HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Yaxkin Hostel Palenque

Hostel

Prolongacin Avenida Miguel Hidalgo, Esquina 5ta, Zona eco-turistica la Caada, Palenque, Mexico

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 76%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 74%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 20.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 14:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Palenque?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 76%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 74%

Value 78%

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is very pretty, well located and the restaurant is delicious and inexpensive.

Disliked: The private room was hot and with no AC, just a small fan that has to be plugged so you only got left one electric outlet for your appliances (not convenient if you have camera, cellphone, tablet and whatnot to charge). There were several mosquitoes that kept stinging us all night so we didn't sleep so well.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Layout and deco in the general areas.Food in the connected cafe was good.

Disliked: Very limited english on the sTaff side and not always friendly.Bathroom dirty.Lots of confusion with bed allocation & removing sheets

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Pretty decent place with all of the normal expected services! No breakfast tho. staff were helpful enough. All in all I would recommend!

Disliked: No breakfast/ internet is very slow

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I only stayed there for one day to see the ruins. I did not get much time to mingle with the staff, but they seem friendly. Also there were not a lot of travelers when I was around. This hostel was more of a hotel and it was worth the price! That being said, there is a communal/lounge area. I would recommend this place. It is clean and professional.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is near the bus station and near different options for rides to the attractions.

Disliked: I can't recommend this property. I arrived late in the night and would not have stayed if I had any other options. The staff speaks almost no English and tried to charge me more than the amount HostelBookers shows on the homepage and in my reservation.The bathroom of my dorm was dirty and the sheets didn't make a clean impression. The dorm and bathroom were stinking and I was afraid to take a closer look to the corners. Be careful, breakfast is not included but the cafe in the same house is happy to provide it for money.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The physical property is beautiful and very cool. Lots of open space, great location

Disliked: Staff was truly awful. No language spoke, no effort at all. No information. No one even knew when the restaurant was opening, they argued a while then 30 minutes later told us it was closed for 4 days. It took me four attempts to pay because they couldn't find change. Rooms AC was broken.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to bus station

Disliked: Wifi only in the lobby, and it doesn't work. It took me 2 hrs to book another hostel online. Even if it's working lobby is a common area, so forget about skyping. Very disappointing experience

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Kitchen, safe lockers, comfortable beds. Not many other options in town and not a lot to do, so only need one night

Disliked: Was dark, need more lights in reception area

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was clean and central. The staff seemed friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There was no internet available in the room. If you wanted to use internet you needed to go to the lobby...unfortunately the internet in the lobby was extremely slow. But since there are very few hostels in Palenque - and with this being the least expensive by far - it is mostly a minor inconvenience.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location, really helpful staff

Disliked: No breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability