled food, big portions and good price. Restaurants name is El Fugon and it's located in a corner of 30th avenue and 8th street, walking distance from hotel.

Ana Waldheber
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Ana would recommend this property 11 October 2012

Everything. This place is absolutely phenomenal! Firstly the best thing about this place is the staff. All the guys that work there are awesome, they literally create the best atmosphere by being friendly, rooms were cleaned everyday which was great with all the sand coming in from the beach. Thank you guys for a great time!

96.8%
44 reviews Book Now 
2

The Yak

Hostel
Calle 10 bis norte,, entre Av. 10-15, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77727

44 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Yak

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 97% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 95%
Virginia Bach
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Virginia would recommend this property 21 February 2015

The Yak is the place to be in Playa del Carmen. The rooms are cleaned twice a day, staff will help you with booking tours and give you special tips where to go. We had a great time at the Yak and I would return every time when I'm in Playa.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 19 February 2015

Clean & tidy private double room, in great location, with an activity each day. Staff were very helpful & breakfast was good.

94.5%
33 reviews Book Now 
3

Casa Kan Balam

Apartment
Calle 17 sur entre 70 y 75, 75 Lote 08 - Ejido sur, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77712

33 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Casa Kan Balam

Atmosphere - 99% Staff - 99% Facilities - 96% Safety - 97%
Location - 73% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 98%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 14 June 2014

The owner aneeka was always on hand to help and offer advice and mad et he most amazing breakfasts. The place it self is so pretty and the rooms are really original and comfy.

Amanda Turnbull
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Amanda would recommend this property 18 March 2014

Our host was lovely, recommended great places in town to eat and gave great advice on how to get to our next location. The room was incredibly spacious with impressive lighting and a surround system to go with the flat screen TV, the out door bathroom is fantastic and jaw dropping :) Every morning we were served a different breakfast that was as wonderfully prepared as it was filling.

94.3%
4 reviews Book Now 
4

Bendito Rancho

Hostel
Calle 22 entre 5 y 1, Playa del Carmen, Mexico -

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Bendito Rancho

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 100% Facilities - 90% Safety - 90%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 95%
Joachim Pindt
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Joachim would recommend this property 25 January 2015

Es ist ein sehr schönes Hostel und kann nur weiterempfohlen werden, ich hatte einen tollen Aufenthalt und alle waren äußerst freundlich und hilfsbereit. Toller Garten und genug Möglichkeiten zum sitzen. Die Einkaufsstraße ist direkt um die Ecke und der Strand 2min zu Fuß.

Sander Claassens
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing
91.4%
Sander would recommend this property 29 August 2014

Location, location, location! Literary on 5ht the big shopping street but super quiet and cozy. Beach is around the corner, mamit'as beach. Maybe the cleanest hostel I have ever been to. They recently opened so not everything runs 100% smoothly but they make up by being super friendly and make you feel really part of the hostel. They took me paddleboarding at sunrise even though I only stayed one night. The garden makes it feel very open. loved it!!

94.0%
9 reviews Book Now 
5

la tortuga azul

Hostel
Privada Juárez no. 249, Centro entre avenidas 35 y 40, Playa del Carmen, Mexico -

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend la tortuga azul

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 95% Facilities - 88% Safety - 100%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 97%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 20 January 2015

It is a very small hostel, in a quiet part of Playa del Carmen, with very helpful and nice staff members and owner (they got my booking wrong and first night I had a shared bathroom) but they were trying to sort it out immediately, I got a bit of a refund and had my room (which was very nice) ready the next day. Thanks guys! Gracias

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 02 January 2015

Staff were helpful, location good, 10 mins walk to the beach. It was clean and quiet at night.

93.7%
10 reviews Book Now 
6

Che Bed & Breakfast

Hostel
Bahia del Espiritu Santo, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Che Bed & Breakfast

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 94% Safety - 94%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 90%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
65.7%
09 January 2015

Very good location- safe residential area, close to both, beach and downtown. Room was spacious and quiet and had its private little cooking space.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 07 January 2015

Location is excellent, easy walking distance to bus station, main strip and beach. Staff very friendly and helpful. Large spacious room Wifi

93.6%
8 reviews Book Now 
7

Hotel Colorado

Hotel
Calle 4 Nte Entre 20 Y 25 Ave, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

8 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Colorado

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 97% Facilities - 90% Safety - 95%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 95%
Carly Freeston
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Carly would recommend this property 08 December 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff, room cleaned every day, fridge in room at no extra cost, good wifi, really quiet, good cable TV. 5 minutes to the beach. Complimentary soap and shampoo. Towels changed every couple of days. Glasses in the room. Fan kept us cool enough.

David Siegel
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
91.4%
David would recommend this property 26 November 2012

Value is the key here. The staff could not be more friendly, the room safe, and the cost very good!

92.6%
15 reviews Book Now 
8

Barrio Latino

3 star Hotel
Calle 4 entre Avenida 10 y 15, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

15 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barrio Latino

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 85% Safety - 97%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 90%
Tom Pereira
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Tom would recommend this property 27 September 2011

Excellent location, very close to the beach and shops of playa. very clean property with excellent facilities for the price, including air conditioning. Great bathroom with hot shower. Staff are friendly and helpful. Love the hammock with each room, very relaxing!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 August 2011

I was very pleased with the look and feel of this hostel. The best part for me was the young man who worked the front desk. I wish I could remember his name but he was so polite and helpful. If the place was not as nice I would still go back because of the service.

89.7%
5 reviews Book Now 
9

Hostal El Duelde del Mar

Guesthouse
Ave 30 Sur Esquina calle 3 Sur, Entre 25 y 35 sur., Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hostal El Duelde del Mar

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 100% Facilities - 88% Safety - 100%
Location - 68% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 88%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 09 August 2012

The superior double room came equipt will everything you could imagine: a refrigerator, oven, stovetop, sink, small kitchen table, tv, air conditioning, and a private bathroom.

Mia Carrasco-Songer
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa
97.1%
Mia would recommend this property 21 January 2012

I would highly recommend this place! Whether you are traveling as a couple, a group, or a family this is a wonderful gem in Playa del Carmen. It may be listed as "hostel" but it is really a little apartment (which you could never tell from the price) complete with two bedrooms with nice patios, a kitchen (with refrigerator, oven, pots, pans, plates, bowls, silverware, cooking utensils, a blender, etc), and bathroom. The place is beautifully designed and decorated and very clean. I loved sitting in our porch hammock and looking out into the courtyard which is a gorgeous oasis of green trees and flowers. I always felt safe there. The staff was very sweet and helpful. I couldn't have asked for a better stay. El Duende Del Mar is several blocks from the commercial/hotel strip along the beach. It is not a long walk and the price makes it so worth it. It is on 3rd and 30th, you just walk up the main street from the bus station and then take a left at another major intersection. Be on the lookout for it because there is no big sign. Right as the street is about to end you will find it. BONUS: There is little produce store a block away where we would buy a bunch of fresh fruit (mangos, bananas, pineapple, etc) to bring back and make smoothies with the blender in our room! Breakfast consisted of coffee and toast with jam and was brought to our room every morning at whatever time we requested! There was hot water everyday in the beautiful mosaic shower. This place is an incredible value. It was absolutely the nicest place we stayed while traveling around the Yucatan. I couldn't believe it, usually I realize I am going to have to sacrifice something (comfort, cleanliness, etc.) to some extent while trying to stay within my budget but not at this place! It has it all. I think is pretty undiscovered right now. It use to be a "condohotel" with a much higher price I think but because of tourism and the location they lowered the price to cater to budget travelers. It really does have it all. If you are looking for a beautiful, clean, safe, peaceful place to stay on a small budget you are in luck.

89.7%
5 reviews Book Now 
10

Excel Sense

Hostel
paseo Xaman-Ha- Lote 16, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Excel Sense

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 100% Facilities - 92% Safety - 96%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 84%
Diana Stainton
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
82.9%
Diana would recommend this property 15 January 2014

The place was nicely decorated and was very clean. Cleaners came daily to sweep the rooms, clean the bathroom and make the beds (which were very comfy!) . There was retro style bike to hire which was fun and made exploring a lot easier. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The roof top bar was cool - nice place to hang out. The air con was a treat too

Sarah Murray
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Sarah would recommend this property 07 October 2013

Relaxing, chilled, clean and safe. The hostel is about a 20min walk from the centre which was perfect. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The decor is beautiful and there is a lovely atmosphere in the place. Everything is so clean and new and amazing facilities; hot water, soap, towels, aircon, breakfast, beautiful common area etc. would highly recommend.

Playa del Carmen

40 Hostels from 11.00 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Playa del Carmen hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Playa del Carmen. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.