We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oaxaca hostels

Reviews of Casa Angel Youth Hostel

Hostel | Tinoco y Palacios 610, Colonia Centro, Oaxaca, Mexico 68000

95.1% Overall Rating

167 out of 167 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

Bart van Putten thinks…

"One of our most favourite hostels during our stay. The staff was really nice and helpful. The breakfast was also very delicious and diverse. We would definitely stay there again :)"

Read all Casa Angel Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.89

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oaxaca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Oaxaca

Aitana Hotel
19.35 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.8% 9 reviews
Paulina Youth Hostel
11.58 USD

Hostel 88.8% 38 reviews
Nizadú Hostel
9.53 USD

Hostel 85.9% 28 reviews
Hostel Don Nino
8.46 USD

Hostel 92.7% 179 reviews
Cielo Rojo Hostel
8.34 USD

Hostel 87.8% 45 reviews
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
9.53 USD

Hostel 79.2% 126 reviews
Hotel Principal
15.63 USD

Hotel 87.3% 45 reviews
El Quijote
11.91 USD

Hostel 91.3% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

167 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Angel Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
96.0%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 143 of 165 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erica Kuschel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 May 2011 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic people come to stay here along with the terrace - it rocks.

Disliked: ...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Rychlewski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Oaxaca would definitely recommend to anyone. It was a brilliant place to meet other travellers and the terrace is a bonus.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

daniel neale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Oaxaca is a really cool city but Casa Angel was still the heart and soul for me. you can chill on the quirky roof terrace with a big pink pig (not real!), use the computers, relax in the super clean kitchen/eating area or chat to the international staff. They know about the cultural events in the city, the lovely towns around and where to get a cheap beer! Casa Angel rocks!

Disliked: when it rained... but the air was cleaner after.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was amazing and probably the best one we´ve had on our trip so far. Great location, not too far from the Zocalo. Great terrace for chilling out and having a cheap beer.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff, The People We Met, The Roofterrace, ... ! We Can Go On And On ! Such A Good Place To Stay , We Only Would Stay 2 Nights, But Booked Another Night .

Disliked: Nothing !

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is completely new, incredible level of cleanliness and facilities, the best hostel in Mexico so far with an excellent roof terrace for parties or chillout!!

Disliked: rooms could have a bit more sound isolation

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: ....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sandra bakker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2010 sandra would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are travelers aswell, what makes the atmosphere very good. they have a really nice rooftop where you can meet other people. we where there with xmass and the staff made a really nice dinner for everyone, we all bought small presents and gave it to each other, the bonfire on the roof was one of my best memories of this great place.

Disliked: not alot, the only thing that would make it better is that you can have hot water 24 h

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and the terasse is beautiful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Littlebury

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2010 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: My stay in this lovely hostal was wonderful. Every one I met was really friendly, breakfast was great and the terrace is amazing.

Disliked: Drew left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Very very clean.

Disliked: Breakfast served far too early for my liking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Angel was the nicest hostel I've stayed in in Mexico! Super clean, friendly staff, awesome roofterrace, & filling breakfast! I'll definitely be back again!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, friendliness of staff, cleanliness

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is clean and has very confortable beds, the roof terrace is great.

Disliked: a hostel guest broke my padlock and stole most of valuable the things that were in my locker. fortunately my insurance replaced everything. But I recommend the hostel anyway, because i can not blame the hostel, this could have happened everywhere in mexico... take care and enjoy your trip anyway

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel we stayed in mexico!!! new

Disliked: a bit far away from the city centre

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was super close to the center of town where all the festivities for the 15th of September were happening.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Hortin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 September 2010 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness and professionalism.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was very clean and new. The staff were helpful, the breakfast was nice and it was just a short stroll to the centre.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good place, more friendly and onesty... strong raccomended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable. BBQ on Sunday evening. Short walk to centre. Good free breakfast.

Disliked: Not the most sociable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleaningness

Disliked: the door

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great, friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice rooftop

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CARLOS PEREZ

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2010 CARLOS would recommend this property

Liked: Its really clean and people in the front desk are super hlepful

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel huss

Alone

24 July 2010 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: What a wonderful place to stay! Beto and Armando are the sons of the owners and are incredibly helpful. There is an amazing terrace that gives a lovely view of the city and mountains. Its location is ideal, not too far not too close to el centro or the zocalo. Its roughly 6 blocks down a pedestrian walkway. It is soooo clean as well and the beds and pillows are nice and comfortable, especially since it is so new. Breakfast includes juice, coffee, tea, eggs (made how you want), bread, bananas. As always a hostal is what you make of it and the people you meet, and this has been ideal to do so. Its not crazy, but still very easy to meet people. I cant say enough great things about this hostal! nicest one that I´ve been in!________________________________________________Que chido esta lugar! Beto y Armando son los hijos de los duenos y me ayudan mucho. La terraza es increible y tiene una vista buenisima de la ciudad y las montanas. La ubicacion es perfecto, casi 6 cuadras del centro/zocalo en el camino de paseos. Es lo mas limpio q yo he visto! Y el desayuno incluye, cafe, te, jugo, huevos (como quieras), pan, y platanos. Como siempre, un hostal es como lo haga y aqui es ideal para conocer gente. No es loco, pero tan divertido. Lo mejor q he quedado!

Disliked: rachel left no negative feedback.


See all Oaxaca hostels