HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oaxaca hostels

Reviews of Casa Angel Youth Hostel

Hostel | Tinoco y Palacios 610, Colonia Centro, Oaxaca, Mexico 68000

95.7% Overall Rating

146 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2014)

Joshua Matheson thinks…

"This is one of the best hostels I have stayed in, with a nice atmosphere, good social spaces, good cooked breakfast and very clean nice accommodation. The private double rooms are hotel standard. I…"

Read all Casa Angel Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.15

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oaxaca?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Oaxaca

Aitana Hotel
27.15 USD

Hotel 4 star 90.8% 9 reviews
Hotel Bia´na Rari
20.65 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Paulina Youth Hostel
14.88 USD

Hostel 88.8% 38 reviews
Nizadú Hostel
12.24 USD

Hostel 85.7% 26 reviews
Hostel Don Nino
13.00 USD

Hostel 92.6% 176 reviews
Cielo Rojo Hostel
9.94 USD

Hostel 89.9% 37 reviews
Casa de Don Pablo Hostel
11.86 USD

Hostel 79.2% 126 reviews
Hostal del Mercado * Youth Hostel
10.94 USD

Hostel 74.4% 45 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.7%

Overall Rating

146 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Angel Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 126 of 143 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rafael Araujo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, staff very relaxed and friendly and there's a nice terrace in the roof

Disliked: nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good breakfast (eggs of your choise, cereals, bread and bananas), nice common areas, ALWAYS toiletpaper in the bathrooms!

Disliked: Only hot water between 8am-10am and 8pm-10pm otherwise you will hav to ask for it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: sound travels kinda well through the walls, but not too bad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind and helpful, friendly staff, and the best hostel breakfast in mexico.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Verville

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2011 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place, staff is friendly, really good breakfast, and I would certainly recommand it to anyone who is looking for a great place to live in oaxaca!!!

Disliked: liked everything

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and friendly staff. Spacious rooms and nice roof terrace to hang out in. Cooked eggs each morning.

Disliked: booked tours from the hostel are marked up too much. best to book direct with the company.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly, breakfast is great and the location is close to where you would like to be, common areas are good also.

Disliked: Unfortunately the hostel is located on a very noisy and busy street, hence even while in the dorm rooms you can still here all of the traffic, it would be good if the wifi reached all the rooms so you could use your computer in your own room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul housden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2011 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and plenty of communal areas. Nice breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erica Kuschel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 May 2011 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic people come to stay here along with the terrace - it rocks.

Disliked: ...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Rychlewski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in Oaxaca would definitely recommend to anyone. It was a brilliant place to meet other travellers and the terrace is a bonus.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

daniel neale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2011 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Oaxaca is a really cool city but Casa Angel was still the heart and soul for me. you can chill on the quirky roof terrace with a big pink pig (not real!), use the computers, relax in the super clean kitchen/eating area or chat to the international staff. They know about the cultural events in the city, the lovely towns around and where to get a cheap beer! Casa Angel rocks!

Disliked: when it rained... but the air was cleaner after.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was amazing and probably the best one we´ve had on our trip so far. Great location, not too far from the Zocalo. Great terrace for chilling out and having a cheap beer.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff, The People We Met, The Roofterrace, ... ! We Can Go On And On ! Such A Good Place To Stay , We Only Would Stay 2 Nights, But Booked Another Night .

Disliked: Nothing !

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place is completely new, incredible level of cleanliness and facilities, the best hostel in Mexico so far with an excellent roof terrace for parties or chillout!!

Disliked: rooms could have a bit more sound isolation

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: ....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sandra bakker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2010 sandra would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are travelers aswell, what makes the atmosphere very good. they have a really nice rooftop where you can meet other people. we where there with xmass and the staff made a really nice dinner for everyone, we all bought small presents and gave it to each other, the bonfire on the roof was one of my best memories of this great place.

Disliked: not alot, the only thing that would make it better is that you can have hot water 24 h

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and the terasse is beautiful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Drew Littlebury

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2010 Drew would recommend this property

Liked: My stay in this lovely hostal was wonderful. Every one I met was really friendly, breakfast was great and the terrace is amazing.

Disliked: Drew left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Very very clean.

Disliked: Breakfast served far too early for my liking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Casa Angel was the nicest hostel I've stayed in in Mexico! Super clean, friendly staff, awesome roofterrace, & filling breakfast! I'll definitely be back again!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, friendliness of staff, cleanliness

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is clean and has very confortable beds, the roof terrace is great.

Disliked: a hostel guest broke my padlock and stole most of valuable the things that were in my locker. fortunately my insurance replaced everything. But I recommend the hostel anyway, because i can not blame the hostel, this could have happened everywhere in mexico... take care and enjoy your trip anyway

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel we stayed in mexico!!! new

Disliked: a bit far away from the city centre

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was super close to the center of town where all the festivities for the 15th of September were happening.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Hortin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 September 2010 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness and professionalism.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Oaxaca hostels