HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Popol Vuh Playa del Carmen Hostel

Calle 2 norte con zona federal martima y 5a Av., Col. Centro, Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 80%

Location 99%

Safety 84%

Staff 93%

Value 87%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Linen Included
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Playa del Carmen?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 80%

Location 99%

Safety 84%

Staff 93%

Value 87%

Showing 1-10 of 18 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The fact that it is near the beach and transportation.

Disliked: The fact that the room overlooks the outdoor playground area makes it noisy. The rooms was not clean and the shower, well calling that a shower is an insult. Barely were we able to rinse soap from our skin. No pressure at all, only few drops of water here and there. For a 90$ US per night this is not acceptable.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location at the beach. Quite at night. Good kitchen.

Disliked: Fridge was too full and never cleaned.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were very helpful and accommodating. They had our room ready early, and allowed us to trade our two old books for two new ones at their book exchange. The beach like communal area was wide open, with hammocks and plenty of places to hang out and meet people. Their location is great because it is close to the beach, and the Cozumel ferry and some good restaurants, but it is quiet at night. You are still within walking distance of the clubs too. All in all a good choice.

Disliked: The only issue was that the walls are paper thin- you can hear everything your neighbors are up to! But that is pretty standard with this kind of hostel, and really not a big deal.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Location and atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is fantastic as it is literally right near the beach and main shopping street. the rooms are clean but there is a lot of termite dust constantly falling on the beds.

Disliked: our private room had only single beds and as a couple I asked about a double bed but the owners were really rude and unhelpful.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very close to the beach, friendly staff and cool and quiet oasis from hustle and bustle outside. Simple but everything we needed. Hammocks are awesome!

Disliked: They do have security at night but during the day the place is open and we couldn't really lock our room properly. It is pretty basic considering the price but the location is awesome,

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is really friendly and this hostel is right at the beach and one street away from 5th Avenue, where it all happens. Besides this it is so close to the busstation!

Disliked: The rooms are very hot but we think it doesn't matter where you are right now in Playa (except if you book a room with aircon) because it's hot everywhere.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Awesome hostel. Right on the beach!!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is perfect for immediate access to the beach and the entertainment strip. Staff were friendly and helpful and although their English was limited it was better than our Spanish. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: Cabin was very small and there was very little space to leave packs so the loft/2nd room was helpful. Very basic but that was how it was advertised. Door to the cabin was very difficult to close from the inside.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability