HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oaxaca hostels

Reviews of Casa de Don Pablo Hostel

Hostel | Melchor Ocampo 412, Oaxaca, Mexico 68000

79.2% Overall Rating

104 out of 126 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

"Stayed in the private ensuite twin room. Large room, clean. Lady who worked in the kitchen and cleaned rooms was so lovely. Pretty hostel with a pretty garden area to sit and eat breakfast. Breakfast including fresh…"

Read all Casa de Don Pablo Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oaxaca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Oaxaca

Cielo Rojo Hostel
9.91 USD

Hostel 89.7% 38 reviews
Azul Cielo Hostel
10.67 USD

Hostel 94.8% 6 reviews
Nizadú Hostel
12.19 USD

Hostel 85.7% 26 reviews
Hostal del Mercado * Youth Hostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 74.4% 45 reviews
El Quijote
15.24 USD

Hostel 92.2% 28 reviews
Paulina Youth Hostel
14.82 USD

Hostel 88.8% 38 reviews
Aitana Hotel
27.05 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.8% 9 reviews
Hotel Principal
17.00 USD

Hotel 87.7% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

104 out of 126 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa de Don Pablo Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 92 of 100 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014

Liked: The location was ok.

Disliked: Very dirty room, sheets and bathroom. Breakfast was pover. Staff was not helpfull. Absolutely no value for your money! Maybe this property was good 20 years ago, but it really needs some improvements.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the private ensuite twin room. Large room, clean. Lady who worked in the kitchen and cleaned rooms was so lovely. Pretty hostel with a pretty garden area to sit and eat breakfast. Breakfast including fresh fruit and juice (although there wasn't any on first night of stay) cereal and toast. Good location, a ten min walk from main square (Zocalo).

Disliked: lacking character and abit dead, not many guests around howevere perhaps it wasn't peak time when we went, staff at front desk not very engaging like other hostel staff but were helpful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Allenby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy to walk everywhere. Very safe and secure, cool views form the rooftop and a funky little court yard. The fan in our room didn't work and a staff member changed it right away. We were able to store our luggage for the day in lockers.

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location: quiet place but close to the zocalo and to the bars and restaurants there, roof terasse, for breakfast you could eat as much as you want (fruits, cornflakes, toast with butter & jam)

Disliked: I booked one tour with this hostel which I enjoyed a lot, but a bit annoying was that the tourguide was mainly speaking spanish and very often just didn't translate the information into english although I booked a bilingual tour.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing, good breakfast, friendly staff, close to the zocalo/alcala

Disliked: Computers turned off early, no window in the room, locker didn't lock

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carly Freeston

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2013 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast. Great communal kitchen and sufficient, clean communal toilets and showers. Very quiet at night. Good fan. Great wifi signal. Good location.

Disliked: The beds - the mattresses were really old and the springs stuck out. We turned the mattresses over which made it a bit better and then put all of the spare blankets under the sheet for extra padding, but still not great... (This was the only downside of the hostel - otherwise we would have given it full marks).

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

clive koffman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 clive would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is very closed to the town center and to the bus station, it is walking distance. The dorms are very comfortable. The patio is charming and refreshing.

Disliked: they made us pay to leave our bag. Some of the staff are not very friendly or helpful. The hostel didn't receive our booking and couldn't work out how much was due.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, decent breakfast. Some staff very helpful and friendly. The location worked well for me. Its not the most central but really only 5 mins from the centre and I enjoy walking.

Disliked: Nothing really, it was just a bit quiet while I was there so there weren't many people to meet. There was a problem with my hostelbookers booking not coming through to them until quite late which made me a bit uncomfortable but it all worked out fine.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yago leon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 yago would recommend this property

Liked: lugar sencillo pero muy bien organizado. habitaciones y camas super comodas desayuno buenisimo!

Disliked: -

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Adam Lambert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: The tours on offer were a rip off and they take too much in commission compared to other hotels in Oaxaca

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was quite well equipped for the price, especially with electric points!

Disliked: The breakfast was poor - I had to top up with food I had in my room.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alexey Lizunov

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Alexey would recommend this property

Liked: Ок

Disliked: Ок

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great time here - very secure, quiet and with friendly staff. Clean and honest hostel, no frills!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Matthew Shaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2012

Liked: Wifi was really good, which was just as we'll because the computers were really slow. Spacious room

Disliked: Noisy, no hot water, no atmosphere, horrible breakfast

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Davide Giuseppe Messina

Alone

City break

23 September 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: Orribile!!! You should prefer to go to sleep under the bridge: the services are better and you save your money!!!

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

allan if jensen

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 June 2012 allan if would recommend this property

Liked: Exelente hostal!

Disliked: Nada

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great little hostel with friendly and peaceful vibe. Nice courtyard good place to meet and chat to people. Yum breakfast, comfy bed, good location on edge of town a few blocks from plaza. We returned on our round trip to stay another night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very quiet and lacking in atmosphere during our stay.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SAMI EL GUIZANI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 SAMI would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2012

Liked: The location and breakfast

Disliked: Bathrooms are a bit dodgy, noise, FREEZING cold.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Lemon Hernandez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2012 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable

Disliked: Nothing, everything its wonderful

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Mui

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: good location, clean, good kitchen facilities and helpful staff.

Disliked: The hot water in the shower is difficult to adjust to the right temperature. Also, better if there are some hooks for clothes in the shower.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, slow season.

Disliked: Quiet, slow season :)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vincent Pietromartire

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 January 2012 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Don Pablo is such a wonderful place to put yourself up for a few days while visiting the lovely city of Oaxaca. As you enter the foyer, you are always greeted by one of the wonderful employees. Every staff person takes great care to welcome the guests, and to insure their stay is a pleasant one. You will recieve a set of linens and your towel upon arrival. We were shown to our rooms, and given a purview of where everything was on the premises. And now there is a wonderful rooftop patio where you may enjoy your morning coffee, or sip a drink and watch the sunset. The breakfast is good. There are choices of eggs, beans, rice, toast, cereal, coffee and juice. Basic staples but enough to get you up and going in the morning. I will definitely return for another stay at Casa Don Pablo next time i'm in Oaxaca.

Disliked: minor, Once they ran out of towels but they brought more when I told them

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Stevens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 January 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very nice, clean and safe, the staff is attentive and friendly, I love it

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...


See all Oaxaca hostels