We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Yaxkin Hostel

Hostel | Prolongaciòn Av. Hidalgo, esquina 5ta poniente Norte, #1 Zona Turistica la Cañada Palenque, Mexico 29960

78.9% Overall Rating

96 out of 120 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2014)

andy causer thinks…

"Pretty decent place with all of the normal expected services! No breakfast tho. staff were helpful enough. All in all I would recommend!"

Read all Yaxkin Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.48

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Palenque?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

96 out of 120 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Yaxkin Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 96 of 114 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Meike Koenig

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2014 Meike would recommend this property

Liked: Layout and deco in the general areas. Food in the connected cafe was good.

Disliked: Very limited english on the sTaff side and not always friendly. Bathroom dirty. Lots of confusion with bed allocation & removing sheets

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

andy causer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 andy would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty decent place with all of the normal expected services! No breakfast tho. staff were helpful enough. All in all I would recommend!

Disliked: No breakfast/ internet is very slow

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed there for one day to see the ruins. I did not get much time to mingle with the staff, but they seem friendly. Also there were not a lot of travelers when I was around. This hostel was more of a hotel and it was worth the price! That being said, there is a communal/lounge area. I would recommend this place. It is clean and professional.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014

Liked: The location is near the bus station and near different options for rides to the attractions.

Disliked: I can't recommend this property. I arrived late in the night and would not have stayed if I had any other options. The staff speaks almost no English and tried to charge me more than the amount HostelBookers shows on the homepage and in my reservation. The bathroom of my dorm was dirty and the sheets didn't make a clean impression. The dorm and bathroom were stinking and I was afraid to take a closer look to the corners. Be careful, breakfast is not included but the cafe in the same house is happy to provide it for money.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

skippy mesirow

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014

Liked: The physical property is beautiful and very cool. Lots of open space, great location

Disliked: Staff was truly awful. No language spoke, no effort at all. No information. No one even knew when the restaurant was opening, they argued a while then 30 minutes later told us it was closed for 4 days. It took me four attempts to pay because they couldn't find change. Rooms AC was broken.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lydia Ferres

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2014 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: It's well located for the Palenque ruins and it's walking distance from the bus station. The dorm had big secure lockers and the café had a good selection of food.

Disliked: The bed I was shown to didn't look like it had been changed since its last use. The ensuite bathroom made the dorm smell a bit and the room was a little bit damp generally. There wasn't an espaciador social atmosphere as the place is basically a cheap jump off for the ruins, but that's all I needed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marcin Kawala

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: Close to bus station

Disliked: Wifi only in the lobby, and it doesn't work. It took me 2 hrs to book another hostel online. Even if it's working lobby is a common area, so forget about skyping. Very disappointing experience

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen, safe lockers, comfortable beds. Not many other options in town and not a lot to do, so only need one night

Disliked: Was dark, need more lights in reception area

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, really helpful staff

Disliked: No breakfast

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and central. The staff seemed friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There was no internet available in the room. If you wanted to use internet you needed to go to the lobby...unfortunately the internet in the lobby was extremely slow. But since there are very few hostels in Palenque - and with this being the least expensive by far - it is mostly a minor inconvenience.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Piotr Gawron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Piotr would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are located in a really nice garden.

Disliked: Our dorm room was dark a dingy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and setting is great. We were able to leave our backpacks in their lockers after checking out until our night bus, which was a HUGE help. Adjoining restaurant had good food and atmosphere.

Disliked: The hostel kitchen lacked dishes and cooking pots. The cupboard labeled cups had none and when I asked was told they must all be broken.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect for visiting the ruins and waterfalls. It's also close to the bus station. The setting is lovely in a jungle type place. The cafe next door is delicious and it's easy to walk into town for food etc. Good common areas with a tv and table tennis. The wifi is good but it only works in the reception and common areas.

Disliked: It would have been perfect if breakfast was included. The rooms can get a bit chilly but that obviously isn't their fault. They hadn't received my booking but luckily had space.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and spacious private rooms and garden.

Disliked: Tours offered and cafe are a bit overpriced

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the resort kind of style in the jungle

Disliked: They overcharged me for breakfast, staff was not too helpfull or didnt know much on standard info for visiting the ruins for instance.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Vitoria Regia de Amorim Silveira

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 Vitoria Regia would recommend this property

Liked: The property is very special cause it is located in the middle of a beautiful garden Eventough the hostel doesn't offer breakfast there is a very nice bar where you can eat it for a good price with a wonderful view!!

Disliked: Maybe the fact that they don't offer breakfast but it is compensated by the place which is fantastic!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is very clean, the afternoon / evening staff is very nice and helpfull, in particular Celestino (in comparaison to the morning receptionist). I slept Under the fan so I wasn't too hot. The kitchen is very clean and well equipped. It is walking distance from the bus station, the local supermarket and the town center.

Disliked: the unfriendly morning receptionist

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place had real character, quirky little things like a twisted log carved on one end to make it look like a snake, loads of chill out places, generally just a nice place to be

Disliked: Due to the location and weather Mosquitos were rampant and I was bitten frequently. The fans in the rooms were poor, I would get an air conditioned room next time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marco Girelli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Big and clean rooms,nice location. Staff helpful

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Natalia Jane Furtado

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 September 2013 Natalia Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Location the most andthen atmosphere.

Disliked: Internet was slow.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rebecca Beaton

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013

Liked: The reception area...?

Disliked: There was no Internet or wifi for the whole of our stay. The staff spoke no English at all and we're rude and slow. Rooms leak when it rains, my bed sheets got soaked through. Room also flooded so don't leave possessions on the floor...tried to use a locker but the locker smelt v.bad. The kitchen is badly equipt, there was only 1 fork! When trying to do laundry, they firstly told us we had to wait until the next day, we came back and asked again and they charged us the money and took our clothes and told us to pick it up at 4pm (5 hours later). After waiting five hours with no clothes they said it won't be done until the next day!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Glenn Riddell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome setting, feels like your in the middle of the jungle. Free filtered water. Within 500 m of bus station. Have lockers to store your bags after you check out.

Disliked: Bathrooms in dorms aren't pretty. Internet is free but you have to get a coin every 20min from reception. Have fans in dorm but if your on bottom bunk you don't feel the effects

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petr Kozdon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Petr would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel with very nice character. Me and my girlfriend we stayed in private room which was amaizin. looked like brand new, clean, very good shower. Really nice. There's restaurant and cafe right beside the hostel, which made it very easy to get some food. Close to town adn bus station.

Disliked: Our AC was makeing some weird noises that woke us up at night. Kinda annoying, otherwise everything was great :)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013

Liked: the price is good, hot showers, free drinking water

Disliked: VERY hot dorms - if you get a lower bunk, demand your own fan because the ceiling fans won't reach you, staff uninformed about anything but expensive tours they want to sell you, terrible restaurant with poor service, gates locked at night and it's very hard to get the security guard - you have to yell

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and the stmosphere is good. I met several travellers who helped out with tips on places to visit. The travel desk was useful.

Disliked: There was a dead scorpion in the shower and they charge for locks (30 pesos) which I did not like. Most hostes give it for free (with deposit).