HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Happy Gecko Hotel & Hostel

Hostel | 10th Avenue, (between 6 & 8 streets), Playa del Carmen, Mexico 77710

74.6% Overall Rating

61 out of 71 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/05/2012)

KATRINA QUACH thinks…

"Super friendly staff and we were there in time for the 4th anniversary party on their roof top bar."

Read all Happy Gecko Hotel & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Playa del Carmen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Playa del Carmen

Playa Encantada
65.92 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Playa del Karma
63.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
The Yak
16.00 USD

Hostel 96.1% 35 reviews
Hotel Alux Playa
17.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.1% 3 reviews
Xperience Hotels – Aqualuna Boutique Hotel
89.29 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hacienda Maria Bonita
39.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 6 reviews
Hotel las Golondrinas
39.38 USD

Hotel 4 star 76.2% 3 reviews
Hostel Playa
12.62 USD

Hostel 88.4% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.6%

Overall Rating

61 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Happy Gecko Hotel & Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
80.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 53 of 55 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool roof top patio.

Disliked: Wifi was very spotty

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: When I stayed at the hostel it was raining very hard and everything was flatted. In the bedroom the water came thought the walls and the floor was wet as well. The whole room was moister and you didn’t got anything dry. The bed smelt. I would not go to the hostel for a second time. The bathroom also was very disgusting it was so dirty and most the time there were not even toilet paper around.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Janine Fabre

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2012 Janine would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpful & friendly. Location great for the price.

Disliked: No protection from the rain on the stairs so it gets slippery & makes the reception area flood so they use towells all over the floor. Makes the place look messier than it really is.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

KATRINA QUACH

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2012 KATRINA would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff and we were there in time for the 4th anniversary party on their roof top bar.

Disliked: A/C was quite weak and bathroom sink was quite dirty for a few days until the cleaner scraped off this black chunk of build up.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very noisy, rooftop parties until late and then very noisy reception, early.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was central to everything & had great instructions on how to get there!!

Disliked: It was a little confusing having to walk past a whole bunch of rooms first to get to the reception area.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: clanliness, value for money

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Ramirez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

26 April 2011 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff!

Disliked: ... not really.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

georgina rooldan

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 February 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: The place.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: had a really huge double with kitchen

Disliked: never had such a loud aircon and the shower had almost no hot water

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Franca kraut

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2011 Franca would recommend this property

Liked: great people great location and very helpful staff. went back there a second time without booking and even so they were full they were very helpful in finding a place to sleep for us. would def go back

Disliked: nada

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2010

Liked: The staff were really friendly and there is a good atmosphere there

Disliked: The beds stuck springs into you, and looked as though they were DYI built. Also the bar stays open till the late hours of the morning playing music loudly. Not the best placve for sleep.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2010

Liked: Bath in Room

Disliked: No breakfast, but offered in internet. they promissed breakfast for us for the next day, but no breakfast, too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Relaxation/spa

24 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lots of people winking

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Gemmink

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 August 2010 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the staff en the terras on the roof

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shane Gunaratnam

29 May 2010 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, staff are wonderful and cater for an interesting mix of american, european and latin american tourists very nicely.

Disliked: Shane left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air conditioned dorm room was a big plus. Comfortable beds and the rooms are kept clean. Helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Carl Ferris

07 April 2010 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had a great relaxed atmosphere! The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the common area on the roof was a great place to hang out, have a BBQ and a drink and meet other travellers. Loved the cheap ensuite rooms too.

Disliked: Carl left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

06 April 2010

Liked: they had hot water.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Rocio Astorga

03 April 2010

Liked: The experience there was awful. First of all, I had booked a room for only girls and when I arrived, a guy was sleeping there.In addition, one of the employees was really rude to me, saying that I lacked common sense because I asked about the value of the money in Mexico. I was a tourist, I had just arrived, how could I possibly know?! He even said that he assumed that I did not know about money because I was poor, which I am not but that's nothing that you should say to people you don't know.Moreover, my room was next to the reception, the place was very noisy and the employees with some of the hostel guests partied until 7 am on the hostel, not giving me the chance to sleep and get ready for the next day.The room was never cleaned while I was there.

Disliked: Rocio left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is what made it for me. I got quite ill from something I ate and as I was alone it was so nice to know that there was someone looking out for me. The atmosphere is great and people really friendly. But i'd definitely reccommend getting a smaller en suite dorm

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

audrey nortier

06 March 2010 audrey would recommend this property

Liked: tres bon hotel, seul defaut : pas d eau chaude!!

Disliked: audrey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Henriquez Diaz

23 February 2010 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: very good...

Disliked: Rodrigo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the beach & 5th avenue, great place to meet new people, hang out & party, the staff is very helpful with arranging any kind of outings, sightseeing tours or even diving!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.