HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Casa de Don Pablo Hostel Oaxaca Hostel

Melchor Ocampo 412, Centro, Oaxaca, Mexico

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 73%

Location 86%

Safety 87%

Staff 84%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oaxaca?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 81%

Facilities 73%

Location 86%

Safety 87%

Staff 84%

Value 82%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the courtyard with its relaxed and laid back atmosphere. The staff were very helpful and spoke some English. And the breakfast was fantastic; fruit, cereal (including Amaranth) and cooked eggs.

Disliked: there was nothing I did not like

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was ok.

Disliked: Very dirty room, sheets and bathroom. Breakfast was pover. Staff was not helpfull. Absolutely no value for your money! Maybe this property was good 20 years ago, but it really needs some improvements.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Stayed in the private ensuite twin room. Large room, clean.Lady who worked in the kitchen and cleaned rooms was so lovely. Pretty hostel with a pretty garden area to sit and eat breakfast.Breakfast including fresh fruit and juice (although there wasn't any on first night of stay) cereal and toast.Good location, a ten min walk from main square (Zocalo).

Disliked: lacking character and abit dead, not many guests around howevere perhaps it wasn't peak time when we went, staff at front desk not very engaging like other hostel staff but were helpful.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, easy to walk everywhere. Very safe and secure, cool views form the rooftop and a funky little court yard. The fan in our room didn't work and a staff member changed it right away. We were able to store our luggage for the day in lockers.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location: quiet place but close to the zocalo and to the bars and restaurants there, roof terasse, for breakfast you could eat as much as you want (fruits, cornflakes, toast with butter & jam)

Disliked: I booked one tour with this hostel which I enjoyed a lot, but a bit annoying was that the tourguide was mainly speaking spanish and very often just didn't translate the information into english although I booked a bilingual tour.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Great you liked our facilities; we will figure out what happened in the tour to avoid it again. Thanks for your review and hope we can see you soon!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Relaxing, good breakfast, friendly staff, close to the zocalo/alcala

Disliked: Computers turned off early, no window in the room, locker didn't lock

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Great you had such as nice time in our hostel. Computers turn off at midnight and the locker in room has a peculiar system to use, we will guarantee you can use easily next time Thanks for your review, see you soon!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast. Great communal kitchen and sufficient, clean communal toilets and showers. Very quiet at night. Good fan. Great wifi signal. Good location.

Disliked: The beds - the mattresses were really old and the springs stuck out. We turned the mattresses over which made it a bit better and then put all of the spare blankets under the sheet for extra padding, but still not great... (This was the only downside of the hostel - otherwise we would have given it full marks).

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks you liked our facilities, we work with heart to do our best. We will work right away about your suggestion, hope wee you soon and feel the difference. Thanks for your review.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the hostel is very closed to the town center and to the bus station, it is walking distance. The dorms are very comfortable. The patio is charming and refreshing.

Disliked: they made us pay to leave our bag. Some of the staff are not very friendly or helpful. The hostel didn't receive our booking and couldn't work out how much was due.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We like hearing you had such as nice experience in our hostel. Luggage storage is for free now. We are working recently about your suggestion. Thanks for your review. See you soon!

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good price, decent breakfast. Some staff very helpful and friendly. The location worked well for me. Its not the most central but really only 5 mins from the centre and I enjoy walking.

Disliked: Nothing really, it was just a bit quiet while I was there so there weren't many people to meet. There was a problem with my hostelbookers booking not coming through to them until quite late which made me a bit uncomfortable but it all worked out fine.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Great you had such a nice experience in our hostel. We are happy to read your comments to be better. Thanks!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: lugar sencillo pero muy bien organizado.habitaciones y camas super comodasdesayuno buenisimo!

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Que bien que te la pasaste super bien en nuestro hostal. Gracias por tus comentarios.

Check Availability