HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Vive la Vida

Hostel | 2nd Street. Col. Center, Calle 2 Nte. Col. Centro, Between 25th & 30th Avenues. Playa del Carmen, Mexico 777000

81.5% Overall Rating

12 out of 17 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2012)

Mary Kerr thinks…

"Really clean, from the kitchen to the rooms, bathroom and pool. Looked new, nicely - simply - decorated. Big, really well-equipped kitchen and use of the internet (though it could be temperamental).…"

Read all Hostel Vive la Vida reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Playa del Carmen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Playa del Carmen

la tortuga azul
14.48 USD

Hostel 98.9% 5 reviews
Grand Hostal Playa
12.62 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 7 reviews
Casa Yucatan
3.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
VIVA HOSTEL
8.91 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal El Duelde del Mar
12.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Che
11.13 USD

Hostel 82.9% 40 reviews
UH Urban Hostel
8.91 USD

Hostel 60.2% 52 reviews
Hostel Playa
12.62 USD

Hostel 88.4% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.5%

Overall Rating

12 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Vive la Vida'

Atmosphere
76.5%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
72.9%
Cleanliness
90.6%
Staff
87.1%
Value
75.3%
Safety
85.9%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mary Kerr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, from the kitchen to the rooms, bathroom and pool. Looked new, nicely - simply - decorated. Big, really well-equipped kitchen and use of the internet (though it could be temperamental). Calm, chilled atmosphere, a small pool to cool off in after a hard day´s sunbathing and a communal tv area for films and, of course, Friends!

Disliked: Climbing up the ladders to the top bunks brought you dangerously close to the ceiling fan! And despite the fans it was pretty hot and stuffy in the rooms. But apart from that this place was fab.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brett paul

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 brett would recommend this property

Liked: its a very clean, spacious and up and coming hostel. the staff were very friendly, there was a huge, clean kitchen. A small pool and very new rooms with all that a traveller needs including your own reading light and power outlets for every bed. the hostel was open and spacious and good for meeting people.

Disliked: its close enough to the centre of town but still a bit of a walk

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gareth Rodda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

31 May 2011 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Doesnt appear to have been operating for long. Brand new lockers with keys provided for no extra charge which can also be double locked with your own padlock if you want. Bathrooms are cleaned daily. Good kitchen with plenty of gas cook tops, plates, utensils etc. Huge fridge space for storing food. 5min walk to Walmart supermarket. 5min walk to 5th Ave. Great outdoor eating area with big 42" TV.

Disliked: Rooms are technically seperate. Walls dont go right to the roof so you could peer over the top if you wanted too. They have tried to eliminate this by using some black cloth tack to the ceiling and walls but it didnt do a very good job. When people in next room talked or turned on the lights you were in on the action too! If you cant handled the heat dont stay here as there is no A/C only ceiling fans.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matteus Ljunggren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 Matteus would recommend this property

Liked: Totally new, very nice decorated, good public area and kitchen, very nice staff, just 4 blocks from the main street, supermarket 1 block away, bus station 4 blocks away. The hostel has great rebates on stuff in town e.g. gym, scuba diving, free coffee. Juarez st is the next block with lots of stores, restaurants etc. By far the best of the 6 hostels I've been in during my three weeks in Mexico. Plenty of showers with hot water and good clean toilets. Don't mind the comments where people complain about stuff, there are always travelers who haven't traveled before and think a hostel is a hotel. Or he guy complaining about the hostel smelling like it's just been built...maybe next time remember to take your pills in the morning...are you for real?

Disliked: Best hostel so far, hard to complain about anything.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendly staff,

Disliked: -kitchen is very bare- it wants to be homier -rooms need more ventilation and windows or natural light; I found the concrete walls smelled (of concrete!)

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2011

Liked: It was clean and quiet. The shower and wi-fi worked. Decently stocked kitchen.

Disliked: It had absolutely no atmosphere. Was practically empty, but if it were full then the common area would be far too small as the common area, kitchen, and pool (tiny and shallow) are all pretty the same space, and half that space is taken up by the staff sitting around. Also, I was annoyed that i had to give up my passport, but as it was too late to book anywhere else i did. they assured me it would be secure in a "safe-box" that turned out to be a plastic box with a flimsy lock that they just left sitting under the desk, which was often unattended. since the front door had no lock, anyone could just walk straight in and make off with a dozen people's passports. I was also annoyed that the first thing the girl on the desk said to me upon seeing my passport was that she didn't like australians because we were apparently drunks and trouble-makers. The former i'll grant you, but the latter was a bit harsh.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean!

Disliked: smoking absolutely everywhere is terrible, no signs saying "no smoking"

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jennifer Bartels

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2011

Liked: Kitchen was okay.

Disliked: Rooms are incredibly small and packed wtih beds. With half of the beds it would be okay. If sleeping on top bunk bed, the fan is right above and blowing into your face really bad. There are not enough toilets. Only 4 toilets for around 40girls. And most of the time at least one of them did not work.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011

Liked: It was clean.

Disliked: There is nothing included except the bed sheets and a private locker, which is not as private as it seems. The staff have a double of each lockers key. At first they gave me a key to someone elses locker. I could have stolen someones passport and bank cards. Also, they take your passport when you check in and hand it back when you check out.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like the area to make food and the place where i can watch tv and meet people. and that you had your own light in your bed. i also like it was clean.

Disliked: the rooms were very full of people. no computers with internet there. very few bathrooms for all the people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jerome natali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010 jerome would recommend this property

Liked: a very new building, friendly staff, clean kitchen ,

Disliked: there is too much bed in the room i stayed ,not enought space to spread your stuff, they have to put rules like no noise after 11 pm the bathroom in a swimming pool after taking a shower but it is just the beginning for this hostel so it's forgivable...