HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bed & Breakfast Popol Vuh

Guesthouse | Calle 2 Norte entre 5a Avenue, y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

84.2% Overall Rating

52 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

madeline Cooper thinks…

"Very close to the beach, friendly staff and cool and quiet oasis from hustle and bustle outside. Simple but everything we needed. Hammocks are awesome!"

Read all Bed & Breakfast Popol Vuh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Playa del Carmen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Playa del Carmen

Hotel Cielo
42.00 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Xtudio Comfort Hotel
82.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hostel Quinta Playa
12.22 USD

Hostel 82.5% 15 reviews
Xaman Eco-Hostel
7.64 USD

Hostel 67.6% 9 reviews
Casa Yucatan
2.29 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Xperience Hotels - Illusion
111.90 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Hostel Che
12.52 USD

Hostel 82.9% 40 reviews
Che Bed & Breakfast
11.46 USD

Hostel 97.1% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

52 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bed & Breakfast Popol Vuh'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 60 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

madeline Cooper

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014 madeline would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the beach, friendly staff and cool and quiet oasis from hustle and bustle outside. Simple but everything we needed. Hammocks are awesome!

Disliked: They do have security at night but during the day the place is open and we couldn't really lock our room properly. It is pretty basic considering the price but the location is awesome,

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sietske Zwiebel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Sietske would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly and this hostel is right at the beach and one street away from 5th Avenue, where it all happens. Besides this it is so close to the busstation!

Disliked: The rooms are very hot but we think it doesn't matter where you are right now in Playa (except if you book a room with aircon) because it's hot everywhere.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 May 2014

Liked: Awesome hostel. Right on the beach!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gary Paget

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect for immediate access to the beach and the entertainment strip. Staff were friendly and helpful and although their English was limited it was better than our Spanish. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: Cabin was very small and there was very little space to leave packs so the loft/2nd room was helpful. Very basic but that was how it was advertised. Door to the cabin was very difficult to close from the inside.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Wojciech Pawlowski

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 February 2014 Wojciech would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere and cool people. After all, for this price it is worth to stay there.

Disliked: Nice place in a great location but needs some more attendance from the owners... gives an impression of not beeing supervised properly and thus is a bit untidy. Besides that, everything was good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Masnari

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2013 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: It still has the old charm of Playa del Carmen... Just round the corner from the beach Right in the middle of tropical foliage , birds singing. Will stay there again in a heartbeat !

Disliked: Jacqueline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoff Barnes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 December 2013 Geoff would recommend this property

Liked: Popol Vuh is perfectly situated in the Centre of Playa del Carmen with its own beach entrance, the accommodation is excellent in terms of value for money, the staff are very friendly and do their best to make your stay a happy one. I stayed 10 days and will return before I leave Mexico.

Disliked: This is not a dislike but, if you are looking for hotel type accommodation, this may not be for you, it is rustic and the communal area is pretty much a beach with hammocks(I loved it) but there are ants and mosquitos as you would expect with the setting.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Parker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 December 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: next too the beach and very central

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and nice and helpful staff.great location you can even hear the ocean in the night lying in your bed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

krystal diebold

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 krystal would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere is laid back, and people aren't noisy in the common area. They play a variety of music and turn it off around 10 pm. The kitchen actually has some nice cookware, and is fairly clean. We stayed in a private cabin, which is not directly on the beach as it may seem from the photo, but it is a very short walk. One of the beds is up in a loft which was really neat, and we kept cool because the breeze goes right through. The bed has a mosquito net. The rooms/cabins all face the common area in the center where there are hammocks and a picnic table. It's definitely not a fancy resort, but it is an affordable and practical place to stay, where you can use a kitchen to make your meals, hang out and meet new people from all over the world. The breakfast is decent! The coffee is not bad and it includes either fried or scrambled eggs, You can get ham or beans with them if you ask.

Disliked: They lock the gate at 11 pm, and we arrived later and couldn't get in or reach anybody on the phone. We were forced to stay in a different hotel. The mosquitos were really bad near our cabin, but in the common area there is more of a breeze and they aren't so bad.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Leandra Gollob

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Leandra would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right by beach and the main strip! Nice common kitchen and really great fast wifi. Hammocks to lounge in.

Disliked: Was a bit run-down so had an issue with Mosquitos getting in the room easily, but that is what you get for the price

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jana Dukes

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 May 2013 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Right on the Beach, seriously, nothing is closer to the beach that this gem. I had the dorm all to myself for a week. Very relaxing, not a party hostel unless you make it that way. I loved the hammocks in the late afternoon, when the beach bar would have a live band and the music just floated on over while I relaxed. Cleaning lady comes by daily to sweep, mop, and clean the bathroom. Mattress was clean and comfy. Linens were provided. Lockers were big. Gama (working the desk) offered great advice on things to do and was more than willing to hangout, chat, and have a beer with me. Left feeling completely RELAXED and it was hard to leave such a peaceful place...

Disliked: Internet did not work while in my bunk... but was fast when in a hammock or sitting at the picnic table in the public area...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location.

Disliked: Small room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andres Porras

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Andres would recommend this property

Liked: The beach, its right beside it.

Disliked: Andres left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: superb beach access with a chilled out vibe. nice and peaceful considering its just off the strip on 5th avenue, so good we booked two more nights on the way home.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Grossman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

19 March 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has the best location in Playa. It's basically on the beach and close 100yds from 5th Avenue but its not too loud like many hostels in playa. I stayed in the dorm which was nice and clean and only has six beds so it could never be too cramped. The kitchen is good and the atmosphere is chill which is great because you can choose whether you want to relax or find one of the hundreds of places in Playa del Carmen to get crazy. The staff were also very friendly. I would recommend to anyone spending time here!

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: If you want peace and quiet and a good sleep, don't come here. Very noisy!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheema Brahmbhatt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Sheema would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, easygoing place. Excellent location, about 50m from bus station & 20m from the beach! Right next to the main shopping street, couldn't ask for a better location, and really good price. Nice courtyard with hammocks. Staff were friendly and our cabin was nice.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leslie cacioni

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2012 leslie would recommend this property

Liked: TODO!!! Gama y Pao, los recepcionistas...son lo más!! no hubiera sido excelente mi estadía en Playa si no fuera por ellos, la mejor onda, compañeros, siempre dispuestos a ayudarte en lo que sea....me llevo amigos del Popol Vuh. La ubicación es la mejor, estas a metros del mejor mar y de la peatonal!! El desayuno es muy bueno y abundante, todos los mozos tienen la mejor predisposicion, en especial Charlotte que es una divina total!!! no se pierdan almorzar en el restaurant del Popol Vuh donde sirven el desayuno!!!

Disliked: NADA, absolutamente NADA!!! super recomendable!!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was right next to the beach and perfect for the main shopping and dining street too. I stayed in a private beach hut style room which was fun and the beds were comfy. The breakfast was basic but great considering the price and style of the Hostel.

Disliked: As the hostel states, it is very basic. We did not have hot water in our room and did not feel is was very secure. There are also a lot of mosquitoes although the hostel provide nets and a plug in spray soon solved the issue. Definitely don't stay here if you want any luxury.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, security, atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: the staff.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 December 2011

Liked: Good courtyard, good staff.

Disliked: No hotwater in the shower. Even no COMFORT available on x'mas day!!