We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oaxaca hostels

Reviews of Casa Angel Youth Hostel

Hostel | Tinoco y Palacios 610, Colonia Centro, Oaxaca, Mexico 68000

95.1% Overall Rating

160 out of 160 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2015)

"This hostel was fantastic in every way. One of the best I have stayed in. Great for meeting other backpackers and staff are extremely friendly and helpful."

Read all Casa Angel Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oaxaca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Oaxaca

Aitana Hotel
29.52 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.8% 9 reviews
Paulina Youth Hostel
12.76 USD

Hostel 88.8% 38 reviews
Nizadú Hostel
10.50 USD

Hostel 85.9% 28 reviews
Hostel Don Nino
11.02 USD

Hostel 92.7% 179 reviews
Cielo Rojo Hostel
9.18 USD

Hostel 88.2% 43 reviews
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
10.17 USD

Hostel 79.2% 126 reviews
Hotel Principal
17.22 USD

Hotel 87.3% 45 reviews
El Quijote
13.12 USD

Hostel 92.2% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

160 out of 160 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Angel Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 136 of 158 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sandra bakker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2010 sandra would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are travelers aswell, what makes the atmosphere very good. they have a really nice rooftop where you can meet other people. we where there with xmass and the staff made a really nice dinner for everyone, we all bought small presents and gave it to each other, the bonfire on the roof was one of my best memories of this great place.

Disliked: not alot, the only thing that would make it better is that you can have hot water 24 h

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and the terasse is beautiful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Littlebury

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2010 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: My stay in this lovely hostal was wonderful. Every one I met was really friendly, breakfast was great and the terrace is amazing.

Disliked: Drew left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Very very clean.

Disliked: Breakfast served far too early for my liking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Angel was the nicest hostel I've stayed in in Mexico! Super clean, friendly staff, awesome roofterrace, & filling breakfast! I'll definitely be back again!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, friendliness of staff, cleanliness

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is clean and has very confortable beds, the roof terrace is great.

Disliked: a hostel guest broke my padlock and stole most of valuable the things that were in my locker. fortunately my insurance replaced everything. But I recommend the hostel anyway, because i can not blame the hostel, this could have happened everywhere in mexico... take care and enjoy your trip anyway

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel we stayed in mexico!!! new

Disliked: a bit far away from the city centre

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was super close to the center of town where all the festivities for the 15th of September were happening.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Hortin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 September 2010 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness and professionalism.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was very clean and new. The staff were helpful, the breakfast was nice and it was just a short stroll to the centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good place, more friendly and onesty... strong raccomended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable. BBQ on Sunday evening. Short walk to centre. Good free breakfast.

Disliked: Not the most sociable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaningness

Disliked: the door

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice rooftop

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CARLOS PEREZ

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2010 CARLOS would recommend this property

Liked: Its really clean and people in the front desk are super hlepful

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel huss

Alone

24 July 2010 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: What a wonderful place to stay! Beto and Armando are the sons of the owners and are incredibly helpful. There is an amazing terrace that gives a lovely view of the city and mountains. Its location is ideal, not too far not too close to el centro or the zocalo. Its roughly 6 blocks down a pedestrian walkway. It is soooo clean as well and the beds and pillows are nice and comfortable, especially since it is so new. Breakfast includes juice, coffee, tea, eggs (made how you want), bread, bananas. As always a hostal is what you make of it and the people you meet, and this has been ideal to do so. Its not crazy, but still very easy to meet people. I cant say enough great things about this hostal! nicest one that I´ve been in!________________________________________________Que chido esta lugar! Beto y Armando son los hijos de los duenos y me ayudan mucho. La terraza es increible y tiene una vista buenisima de la ciudad y las montanas. La ubicacion es perfecto, casi 6 cuadras del centro/zocalo en el camino de paseos. Es lo mas limpio q yo he visto! Y el desayuno incluye, cafe, te, jugo, huevos (como quieras), pan, y platanos. Como siempre, un hostal es como lo haga y aqui es ideal para conocer gente. No es loco, pero tan divertido. Lo mejor q he quedado!

Disliked: rachel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Tang

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 July 2010 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Nice new hostel, very very clean, lovely staff, gorgeous rooftop terrace. Would stay longer (or again) if I had the chance.

Disliked: Internet modem not working during most of our stay. Otherwise nothing else to fault.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, lovely roof terrace, incredibly clean hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and comfortable hostel. The staff were helpful and there was a well equipt kitchen. Good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Haider

Alone

02 July 2010 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: it's good !!Nice roof top !Nice staff !Very clean !...

Disliked: Markus left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brooke Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, location, staff helpful and very fluent in English!

Disliked: Brooke left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Constanza Monterrubio

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 June 2010 Constanza would recommend this property

Liked: It's a clean and very nice place. Good location and good value for your money. The staff is friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay there.

Disliked: Constanza left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

RAMON STEVENS

21 June 2010 RAMON would recommend this property

Liked: Pros: new, clean, well-maintained hostel; roof terrace with expansive views; good breakfast with eggs made to order; luggage storage.Neutral: it's small, with only 10 rooms; all of the first-floor facilities (registration, kitchen, TV) are in one large room.Cons: it's on a major thoroughfare so streetside rooms get noise all night; room lights are dim fluorescents, hard to read by; check-in is supposedly 2 PM but a couple arrived in my dorm at 6:30 AM; it's a 10-15-minute walk to the center (but it's close to Santo Domingo, Oaxaca's best church).

Disliked: RAMON left no negative feedback.


See all Oaxaca hostels