HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Yaxkin Hostel

Hostel | Prolongaciòn Av. Hidalgo, esquina 5ta poniente Norte, #1 Zona Turistica la Cañada Palenque, Mexico 29960

81.0% Overall Rating

91 out of 111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/03/2014)

"Kitchen, safe lockers, comfortable beds. Not many other options in town and not a lot to do, so only need one night"

Read all Yaxkin Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Palenque?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

91 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Yaxkin Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
76.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 90 of 106 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marcin Kawala

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: Close to bus station

Disliked: Wifi only in the lobby, and it doesn't work. It took me 2 hrs to book another hostel online. Even if it's working lobby is a common area, so forget about skyping. Very disappointing experience

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen, safe lockers, comfortable beds. Not many other options in town and not a lot to do, so only need one night

Disliked: Was dark, need more lights in reception area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, really helpful staff

Disliked: No breakfast

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and central. The staff seemed friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There was no internet available in the room. If you wanted to use internet you needed to go to the lobby...unfortunately the internet in the lobby was extremely slow. But since there are very few hostels in Palenque - and with this being the least expensive by far - it is mostly a minor inconvenience.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Piotr Gawron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are located in a really nice garden.

Disliked: Our dorm room was dark a dingy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and setting is great. We were able to leave our backpacks in their lockers after checking out until our night bus, which was a HUGE help. Adjoining restaurant had good food and atmosphere.

Disliked: The hostel kitchen lacked dishes and cooking pots. The cupboard labeled cups had none and when I asked was told they must all be broken.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect for visiting the ruins and waterfalls. It's also close to the bus station. The setting is lovely in a jungle type place. The cafe next door is delicious and it's easy to walk into town for food etc. Good common areas with a tv and table tennis. The wifi is good but it only works in the reception and common areas.

Disliked: It would have been perfect if breakfast was included. The rooms can get a bit chilly but that obviously isn't their fault. They hadn't received my booking but luckily had space.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and spacious private rooms and garden.

Disliked: Tours offered and cafe are a bit overpriced

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the resort kind of style in the jungle

Disliked: They overcharged me for breakfast, staff was not too helpfull or didnt know much on standard info for visiting the ruins for instance.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Vitoria Regia de Amorim Silveira

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 Vitoria Regia would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very special cause it is located in the middle of a beautiful garden Eventough the hostel doesn't offer breakfast there is a very nice bar where you can eat it for a good price with a wonderful view!!

Disliked: Maybe the fact that they don't offer breakfast but it is compensated by the place which is fantastic!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is very clean, the afternoon / evening staff is very nice and helpfull, in particular Celestino (in comparaison to the morning receptionist). I slept Under the fan so I wasn't too hot. The kitchen is very clean and well equipped. It is walking distance from the bus station, the local supermarket and the town center.

Disliked: the unfriendly morning receptionist

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place had real character, quirky little things like a twisted log carved on one end to make it look like a snake, loads of chill out places, generally just a nice place to be

Disliked: Due to the location and weather Mosquitos were rampant and I was bitten frequently. The fans in the rooms were poor, I would get an air conditioned room next time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marco Girelli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Big and clean rooms,nice location. Staff helpful

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Natalia Jane Furtado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Natalia Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Location the most andthen atmosphere.

Disliked: Internet was slow.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rebecca Beaton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013

Liked: The reception area...?

Disliked: There was no Internet or wifi for the whole of our stay. The staff spoke no English at all and we're rude and slow. Rooms leak when it rains, my bed sheets got soaked through. Room also flooded so don't leave possessions on the floor...tried to use a locker but the locker smelt v.bad. The kitchen is badly equipt, there was only 1 fork! When trying to do laundry, they firstly told us we had to wait until the next day, we came back and asked again and they charged us the money and took our clothes and told us to pick it up at 4pm (5 hours later). After waiting five hours with no clothes they said it won't be done until the next day!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Glenn Riddell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome setting, feels like your in the middle of the jungle. Free filtered water. Within 500 m of bus station. Have lockers to store your bags after you check out.

Disliked: Bathrooms in dorms aren't pretty. Internet is free but you have to get a coin every 20min from reception. Have fans in dorm but if your on bottom bunk you don't feel the effects

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petr Kozdon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel with very nice character. Me and my girlfriend we stayed in private room which was amaizin. looked like brand new, clean, very good shower. Really nice. There's restaurant and cafe right beside the hostel, which made it very easy to get some food. Close to town adn bus station.

Disliked: Our AC was makeing some weird noises that woke us up at night. Kinda annoying, otherwise everything was great :)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013

Liked: the price is good, hot showers, free drinking water

Disliked: VERY hot dorms - if you get a lower bunk, demand your own fan because the ceiling fans won't reach you, staff uninformed about anything but expensive tours they want to sell you, terrible restaurant with poor service, gates locked at night and it's very hard to get the security guard - you have to yell

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and the stmosphere is good. I met several travellers who helped out with tips on places to visit. The travel desk was useful.

Disliked: There was a dead scorpion in the shower and they charge for locks (30 pesos) which I did not like. Most hostes give it for free (with deposit).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Temple

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: I can't believe the ratings on this place (%77 when we booked it) we have been travelling for 8 months and this is definitely a really good hostel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities are awesome, the beds are comfortable, clean bathrooms and it is in an awesome location - 10 minutes walk from both the bus station and the main tourist street.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JON UNZUETA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013 JON would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Trevor Ingram

Alone

Relaxation/spa

12 January 2013 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: Many comments about this hostel are frankly asinine. No,, there is not a telephone in the rooms, this is a $7 hostel not, 'The Ritz'. Yes, the rooms are separate from the main building, they are called chalets and set in a tropical garden. From the horses mouth with reference to other travellers comments 1. The directions given from the bus station are good, walking time less than 10 minutes 2. The kitchen and two fridges are very clean 3. The chalets likewise, cleaned daily. Two fans keep away the 'mozzies' 4. The cafe is reasonable value, but the coffee is weak and best avoided 5. The staff are friendly and helpful. My chalet's toilet was on 'the blink' it was fixed immediately

Disliked: The close the hostel at 11.00 pm. It is a hostel not a boarding school

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Youming Ye

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2012 Youming would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in la canada zone. There are lots of cheap restaurant to the east, supermarkets to the north, and ADO, ANEX station to the south. All of them can be reached within 10 minutes walking.

Disliked: The light is a little bit of dark.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Several hangout areas inside and outside. Located in quiet street eith several restaurants. Also lockers available at the reception area for afteryou have checked out.

Disliked: Dorm was not very clean. Lot of dust and dirt on the floor. Bathroom could use an update.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean (except for the refrigerator) with great facilities and communal spaces, cats and a parrot! Fantastic setting, beautifully designed, lovely atmosphere - feels like you're in the jungle but actually you are in the zona hotelera, 5 minutes walk from supermarket, bus station and town centre. Much more convenient and more comfortable - I stayed in one of the jungle cabana hostels on a previous visit to Palenque and it was too dark, noisy and scary for me!

Disliked: It is very inconvenient that they couldn't accept credit cards or Paypal. Hostels need to understand that it is often difficult, expensive and inconvenient to get cash from ATMs when travelling. There was no hand soap in the dormitory toilets. If you offer kitchen facilities, you need hand soap at EVERY washbasin in the hostel. I don't want to share a kitchen with people who haven't washed their hands after going to the toilet. There is only one small refrigerator in the large kitchen - this is not sufficient. It was completely full and needed cleaning. The hostel have a partnership with a local tour agency called Kichan Bajlum - DO NOT BOOK TOURS WITH THIS AGENCY! I booked a 1-day tour to see the ruins, Misol-Ha, Agua Azul and to be dropped off in San Cristobal at 21:00. The minibus was unsafe, without seatbelts, and the driver kept running the engine while we were parked up and waiting for other group members, even when I asked him not to as the petrol fumes made me feel sick. Then at the end of the day, instead of the promised minibus transfer to get us to San Cristobal at 21:00, we were dumped on a terrible big bus with no seatbelts or internal lights, which took FIVE HOURS to reach San Cristobal. We got there at 22:40, too late to get anything to eat. I guess they know they can get away with this as you are not going back to Palenque and can't complain but it is really terrible - if I wanted to travel in a slow, crappy bus, I would have taken a public bus instead of paying for a private transfer. Also, Yaxkin say that their guests get a discount with this agency but this is not true - I checked the prices with the agency and Yaxkin charge exactly the same.